Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hefty Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Hefty Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

The Hefty Premium Touch Lid Trash Can is an ideal piece to add to your kitchen, garage or laundry room. It offers you a neat and mess-free way to collect all your garbage. The 12.2-gallon black trash can features a neat exterior that blends in well with most home decor styles and interior spaces. It also features silver accents around the outer edges. This kitchen trash can is simple to use and opens with a touch thanks to the spring-touch lid mechanism. The top of the bin fits tightly to help keep smells locked in when closed. The lid is removable, which makes cleaning inside of the trash can a breeze. It has a durable construction and will last for years to come. You can give this item as a gift for housewarmings, holidays and birthdays. This stylish bin can help you dress up your kitchen and give this area a clean and modern look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation81%46 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Exctiting trash can!

07/01/2011
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best trash can I have ever owned. The plastc does not dent, the black and silver looks great in my kitchen, the lid prevents odors and unsightly mess, and the price is right! I now own three of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

6 seconds to open

01/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Opened fine at first. Not long after, longer and longer to open. Now: tap lid and count slow...1...2...3...4...5...6...opens. No way to just open it, you have to wait for the spring loaded lid to open in its own sweet time. When I finally get $24 worth of irritation out of it, I'll toss it to the dumpster with its contents.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

perfect for my kitchen

09/06/2013
By ,
vancouver,wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a covered trash can for my kitchen and this one is perfect!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

wonderful garbage can!

11/22/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the gentle touch of opening this can! Simple - easy! 13 gal trash bags fit into it and because the inside is wider, I can fit more garbage into it than my previous tall skinny 13 gal can. Easy to clean - sanitary. You can submerge entire can and lid to disinfect it (no batteries!) When lid is closed, it is sealed preventing bugs, etc from getting into it. We do not have any animals, but I would think a bigger dog could easily tip the can over and thus get into it. The touch lid locks closed, the top sits on bottom overlapping, but not locking. We bought 2 - one for recycling, and 1 for garbage - both kitchen. Wish the price were a little less. -------------- Note-when we first got them, they would not respond to a touch to open them. After several attempts, I gently squeezed the little clips (wiggled them), and they have opened well every time there after. We were ready to return them! Glad we didn't. They just needed to be woken up! We love our choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

nice small trashcan

07/29/2011
By ,
St Louis area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice sized kitchen trashcan. It looks better than the typical plastic trash can. After spending 100 on a stainless one last time that broke after less than 2 years, we decided to try something else. The black with the stainless accents looks nice. The top is fairly easy to operate, it just takes a little touch and it pops right open. Standard 13 gallon trashcans fit perfectly, with no need to tuck them anywhere to stay put. I would recommend this can to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Better than I expected!

04/24/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kitchen trash can was purchased to go with our recently remodeled kitchen, and chosen because our appliances are black and stainless steel. We wanted one with a lid but didn't want a mechanized one, most reviews I read say they give out quickly. This one is perfect! It's lid opens with a tap and closes with a small push. I couldn't be more pleased! Buy this! You'll love it too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

in my opinion

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for a few days. So far so good. top works well and it is more attractive than an open can of garbage. Black goes with everything.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Serves it purpose

11/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a little more flimsily made than I expected and the lid doesn't always stay down but it ok for the garbage.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Highly Recommend for Handicapped Folks

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't have to be handicapped to appreciate the ease of use, but for those that cannot raise arms to open a lid this is super................
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Holds a Lot of Garbage

09/08/2011
By ,
Montgomery,Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't beat it for the price. It is quiet, contains the odors, 13gal bag fits perfectly, exterior cleans easy in little time, and greatest of all it matches my appliance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black
03/12/2012
By ,
Newark,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great trash can.Very stylish and I love the easy touch lid.And unlike other trash cans,this one has a lip that runs along the top where the trash bag goes so the bag doesn't show at all on the outside!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black
05/28/2012
By ,
Mid Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely pleased with this trash can for my kitchen. The cover works very well, and is a pleasant addition to our kitchen, since it is covered. The cover works extremely well, and keeps things looking much neater than having an open trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

*Wonderful Trash Cans/shipped in poor condition..

01/02/2014
By ,
Bloomsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THESE TRASH CANS!!! I was, however, highly disappointed in the condition I received them in. I was giving them as a home warming gift. All 3 had scratches & scuff marks ALL OVER!!! I kept for myself for recycling & went to K-Mart to get them in excellent condition to give as gifts... :(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Easy dump.

03/23/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hefty makes a Fine product. Ease of operation especially when dumping vacuum canister. This provides a clean hands method of dealing with trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

The opener only works sometimes.

09/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Did not work!

09/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Touch" lid would not open. Returned immediately - never took the item out of the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

great can

12/13/2013
By ,
fremon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this can.has the dogs stumped!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

Sleek Neat Kitchen Trash

11/03/2013
By ,
Terryvlle, ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice design. Fits 13 gal kitchen bags and stops bagc from slipping into basket. Click lid hides the ytash and the smell. Finally a decent trash can for the kitchen
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black
06/27/2012
By ,
Southern Central PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the appearance and it seemed sturdy enough, but the top came off way too easily. Just a small bump and the top slid to the side or fell off. It did not seem to snap or fit snuggly. I did not use the item and sent it back. I did get a different type and am satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hefty Premium Touch Lid 12.2-Gal Trash Can, Black

I returned it

02/01/2014
By ,
Kokomo,IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had it shipped to store. It was not wrapped well and was BADLY scratched. I returned it to the store. Love the product, but black shows scratches really bad. I bought a gray one with black trim from a competitor. love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next