Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roku Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Roku Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

The Roku XD Streaming Player is the easiest way to stream movies, music, news, sports and more instantly on your TV — without a PC. Choose from over 100,000 movies and TV shows from Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon Instant Video, as well as music, sports, news and more. The Roku XD connects to your high-speed Internet wirelessly and delivers up to 1080p HD video quality. The Roku XD works with virtually any TV, sets up in six minutes and features long-range wireless and up to 1080p HD video quality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%42 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Amazing Little Machine

05/11/2011
By ,
Schenectady, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This is an amazing little box (it is very small and doesn't take up much room) and does so much. And no monthly fees for the Roku!!!This is my second Roku because the first one worked out to be a phenomenal deal. Set up was a little tricky at first then everything was done in less than 10 minutes. You can watch thousands upon thousands of movies, documentaries, TV shows, cartoons, etc. when you want and it remembers where you left off if you don't finish watching an entire show. Anything in your Netflix instant queue is what you can watch on Roku and there are also numerous other channels like Hulu, Amazon, etc. The Roku saves me about $500 per year using Roku with my Netflix subsciption instead of standard cable. Best purchase ever!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+94points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Scottsville,Ky.
What a Great Machine
Posted 07/15/2011
I recieved this box for my birthday today and it beats any cable or satelite system I ever had.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.
05/29/2011
By ,
Fountain, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Roku XD was easy to set up and did exactley what was promised and for me to be able to do it with an old tv/dvd of about 15 years old surprised even me. I am very happy with my results and the cost of the Roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 3 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Very good machine

06/18/2011
By ,
Trussville,AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I had long ago "cut the cable cord" the roku has allowed me to get by on the 2 at a time plan as compared to the 4 at a time plan before. Thats $13 a month plus tax in savings at Netflix.
I had to buy a router and the roku
Paid $70 for the Roku XD a few months back at Amazon with a $10 off deal. The router was about $65 with tax from Sams. So, they will pay for themselves in 10 months as compared to the 4 at a time plan.
Plus, I always have something to watch with no commercials. I only wish I would have bought the roku a year or two sooner.
Amazon took about a week for it to get here so if they would have been in stores locally, I probably would have bought local.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 4 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

No more cable bill!!

05/30/2011
By ,
Deep South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an LG HD LCD with 1080P. (not wifi)
I also have the GE Flat Panel Passive Antenna to pick up local channels. (installed first-great picture too, btw)
I set my Roku XD to display at 1080P.
I am using a wireless internet connection with a FIOS router and needed to have my wep key entered during setup. (security code too if you have one)
Easy installation-it took about 10 minutes. However, during setup it is a good idea to have a laptop handy if your PC is in another room. You will have to register the ROKU device with an onscreen activation code onto their website, then do the same to link up your Netflix account.
PROS:
1. The picture is BETTER than digital cable on this tv! Even in 1080P, I couldn't believe it!
2. I'm only paying for Netflix and Hulu Plus about $8 each/month instead of $160 for digital cable and the movie channels.
3. Older popular movies are available to watch instantly instead of being on PPV for $2.
4. This player streams Netflix, Hulu Plus AND Amazon. I almost bought a WIFI Blu-Ray for less $$ to stream online media but it was only compatible with Netflix.
5. Tiny box!
CONS:
1. I have yet to see a news on demand channel like HLN, so I am back to watching the local news via the antenna.
2. A couple of the buttons on the remote feel like they would sink into the case and get stuck if pressed too hard.
3. The remote doesn't have numbers or alpha characters. When searching for movies, you use the arrows to help type the titles of movies you are searching for via the onscreen guide.
4. A little pricey for the technology. It's pretty much standard now.
5. Have to buy another less expensive model for another tv (analog+converter box) for use in another room.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+56points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Corona, CA
Just to address one of your Cons..
Posted 06/13/2011
There are indeed news channels on the Roku, you just need to know where to find them. There are separate stand-alone channels (like BBC or CNN) that you can either access through the Channel Store or through one of the many Roku Private Channels (do a search online for "Roku Private Channels" and you will see a number of sites that list even more channels than are offered via the Channel Store). One suggestion for a private channel to get is one called "NowhereTV" (search online for that phrase; it will be the very first link listed on Google); it is a channel that has many other channels imbedded in it, and, as a result, has many news channels (CNN, BBC, Fox News, etc.) as well as others (HGTV, Food Network) that should satisfy your needs.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

A Little Roku Goes a Long Way!

