Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Rival Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

Rival Hot Air Popcorn Maker - Model PC-830. Enjoy fresh hot air-popped popcorn in minutes. Includes measuring scoop and butter tray. Attractive design with see-thru removable cover.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation64%7 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

Very good air popcorn popper

04/16/2011
By ,
Charleston SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd shopped around for an electric popcorn maker as I didn't like the hot oil smell that lingered in the kitchen from pan popcorn. After reading many reviews, I happened across this unit on sale! and used it as soon as I got home.
This unit has an on/off switch. It is light, compact, and easy to use. I have had no problem with the lid melting or distorting. It melts the butter well. When in operation, the base of the unit is tepid to the touch but the lid gets hot. I made about 8 batches of popcorn for my family of 6. One batch should be enough for 2 adults however we were hungry. There were only several kernels that didn't pop and was about same number with each batch @ 7-10. The popcorn doesn't blow all over, no need to make magic angles with the bowl to catch any "flying" popcorn. It's reasonably noisy, not any louder than a hand blender or hair dryer. The popping only lasts 4-5 min and the popcorn is deliCIOus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Review 2 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

Excellent popper. But....

04/11/2011
By ,
Lago Vista, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bare bones popcorn popper works great except for one problem, the clear plastic assembly on the top of the units will start to deform if you use the popper to make a lot of popcorn. after 4 batches were run through, the measuring cup started to get bubbles in it, and the top began to sag inward. I was able to somewhat shape it back into a usable condition, but it will have to be exchanged for a new unit that isn't compromised. so if you plan to make a lot of popcorn, give the unit a rest after a few batches.
The older Rival model that this replaced never had this problem in 30 years of use, Way to go Rival!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 3 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

this is junk, buy something else

06/12/2011
By ,
Birmingham, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife purchased this for me for my birthday, because I had been wanting one. We got it home and on the first run it starts to melt the plastic top. I filled the cup up as the instructions say and popped a total of 3 cups worth of kernals. By the end of the 3rd batch the top was so disfigured the cup wouldn't even come out.
I used to think Rival was a fair brand; but I see that they have got cheap in thier products too.
I would not recommend product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 4 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

Good Product

09/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Follow the directions and you won't have some of the problems outlined on other poor reviews, in my opinion. I cannot attest to to the durability yet but I was pleased and this tastes so much better than microwave popcorn. If you can get some butter salt from your local movie theater it's even better!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 5 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

It's ok

06/05/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At $18.77 in store I don't have much room to complain. Make sure you put in enough kernels for each batch. During the first attempt the blowing hot air that heats the kernels simply air-lifted all the yet un-popped kernels right out the chute and into our bowl; then, what few popped pieces there were actually sank to the bottom and were less likely to fly out the chute than the un-popped ones--disaster! Our second run worked better since we put in more kernels which created more collective resistance to the blowing air. It has a nice simple and relatively compact design, it certainly feels cheap (as most things do these days)--It was very affordable though! I think the chute needs to be slightly higher
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 6 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

Instructions are inaccurate, mech-savvy only

10/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Instructions say measuring cup (that came w/the unit) holds 1-1/2 cups; It holds 1/2 cup. Instructions say pop with 1 cup to 1-1/2 cups of popcorn, I'd say 1/2 to 1 cup, or 1 to 2 of their measuring cups, which yields medium to large bowl of popcorn. Do not know if other errors are in instructions...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 7 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

Terrible

07/02/2011
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this popper from our local Walmart, taking it back tomorrow! We read the directions before attempting to make the popcorn & correctly measured out the kernals....what a joke! Nothing "popped" it started smoking! Directions did state if you over fill the machine it can smoke, we didn't! Maybe we got a lemon, but I'm not going to take the chance again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 8 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker
12/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used it once and it now goes in the garbage. I am angry. You must use a least 1 CUP of kernels or they all just end up on the floor. Do you have any idea how much popped corn this makes? If you have a family of 12, they may work for you. If not, pass. I will also pass on the brand of anything (rival) every again.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

Pretty Decent

09/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just used this for the first time, took a few mins to warm up and at first kernels popped out not popped. Soon it was on its way and did a pretty decent job, not bad at all for $18 bucks.Don't put the cup in the dishwasher, read all directions
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker

OK for popcorn, but not the best.

12/13/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok for a hot air popper, but a plastic butter tray requires heating of butter in an alternate container.
I bought this as a replacement for my old Wearever which seemed to be on it's last legs---hope it lasts longer than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rival Electric Popcorn Maker
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5