Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

The Sanyo 46" LCD HDTV with integrated ATSC digital and NTSC analog tuner is the latest technology for the digital age.The digital tuner is Digital Clear QAM capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. In a high-gloss black finish, this Sanyo 46" 1080p TV blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs in your den or living room. With a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, you have plenty of options for DVD, VCR, Cable, Satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater-like sound. An additional PC/Mac input allows alternative use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows Photo Viewer display of JPEG photos. With a thin space-saving design and small footprint, this Sanyo 46" LCD HDTV can be positioned anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
3.703 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation68%25 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Do Not Buy!!

05/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought that I was getting a good deal when I bought online for $414.86. BUT, either I was the lucky customer of the day that got the "one" Tv that just happened to be on sale that had busted speakers! Brand new tv we are talking about here and you have to turn the volume up to a minimum of 19-23 depending on the show or movie being watched to even hear ANYTHING! With that being said, you can only imagine what the "suspense" like music in the background or a person on the movie screaming sounds like. I don't know how to explain what the (especially) background music and all other background noises sound like. I just know that it is terrible. This TV gives you 2 options: no.1 being that you can just watch it and read the captions of what they are saying Or no2. you can read the captions to know what they are saying due to EVERY other NOISE in the background is just all crashing together and it so loud that it just echoes and echoes off of the "busted" like speakers.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 2 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Sanyo not recommended (see below)

01/24/2012
By ,
Fort Oglethorpe, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I promised Sanyo that i would let everyone know about the
way they DON't stand behind their product. I purchased a 37"
flatscreen from them approximately 3 yrs ago. Not long after
the One-Year Warranty expired, dark spots began to appear on
the screen. I wrote them to see if it was a defect or
regular occurence with their product, and to see if they
would exchange it, or have it fixed for me. $600 seemed a
lil steep to pay for a tv every two or so yrs. They told me
to get a tv repairman if the one-year warranty had expired.
Apparently, this is something that happens quite often to
their tvs after the one-year warranty expires. I gave them a
couple of weeks to do something positive, but there was no
further contact from them. If they do contact me to make it
right, i will let everyone know. I hope it will help some
consumers in the future to spend a lil more (if need be# on
a good, dependable Magnavox #which we kept over 20 yrs)
rather than a Sanyo that did not last for a reasonable
amount of time for me.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

A Great Value

09/09/2011
By ,
Santa Ana, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking to buy a 42" for our teenagers TV Room. When we found this set, we deiced to buy if for our bedroom, and give the kids our 42". We couldn't pass on this bargain. Because we've owned other Sanyo products, we knew we could trust this brand.
Set up was easy. Not to different from our other set. The picture quality is excellent, and my husband is excited by all the features. It definitely exceeded my expectations, and I would recommend for sure!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 4 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Meets Expectations, Great Value

11/23/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been researching TV's for the past year, and although I wish I could have a fancy new LG with 3D, Internet, and LED, ETC., it's just not in my budget. I really just wanted a cheap big screen that had a great picture, that looked good with my XBOX 360, knowing it's not the best available. So far, I am very happy with my Sanyo.
Consumer reports gives this TV an awesome rating for picture, which is the most important part of a TV. Sure, the sound isn't great, but these are made to be hooked up to surround sound systems. At first, I admit I wasn't happy with the default, out of the box picture. It didnt look as good as it did on the store wall. But, I knew I just had to tweak the settings. I read alot online about how to calibrate an HDTV. I set up the picture settings myself, and now it looks amazing. There are a couple of options that are turned on automatically by default, and after playing with these I got the picture I wanted. So, if you buy this and get home and dont like it, do your research, learn the settings, and after some adjustments you will be happy. Read about the picture settings and what they do.
Anyways, I am happy with this TV for the price. Sanyo is owned by Panasonic now, which is a top of the line Japanese TV manufacturer. As far as brand reliability, Sanyo and Panasonic have the lowest percentages of returned products (due to broken parts or malfunctions) than other TV brands, even LG, Sony, and Sharp. It has every option you need for hookup, 3 HDMI, Digital and Optical Audio out, and even a USB slot. Just remember, you are paying less than 600 bucks for a 46" HDTV. It's not going to be the best out there, but it is the best for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 5 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Sanyo 46"

02/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Based on the reviews I thought this TV would be horrible but after returning another name brand TV, I was in shock. Great picture, great sound, and I am VERY pleased. I also have a Sony and I can't tell the difference in picture quality.
PS. I have 20-15 vision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 6 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Great for the price!

