Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Frigidaire's 18,500-BTU 230V window-mounted median air conditioner with 16,000-BTU supplemental heat capability is perfect for rooms up to 1,170 square feet. In addition to cooling, this versatile unit also offers supplemental heat capability, providing you with an additional heat source to your main heat source when outdoor temperatures are above 45 degrees Fahrenheit. It quickly cools the room on hot days and quiet operation keeps you comfortable without keeping you awake. Features include electronic controls, full-function remote control, 8-way air direction control and multiple speeds. Plus, the fresh air vent and exhaust control remove odors and freshen the air while the antibacterial mesh filter cleans the air removing harmful bacteria and airborne particles for a cool, comfortable environment. This unit requires a special 230V electrical outlet and will not operate with a standard 115V household electrical outlet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%61 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 154 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

efectivenes

05/05/2012
By ,
Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not as effective as claimed to be, cool alright but the heat is not effective, also some damage on the allumminam cooling fins.
and it guard is not sufficiant.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Excellent Unit For the Money!!!

11/10/2013
By ,
Dalton,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit back in the spring just as the temps were getting warmer. I put this a/c unit in a 16ft x 36ft room with a 12 ft.ceiling. It has worked GREAT all summer just set the desired temp and hit the energy saving mode and leave it alone, it will turn on and off by it self. Now that the weather is cooling the heat seems to work the same. I ordered it as I was finishing the room so I installed it through the wall and had the wiring in place it takes a 220v outlet so be sure to get a professional electrician run the wire and outlet for you (which can be a bit pricey, but well worth it). It installed fairly easy make sure you have help ,me and 1 friend put it in, I would recommend having 3 people for the install, because it is a little awkward.
If you are realistic in your expectations this is a GREAT UNIT for a GREAT PRICE , for those that expect to much, go ahead and call your air conditioning professional and spend thousands. With wiring and everything I spent just $980.00 which also includes the unit. The a/c pros. wanted over $4500.00 for a system to heat and cool the room, so I figured I saved around $3000.00 to $3500.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Awesome Unit!

08/02/2012
By ,
Wentzville, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is AWESOME! I bought it on sale through Walmart.com with Site to Store shipping for $539. Added the $75 3 year warranty also. It was bought to go in my garage (mounted in the wall), I temporarily mounted it in a garage window before tearing the siding off the garage to make sure it performed as expected. I work on cars in my garage everyday and I can say I certianly haven't been let down. Granted I have only used the A/C thus far, but it's well Overrated at 1,100+ sq/ft.. my garage is only 420 sq ft. The garage is fully insulated (including 16ft garage door) and drywalled. The remote works great.. however it would be nice if it displayed the temperature on the remote.
Make sure you have it hooked up correctly! With a DOUBLE POLE 30 Amp breaker!
As stated, this unit works as expected. I certianly recommend it to anyone to use in their garage or home. It's not a terribly loud unit either, but pushes out some air flow!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Decent Unit for the Price

10/02/2013
By ,
Richmond, Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit installed rather easily. I installed it in a window. Basic hand tools required. Unit is fairly large, heavy and deep so properly anchoring the metal "shell" prior to installing the actual unit is critical. I didn't have any problems doing this just pointing it out. Unit is pretty loud when fan is on high, but is very reasonable when fan is on low. Having the heat option is nice, I haven't been able to test that out yet as it is still warm here in Va. this time of year. Full function remote is also a nice feature. I have a very similar unit, also a Frigidaire, installed in another part of the facility. It has been installed for about 5 years now and I haven't had a moments problem out of it. I hope this unit will provide the same great service. For the $560 or so dollars this unit was after tax, its not a bad price at all if you compare it to a traditional split system that would cost close to a few thousand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great unit for the price!

03/04/2014
By ,
Schulenburg, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced an old window unit in a 560 sq ft building. This one is much quieter, holds temp much better, both cold and heat. Oversized the unit to fit the opening and also to make sure it could keep up. Building is a modular and not well insulated. Did have to change the receptacle. Be advised before you start installation. Check out what the plug looks like and have one ready. Very happy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
06/22/2011
By ,
Sullivan, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item for my son's home, which I own, as his old air conditioner stopped working
it not only did great cooling, but also was great with heating, his house is only about 1500 sq. ft.
it able to heat and cool the whole house, with about 25% less cost. He has only had for
18 months, but it is still working great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+173points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mississippi
WHY
Posted 04/26/2013
I bought this unit and just picked it up at the store. On the outside of the box in large letters is "NOT TO BE USED AS PRIMARY HEAT SOURCE". Why!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Just in time for winter...

