Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Keystone Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Keystone Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Keep your home clean and dry with the Keystone 70-pint dehumidifier. This basement Keystone dehumidifier comes with a water level indicator and a full bucket indicator that alerts you when the bucket is full and needs to be emptied. This energy-star electric dehumidifier has a rolling caster at the bottom to shift its location easily whenever required. You can easily adjust the humidity setting by the controls with LED display. The air-filter in this Keystone 70-pint dehumidifier is easy to clean. Save money on your electricity bills and keep your environment humidity free with this Keystone dehumidifier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.112 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation87%77 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Great Product

07/27/2011
By ,
Golden, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has a 1.8 L/kWh Energy Factor which is as good as others its size, and better than smaller capacity units in general. Works great, is quieter than some others, and has an automatic defrost option ( reads "P1" on readout ) without a heater ( some Danby reviewers have complained of room heating up from defrost heater on Danby) ( when a temp. sensor detects frosting of the coil, the compressor shuts down, the fan speed goes to hi if not already set there, and it blows room air over the coil until it defrosts, then the temp. sensor turns the condensor back on for continued dehumidyfying automatically ). Water tank has an easy to carry handle, also has a hose connection for continuous draining, and can set it to continuous or humidity controlled operation modes. The LCD readout displays the humidity of the incoming air, and also allows adjustment of humidity level in increments of 5 from 35 - 65 %. Operates in room temps. as low as 41 F according to manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+117points
Review 2 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A
09/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dehumidifier works great and quite effective. Noise level low & tolerable. The only negative thing is the continuous running. It comes with a small plastic tube that connects to a plastic hose connection on the back of the dehumidifier. A small garden hose is needed to drain the water off. However, the continuous part is not true. Some water does drain into the inside removable container thus filling the container in about 8 to 12 hours. It then shuts off until it is emptied. I believed that it was a true continuous running machine when I purchased it. That connecting it to a hose would keep it running until the thermostat stopped it. Other than that one quirk, the product works great and Walmart had the best price on line of 7 companies I checked on line. Plus, the shipping was a mere 97 cents. Delivered in 3 days to my door as well.
I go away sometimes and thought the continuous part would be something I would need should it rain often. That was my only disappointment about this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Overall, pleased with product.

08/29/2011
By ,
The Frozen Tundra, Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit to help with the mold/mildrew smells that developed in my home after a very humid summer in Wisconsin. The unit pulled a lot of water out of the air, and helped with the smell. To keep on top of it, I have to continue to run it. When I shut it off, the smell eventually comes back. Overall, I am pleased with the product. I have a large, single story home (no basement) which is spread out and I will probably buy another unit so I don't have to keep moving this one around. I need to empty it 2x per day, as I have no drain available to use the continous feature. It makes noise about equal to my box fan on the number 2 setting. It does heat up the room, which I don't like about it, so my air conditioner is on more. The unit shuts off when the humidity level I set is reached and when the bucket is full, which is nice. The unit sometimes switches to the turbo mode and the indicator shows a code P1, not sure what that means, the manual doesn't say either. I think it has to do with the compressor, but it resolves itself and returns to my settings. If I do buy another unit, I will definitely consider the same one. Tip, buy the largest one you can afford, so it pulls out enough water and will shut off and safe energy. If you buy too small, it will run too often or all the time and really use energy and heat up the room more. Hope this helps you with your decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 4 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Works Great

07/24/2011
By ,
Macomb, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier has been a great addition to my basement. It has a larger capacity than my previous one and it is quieter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 5 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

solid performer

10/06/2011
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had a damp basement for years and I finally got around to buying a dehumidifier. We have a large unfinished basement (2000 square feet) and we've had the machine running since we bought it (it arrived Sept. 18th; it is now October 6th). Because it's a large room, it took a while for the damp, musty smell of the basement to subside, but it did, eventually, and the room is noticeably drier. I remember the first day I emptied the 2.5 gallon tank 3 times, that's how damp it was! We hooked it up to drain into the sump pump the next day, and it took a bit of maneuvering to get it going right. The hose can't be too long - we simply trimmed an old garden hose to about 3 feet long - and it helps if the hose basically hooks from the dehumidifier straight down into the drain. The dehumidifier is noisy, but I'll take a drier basement any day. The instruction manual is terrible, and omits key facts like what the codes mean! So FYI, P1 = pause/cooling down from being on too long and P2 = the tank is full and needs to be drained. Turning the unit off for a few seconds and switching it back on is a pretty effective re-set if needed. I think this was well worth the money and am happy with the purchase, overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 6 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Very good machine, exceeded expectations.

