Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

For those looking for a Blu-ray player with advanced capabilities, meet the Samsung Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi. It's your portal to the online world, using Samsung Smart TV, which gives you the power to explore the entire internet, search content either on your TV or online and use your favorite Samsung apps right on your TV including Vudu. Wi-Fi connectivity is built right in without all the hassle of wires. This advanced connectivity comes in addition to a sleek and sophisticated design. Includes Vudu Streaming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(824 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
453
4 stars
202
3 stars
68
2 stars
41
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation82%635 out of 775reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
453
4 stars
202
3 stars
68
2 stars
41
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

At last one that works!

06/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started my journey with the Visio BDP and found that it would not stream movies in 1080p. Returned this one the next day and decided to wait a while and do more research. Then while I was in Wal-Mart one day I decided to give the Magnavox a try, again Wi-Fi performance was terrible! Returned this one back and again decided that maybe the Wi-Fi technology for blue ray players was lacking and I needed to wait for a while before purchasing another. Then again while at Wal-Mart my son pointed out that the Samsung they offered had great online reviews, so with some great hesitation I purchased this Samsung player. To my surprise it was a GREAT purchase. The setup was a snap and the features were better then either of the first two. I held my breath and launched Vudu to watch a movie in 1080p. No problem, zero freezing, etc. This is a great blue ray player with built in Wi-Fi and I would recommend it to all that are buying a DVD player to watch online content.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+68points
Review 2 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

This Blue Ray Rocks!

09/26/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So! We wanted to purchase a Blue Ray. We weren't too sure of what brand to purchase because there were so many to choose from. Anyway! We purchcased a Maganavox for $98 and lets just say, you get what you pay for. The movie showed just fine, but the wireless setup was not working. The other reason for purchasing a Blue Ray system (wireless built in) was to be able to enjoy Netflix besides using the Wii to view. So! We returned the Maganavox and purchased the Samsung. The price was a little higher, but worth every dime. The WiFi worked immediately and so far no problems. There are so many apps you have access to. We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Review 3 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Good Choice

05/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought a Magnavox that did not work on my network after trying for 5 hours and returned it. Bought this Samsung and got it working and watching Netflix in 20 minutes. I am VERY happy with this purchase. It's a quality product and worth the higher price. You get what you pay for as they say.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Review 4 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Built in wi fi is the operative word!!!!!!!!

08/07/2011
By ,
stroudsburg, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was very easy to set up and you really don't need an HD tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Review 5 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Great machine

10/06/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first experience with Wi-Fi Blu-Ray. We disconnected Dish, and decided to try some other options. I love this player! It was set up and reading my Wi-Fi in just a few minutes. Picture quality is great, even on regular DVD's. I can't tell much difference with Blu-Ray's, because it's so vibrant in either. Definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

great Blu-Ray

11/09/2011
By ,
Omaha, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this as a gift to my husband for his birthday and we have been really pleased with it's performance. Able to use the Wi-Fi without any problems and have enjoyed the Netflix capability. We give it a big thumbs up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

wireless connection unstable

09/30/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Don't know why but when trying connect using the wireless connection and probably the direct cable connection applications especially netflix was having difficulty connecting. I think it is a memory issue. When I deleted most of the apps I downloaded on the smart hub, Netflix started working much better. The player portion itself works great and will play both DVD and blue Ray.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Outstanding Value for the Money

10/11/2011
By ,
Fort Walton Bch, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed with all the features, picture quality, value for the money and ease of use.
For what I paid, I was very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 9 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player
03/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this today. I own 3 Samsung flat screens and with this product 3 Samsung blu-ray players. This product is no where near as good as even my 3 year old player. I set everything up and was ready to watch Netflix. Wrong answer...Netflix app kept telling I was not connected. Hmmmm...went through firmware updates, reset, hard reset, unplug, turn off, reset modem, changing time zone, Samsung customer support and finally Netflix support. Netflix support told me they had just been notified of a problem with Samsung blu-ray players and Netfilx not working. That's weird, my other Samsung players stream Netflix just fine. I even double checked to make sure. Yep, all is working except for this model. Just notified that there is a problem???? Looked on-line and apparently this has been going on for at least a year. I am taking this product back. Now I like Samsung products, but this one is not good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

great product

11/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my first blu ray and i purchased it through best buy. but today i dont want to drive 100 to best buy so we are purchasing the same from walmart for 11$ less. This blu ray was easy for me to install and the apps are great. I actually in the 5 months owning it havent watched a blu ray but i love the pandora app. if i never watch a blu ray all the other functions are satisfying to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Design and performance problems

