Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 4GB MP3 Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 4GB MP3 Player

You can enjoy all of your music, video, and photos on the RCA M6104 4GB MP3 Player. This 4GB MP3 Player with a rechargeable battery combines a 1.8" display, 4GB of memory and touch button navigation with a host of other great features. It is MP3 and WMA supported and includes headphones that let you enjoy your favorite songs anytime, anywhere. This flash memory MP3 player is PC compatible and has a small footprint. It measures 6.75" x 5.5" x 1.25". If you are traveling, this RCA MP3 player will keep you entertained through to your destination.
Average Customer Rating:
2.647 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation35%6 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Meets Expectations pretty well.

12/16/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mp3 player with the intentions of leaving it in my car to listen to music on the road. However, if it gets too hot (or too cold) it won't turn on. That's my only downfall, I have to say. I tried to put pictures on it, but you can't (at least I couldn't figure it out) do anything with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

does NOT play WMA files

02/11/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to listen to audibooks downloaded from my library. It claims on the package to suport WMA files. When I downloaded a book to my computer to transfer, it said the device was NOT compatable with WMA. Turns out there are these software dowloads to get it to play WMA files and THEN I needed to download Windows Media as well. After I did both of these things it STILL would not support WMA files. My previous MP3 players just pluged into the computer and played the WMA files, no problem and no downloads, oh and they worked. Call me cynical, but I think if it is on the package that it has a capability, it should actully HAVE that capability.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Review 3 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Good but...

12/12/2012
By ,
Houston,Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This mp3 player hold a lot of songs,great sound, is easy to use, and have great features for the money.Problem, I bought the first one and within 6 months audio jack stop working I thought maybe it was a fluke, so I bought another one for myself and 2 for family members this time I bought the store insurance all three of the new ones have the same problem.One after 3mo. the other ones shortly thereafter.The store insurance don't start until 1yr.manfacture's warranty is up, you then at your expense send it to RCA who can't tell you when you'll get them back, which is a big hassle since we use them everyday. So if they have not fixed what's wrong with their audio jack....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Great mp3 for a younger kid

11/11/2012
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great. My 7 year old daughter loves it. She wanted an IPod but this was an inexpensive option. Putting music on this device is not easy, but once you figure it out, it works fine. Anyway this is a vary good device and I would recommend it to all the kids that read this review.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 5 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player
12/26/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mp3 player works perfectly, holds a lot of songs, and is easy to use. Even though it works well, it is not worth $40. It light and feels cheap. I've gotten better quality mp3 players at Meijer for 48.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Pretty nice.

01/02/2012
By ,
Richmond, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoy this mp3 player. I have only 2 complaints. Video is difficult to upload as you have to download software to convert the files. And the charge port is very inconvenient. The second can be fixed by using a USB cable from say an external HDD or PS3. Audio quality is only limited by the quality of what you upload and the quality of your headphones. Battery life is really impressive too as I have only done the initial full charge. Thanks for this great product and keep on rockin'.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Excellent MP3 for the price

12/14/2012
By ,
Boones Mill, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This MP3 player is easy to use, the screen is large enough to read and the instructions are simple and easy to follow. Great sound quality and versatility, I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a good way to listen to music!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player
11/17/2012
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this mp3 player after my other cheap one shorted out. It has a very cheap feel to it, but it worked great for a few months even though I dropped it a few times. Pretty soon though I noticed that my headphone jack shorted out. Not having the funds for a new mp3, I tried to be thrifty. I put a hair tie around it horizontally and put the headphones through it and then plugged them in. As long as the headphones are pulled a certain way, it works okay. I also used the hair tie when I use my auxiliary cord. I have been doing this for quite a few months now, and now my headphones are shorting out because of such unusual treatment, as is my auxiliary cord. This is a fine temporary mp3 player but don't expect to have it for a long time unless you are very careful with it (I tried) and don't use it that much. My cousin and I have nicknamed it "a piece of trash" for a reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

just say no

07/02/2012
By ,
AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
headphone jack broke within 2 weeks
glitchy os
took apart and resolderd the chicken welds. worked good for about a month until i went on a 12hr drive, the screen went white.
took it apart again to see corrosion on the circuit board. Complete junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Cheaply made! Poor battery life! Waste of Money!

05/31/2013
By ,
Tyler, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a horrible product, which I was not expecting from such a notable company. I was looking for a MP3 to use in a secondary vehicle. Having already had much success from RCA mp3 players before, I decided to purchase another. BIG MISTAKE!!!! Unlike previous or other models, you can't skip from songs starting with a specific letter. Instead, you have to scroll all the way down to the next page until you reach the song you would like to hear. For example, if you're listening to a song that begins with the letter "M", and you want to hear a song starting with "A", you can't just use the arrow keys to skip to the songs starting with "A". You have to scroll down each individual song until you reach songs starting with "M". I've had great success with Sony mp3 players. If I forget to turn it off in the car, after 8 hours, it still has battery left. With this one, it's very close to dying. It's very light, and looks cheaply made. And acts as such. Also, when you charge it, it says "battery full", but when you unplug it for use, it's still a very low battery. The price is also too expensive for something so inexpensively made, and horribly functioning. I think I might've had better luck using something from Fisher Price. I had such high hopes for this product, being it's from RCA, a reputable company. From now on, I will choose Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Good except for one thing.

04/29/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok, the first one I got for Christmas last year in 2012. The music plays everything works. There was only one problem. This was a MAJOR problem. Within 2 months it just stopped working in February. So in February, I bought another one. Ok... so music plays everything works..... Well, again, 2 months later, now in April, this one stops working as well. It would've been a great product if it didn't have a life span of two months.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Not so much...

02/14/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have an ipod, and bought this for my daughter as a substitute until she's old enough to care for an expensive music player. Admittedly, I'm not that tech savvy, but I've never had any trouble getting music on my ipod, with this its like pulling teeth. If I had it to do over again, I'd rather dish out the $ for simple than pull my hair out with cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 13 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player
03/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my RCA Mp3 player. It works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 14 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Awful!

12/02/2012
By ,
Spokane, Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this MP3 player in place of one I gave to a friend. Upon taking it home and charging it up, the screen went ultra dim and won't light back up..PLUS it won't read right on my computer. Taking this piece of junk back and getting my money back! I found on on Amazon that is MUCH better then this!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 15 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Short battery life

12/03/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I brought this mp3 player specifically for studying; however the battery dies quickly, before the day is out and it takes 3 hours to recharge. It was not worth the money.
This was only my second mp3 player, but I was more happy with the one I bought out of the dollar store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player

Cheap housing, poor durablity.

11/13/2012
By ,
Jupiter, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the same Sony walkman mp3 for 7 years and the first time I dropped this one it broke. I would only recommend this to someone that leaves it on there dresser, it will not survive the out side world in the least.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for RCA 4GB MP3 Player
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5