Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Morris Products Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Morris Products Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Frigidaire's 18,500-BTU 230V window-mounted median air conditioner with 16,000-BTU supplemental heat capability is perfect for rooms up to 1,170 square feet. In addition to cooling, this versatile unit also offers supplemental heat capability, providing you with an additional heat source to your main heat source when outdoor temperatures are above 45 degrees Fahrenheit. It quickly cools the room on hot days and quiet operation keeps you comfortable without keeping you awake. Features include electronic controls, full-function remote control, 8-way air direction control and multiple speeds. Plus, the fresh air vent and exhaust control remove odors and freshen the air while the antibacterial mesh filter cleans the air removing harmful bacteria and airborne particles for a cool, comfortable environment. This unit requires a special 230V electrical outlet and will not operate with a standard 115V household electrical outlet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%61 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great a/c- super fast delivery- VERY pleased

12/08/2011
By ,
Texas :-)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are super pleased- very fast delivery- product is great -especially being able to use for cool or heat :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 22 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Good product overall

10/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the ac/heater for my daughter to use in her mobile home. The cost of fuel oil is so expensive we thought we'd try an electric heat source this year. The work involved in changing out her oil heater to an electric one was very involved and timely. With the window unit we purchased it only took a short time to install and it seems to be heating her whole home. It is only the end of October so time will tell how well it will do when it gets extremely cold. But we are optimistic that it will work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 23 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
04/08/2012
By ,
Kansas City, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small house and this unit cools my living room and kitchen no problems!! I love it. This was one size down from the biggest unit and it works so well! Very quiet as well. I am used to the monster units and they sound like a monster too but not this one. I am a very fixed budget and was so afraid of spending this kind of money but so far I'm very happy I did, well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 24 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Awesome Quiet AC

05/22/2012
By ,
Olmsted Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit for a second home that is 900sqft and it is perfect. We have to keep the AC on 78 degrees even when the outside temp is in the 90's. It doesn't use much electricity compared to the older units and space heaters, I hope the heat is just as efficient as the AC this winter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 25 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Good product

05/09/2012
By ,
Rainbow City, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We built in our garage to have a playroom for our daughter and soon to arrive son. So far it works very good. But we live in AL and our summer's get hot and humid. So we will see within the next few weeks/months. We haven't used the heat yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 26 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great unit for the price!

03/04/2014
By ,
Schulenburg, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced an old window unit in a 560 sq ft building. This one is much quieter, holds temp much better, both cold and heat. Oversized the unit to fit the opening and also to make sure it could keep up. Building is a modular and not well insulated. Did have to change the receptacle. Be advised before you start installation. Check out what the plug looks like and have one ready. Very happy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 27 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Nice unit

05/10/2012
By ,
OKC, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a review from a person that bought one from Amazon and it took the third shipment to get one that was not damaged in shipping. Even though Amazon was $50 lower priced, I went with Walmart just in case I had to return it to the store. This would save the packing and shipping it back to Amazon and the long wait to get it credited back, etc. I received mine and of course it was damaged too. The packaging is not good. So, I got my trailer and took it to my local Walmart store and immediately got a refund. Then, I reordered a second one. To my surprise it was delivered the next day. The first one took five days. I carefully opened the box fully expecting more damage but this one was good. The installation is easy enough. Mine is a thru-the-wall type of installation and not a window type. The airconditioner/heater works great. One caveat. The instructions talk about noise the airconditioner may make as in: compressor noise, wind noise, etc., and of pinging of water droplets being blown into the condensor coils to keep them cool. Well, it is more than just a little pinging. It sounds like the blades are hitting an obstruction every few seconds. It is very loud from the outside and annoying from the inside. I solved the problem however. I pulled the unit out from the wall and drilled a small hole in the sump that collects the water. Yes, I know it will not be as efficient but with the reduced noise, that is acceptable. There should be some sort of a drain that does not allow that much water to accumulate and be thrown. The main reason I bought this airconditioner/heater is that on the economy mode, the fan shuts off as well as the compressor. Especially in the winter, I do not want the fan running the whole time. I had bought another airconditioner/heater, installed it, and it did just the opposite of the instructions and ran the whole time. Obvisiouly, I sent it back. It took three weeks to get the credit back on my credit card. That is why I did not buy from Amazon this time. Walmart will take care of you. I can recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 28 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Fantastically freezing!