10/14/2011
By ,
Upper Montclair, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this dehumidifier. I use it in my large basement. It's quiet, and it really does a great job. When it's time to empty the tank, it's easier than other dehumidifiers because it has a built-in handle. I love it. The digital buttons are simple, and the whole thing looks good too. My previous dehumidifier was a Hampton Bay (I don't think they're made anymore). When it stopped working (after about 10 years), I reluctantly shopped around for a new one. I appreciated the reviews I read about this machine, so I wanted to add one of my own. I have nothing negative to say about this Keystone Dehumidifier. I think the price was reasonable. This is an excellent large-capacity dehumidifier. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 7 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Excellent dehumidifier. Highly recommend.

10/02/2011
By ,
Massapequa, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do alot of research on most of the products before I purchase them. This dehumidifier has got to be one of the best. My first lasted just a few years, but we used it constantly in our basement. This will also be used there as well and will hopefully last longer. It has excellent features on it. It tells you the current humidity level in the room. It runs only when the humidity level is not at the desired level, so it shuts off and turns on automatically when needed. I loved this feature because I didn't want the fan running for no reason if it wasn't needed like some of the other machines. It is relatively quiet and has a nice size water collection container with handle. I would recommend this unit to anyone in the market and shopping for one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 8 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A
08/25/2011
By ,
ilion ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great.. Had water on floor every were. Took 2 days and it was dry....don't bother paying extra postage it came in two days regular free postage...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 9 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Nice dehumidifier

07/16/2012
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I searched for a long time on the internet reading reviews of different dehumidifiers. I needed one for my basement as the humidity was over 70% causing mold to grow. I ended up ordering the Keystone as it had good reviews and was big enough to dehumidify my large basement. Within a day or two of running it on the continuous mode the humidity dropped below 50%. This does the job its supposed to and keeps my basement dry. I didn't want to deal with emptying the bucket so I hooked a garden hose to the drainage vale on the dehumidifier and ran it into my sump pump. I had to cut the hose down to about 4 inches as it was too long for the water to get through and you need to use gravity to get the water pushed out the hose. The only negatives I have noticed is the bucket can be a bit tricky getting back on once its removed and this unit does throw out a fair amount of heat. Noise level is not bad at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A
06/11/2012
By ,
Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works fine. I disklike the "defrost (P1)" mode that it automatically goes into. Sometimes it dehumidifies for 15 minutes, then defrosts for 15 minutes, etc. Even if you shut it off for a day and then turn it back on, it still has to go through it's defrost cycle...I would think that leaving it off for a day would defrost it. It seems like an unnecessary programming feature that wastes energy.
I will say that when it is not defrosting, it is quieter than my previous dehumidifier, and the fan does a great job circulating the air.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 11 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A
08/25/2011
By ,
Oxford, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does a great job removing moisture from the air, but I can't seem to set it for a certain level. It keeps running and the moisture levels get too low. I have to shut it off when it gets to the level that I want. Also, it throws a lot of heat making my cellar very warm.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 12 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

So far so good...

09/30/2011
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only bought this dehumidifier about 2 months ago, but so far it has worked very well and I have removed countless gallons of water out of the basement of my old home! The only issue I have is that the manual doesn't include a description of the codes that are displayed on the screen. In fact, the manual is extremely basic and really doesn't tell you much. The more I have used the dehumidifier, the more it switches into P1 mode, and I don't know why or what P1 mode means. Frankly, it seems arbitrary when it does this. P2 clearly means that it is full and needs to be emptied, but in P1 mode, the fan just runs and the machine isn't actually dehumidifying the room. Eventually (sometimes this takes hours), it will switch out of P1 and start working again...I wish I knew why this is doing this and if there is something I am doing, but here lies the issue with the manual. So, overall, and despite this P1 mode, the machine works great and was the best value I could find. Even with this P1 thing, I wouldn't hesitate to purchase this machine again. This is why I rated it has highly as I did, but did knock off some points for meeting my expectation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 13 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Decent price, seems to work well.

