Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Midland Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Midland Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

The Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio provides forecast alarms and gives advanced warning. The Midland Weather Radio uses S.A.M.E. digital technology which enables the user to get an excellent reception. This digital weather radio has seven channels which help you to get the forecast reports quickly. Not only can you receive local weather reports, but reports for neighboring counties. The NOAA weather radio enables you to program up to 25 counties with ease. This Midland weather alert radio is trilingual and can store up to ten forecast notifications and hazards at a time. It comes along with AC power adapter, and in case of blackouts you can use three AA batteries for emergency power backup. The user can also get three selectable warning systems through the Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio.
Average Customer Rating:
4.466 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation93%138 out of 148reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 143 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Fantastic, practical, and effective.

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, let me say, I used to have a Midland WR-100. I loved that radio, it always worked just like it should, but my stupid cat ate the power adapter cord. I decided since the WR-120 replaced it, now was a good time to upgrade. Wow, what a difference. It receives better, it tells you immediately if it's having a hard time holding the signal, and contrary to the reviews I've seen here and on Amazon, absolutely does let you customize which alerts as well as the counties it alerts you for. Another plus, all the counties for every state are now preloaded. If you have an older radio with S.A.ME. technology (such as the WR-100) you know that you had to manually enter the codes for each county. I love Midland products, good quality, and relatively inexpensive, you really can't go wrong. Side note, if you have a radio that can be programmed by county, I recommend that you program more than just your own, but add a couple to your west and southwest too. That way you have greater heads up with incoming weather.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Good weather radio for the price

07/11/2011
By ,
New Baltimore, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great weather alert radio. The quality is good for the price and it does what it is supposed to do. I get the alerts several minutes to almost a half hour before they are broadcasted over the TV. I bought this radio about 3 weeks ago and so far I've been alerted 5-6 times already (3 special marine warnings, 2 thunderstorm watch's and thunderstorm warning). The best feature is programming the SAME codes to the county or surrounding counties where you live so your not getting alerts that are 100 miles away. I live in SE Michigan where storms can get pretty intense so this radio is a great tool to have so you can prepare yourself. I recommend the Midland wr120 radio or any good quality weather radio to anyone who lives in zones where severe weather could strike any time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

One Of The Best Weather Alert Radios On The Market

05/05/2014
By ,
Poquoson, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very modern and up to date all hazards weather alert radio. The batteries don't last very long but what many people don't understand is that this is normal for this type of radio as it is always "listening" in the background for alerts and this requires substantial power and thus batteries are ONLY meant as a backup power source in the event of a power outage. It is quite easy to program and reception and sound quality are excellent. The alert alarm (not to be confused with the alarm clock alarm) is one of the best features of this radio : it is the loudest alert alarm I have ever heard on a weather alert radio. Trust me, it WILL wake you up. Which is exactly what you want if there is a tornado warning for your area in the middle of the night. And you can program the radio to not sound the alarm for most advisories and watches and some warnings. And it has a "Display" mode which will only alert you with an on screen text message and flashing light with no audible alert at all. All in all, I am convinced that this radio could be a potential life saver (especially because of the extremely loud alarm) and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Weather alert

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. You can adjust it to where only alerts occur for the county you live in occur. No more listening to alerts that don't affect where you live.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Works Great

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great , Have had this product before and find it very dependable.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Weather radio does not work-will be returned!

06/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not work, and as soon as I get to a store, I will be returning it! I used it for the first time at my camper this past weekend. It is a good thing I have family and friends who alerted me to storms coming as this stupid radio never even went off! Junk! I never had trouble with my other weather radio!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Best weather radio on the market!

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It really is the best, and the price is great at Walmart. I have a six year old Midland Radio, that has never failed me, and so when I decided to buy another weather radio for the lower level, I bought another Midland. It would be worth it at twice the price, and so easy to program.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Great Idea'

06/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love that weatherradio.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Excellent Alarm for Emergency Weather

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this type of radio a must for people who live in Tornado Alley.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Love it

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I depend on mine all the time! LOVE LOVE IT!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

works very well

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clear reception, easy to customize to your location, nice compact design. most important thing to do is watch the how to videos to adjust the settings. there are many on youtube and they are more informative than the instruction guide that comes with the radio. I mounted mine on the wall and have it set to my county and the 5 closest adjoining counties. I has alerted once for sever weather, and the alert came 45 minutes before the weather emergency app on my phone went off.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Good News

06/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No storms or weather alerts reported since turning it on. Hope it works when we do incur bad storms passing through.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Don't Buy!

06/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set it up for my zip code and county for Thunderstorm, Sever Weather and Tornado only. It NEVER alerted!!! The Houston, TX area had sever weather for weeks upon weeks and this never altered me. I had originally bought it so it would alert me when I slept. I do live in the country so maybe I'm too far from a weather station.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Doesn't sound or display any alerts.

08/23/2011
By ,
St. Cloud, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this weather radio because my $70 Radio Shack one died and they were on backorder so i had to get this one. I programmed it according to the NOAA SAME codes and radio frequency for my area, then went camping a couple of miles away, reset the code for the new county, had storms and warrnings that night it didn't show anything on the display or sound an alert. Took it back home double checked the programming and settings, they are all correct, had a storm with warnnings two days later it never sounded an alert. I have since purchased another Radio Shack radio same as i had, it sounded alerts this morning when they were issued for my area. The Radio Shack radio also lets you set the SAME codes by choosing the state, then county you are in instead of having to go online to look them up which you may not be able to do everywhere. I consider my weather radio to be as important as a smoke detector.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Alert volume not adjustable

06/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One thing I don't like about any of the midland radios is the inability to lower alert volume, other than that it is a good radio.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Works well - but can drive you crazy!

06/13/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This weather alert radio works well and I am happy with it. The only thing is if you don't set it for your immediate area, it goes off constantly with alerts for any area's signal it can pick up. Before I set it for my immediate area, it went off 10-times or more in one day! It was driving me crazy with alerts!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Great NOAA Weather Radio!

05/26/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT weather radio. It is easy to use and set up, and provides great options and features. It is a fairly simple user interface, alerts are completely visible with text scrolling on the screen. A RED LED light for a Warning, a ORANGE LED light for Watches, and a YELLOW LED light for Advisories. Love this product, and would trust to alert me of warnings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+108points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Excellent Item

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

I want a second of the same radio

07/04/2011
By ,
OnLine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love having a weather radio. Especially the way it can be off and turn itself on for warning messages. I think it's wise to have one at each end of your living space so it can be heard day and night without a need to be relocated. A fair price and money well spent if it warns me in time just once!
Getting a weather radio was recommended to me and I have since recommended it to others. I mounted it to the wall and it now advertises itself. People want to know where they can get one too. I send them to the same place I bought it, though it is available in various locations.
Thanks WallyMart
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OnLine
I finally got the second unit that I wanted
Posted 09/04/2011
I still enjoy this Radio very much. It is easy to use. As others have said, when a serious storm is coming the radio will be sounding alerts all day long. No exaggeration there! But that is easily remedied. You can quickly change the audible alerts to Display or change location from ANY to your desired areas.
The one thing that I did notice when setting up the second unit is that unit placement is important. At first, I had a weak signal and I noticed a slight high pitched whistle. I moved the radio around a bit, and after a period of time, the whistling went away. I haven't heard it since.
One thing missing that I wish this radio had was a voice alert without an 8 second 100 decibel Tone first. The voice alert is fantastic. It's the 100 decibel tone before the voice alert that is the problem. I hope the next version of this unit has the ability to disable the alarm tone and allow voice only alerts.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

I would recommend this to a friend

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next