04/12/2012
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well, it does play DVDs and it does stream from Netflix. But...
* You can't stream a video while a DVD is in the tray. The streaming is really jerky.
* I was never able to get used to the design of the remote. The button you use most often (Enter), is the center of a single flat up-down-left-right-enter control where the center (enter) is not even raised up. You can't use this control without looking at it. If you try to go by touch, you'll end up hitting the wrong part of the control and do bad things to your streaming (see next item)
* Fwd and Rev controls produce unpredictable results. Sometimes you have to hit them twice to get any response, and then you wait, and wait, and wait... to regain control at some seemingly arbitrary location in the DVD.
* The remote has to be pointed directly at the player
* It takes a long time to start a DVD
* It takes a long time to power up
* It even takes a long time to open the tray.
After 80 days of frustration, I gave up, returned it, cancelled my Netflix streaming account and went back to my old, fast, reliable, easy-to-use, inexpensive Sony Blue-Ray player.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Perfect!

12/17/2011
By ,
Kissimmee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Disc Player at just about $90 during big sale from Wal-Mart Especially with this price, I can say nothing but "Perfect!" to describe it overall. The picture quality is stunning. I can tell the great difference on watching the same regular DVD with this Blu-ray player compared to a regular DVD player. With its picture qualities, it looks to me that I actually do not need to consider buying Blu-ray DVD movies at all. Another thing also makes me very happy on this purchase is that it works with my newly bought Samsung TV perfectly. As soon as I hooked up between the player and the TV with a HDMI cable, they both started working automatically with each other (My TV was off but it immediately turned on automatically as soon as I had them connected. Then, the TV screen literally told me what to do.. .!). The set up is a breezy!
It really worth a 5-Star rating!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

The product has had multiple problems

11/07/2011
By ,
Joliet, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had the bd-5700 for about 6 months now. It freezes frequently when switching between applications. To resolve the issue, turning the unit off doesn't work, it has to be unplugged and plugged back in. 2 weeks ago the netflix application stopped working. I have spent over 4 hours on the phone with support. The issue still has not been resolved. The support was friendly, but blamed my internet provider, netflix and my router. I have been transfered to multiple different people and waited 4 days for someone to call back. I have made multiple calls to my internet provider and netflix to verify my settings. Returned the calls to samsung and no solution. Now I have $150 paperweight I guess. I have had samsungs before and been very happy until this product. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Stay way! Return while you can

02/18/2012
By ,
Orlando, Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I know Samsung is supposedly a quality name brand but after this player, I find I must disagree. I do hope it is limited to this as I have a Samsung refrigerator lol.
The features on the box do not come installed, you have to go to the app store and download them.
The remote leaves much to be desired. You have to type click each number one at a time till you get to your letter (like we used to do with cell phones to text until a keyboard was invented). Imagine how long this could take if you have a long password or even your email address. It also does not allow the use of special characters so if your wireless router password has special characters, you will have to change your wireless password.
I bought this last night, I was not able to connect to the internet so I called Samsung... the guy told me the Samsung network was down... That left me a tad confused as I thought I was loading from my network not Samsung's but he felt really strongly about the information he was providing. I tried it again this morning, of course it still was not working. Call the Samsung help desk again, after a 2 hr reboot, do this, do that their solution was for me to call my wireless network manufacturer and have them take of the filter to better allow the blu-ray to connect.
All in all, both reps did not know what they were doing. So this blu-ray is heading BACK to the store on Monday.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

avoid this blu ray player!

