Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Frigidaire's 18,500-BTU 230V window-mounted median air conditioner with 16,000-BTU supplemental heat capability is perfect for rooms up to 1,170 square feet. In addition to cooling, this versatile unit also offers supplemental heat capability, providing you with an additional heat source to your main heat source when outdoor temperatures are above 45 degrees Fahrenheit. It quickly cools the room on hot days and quiet operation keeps you comfortable without keeping you awake. Features include electronic controls, full-function remote control, 8-way air direction control and multiple speeds. Plus, the fresh air vent and exhaust control remove odors and freshen the air while the antibacterial mesh filter cleans the air removing harmful bacteria and airborne particles for a cool, comfortable environment. This unit requires a special 230V electrical outlet and will not operate with a standard 115V household electrical outlet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%61 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 154 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

I works great

08/14/2012
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Five days after I ordered this ac, it was delivered, 6 days earlier than what they said it would. I had gone on line and gotten all the tech stuff and allready had the hole in the wall, double pole 30 breaker and special 30 amp plug all in place when it got here. Got my son to help me lift it, it is heavy and had it running in about one hour. It is in my sun room, about 1,000 sq. feet on the north side of the house. It has 13 double pane glass windows and a steel half buck door. The day I installed it I set it for 72 degrees, in just a few hours the auto feature shut it off because it reached the 72 degrees. It did come on several times during the afternoon, it got to 105 about 3 and at 6, it is still 100 degrees, but is is keeping the room cool. I am soooo very happy, I was worried about it cooling such a long room, I did put a floor fan on low about the middle of the room to move the air to the end, the room is about 55 feet long and half of that is 8 feet wide and the rest is about 18 feet wide. I am very happy with it, will have to wait until sometime in December probably to see how the heat works.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Excellent additional heat - AC unit

01/21/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, remote control is nice - helps in the circulation of air warm or cool. Adds that additional assistance to central units. Has a different type of plug that required we change out an existing plug previously used by a different unit. Had trouble locating the wall socket that was needed to match the units plug. We have not owned the product long enough to rate the energy efficiency.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

great item

11/25/2013
By ,
Ludowici,Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great item
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Better price than any where else I shopped.

11/16/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received first unit in 2 days but was damaged. Simply returned it to a local Walmart with no problems. Ordered a second one. Arrived 2 days later. No problems so far. Installation was simple. Works great so far. Thanks Walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great for the intended use

01/15/2014
By ,
chesapeake virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very satisfied thus far. Purchased for my garage and is working well. Installing not that difficult though a couple of areas were a little vague in instructions. Nice unit, not too loud, attractive and easy to read display.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Champ2011

01/16/2014
By ,
Wrightsville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great A/C

06/24/2012
By ,
Mohave Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We turned our 1,000 sq ft garage into living quarters for our daughter and installed the Frigidaire A/C as the only source for cooling about 2 months ago. It has worked perfectly, even in 117 degree weather. We cleaned the filter once so far; very easy to do. The manual states that the unit should only be used as a backup heat source, but it doesn't get below 40 degrees at night very often in Western AZ. We have a portable heater just in case. One bad note; the unit was either shipped or delivered upside down, so the guys who installed it told us not to turn it on for about a week to let the coolant settle. There should be a sign with arrows, "THIS SIDE UP" on the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
07/15/2012
By ,
CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AFTER INSTALLING THE WIREING N SWITCH FOR THE UNIT, IT IS WORKING GREAT,FOR MY 950 SQ. MASTER BEDROOM.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
11/19/2011
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to help heat my house and reduce the use of my oil furnace. It really puts out plenty of heat and is keeping my house toast warm!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great a/c- super fast delivery- VERY pleased

12/08/2011
By ,
Texas :-)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are super pleased- very fast delivery- product is great -especially being able to use for cool or heat :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Good product overall

10/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the ac/heater for my daughter to use in her mobile home. The cost of fuel oil is so expensive we thought we'd try an electric heat source this year. The work involved in changing out her oil heater to an electric one was very involved and timely. With the window unit we purchased it only took a short time to install and it seems to be heating her whole home. It is only the end of October so time will tell how well it will do when it gets extremely cold. But we are optimistic that it will work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
04/08/2012
By ,
Kansas City, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small house and this unit cools my living room and kitchen no problems!! I love it. This was one size down from the biggest unit and it works so well! Very quiet as well. I am used to the monster units and they sound like a monster too but not this one. I am a very fixed budget and was so afraid of spending this kind of money but so far I'm very happy I did, well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Awesome Quiet AC