08/24/2012
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finished installation at around 6 in the evening in triple digit heat. Having only a small room, 8,000 BTUs in the living room, I expected the house to have several hours of cooling to be nice. By around 8:30 the kids were reaching for blankets! By the time I went to bed, I was frozen and curled up under my comforter! Something I haven't done since April. This is large enough to cool off the living room, dining room, kitchen, laundry area, and hallway. Each bedroom has it's own small unit to assist, but this was a great investment.
This machine is quiet, sits over the couch in the living room, and keeps the temperature setting automatically. Turning off and on without running constantly! To have gone from inadequate cooling to comfort has been bliss! If your air has issues or you don't have units, this is certainly an investment worth going for!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
11/29/2011
By ,
Spotsylvania, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit performs better than expected!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 30 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Better price than any where else I shopped.

11/16/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received first unit in 2 days but was damaged. Simply returned it to a local Walmart with no problems. Ordered a second one. Arrived 2 days later. No problems so far. Installation was simple. Works great so far. Thanks Walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 31 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

great item

11/25/2013
By ,
Ludowici,Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great item
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 32 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Works better than I expected

04/04/2013
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I must say this was an excellent choice however, i was worried about the heat not doing good but it seems to work better than I expected have not used the air yet but if this is of any indication i think the air will cool my 950sq ft business just fine.. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Excellent unit

12/28/2012
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used the heater function so far but it works great in my shop. Quickly heats a 750 sq ft room and cycles off and on infrequently saving electricity. Quiet operation and is everything the information about the unit claims is correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Doing very well the first month.

07/28/2013
By ,
SANFORD, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this unit installed for about 3 weeks now. My house is 1080 sq ft, and with the central blower, this unit keeps the house comfortable. I have not had an electric bill for a month's use, so I am not able to comment on the cost yet. Be prepared for the large 230 plug, and read through the instructions before beginning installation- it will go faster and smoother. Don't forget a level, as the unit needs to sit at a slight angle for draining. I hope I remember to come back after the first electric bill, and then after cool weather hits to give updated reviews. I do like the unit, it is easy to use. I don't have it near a tv or sitting area, so no comment on the noise level - this is not an issue for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

So far great--haven't used heating yet, just air

09/11/2012
By ,
Middle Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a rental house so can't really rate it yet. However, I can praise Wal-Mart and their online ordering service. The first air conditioner/heater had bent prongs, so I was going to send it back. Ordered another one which was promptly sent to me. In the meantime, an electrician who the renter got apparently straightened the prongs on the first one and installed it. I contacted Wal-Mart, and the second one was picked up at no charge to me. I am in Wal-Mart almost every day, and also buy all my gas there. Needless to say, I love Wal-Mart. I have ordered some things online and have always had great service. Can't really say about the unit yet, but can certainly give Wal-Mart online service five stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Excellent additional heat - AC unit

01/21/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, remote control is nice - helps in the circulation of air warm or cool. Adds that additional assistance to central units. Has a different type of plug that required we change out an existing plug previously used by a different unit. Had trouble locating the wall socket that was needed to match the units plug. We have not owned the product long enough to rate the energy efficiency.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

0/2 on getting a unit that that is functional

08/15/2013
By ,
Aurora, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Both units I have received have been damaged in transit. Walmart was kind enough to compensate for damages. The first unit sounded fine, run until bedtime and did a great job. When I went to turn it on the next day it would not power up and so I returned it. The 2nd unit came about a week later. Box looked bad when I received it but with the warm weather we were having, i took it home anyway. Unit cools fine but vibrates very very badly. I am planning on returning it and trying another. The unit cools nicely and the remote is handy, looking forward to getting a complete good one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Easy to install. Works Great

03/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Installed this thru the wall and it works great. Heats good and freezes the house.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
0points
Review 39 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Good price and works great

02/24/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bad boy moves a lot of air.
Heats the house quick and cold air on the AC setting will allow you to hang meat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

loud

03/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works fine, but loud
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 60 total reviews