Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roku Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Roku Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

The top-of-the-line Roku XDS Streaming Player delivers top quality streaming entertainment instantly on your TV. Watch movies and TV shows from Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon Instant Video, as well as music, sports, news and more. With dual-band Wireless-N technology, up to 1080p HD video quality and USB playback, the Roku XDS is designed to deliver the ultimate streaming experience virtually anywhere in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(5840 Reviews) 5840
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,830
4 stars
2,316
3 stars
415
2 stars
138
1 star
141
Customer Recommendation93%5,380 out of 5,779reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,830
4 stars
2,316
3 stars
415
2 stars
138
1 star
141
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

A great product

06/18/2011
By ,
Columbus, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use Roku to watch Netflix a lot! There is a variety of programing available, many free. Yes, a credit or debit card or paypal is required. I understand from other owners you can get this waived through costumer service. I don't know what the big deal is. Most online services require a method of payment. I pay Netflix directly by debit card. I haven't bought anything from Roku or have any service billed through Roku. You will not be billed anything from Roku unless you buy something through them
The box is easy to setup and delivers outstanding video quality. I was up and running in 15 minutes. I am saving $30 on my cable service and my cut more. Programing on Roku is about all I watch, and I am only spending $10 for Netflix. That is streaming to my Roku and computer plus unlimited dvd delivery to my home. I LOVE ROKU!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 2 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Not Quite....

08/18/2011
By ,
Salisbury, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Keep in mind that this review is nothing against the roku itself. It's mostly about the video channels and the way I thought I could use it.
I bought this Roku box after cutting my cable tv off. While I didn't expect it to cover everything, I did expect there to be more free (useful) content. I did find some private channels that could be added, but most of them have limited content. There are a number of channels that require a monthly fee, but this negates the point of cutting the cable.
Mechanically, the box works flawlessly. Hooking it up and setting it up with the wireless router were both completely painless.
I just feel that if you're looking for free video content from the web, you are better off hooking up and old PC or laptop...which is what I intend to do once I return this Roku. Also, you can't hook up to the box from your computer to play any media that might be saved there. You either need to use a thumb drive or a USB external hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Helps to get rid of cable and satalite

06/13/2011
By ,
oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ROKU, most content is only 720p currently, but that could improve in the future.
Its much better than hooking up my laptop to my tv to view Netflix. Netflix, HuluPlus and Amazon are the pay per month services, but if you google roku private channels you can find many free feeds. You have to provide credit card information on first setup or you can't get past the setup screen, nothing will be billed its only to purchase things like netflix if not already signed up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 4 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

The Future of Entertainment

06/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a Roku since 2009. I would highly recommend. It has saved me money on entertainment and the amount of content that is on the box now is ever increasing and making it a better value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 5 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Might work for others but didn't work for us....

06/28/2011
By ,
Western US
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Roku based on customer and industry reviews and bought it specifically for Netflix program viewing on our flatscreen TV. However this product did not work for us. It was located in our family room about 20 feet (non obstructed) from our wireless router. We also have a Wii game console that is attached to a seperate TV in the same room. The Wii works great with Netflix but the Roku would only allow you to view the program for about 15 seconds before going into "hour-glass" mode to download more video. After about 5 minutes of watching the "spinner" and less than 1 minute of movie viewing we gave up and put the Roku back in the box. Additionally, the initial install took over an hour due to a necessary Roku software update. The problem was that it would time out at different % complete intervals, once at a heartbreaking 99% complete figure. After several aborted attempts we decided to hard wire the console directly to our router and the software update took only minutes to complete. I read several reviews that said the 99% issue is a recurring problem for some when using the wireless method of updating. Finally, I doubt there is an issue with my wireless system since we have had no problems with our Wii system and usage. We will probably move the Wii system to our larger TV to enable us to continue to use our Netflix account.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 6 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Great for steeming

06/28/2011
By ,
Palmdale,Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to so I could streem video's on my TV instead of my computor. Very easy to set up. Takes a bit longer to set up then they tell you it while take. Maybe about 15 min. more time.
Spent the first week moving it from the TV in living room to bedroom. that got old went and bought a Roku XD for my other TV. Quit the Cable company. Now am very happy with the way Ruko performs.
Did find out I could have got by with just the Roku XD, as I don't use it to play games.
Both wearth the money
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

So small, so powerful!

06/28/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love it - it was so easy to setup and use. The most difficult part of the installation - making sure to have your correct network security code available. If you do then the setup is a snap, just follow the onscreen instructions. It is very intuitive to use and has so many of it's own channels to choose from it is almost overwhelming, but I can't wait to try some of them. There is even an Android app that turns your phone into the remote control! Too cool!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Best Roku Ever!!!

06/23/2011
By ,
Gerber,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Roku box sence they first came out,and I got to say this is the best one ever..
I don't have the fastest internet (dsl) out there but it streams better then my top of the line laptop, I'm very happy with it and the sound when you use the optical audio is outstanding..I still own the first Roku,It's in the Guest room.. And the best thing is they are still adding porgraming so you all ways have something to watch, I'm thinking of dumping my cable..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home
06/17/2011
By ,
Ely, Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It will take my family some getting used to, after getting rid of Dish Network, but I think it will be worth it in the long run. If you do much TV watching, it helps to have some additional viewing options available such as the ability to watch things off your Web browser on your computer...but otherwise, it's all good...I'm happy enough with it...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Credit Card ABSOLUTELY REQUIRED to use this prodct

06/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product box text does not list a Credit Card or Paypal account as a requirement, but this is required before ANY FUNCTIONALITY can be used on the device.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-12points
Review 11 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Better than Blurays

08/26/2011
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those concerned with savings and quality, this item exceeds the performance of the Bluray player it so easily replaced. Sony 3D Bluray + Sony WiFi adapter double the price of Roku and half the quality of Roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Great for the price. Streaming HD at its best

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little gem is a huge upgrade to the Playstation I was using to stream video. It is compact but does everything I want it too. The only negative thing I can say about this is that the new version came out days after I purchased mine. Wish I would have waited.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

great!

06/23/2011
By ,
Jacksonville,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a great job and does everything i wanted it to do!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

Great gagdet

06/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes Netflix-ing and Pandora-ing so easy! I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home

The best media player.

09/30/2011
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great internet media player!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Roku XDS Streaming Video Player with dual-band wireless- the XDS delivers the best quality video virtually anywhere in your home
Based on the average of (5,825) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5