08/23/2011
By ,
Charles Town, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no complaints. It would be nice if it included an aux pump to pump through a window or sink, but I have no complaints and it seems to work well in my basement. Musty smell is leaving. It blows up vs back or forward, which is interesting. I like the level indicator on the water container. Seems to fill up in about 14-24 hours, so I empty it each evening. It is noisy on turbo, but not horribly so. Using on a ~1600 sq ft finished basement on a 70s home. The price wasnt the absolute best, but seems a good value. I like that it blows air over the coils to defrost rather than uses heat to defrost. Seems more green that way. I keep it about 45 to keep the moisture down, but not build up static.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Great for $

07/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well so far! and biggest one for the least $$
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 15 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A
08/19/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reasonable price, buttons easy to understand and it has continues water flow using a regular water house connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A
05/01/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, we are very happy with this product. It takes a lot of moisture from the air and our basement doesn't have a musty smell anymore, after just a few days running. It holds a large amount of water and so we aren't emptying it too often. The only downsides to it are that it is very loud when it runs the defrost cycle, which is random, and there is no mention of this in the manual. I had to call the company because it kept saying P1 on the screen but there was no mention of this in the manual. They were extremely courteous and friendly, and very helpful. They even registered my product while we were on the phone so I didn't have to send in the paperwork. Would definitely recommend this product, but not for a room where you want a quite dehumidifier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Review 17 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A
06/29/2012
By ,
Spencerville In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hooking up the drain tube was a challange. The plastic tube that was furnished was too long and when I attached it, it kinked and would not allow water to drain properly. After shortening it twice, it works fine. This was a design error. I have only had the dehumidifier for less than a month. It seems to be working well. The shipping was quick and cheap. I have had a lot of problems with dehumidifiers in the past. I would advise anyone purchasing a dehumidifier to buy the extended warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Waste time and energy.

06/17/2012
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I waited the recommended 24 hours after setting up this dehumidifier before turning it on. After two weeks and three calls to Keystone customer service, I have been told the compressor must not be working correctly and to contact Walmart to return it to the store. This is after c/s suggested I try various combinations to ensure it is working at all. After the two-week period, the dehumidifier only filled up twice! And this was with leaving it on 'constant' as instructed by c/s! My basement is still musty, and the humidity level on the unit still says 55-57% humidity despite my setting it to 45%. I have owned a number of dehumidifiers over many years, and I've never had this much trouble and total failure with any of the others I've owned. Customer Service kept recommending that I leave it on 'continuous', and acted as if I'd never owned a unit in my life.
I will be returning this to the store as soon as I can get someone to help me move it. I'd had it delivered to my home to avoid having to deal with the bulky size and weight of the unit. Now I have to get it back to the store. I am totally frustrated with this entire transaction and will certainly never purchase a Keystone product in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Good quality dehumidifier with large storage

08/09/2011
By ,
Kansas City, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The humidifier worked well as soon as it was turned on. The connection for the hose was a little hard to get attached, but worked fine after a couple of attempts. The storage container for the water is large and rather awkward to pour into a sink, but for a large dehumidifer everything about this unit worked fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

Keystone 70-Pint Electric Dehumidifier KSTAD70A

02/09/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's my first Dehumidifier ever and I really didn't know what to expect, I use my mine in a 9 x 13 room and it does an excellent job at maintaining the humidity at what ever setting I desire, it does give off some heat during operation, raising the room temp by 1 or 2 degrees, but the use of a fan quickly eliminates the temp rise. It is about as noisy as a window fan on low, when you use the normal setting. The large tank only has to be emptied once every 1 to 2 days. I plan on running a continuous drain, but for now I am happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next