Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

The Sanyo 42" LCD HDTV with integrated ATSC digital and NTSC analog tuner is the latest technology for the digital age.The digital tuner is Digital Clear QAM capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. In a high-gloss black finish, this Sanyo 42" 1080p TV blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs in your den or living room. With a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, you have plenty of options for DVD, VCR, Cable, Satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater-like sound. An additional PC/Mac input allows alternative use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows Photo Viewer display of JPEG photos. With a thin space-saving design and small footprint, this Sanyo 42" LCD HDTV can be positioned anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
3.762 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation73%133 out of 183reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Do not buy a Sanyo!!!!!!

04/19/2013
By ,
Lafayette Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased a Sanyo 42" 3 years ago and bought the extended warranty, in November of 2012 we turned on the tv the screen was half black we called customer service and told them our problem they gave another number to call for technical issues. Big mistake they had no clue what we were talking about even though I sent pictures. I also sent all the warranty information, the tv information and all seriel numbers. This has been going on since November 2012 they are not honering the warranty nor are they going to reimburse us for the TV we can't use. The customer service is terrible they need to take classes on how to deal with customers and their products. We had it appraised at a tv repair shop it was going to cost $500.00 for a $350.00 tv.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

READ ME BEFORE BUYING A SANYO TV

04/15/2012
By ,
Atlanta GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I felt the same way as everyone else, "great value, good picture, all around great tv for the price" well that was 2 years ago, and if you are looking for a short term tv then this is your product, you get what you pay for and I will never pay for Sanyo or Panasonic products again....My tv is only 2 years old, recently it has started making a screaming noise from behind the tv and yetserday the picture went out but the sound was perfectly fine, so I started to research, and this seems to be a common problem for Sanyo TV's.....they are making cheap tv's that last around the 2year mark, don't believe me google sanyo tv with your model number and complaints.....read how many people have had the SAME problem as me and the best part you ask, Sanyo doesn't stand behind their product....I may be crazy but I don't ever remember buying a tv that only worked for two years!!!!! I wouldn't and will never purchase another Sanyo product ever again!!!!!
$500 was alot to spend on a disposable TV!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 3 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Excellent Purchase - Happy

11/22/2011
By ,
Sierra's in California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set-up. Beautiful color and clarity. The only problem I had and am sure others have experienced IF you use SAT. HDTV, when you initially do the set-up on the TV, instruction manual fails to tell you that at completion of channel scanning (which will display 0 Analog channels found, 0 Digital channels found). After calling customer support, I found out it will not display/detect channels. Just bypass this one step, AFTER the display indicates Channel Scan Successful.
All the channels are detected by your receiver, not the TV. It will however, show what it detected during it's scan. ie: HDMI1 (yes) HDMI3; (yes - if you had something plugged into that spot.) Drove me nuts for some minutes. But, by just completing the initial setup and ignoring 0 channels found, I exited the setup and WHAM, there was my channels and guides..
Sound is good. Easy to setup your surround sound system if you have one. No complaints EXCEPT, no swivel base. No biggie. Works perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 4 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

This TV is everything I wanted and expected.

08/04/2012
By ,
NE Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I take reviews (both positive and negative) with a grain of salt. Sure, I want to see what others have to say, but at the same time, I’m a little leery. I also do a lot of research before I buy anything. This TV included. I’ve now had this TV for a week and find nothing I’m not happy about. I have a tube Sanyo that I’ve had for 12 years, and there is nothing wrong with it. It was just time for something new.
I am still excited to own this TV. I use it as a TV and computer monitor. With a wireless keyboard, I can kick back in bed and browse or chat to my hearts’ content. The picture is great, the sound is fine with me. I find no issues as described in the negative reviews I read.
Something that surprised me: I have basic cable and with my old TV there was no reason to go digital, spend the extra money, and have another box and remote, yet with the basic, the TV is picking up digital signals from somewhere. I now have several “digital” channels. However, seeing the difference in analog and digital, I’ll probably be upgrading my cable. What a difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Horrible TV