07/08/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little device (once you finally get it set up/programmed)! I watched lots of Youtube tutorials on the set up of the Roku and, at least for me, it was WAY more complicated than was shown! I only encountered a few technical problems after it was installed. There's not much on regular television that I enjoy watching but with Roku I have choices galore! Right now, I'm plugging it into the TV of which ever room I happen to be in so I'm seriously thinking about buying another one. In regard to picture quality...sometimes it's fine, sometimes it's not. I would say the down-side is the pauses for "loading." Unlike regular "commercials", which seem to be programmed to come on when a scene fades or at least AFTER a line of dialog is delivered, Roku interrupts for loading when you least expect it. And, sometimes it loads quickly but most of the time it doesn't. Annoying, but to be able to watch what I want, when I want, I can deal with it. There are other channels (as they're referred to)on Roku but in my opinion, Netflix is by far the best!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Great Product as long as you have high speed !!

05/30/2011
By ,
Dacula,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a simple easy to use way to stream Netflix and Hulu Plus, also many other channels like Pandora and Christian Stations like TBN and Christian Radio. Must have a good solid High Speed internet connection of at least I would say 10 Mbps to get and maintain a good picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
High Speed?
Posted 08/18/2011
My internet connection is much less than 10 mbps and I get a wonderful picture quality with my Roku!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Don't Think, Just Buy This Device!

06/18/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Roku Player is by far one of my favorite purchases in recent memory. Whether you want to stream Netflix, Amazon Instant Video, Pandora, etc. you can all from your TV with ease. Setup is a breeze, as simple as hooking up a DVD player, and the device works flawlessly using WiFi or an Ethernet cord. Certainly one of the best products Walmart has ever chosen to carry in their stores! I no longer pay for cable or satellite TV service largely due to this device, you will not be disappointed in Roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Roku XD Streaming device

05/22/2011
By ,
Sterling IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Many channels available in "Channel Store". The only device that works Wi-fi at a distance over 25 feet. Remote is good. I tried to buy a second unit but it had dissapeared from your web site.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Works Right out of the Box

07/07/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set up was easy and internet registration no problem. I did not like the fact that I had to have a credit card just to set up and register the product. Somethin' wrong with that premise because that is not mentioned anywhere on the box or in the marketing for the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.
07/08/2011
By ,
Inverness,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are not a video game family so we didn't already have an XBox or a WII that allows Netflix streaming videos so this Roku was perfect for us. I love how easily I can move it from one TV to another and have instant movies whenever I like. I also use ot to access my Pandora account and can listen to streaming music whenevr I like.
Setup was simple for a computer geek like me. I would not only recommend this to ANY one wanting instant access to streaming media but have purchased one for my parents to enjoy as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Good device for the price.

08/18/2011
By ,
Huntsville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't like having to submit a credit card to setup an account for a free service. Technical support is not in the USA so a little hard to understand. I believe you can remove the credit card information from the account after it is activated if I understood tech support correctly. The device works great with Netflix.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 12 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Not what I expected

07/27/2011
By ,
TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read tons of reviews about these players and was confident that I had made a sound decision. Think again. No one told me this stuff that I had to find out on my own.
First, you read the specs at the manufacturer's web site and you see all the channels available with this player and you see tons of "free" content channels and it looks awesome. Well, I didn't find out until I bought and used it that you can only have a certain number of these "channels" available to you at one time. You have to go to the "channel store" and download the channel. If you don't have enough memory, you have to delete other channels before you can get that one. It makes it very cumbersome. Not what I thought it would be AT ALL.
A word about the "free" content. I was excited about that, but as it turns out, most of the content lasts about 5 minutes or less. It seems to be some weird stuff that is broken into little clips and wading through them all is a chore.
The only "free" content channel that I have been impressed with is "Crackle", which is free but pauses your movie a few times to sneak in a commercial. No biggie. The movie selection is okay for free but I don't know how often they rotate the selection. You could watch it all and then have nothing else to watch.
Netflix on this is a real annoyance. After every single thing I watch on Netflix, the player comes back and says there is no connection. It will randomly pop up that message when trying to get something to play, also. I have to go out to Crackle and start a movie, then go back into Netflix to get the player to understand that there is a connection. Compared to my Vizio internet enabled player, this thing is very annoying.
Another thing. The HDMI cable I am using is apparently cheap and stops sending the picture signal or something so that when I switch over to view the input of Roku, the player is difficult to get going, sending a signal through the HDMI cable to wake up the television. That is probably just an issue with the TV/HDMI cable compatibility because it did something similar with another device on that same HDMI cable.
Overall, I don't know that I would reommend this. Some of it is cool, but some of it is a pain. I think I would stick with the DVD internet enabled players. Buying this player just for the free content isn't really worth it. You could probably see the free content on the internet without using this player. Stuff like chow.com and break or whatever. I wouldn't go out of my way to switch to using this. It's really not as great as i thought it was going to be. Of course, I only pay for Netflix. If you are using other pay-for-content providers like the sports stuff or whatever, it would probably be worth it instead of getting cable tv or something. I would check out the manufacturer's web site about this product for channel info. Like I said, you can only access a few channels at a time because you have to download them and the memory for it is small. I think I have these channels available: Pandora, Netflix, Crackle, Chow, Break, BlipTv and omnivision. There is no room for other channels. I would have to delete one, download the new one. And if I wanted the deleted one back, I would have to delete one and retreive the previously deleted one. It's kinda stupid. But overall, it's not that bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 13 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

