Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Safety 1st Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Average Customer Rating:
4.048 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation84%53 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Easy to assemble pieces and work great!!

12/23/2012
By ,
Johnson city, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set is wonderful! Easy to assemble! Cannot beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Charleston boy

07/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my grandson lives with my husband and I and we were very unsafe about him walking around he's only a year 14 months so far I've only used to plug covers but it's so much stuff in there I'm sure I'll use the rest of it but I would recommend this to a friend
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Great door knobs , Ineffective plug protectors

06/28/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product mainly for the plug protectors, but choose this one over others because of the additional parts. My 1 year old very easily removed the plug protectors repeatedly. It does not seem to fit snug enough over the socket and leaves a groove at the sides, and my baby is even smart enough to pull at the parent groove in the center. I am totally satisfied however with the door knob protectors; I had no idea that type of product was available. My smart baby once again turns my door knobs and I always had fear of her opening the door to our stairs since we live on a top floor. This product now takes away my fear as it is very difficult for a kid to open a door with that on. Her 10 year old and 9 year old cousins even got trouble to open the door with it until I taught them how to use it. I have not used the latches yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

I DO NOT HAVE CHILDREN

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this item to cover the electric outlets and avoid electricity hitting the mattresses next to the wall.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Best Quality

04/23/2012
By ,
it doesnt matter, usa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I especially like the fact that the plug in covers are three pronged and snap inside of the outlet.. I have a older home that has lose outlets....regular plug ins fall out of..these snap on the inside..and can not fall out...and certainly require an adult to take out..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
thanks for three-prong note
Posted 06/28/2013
Many of the outlets in this old house won't accept three-prong plugs, so this was good to know in advance. There's no guarantee they'll snap into place if the third prong is cut off.
0points
Customer Avatar
U.S.A.
You answered my question before I asked
Posted 06/07/2013
I wanted to know if it had three prongs because strangely I need this product for a completely different reason than for protecting children. I discovered that I have ants crawling through the third prong hole in the outlet of our apt. so this would cover it hopefully. Our Manager is slow with fixing things & I'm tired of Ants. They swarm at a tiny crumb. Can't wait to try this to keep them out, along with other methods that work too. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Great kit except plug covers

06/06/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This childproofing kit is great all but the plug covers. My 8 month old can take them out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Useful

06/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Way too much for our needs, but good to have - just in case... Esp for great price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Did what I needed it to do

07/06/2012
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not much to say. I needed to child proof my apartment and it did the job. The only issue was the outlet covers are a little too easy for my kids to take off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Cheap and Effective

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kit contains most of what we needed to get our house "ready for baby". A couple of the cabinet/drawer latch catches (nub on the end) have somehow broken in our utenail drawers have broken but we're easily replaced. We may need heavier duty latches for those. I know they exist from the same manufacturer since the previous owner left some of theirs installed. All around, you can't beat this kit for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Great Price.

03/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good buy.If you bought all these things seperately they would cost a lot more.This is really all you need to baby proof the important stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

doesnt work

05/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
my one yr old takes the socket covers right off. the drawer latch does not work. he opens the drawers so easily
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Love It!!

12/06/2013
By ,
Akron, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this kit! it keeps my baby out of trouble. It does take sometime to put the door knob covers on right and to install the cupboard locks, but we got it done and they are great. sometimes i cant get the outlet things off but that's what they're made for. I absolutely love it and recommend it to anybody. I'm actually moving next week and i bought another box to come with me!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Great kit!

10/29/2013
By ,
Portland, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install, keeps baby out of rooms she shouldn't be in(sometimes even I can't work the door handle!). The plug in covers are great as well! I love this kit, and would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

horblile

12/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son could remove these plug covers at 8 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Joke for Little Ones

08/27/2012
By ,
Augusta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 9 month old Grandson came to live with us, so I ran out and purchased the exact same knobs on the safety kit, as well as, the safety kit itself. After installing the knobs, I happily placed the locks on the cabinets and to my surprise Kingston was able to remove the locks immediately following installation - needless to say the locks are now a part of his toy box items to play with with he is bored.... This is was such a waste of money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Ok, but didn't like the door knob covers

10/11/2012
By ,
kent, wa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There is and older version from Safety 1st as well as other brands where the door knob protectors are completely covered and have rubber grips on the inside and outsides, this is better for flatter door knobs as the rubber grips inside would easily grab the handle. They are both equally effective in stopping your child from opening the door, but these in this kit make it slightly difficult for an adult to open the door now that you need to grip the actual knob through the holes on the side. Not an issue with knobs that fit well, but cumbersome for flat knobs and extremely polished ones. Takes a little getting used to . Just FYI.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Would not recommend!

05/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because I have a one and a half year old that was getting into everything. But only probably a week after putting everything out he learned how to take the socket plugs out. As they are fairly easy to remove. The cupboard latches were very hard to install. And after all the hard work getting them to stay only two remain, because they just fall back off. I haven't had to use the door knob pieces yet so I cant say how well those work. But overall I wouldn't recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

Baby (and Parent) Proof

03/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I still haven't figured out how the outlet protectors work. They are in there and protecting my toddler, but I needed to use one and ended up having to break it to get it out. There were no instructions indicating the proper way to remove them. The doorknob protectors work fine. We haven't installed the drawers, they are hardware mounted and require drilling so since we are renting, we used a different kind that didn't require hardware.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

complete junk

11/07/2013
By ,
upstate NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this thinking we could baby-proof ahead before baby starts getting into things and found it to be completey worthless. The door knob covers seem ok, but not very sturdy. The cabinet and drawer latches were terrible - after installing them, I found the gap they left was wide enough for my adult arm to reach through and easily pull out a bottle of bleach. Two of them broke the same day we installed them. Our little one is not big enough yet to work on pulling out the outlet covers, but after seeing how flimsy the rest of the kit is, I think I will be investing in better ones anyway. Bottom line, there's a reason this kit is so cheap - and it's STILL a waste of money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st Essentials Baby Proofing Kit, 46 Pieces

drawers

08/15/2013
By ,
paso robles, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent price, recently saw the same package at target for almost three dollars more. the only issue I have there is two, one is that the door knob things well I don't have door knobs so that wouldn't work, the issue is the drawers I have large drawers that are lower to the ground so baby is happy to get in them and I read the instructions that said the latches would work on the drawers but when we installed them they didn't work!!! Baby can open the drawer still cause the latch won't latch, and it is installed as high as possible on the drawer. Instead had to take out all the glass stuff!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next