04/23/2012
By ,
West Jefferson, North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this Sanyo. I own a Sanyo 27" CRT TV and a Sanyo 42" Plasma HDTV and both are superb and have been trouble free. I was casually shopping for another TV and saw this in the store for $388, so I bought one without doing any research on it.
This was a huge mistake!. Out of the box all of the HDMI inputs were dead. I then did some research on the Internet and found this was a common problem with this particular model. There were many other people like myself who experienced non-working HDMI inputs when they turned on the TV for the first time. And there were many others who reported their HDMI inputs stopped working after three to six months of ownership of this model.
DO NOT BUY THIS MODEL SANYO - IF YOU DO YOU WILL LIKELY BE BRINGING IT BACK.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+341points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Waste of Money
Posted 05/21/2013
I bought a Sanyo about 2yrs ago and all I had was problems. Is a 42" inch for my bedroom. First time the tv itself will turn on by itself even after it was turned off. Another time picture was blacking out on me all you can hear is the audio but see nothing. I made a terrible mistake in purchasing a Sanyo Plasma. I heard those Plasma brands are no good but I wanted to see for myself giving it the benefit of the doubt, but now I see for myself; not a good choice so now I am thinking to buy a LG which I already have in my basement for 5yrs and it still works perfectly no problems at "ALL".
+1point
Customer Avatar
NE Ohio
I don't agree.
Posted 08/03/2012
I've had this TV for a week now and am absolutely satisfied with it.
-1point
Customer Avatar
San Antonio
I agree!
Posted 06/15/2012
The LCD started becoming darker and darker over time. I did a search on the internet and and I found this a common problem for this TV. I called Sanyo and they refused to take any responsibility. This happen to the TV 1.5 years after I purchased it from Walmart.
The TV is trashed!
-1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Very happy with this TV

02/13/2012
By ,
Sandpoint, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sound and picture are great, I only gave them 4 because there may be something better. I bought this TV with the warranty refund from my last TV (different brand). Sanyo had one of the lowest percentage of warranty returns, plus the price was great for this size screen. The picture is great, even watching hockey. You can choose from 3 picture presets or really tinker with it manually.
The sound is suprisingly good. Watching the Grammys right now and it sounds great (for a TV). 3 audio presets, as well as auto, plus you can manually adjust bass, treble, bass enhancer and 4 band eq. I just use the presets depending if I'm watching TV or listening to music channels. There's stereo outs and digital audio out for your home theater.
The speakers aim downward. I have mine on the stand and it doesn't hamper the sound.
The manual power, input, channel and volume buttons are on the bottom. Almost thought it didn't have them, and I sometimes lose the remote. This is probably handy if you have it wall mounted up high.
Lots of inputs, a couple for my old vcr and dvd, 3 hdmi , pc input, usb, and oh yeah the cable/satellite in.
And it was under $499 where the price of the extended warranty jumps up.
If it continues to function as it does now I am totally happy with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 7 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Nice Price Bad Quality

02/14/2012
By ,
Dayton Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV as a upgrade but little did I no it was actually a downgrade!
I was expecting an exceptional picture but I did not get it with this particular brand.
After 3 day's of owning the TV a Red Line started showing up on the screen I thought it was
a fluke or bad connection after rewiring everything the red line persisted and even got worse!!
Over the next couple of days it just started showing up more and more and as others have said in their reviews it was on the left side of the screen I asked around and did some research online and found out that this is a problem that Sanyo Tv's have! I wish I would have known that information prior to my purchase after I found out all the problems that the brand has had with the red lines I returned the TV a week to the day later! I exchanged the TV for a 43" Samsung Plasma and the picture quality is a 100x better than the Sanyo.
I would recommend you keep looking unless You wanna go through a whole lotta hassle I was very disappointed with this TV!
Very happy with my Samsung and it was basically the same price!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Couldn't be happier!

04/11/2012
By ,
Clarksville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is absolutely fantastic! I'm using it both as a TV and as a 1920x1080 monitor for my computer, via HDMI. It's crisp, sharp, has a beautiful picture, more inputs than I'll ever need, outputs for sound (I routed it to my computer's speaker system in tandem with my computer), and has more features than a Boing 767. Setup and use is a breeze. Especially love the light sensor that adjusts brightness depending on ambient light, so you're not squinting by day and cringing at night.
I wouldn't hesitate recommending this unit to anyone, and at $448, it was a steal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Great Picture + Great Price= Happy Camper!!

