Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midland Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Midland Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

The Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio is a special radio from Midland which provides weather alerts and gives advanced warning. The Midland Weather Radio uses S.A.M.E. digital technology which enables the user to get an excellent reception. This Midland NOAA weather radio has seven channels which help you to get the weather reports quickly. Not only can you receive local weather reports, but reports for neighboring counties. The NOAA weather radio enables you to program up to 25 counties with ease. The Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio is trilingual and can store up to ten weather alerts and hazards at a time. The user can also get three selectable warning systems through the Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio. It comes along with AC power adapter, and in case of blackouts you can use three AA batteries for emergency power backup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%114 out of 120reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

One Of The Best Weather Alert Radios On The Market

05/05/2014
By ,
Poquoson, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very modern and up to date all hazards weather alert radio. The batteries don't last very long but what many people don't understand is that this is normal for this type of radio as it is always "listening" in the background for alerts and this requires substantial power and thus batteries are ONLY meant as a backup power source in the event of a power outage. It is quite easy to program and reception and sound quality are excellent. The alert alarm (not to be confused with the alarm clock alarm) is one of the best features of this radio : it is the loudest alert alarm I have ever heard on a weather alert radio. Trust me, it WILL wake you up. Which is exactly what you want if there is a tornado warning for your area in the middle of the night. And you can program the radio to not sound the alarm for most advisories and watches and some warnings. And it has a "Display" mode which will only alert you with an on screen text message and flashing light with no audible alert at all. All in all, I am convinced that this radio could be a potential life saver (especially because of the extremely loud alarm) and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Good weather radio for the price

07/11/2011
By ,
New Baltimore, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great weather alert radio. The quality is good for the price and it does what it is supposed to do. I get the alerts several minutes to almost a half hour before they are broadcasted over the TV. I bought this radio about 3 weeks ago and so far I've been alerted 5-6 times already (3 special marine warnings, 2 thunderstorm watch's and thunderstorm warning). The best feature is programming the SAME codes to the county or surrounding counties where you live so your not getting alerts that are 100 miles away. I live in SE Michigan where storms can get pretty intense so this radio is a great tool to have so you can prepare yourself. I recommend the Midland wr120 radio or any good quality weather radio to anyone who lives in zones where severe weather could strike any time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Excellent Weather radio

05/28/2014
By ,
Junction City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had Radio Shack brand weather alert radios but Midland really has set the standard. Setup on this couldn't be easier. They now have eliminated having to find and then enter the FIPS codes. Setup is intuitive and instead of plugging in codes, all you have to do is know what counties you are near as well as the one you live in. You tell the radio what counties you want it to monitor, set a few options and that's it. I have two of these in my home and they are working perfectly so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

good weather radio

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great radio, well worth the cost
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Good value

04/24/2014
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After returning another Midland weather radio, the sales associate recommended this one. The price was great so I decided to try it. It's very basic but that's what I was looking for. It literally took less than 2 minutes to program. We've not had bad weather so far, so can't comment on alerts. I would recommend this weather radio if you want a basic, low cost unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Works well - but can drive you crazy!

06/13/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This weather alert radio works well and I am happy with it. The only thing is if you don't set it for your immediate area, it goes off constantly with alerts for any area's signal it can pick up. Before I set it for my immediate area, it went off 10-times or more in one day! It was driving me crazy with alerts!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Good for Home, office, or student living.

03/06/2014
By ,
Jacksonville State University
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 10 years of use my second Midland Weather radio (that is SAME capable) stopped receiving a charge from the charger but still worked on batteries. I bought the same but newer model WR120 and was pleasantly surprised that they had upgraded some of the features. This is a good radio for weather broadcasts and for emergencies. It usually triggers the alarm a good 15 seconds before the tv interrupts programming, at night this usually gives me time to turn on the tv to see the radar and local tv broadcast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

So Far So Good

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't had much inclement weather since purchasing it so we haven't had it go off with an alert but setting it up and getting signal was a breeze. The only downside I can see is that while you can adjust the volume on the weather reporting you cannot apparantly adjust it for the alert sounds. It sits about 3 feet away from me at work so it's inevitable that when it goes off I will need to be peeled off of the ceiling before I can take cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

very confusing to set ap

06/29/2014
By ,
Greenfield, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Backlight is too bright, when it is turned off, cannot see the time.....alert signal is way too loud and cannot be adjusted.....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Doesn't sound or display any alerts.