My house has forgotten about cable

07/20/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this two days ago and I can't be happier, works better than advertised. My 6 year old daughter can use it to search Netflix even has her own radio station on Pandora.
There is also very good content on some of the free channels.
I would highly recommend this to anyone that wants to ditch their cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Great product!

06/21/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently eliminated cable, and purchased this to stream movies. It works great, and offers many options for sources to stream video. I HIGHLY recomend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Great Player

06/30/2011
By ,
Anna texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this player works great and with the internet applications it just rocks.
Netflix works great and dvd's look better then ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.
06/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV FREEDOM!!! Movies, Tv Shows, Free Music, Games, World News, Local Weather, and Much More
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Money Saver!

08/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Roku allows me to stream videos (TV, internet, movies) and music from several different sites, among them NETFLIX, AMAZON (where you can rent or buy movies for as little as $1.99), and HULU PLUS, and PANDORA are just a few. I pay nothing as far as monthly charges to have the ROKU, and combined, my NETFLIX and HULU memberships cost less than $20 monthly. I have gotten rid of my high-priced cable and kept my WiFi internet and now cut my entertainment bill by $100/month!
So far there are no CONS that I can think of. This unit was well worth the money I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Roku

07/05/2011
By ,
Picayune, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was a gift for Father's Day! Everyone in the family just loves it. I mentioned it at work and then a couple days later I was told by one of my co-workers that she got one for her husband for Father's Day, too. Then another friend was looking into getting one.
My oh my, we've had so much fun with it. There is so much available to us now that we didn't have prior to receiving. I love the fact that we can get Vimeo on our TV now as our church puts its messages from Sunday on during the week. This among all the movies, classic TV, and so many more things that we are really enjoying it. My 13 yr. even saw the first 2 episodes of The Beverly Hillbillies and we all laughed so much. He was just so intrigued. Fun family times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.

Horrible Product

08/05/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product is easy to set up. The Roku worked for one day and the next day it would not start up. I wanted to use Roku to watch Hulu Plus programs that I was watching on my computer but many of the programs I could not watch through Roku. I guess it works better with Netflix. I returned the device to Walmart and got a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
well Sandra
Posted 08/16/2011
Sandra apparently you need to do some research on hulu plus most shows you can only watch from a computer, only certain shows are available for both streaming devices and computer, that is part of the contract the companys they get the contract from made with hulu. Hope that helps you next time you buy a product that has hulu I guess you'll be better off watching from your computer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Roku XD Streaming Video Player with 1080p HD video quality and extended-range wireless.
07/16/2011
By ,
Decatur, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE MY ROKU!!!! I have had it for about 6 months now and actually paid more for it than walmart is selling it for. Got it from best buy for 99.00 and it was the best 100.00 i have spent. It was so easy to set up, i did it myself! I can never say there is nothing on tv. I already was getting movies delivered from netflix and now i can just watch them on tv right away. The only con i can think of is i wish there were more older tv shows on netflix or hulu but i guess that is netflix and hulu and not the roku and maybe in time there will be. For 17.00 dollars a month i am quite happy! I definatley recommend this to anyone who loves watching tv and movies
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next