08/28/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lost my 32” Flat screen to Lighting surge and needed to replace. I wanted to replace with an inexpensive larger (42’) monitor. After looking at all the available offerings at my local Wal-Mart I was surprised that the Sanyo looked as good, if not better then some models that cost considerably more. I use Windows Media Center, with Over the Air signal as my HDMI/ HD Source , and it works Great! My new Sanyo DP-42841. picture is incredible. I was blown away with some of the recorded (Hawaii Five 0) episodes I had saved with the Media Centers record function
Netflix picture quality is wonderful . I have my home security system plugged into the VGA port and that works just fine. Just remember if you use the VGA port to hook your computer to this Monitor you give up the #1 HDMI port. Hey you still have two more…lol.
My computer muli-media center has a HDMI interface and works great with my new Sanyo. I run external speakers with my Entertainment Center I did try the onboard speakers and found them to be adequate with lots of adjustments to play with. That reminds me this model has a lot of preset/ manual adjustments that should suit everyone personal needs. I am sure everyone that owns this set will love the USB picture slide show function. Thanks Wal-Mart for the really great deal! Nothing out there can touch this one for under 500 hundred bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+122points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Portland,TN
Great TV for the price
Posted 08/01/2013
Bought this TV because the picture looks vivid and the colors are rich and deep,it has more options for connections than any other LCD TV I have ever seen. I also have the 32" version of this Sanyo and it is still strong after 4 years. The sound is decent for built in speakers,it actually has some Bass to it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

GREAT TV!

11/14/2011
By ,
Lexington Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently upgraded from a 32" LG and bought this Sanyo 42" tv. I paid $450 plus tax inside the store (so dont buy it online). I was a little worried about the sound (after reading the previous reviews) but I was blown away by the quality of the sound. I have a sound bar that I had to buy b/c the sound on the 32" was horrible and I thought that I would need it for this onem but I did not. The picture is nice, bright and clear even though it is a 60hz TV. There are a few pre-set settings that are useful. The viewing angle is also nice (at 178 degs).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 11 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Thrilled with my exchange of my Sony for Sanyo 42"

04/20/2012
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a Sony from Wal-Mart about 2 months and was just all around unhappy with the purchase. After owning a 22" Sanyo for about 4 years and being very happy with that tv, I opted to exchange the Sony 42" for a Sanyo 42". I'm thrilled with the exchange. The sound is much richer and goes much louder ... I have trouble hearing at times, so this is important to me ..., plus it is highly customizable with not only the sound, but also with the display features. You can choose from presets or manually set each individual feature to exactly what you want it to be. I already have the picture set up much more suitable for me and the sound set much richer and higher than the other tv.
I really gave this exchange a lot of thought before exchanging the tv and I am so happy I did. It feels like a load of stress has been lifted. Also, as a bonus, this tv was over $60 cheaper, which covered the 2 year replacement plan #the old tv didn't have a replacement plan available# and left me with money back! I was very pleased to get such a great tv for a great price, and with my history with Sanyo, I know I'll be happy for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

6 months old and black screen and no sound.....

11/12/2012
By ,
Wildwood, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TV Purchased at the end of April, screen goes blak and no sound, called Sanyo and I would have to pay $89.00 for local TV repairman to pick up and deliver when repaired. I can not take TV there since I work in different town. But Sanyo said that is not their problem since the warranty does not cover picking up and delivery after repair on tvs smaller than 50 in. What a piece of junk. You pay almost $500 for a TV and you can not watch it 95% of the time...... Last TV from Sanyo and Walmart I'll ever buy. I have a 47 in. Samsung from Best Buy. Purchased 2 years ago, nerver had any problem with it. I'll sell this one in yard sale or throw it in the middle of the street (I'll know then why it is not working) and count my lost, live and learn. Will not recommend to no one any Sanyo or Panasonic product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841
11/25/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This deal was good enough, we bought it before black friday. Very happy with purchase. Love the picture and sound, but decided on the optional 2 year service agreement, just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 14 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Nice Television

10/23/2011
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought one of this size for my wife to Zumba with. The picture is great, and the ability to change the pic format is nice. The speakers are great, having a nice stereo output that makes my wife's music sound nice for her. The only issue I have, and it is not necessarily with the television, is that LCD interferes with some of the remote controls that rely on infrared signals. My satellite remote works intermittently now. So, the TV is great, but beware if you rely on your remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 15 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841
02/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tv to place in room. Thought i was down grading a little from my Sony Bravia. To my amasement, the tv looks great and sounds really good. Bought the extra warranty with it. A must have now with any TV. hope this helps anyone looking for a good TV, with a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 16 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

DO NOT BUY!!!!