05/22/2012
By ,
Olmsted Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit for a second home that is 900sqft and it is perfect. We have to keep the AC on 78 degrees even when the outside temp is in the 90's. It doesn't use much electricity compared to the older units and space heaters, I hope the heat is just as efficient as the AC this winter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Good product

05/09/2012
By ,
Rainbow City, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We built in our garage to have a playroom for our daughter and soon to arrive son. So far it works very good. But we live in AL and our summer's get hot and humid. So we will see within the next few weeks/months. We haven't used the heat yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Nice unit

05/10/2012
By ,
OKC, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a review from a person that bought one from Amazon and it took the third shipment to get one that was not damaged in shipping. Even though Amazon was $50 lower priced, I went with Walmart just in case I had to return it to the store. This would save the packing and shipping it back to Amazon and the long wait to get it credited back, etc. I received mine and of course it was damaged too. The packaging is not good. So, I got my trailer and took it to my local Walmart store and immediately got a refund. Then, I reordered a second one. To my surprise it was delivered the next day. The first one took five days. I carefully opened the box fully expecting more damage but this one was good. The installation is easy enough. Mine is a thru-the-wall type of installation and not a window type. The airconditioner/heater works great. One caveat. The instructions talk about noise the airconditioner may make as in: compressor noise, wind noise, etc., and of pinging of water droplets being blown into the condensor coils to keep them cool. Well, it is more than just a little pinging. It sounds like the blades are hitting an obstruction every few seconds. It is very loud from the outside and annoying from the inside. I solved the problem however. I pulled the unit out from the wall and drilled a small hole in the sump that collects the water. Yes, I know it will not be as efficient but with the reduced noise, that is acceptable. There should be some sort of a drain that does not allow that much water to accumulate and be thrown. The main reason I bought this airconditioner/heater is that on the economy mode, the fan shuts off as well as the compressor. Especially in the winter, I do not want the fan running the whole time. I had bought another airconditioner/heater, installed it, and it did just the opposite of the instructions and ran the whole time. Obvisiouly, I sent it back. It took three weeks to get the credit back on my credit card. That is why I did not buy from Amazon this time. Walmart will take care of you. I can recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Fantastically freezing!

08/24/2012
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finished installation at around 6 in the evening in triple digit heat. Having only a small room, 8,000 BTUs in the living room, I expected the house to have several hours of cooling to be nice. By around 8:30 the kids were reaching for blankets! By the time I went to bed, I was frozen and curled up under my comforter! Something I haven't done since April. This is large enough to cool off the living room, dining room, kitchen, laundry area, and hallway. Each bedroom has it's own small unit to assist, but this was a great investment.
This machine is quiet, sits over the couch in the living room, and keeps the temperature setting automatically. Turning off and on without running constantly! To have gone from inadequate cooling to comfort has been bliss! If your air has issues or you don't have units, this is certainly an investment worth going for!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
11/29/2011
By ,
Spotsylvania, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit performs better than expected!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Doing very well the first month.

07/28/2013
By ,
SANFORD, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this unit installed for about 3 weeks now. My house is 1080 sq ft, and with the central blower, this unit keeps the house comfortable. I have not had an electric bill for a month's use, so I am not able to comment on the cost yet. Be prepared for the large 230 plug, and read through the instructions before beginning installation- it will go faster and smoother. Don't forget a level, as the unit needs to sit at a slight angle for draining. I hope I remember to come back after the first electric bill, and then after cool weather hits to give updated reviews. I do like the unit, it is easy to use. I don't have it near a tv or sitting area, so no comment on the noise level - this is not an issue for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Works better than I expected

04/04/2013
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I must say this was an excellent choice however, i was worried about the heat not doing good but it seems to work better than I expected have not used the air yet but if this is of any indication i think the air will cool my 950sq ft business just fine.. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Excellent unit

12/28/2012
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used the heater function so far but it works great in my shop. Quickly heats a 750 sq ft room and cycles off and on infrequently saving electricity. Quiet operation and is everything the information about the unit claims is correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 60 total reviews