11/06/2011
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive had this player for 2 weeks and i will be returning it tomorrow. Lots of problems. Alot of the problems i am experiencing are the same problems i have read in other reviews. Either i have no picture or no sound or constant freezing and constant need to reset the player. I will be exchanging this for a ps3. I cant believe most of these reviews and dont see how anyone would be happy with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Good BluRay Not So Good Online

12/17/2011
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got this for the bedroom. Matches the brand of our tv and works well with it. Plays Blu-rays and dvd's fine. Mostly use it for Netflix and this is where it lags behind dedicated set top boxes like the Roku I used to own. Specifically there is a 10 to 15 second lag after you hit the netflix or hub button before it does anything from the home screen. Also when in Netflix it doesn't keep track of where you left off on your show so you can go back and watch it later. I record live tv using the built in media player in microsoft. The only format it records in cannot be played on this player so the dlna function is pretty much limited to home movies and music unless I spend the time and effort to convert it to a format it can read. Bottom line is it is good at playing movies but not so great at its other features.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Trouble with WiFi connectivity

05/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
purchased this on 12/30/2011 for the purpose of watching Netflix and listening to Pandora. Watching movies with dvd disc's was excellent. When I started watching Netflix, I started to get allot of buffering via WiFi My wife and daughter got so annoyed that they watched their netflix programming using the Wii player (no problems their#. I tested the player some more by using Pandora, but after playing about 4 songs, it would stop #either buffer or freeze#. Because I threw the packaging away, and had the player for over a month, I dealt directly with Samsung. I sent the player in to Samsung for repair after failed troubleshooting attempts at home. When I received the Player back, it was cosmetically in worse condition, and the internet connection was worse. Now instead of buffering, Netflix and Pandora would simply freeze (terrible Samsung repair service). Samsung agreed to exchange this for the BD-E5700/ZA. This new player also had wifi connectivity problems, so I called their Executive Customer Relations department for a refund. It's 5/3/2012, Samsung has their player, and Samsung has processed and Mailed my refund. Will now look for another brand Blu-ray with WiFi.
0points
Review 18 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player
12/02/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE this Blu-Ray player. I did my research before buying a blu-ray player and this one had the highest reviews out of all the ones I looked at. And the reviews were so high for a reason! It is wonderful, I haven't had any issues with it at all, and the shipping was very fast! You won't be dissapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Be carful!

12/15/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bluray player is optional word it does play dvd rather well and the audio is great, streams netflix, pandora, and many other web based apps very well when connected to the internet wired not wireless. As for the bluray portion it only will play movies that are older anything new (2011 based, Cars 2, Rio) so far samsung has not yet updated their firmware to allow this player to play them consistently. With the latest firmware that Samsung has out sometimes the movie will play after turning the unit on and off numerous times. Did some research on the web and found that as far as bluray goes this is a problem with any of the manufactures that are not in the Hollywood movie making loop. So in my opinion great unit for streaming video off the internet , but as far as playing of bluray disks Samsung does not have the latest firmware versions available that will allow you to play newly released movies at the time the movies are available, stick to one of the big players that make professional gear and contribute to movie production business (names not to be said) they have a say so on the inscription codes used and keep their firmware up to date daily, they are the ones who control the encoding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Samsung BD-D5700 WiFi Blu-ray Disc Player

Ridiculous

02/20/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This system was purchased for an elder lady, to watch movies, and stream netflix. After two hours of trying to get the system to work with Netflix (the error is "Can't connect to network"), I finally had to re-box the system, and take it back to Walmart. I googled the player after about an of fighting with it, and found that this is a recurring issue with this bluray player, for over a year. Even after I downloaded the latest firmware, I still had the same problem. It was a very disappointing endeavor.
I have no idea if the picture quality is good, or if there is anything redeeming about this player, as I never got past this one problem.
If your intent is to buy a bluray player that can handle netflix - trust me, this is definitely going to be a nightmare for you!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next