11/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are considering buying any sanyo t.v. read this warning. I bought my first sanyo t.v. this same one 8 months later the screen went black. I thought it was just a defect and I bought the 46" sanyo now one year later the screen does not work on the left half of the t.v. I decided to research it and you can too type in the model and screen goes black on google see how many hits you get all the same story all within a year or so of purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+32points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NE Ohio
What I don't buy, is the review.
Posted 08/06/2012
I own this set and love it. I did my research, too. And . . . I've had a couple of Sanyo's for years and love them. Yes, I saw the other bad reviews elsewhere, and they didn't make sense.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

ok tv..

03/28/2012
By ,
rochester, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After searching store to store, i opted for this tv because it was the best value. Had it for about 2 weeks and i must admit that it has proved itself to be a great purchase. The sound is really loud with a little bassy which i like. No need for a soundbar. The picture is really huge and the hd is spot on. The colors are bright and the only problem i have is when i watch stream crackle movies through my xbox. They start out pixilated, but eventually are crystal clear. All in all not a bad purchase so far. I'll check back in a year or when there is a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 18 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Great value, a few gens old though

11/08/2011
By ,
WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked this up on a Super Saturday sale for under $400, for that price you get a lot of TV for your dollar. The picture is great when comparing to a standard definition TV but isn't as nice as more modern HDTVs. All in all though it's a very acceptable picture quality for this price range. I was surprised at how decent the sound was from the built in speakers, you get a good amount of sound depth built in, not quite as nice as an external sound system but for built in speakers, these surpassed my expectations.
That being said, know that if you buy this TV, it's a few generations behind the latest standards. It's 60hz refresh rate instead of 240hz, LCD instead of LED, HDMI 1.3 instead of 1.4, 'coax' digital audio out instead of fiber optic or even better.. hdmi and it's not internet ready so you don't have any built in apps like netflix and hulu.
I mostly use this TV to hook up to a computer and a video game system, both hook up with HDMI cables. The compuer works great for playing videos, web content and media center type content, the mouse control is responsive on-screen meaning the screen doesn't lag. The video game console is equally well displayed on this TV. There is no processing lag on the screen like I noticed with a much more expensive up-to-date in standards TV that i returned. I was worried the 60hz refresh rate at this size would lead to a poor gaming experience but it hasn't, I'm pleased with the results.
Other than that, the buttons are located on the underside of the tv along the bottom right. There's six buttons (volume up/down, channel up/down, input, menu, power) and they're easy to use. The on screen menu system is pretty basic, you can adjust your typical brightness, contrast etc and a few other things but there's nothing else in here but the basics. Audio outputs through the TV speakers and the audio out jack simultaneously. This means if you run the TV into an external audio receiver, you need to turn down the volume on the TV so you just hear the audio from the receiver. Typically TV's have a setting that you set to either use internal speakers or an audio system, this one uses them both at the same time... kind of weird but not really much of a problem.
Overall a pretty good value for the dollar. I'm happy to have a large 1080p screen now for my gaming and home theater pc content. While it lacks some of the modern features, I just wanted a big screen that worked well from a reliable name brand and the Sanyo delivers at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+67points
Review 19 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841

Waste of a my hard earned money

04/27/2012
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv in May 2010. Not even 2 years later I am getting that same screeching sound. I called Sanyo and all they advised me was to take it into a shop and pay for it out of pocket. No willingness to help whatsoever. Sometimes while watching tv the sound goes out and I have to hit mute on the control and then play and voila-- it works. I paid about $600 for this tv. I feel hoodwinked! I too will never buy a Sanyo product ever again. This tv is horrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 20 for SANYO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP42841
01/27/2013
By ,
torrance, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually never post reviews because I don't always believe what I read online but in this case I wanted to make an acception. I purchased this television set a little over two years ago and it suddenly started malfunctioning. It just started turning off by itself and now wont turn on at all. I was told ( by more than one repair technichian) that it would cost over $300.00 too repair. I was attracted to this set because of its low price and now I wish I had just spent a little more for a better brand. I would highly recommend puchasing the extended warranty if you do decide that this is the right set for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next