12/16/2013
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in Florida, you need heat sometimes and this unit does the trick. We will assume that the air conditioning function will work when May rolls around but for December we are using the heat and loving it. Also we assume that the energy efficiency will be MUCH better than our old unit that died after about 12 years.
I have to comment on the "Walmart" aspects of this purchase. We would have purchased it from Amazon but the ability to use Walmart's Ship to Store so we could pick the unit up at our local WM as opposed to trying to be available at some unknown time for delivery from a trucking company made the WM aggravation worth it to us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great Air Conditioner

08/20/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our central ac (heat pump) went out in the middle of the 100 degree plus summer heat wave. We installed this AC which arrived very quickly from Wal-Mart.com and it quickly cooled our house down to 72 degrees. Our house is 1300 square feet upstairs and 1200 in the basement. The basement already stays cool so it wasn't a problem but upstairs it was 90 plus in the house with fans going. Havent got to try the heat out yet but it beats paying over $800 dollars to install a new coil in my old central air unit air handler. Then risking something else going out a couple months later like it did before $1200 compressor install.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Poor packaging, but great product

12/03/2013
By ,
Jackson, Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little unit, amazing how well it heats. The only drawback is poor packaging. I had to beat several dents out of it before I installed it. Luckily there was no damage to any vital parts. A lot of the reviews I've read say the same thing. Frigidaire needs to address this issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Works great so far.

07/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only used a/c so far, but love the fact that it shuts it self off when running in econo mode.
Sure hope the heater works as well this winter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Gets the job done.

10/09/2011
By ,
Galliano, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Products works great!
Fan is a little loud so probably not the best if putting item in the living room or any other area with a TV near by, but the results are well worth it.
Would have been great if the website would post a picture of the plug-in needed seeing as there are just so many different types of 220V outlets. While it only took an hour of time, changing out the outlet for this system was a minor nuisance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Excellent 1 window unit cooling

08/05/2011
By ,
West Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased mine about a month ago was doubting it could cool my whole house but has done wonders. No matter what I have set the thermostat at it has been perfect even with the temperature being 103 - 105 everyday for the last month. Well recomended. Have not tried the heater portion yet but will this winter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

loud

03/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works fine, but loud
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Good experience overall. Very fast Shipping..

05/23/2012
By ,
Ct.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice system for the money & Wal Mart shipped almost next day. The Mfg package(Box) is a bit on the light side but nothing was damaged. Found the sleeve to be a bit thin considering the weight of the unit but if secured well into the studding, it seems to be OK. Cooling & heating worked on the initial test & time will tell if the system is durable. 220 v 25 or 30 Amp service needed. Hard wired the unit removing the huge plug. The remote looks like it has a LED display but it dosn't seem to work on mine. Need to look into it to see if remote is defective or needs programming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
01/17/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My home is just over 600 square feet.
I've been using this product primarily for heat at this time.
I am very satisfied.
It's very efficient.
The impact on my electric bill has been minimal.
It's not a big noise maker .
The small amount of experience I've had using the a/c has been very positive.
Be aware its a big 30 amp 220 plug.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Easy to install. Works Great

03/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Installed this thru the wall and it works great. Heats good and freezes the house.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Good price and works great

02/24/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bad boy moves a lot of air.
Heats the house quick and cold air on the AC setting will allow you to hang meat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Excellent product for a great price

08/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is working wonderful! We have only used the air conditioner so far, but we are very pleased. It does a great job of cooling our living room, kitchen, and one of our bedrooms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Works Great

07/30/2011
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my Through the Wall Air Conditioner died, I bought this unit. It is a little smaller that what I had before, but with the budget, this was the one that would work for me. I found that not only it cools twice as fast as the old unit, but it cools the entire house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Frigidaire FRA18EMU2 18,500-BTU 230V Room Window Air Conditioner with 16,000-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Heater works great

11/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't had the opportunity to use the A/C yet but the heater works great for warming up 2 big rooms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next