02/11/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this in 46 TV about a month ago and thus far it has been a great and enjoyable TV. The picture shows well and the sound is great. I do have it hooked up to a surround sound system for times we watch movies. We use the TV on a daily basis in our living room. I can't speak on the HDMI features as we're not utilizing them. For now I would say that the TV is worth the price. In case of any issues I did purchase an extended warranty. Ho
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

BAD HDMI PORTS

01/27/2012
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this tv almost a year ago. Never had a problem with it before today when I turn on the tv and there is no signal for any of my HDMI ports. I looked up the problem and I guess its common with this brand. We are suppose to get it repaired since its still under warranty hopefully this will solve the problem but I will not by this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 8 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Good buy

03/22/2014
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saw this rollback a week after buying a 42" Visio smart TV. I ended up buying Chromecast to get HBO Go which completely defeated the purpose of having a smart TV so I decided tho take the Visio back and get this Santo 46". Saved $70 on the exchange. The picture quality of the Visio was amazing so I was very reluctant to take a chance with Sanyo. Got the Sanyo today. Very easy setup. Chromecast works flawlessly. The picture quality out of the box isn't that great but a little tuning and it's just as good if not better than the Visio. Tuning tip: turn the sharpness all the way down, turn off dynamic contrast, tweak the contrast a little and you're there. There's no backlight adjustment but the super bright whites are only useful in store displays. Very clear picture with dark blacks. I'm very impressed. Can't say much about the sound since Im using a home theater system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 9 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

A Don't Buy

09/07/2011
By ,
Lansing, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this TV in Dec 2010. Worked fine for 8 months then it started turning it's self on & off all on it's own. This is a very commonly reported problem -- google it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cookeville, TN
DO NOT BUY
Posted 10/22/2011
We bought this TV just over 2 yrs ago. As with other reviews, the sound has started messing up and now we are having issues with the picture. For the price we paid, which 2 yrs ago was alot more, dont waste your money.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841
09/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tv in December. After about 7 months we began to have problems with the audio. We took it to a local repair shop, it's still there two weeks later. The repair shop is still waiting to hear from Sanyo and to have the parts sent. The tv was great when it worked, but I would suggest avoiding this and purchasing a better quality brand with better customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+17points
Review 11 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Not what I expected

03/21/2014
By ,
fort worth, tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Did not have the screws to mount the stand to the tv, owner's manual, warranty card nor did it have the remote control. Had to call Sanyo to get them. Plus, Sanyo told me this tv was manufactured in 2011, not 2013 like the sticker on the back says. Picture quality is not all that great for a 1020p. Tv is extremely large and heavy and old, would not have purchased had I known what this was.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841
09/15/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Paid $228 plus tax, best deal ever on a large screen TV. Sound is miserable, paid 99 for a decent sound bar and sub-woofer, but to be expected in a TV this cheap
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lake Wildwood Macon, GA
$228 also
Posted 03/31/2014
I bought mine for $288 in Warner Robins GA. and tried to buy more at that price but they were out. Only had the one. I love the TV but not the sound so much. I ended up buy a fantastic Sony Sound bar with wireless subwoofer and now my TV room is complete. The sound bar/sub-woffer cost more than what I paid for the TV. lol
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Don't buy this television

03/30/2014
By ,
Salt Springs, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice set, picture is okay quality for what you pay, but the sound is awful. I tried to add a soundbar to make it sound better, but the port for the sound bar doesn't work. Am seriously thinking of returning the TV. Very disappointed. The sound buzzes at certain levels, tried adjusting it manually, taking it off it's automatic setting and it still buzzes. What a let down.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

fits perfect

04/10/2014
By ,
normal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the TV we were looking for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Review 15 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

great

04/04/2014
By ,
Morris Plains, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Great TV at a great price

03/31/2014
By ,
Wellsville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this TV for about 2 weeks, it was easy to set up and has great picture quality and sound. I really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Impressed

03/28/2014
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought that because this is such a cheaply priced TV it would be lacking in some way. But I'm pretty impressed by the quality of picture and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

good for the price

12/27/2011
By ,
dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not bad at all so far key is we dont know the future but this SANYO46 is fine for bedroom or living room basically it is best for smaller room areas, bigger is always better in my opinion, it could have a couple of extra inputs, directions, are short and sweet, picture adjustable i just hope it last long enough for me to payoff plus several years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

ok

03/31/2014
By ,
Ponca City, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Left speaker popping and crackling, had to return
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for SANYO 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP46841

Was great size tv for the price

03/26/2014
By ,
Piedmont, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was very pleased with the product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next