08/23/2011
By ,
St. Cloud, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this weather radio because my $70 Radio Shack one died and they were on backorder so i had to get this one. I programmed it according to the NOAA SAME codes and radio frequency for my area, then went camping a couple of miles away, reset the code for the new county, had storms and warrnings that night it didn't show anything on the display or sound an alert. Took it back home double checked the programming and settings, they are all correct, had a storm with warnnings two days later it never sounded an alert. I have since purchased another Radio Shack radio same as i had, it sounded alerts this morning when they were issued for my area. The Radio Shack radio also lets you set the SAME codes by choosing the state, then county you are in instead of having to go online to look them up which you may not be able to do everywhere. I consider my weather radio to be as important as a smoke detector.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Great NOAA Weather Radio!

05/26/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT weather radio. It is easy to use and set up, and provides great options and features. It is a fairly simple user interface, alerts are completely visible with text scrolling on the screen. A RED LED light for a Warning, a ORANGE LED light for Watches, and a YELLOW LED light for Advisories. Love this product, and would trust to alert me of warnings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Nice to have in area prone to severe weather

01/19/2014
By ,
Belleville,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The radio is easy to use. It was very reasonably priced and it even has an alarm clock on it. I love the easy way you set up the counties for which you want alerts. The volume is great and you can even hit the weather button and get the forecast each morning. I would definitely recommend this radio especially if you live in a tornado prone area. Early warnings save lives!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio
08/08/2011
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit works good you just need to decide what area you want the unit to cover. It has multi channels and if you use them all it will squawk whenever and where ever there is a storm. There is a web site to determine your area and channel to use. Overall good buy. It is replacing a old one I had. Does take 3 double A battries for back up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

I want a second of the same radio

07/04/2011
By ,
OnLine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love having a weather radio. Especially the way it can be off and turn itself on for warning messages. I think it's wise to have one at each end of your living space so it can be heard day and night without a need to be relocated. A fair price and money well spent if it warns me in time just once!
Getting a weather radio was recommended to me and I have since recommended it to others. I mounted it to the wall and it now advertises itself. People want to know where they can get one too. I send them to the same place I bought it, though it is available in various locations.
Thanks WallyMart
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OnLine
I finally got the second unit that I wanted
Posted 09/04/2011
I still enjoy this Radio very much. It is easy to use. As others have said, when a serious storm is coming the radio will be sounding alerts all day long. No exaggeration there! But that is easily remedied. You can quickly change the audible alerts to Display or change location from ANY to your desired areas.
The one thing that I did notice when setting up the second unit is that unit placement is important. At first, I had a weak signal and I noticed a slight high pitched whistle. I moved the radio around a bit, and after a period of time, the whistling went away. I haven't heard it since.
One thing missing that I wish this radio had was a voice alert without an 8 second 100 decibel Tone first. The voice alert is fantastic. It's the 100 decibel tone before the voice alert that is the problem. I hope the next version of this unit has the ability to disable the alarm tone and allow voice only alerts.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Wonderful Weather Radio

08/13/2013
By ,
Van Wert, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my girlfriend that did not have a weather radio.
This weather radio was recommended by our director of Homeland Security and Emergency Management. The setup was very easy. Instead of programming codes as with the previous model, this one goes by state and county.
When threatening weather does occur, this unit is loud enough to wake you up from a deep sleep.
I would recommend this to my family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

.

06/29/2014
By ,
Janesville, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great weather alert device for a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Reasonably priced weather radio

06/27/2011
By ,
Hudson, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great weather radio at a reasonable price. Can be programmed for your county only, for multiple counties or all counties. Very clear digital display and the sound is very clear. Easy to understand what is being said. With the way the weather is changing and becoming more intense, this is a "must-have".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

A must have

06/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome weather radio. Notification will wake you out of a dead sleep
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Essential in tornado areas

07/11/2012
By ,
Onsted, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having been in Alabama when the tornadoes hit last year, I feel a weather alert radio is a necessity. I had not really thought about it when I got back to Michigan until there were storms, and the tornado siren in town went off. I went looking for one the next day. The first time it went off, it startled me, but told me the severe weather was in the next county coming my way. It goes on automatically when severe weather is in the area, but you can turn it on any time to hear what the weather is going to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio

Great radio for the price.

07/21/2014
By ,
Taylorville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put the radio on the nightstand in an upstairs bedroom and the first time it sounded an alarm I was downstairs watching TV and I could hear it as if I was in the room with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next