Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

RCA RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Quickly and easily record voices and other sounds in true clarity with this RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder. It is constructed of sturdy and durable materials and features a top mounted speaker and a built-in condenser microphone for maximum performance and convenience. This hand-held voice recorder is equipped with six easy to read and understand push button controls: Record, Play, Rewind, Fast Forward, Pause and Stop/Eject. A stand-up microphone is also included that provides better clarity. A rotary volume control makes it a breeze to set the volume to suit your personal needs. It provides an automatic end-of-tape stop in play and record mode, alerting the user that it is time to replace the cassette. The retractable handle of the RCA cassette recorder makes it convenient to carry it anywhere, and it can be folded when not in use. Ideal for office, classroom or home use, this portable voice recorder can be used to record notes, memos, speeches and dictation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.673 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation76%42 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

batteries or electric

12/27/2013
By ,
stigler ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one many years ago. they are easy to use, put tape in and push play, ordered for my 78yr old sister. she can play or record on it. good for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

WORKS GREAT!

01/03/2014
By ,
Allentown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched high and low for an inexpensive cassette player. This is just the ticket! Great little machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Just what I was looking for ....

11/28/2013
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a basic, old-fashioned cassette tape player. They're not so easy to find these days. Item was exactly as described and shipment was perfectly on time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder
07/04/2012
By ,
Tallahassee, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic price for a quality item. Item was purchased to play the old cassettes which occasionally
appear. Modern technogly is not absolute, there is an abundance of the older stuff out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

I Expected Better

04/01/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a song writer, and I bought this RCA tape recorder to record songs as I write them. Previously I was using a Duraband cassette, radio voice recorder, which was very good with clear sound, but it recently stopped working after fifteen years of usage. I purchased the Duraband at Walmart for $10, so I got my money's worth out of it. I haven't had such good results with the RCA tape recorder. Whenver I record on it there's a lot of static on the tapes. I have tried several different tapes in it and still I get the same results. For the money that this RCA recorder costs I was expecting to have much better results.
I would have returned it, but I threw away all of the packing. Buy at your own descretion. Maybe I just happened to get a bad one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Old-style cassette recorder simple to use.

10/15/2012
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a smaller, more lightweight version of the old-style cassette recorders. It is easy to use with simple features. The sound is not as good as a cd player but it works for old cassettes. Good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Old school but good

09/23/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this for my 87 year young father to record his memories and he loves it. It's old school and basic enough that someone with physcial advantages can still use it. It was also about half the cost of Radio Shack's Tape player. I also like the fact the has an A/C adapter becuase batteries can be expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Nice little recorder

10/11/2011
By ,
Winnsboro, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This recorder is a little larger than I would like but it still will fit in my jeans pocket. It records much better if you use the microphone which has a clip that will allow you to clip it to your pocket or color easily and invisibly if you want it invisible. For the price its a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

RCA VOICE RECORDER REVIEW

11/27/2013
By ,
BRADENTON,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT WORKS LIKE A CHARM. SOUND QUALITY IS GOOD. THE BEST PART IS THAT IT IS BATTERY OPERATED AND COMPACT. CAN TRAVEL ANYWHERE WITH IT .
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

good voice clarity

11/13/2013
By ,
el dorado ar.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
listen to ministers tapes constantly and this is our second rca player had to retire the other one to many tapes played it finally gave up. it comes with both battery or plug in for convenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Knew RCA would be good

11/21/2013
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an old-fashioned cassette player for some speeches I'm making. It works very well, and the sound is good -- but just average for my recorded words. I use the separate microphone and it doesn't seem to improve it. I may have to fiddle with how close/far away from my mouth it is.
Good product and good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Purchased to make Audio's Tape

12/07/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Provides accurate audio recording , controls are self eplanatory and function well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

One good thing - one "not-so-good" thing

04/30/2014
By ,
Winter Haven, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good feature about this RCA Cassette player/recorder is that it uses AA size batteries, which I prefer to the usual "C" size that most use. This makes it smaller and lighter also.
A not so good feature of the RCA is that there is no automatic shut off when hitting end of tape DURING A FAST FORWARD OR REWIND. The Auto-shut off - or auto-stop works only for PLAY mode.
Walmart's "ONN" Cassette Player/Recorder (just a bit higher in price) does have Auto-stop in ALL MODES. I have purchased one of the ONN also and compared features.
Audiovox Corp. makes the RCA. I don't know who makes the ONN which is "distributed" by Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder
08/13/2012
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item does the job that I needed it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Junk

05/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Playback speed is WAY too FAST. Do not buy unless you like playing 45 records at 78 or love the sound of Alvin and the chipmunks!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Perfect size and excellent performance.

04/20/2013
By ,
Cypress, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this recorder. A perfect size and great sound. Rounded out well with an AC power supply and an external microphone. Great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

very satified.

05/08/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shipped on time, good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

Junk

05/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really excited to use this to play tapes for my kids but right out of the package the speakers sounded like they were blown and it sounded terrible. So disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

You get what you pay for

12/03/2013
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Must use plug in microphone to get fair recording playback sound. It's ok at best. Although I did read the reviews before I purchased, I expected a little better sound quality. I just wasn't willing to pay $75 for a tiny handheld device. Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Standard Cassette Voice Recorder

RCA Cassette Tape Recorder

06/18/2013
By ,
Kingman
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You know they just don't make things as they use too anymore. To find a Cassette recorder and Player is very rare these days. Just to find items that comes back into the 60's and 70's is hard to find these days,let alone one that is from a Good Company that makes quality items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next