Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

The Sanyo 50" plasma HDTV with integrated ATSC digital and NTSC analog tuner is the latest technology for the digital age.The digital tuner is Digital Clear QAM capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. In a high-gloss black finish, this Sanyo 50" 720p TV blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs in your den or living room. With a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, you have plenty of options for DVD, VCR, Cable, Satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater-like sound. An additional PC/Mac input allows alternative use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows Photo Viewer display of JPEG photos. With a thin space-saving design and small footprint, this Sanyo 50" plasma HDTV can be positioned anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
3.884 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation77%33 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

GREAT!

09/15/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this tv. had it for 3 years with an ex (still up and running) and now have the same tv because its a great value for such a good tv!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 2 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

This bigger screen TV

10/16/2011
By ,
Lakewood, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item and way of purchasing was just what we needed. My purchase of the flat screen TV
and the availability at another Wal-Mart in another state, Jonesboro, Arkansas made it possible
for me to do the money transaction and my son, a Disabled Veteran to go pick up HIS NEW TV
take it home and set it up. He is thrilled with this item. I was able to make the transaction just fine without any hitch. He was able to go to the store and pick it up within a few hours of my purchase and he did not have to wait around for another store to figure the deal out. I thank you
very much for the smooth transaction.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 3 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Love this TV!

12/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was skeptical about getting a plasma but we are thrilled with this t.v. Have had it a year, with no problems. (You must have high def service to your t.v. otherwise it will not be clear) We hooked up a sound system and PS3 to watch our Netflix. Could not ask for a better t.v. !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 4 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Awesome with a cost affordable price!

01/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this TV! For a 50" plasma for less than $630 bucks out the door you can't beat this price! Quality overall is awesome!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 5 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Good but not the Greatest

09/01/2011
By ,
Hamilton, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a decent tv over 50 inches and accidentally stumbled upon this one while browsing one day. The size and price were the main reason I seized on the buy. I never had a plasma before and I'll concede blacks are blacker on a plasma but in every other way LCD's are superior. But I got mine for $100 less than listed and it balances out. I play a lot of movies and they do indeed look great and my audio is connected to an external audio system.
My main grief is it's VGA mode, it's only 1024x768 and in the old 4:3 screen ratio. To access to other screen modes including it's native graphics mode you need a driver on the computer and I have yet to find one. My old 42 inch LCD had all video modes accessible without a driver so I know how it should work.
I also wish you could play movies from it's USB port but no it's only for photos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+56points
Review 6 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Good while it lasted

08/13/2011
By ,
Deltaville, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a great TV - great price, exceptional picture and decent sound. But after only 19 months, the picture suddenly disappeared into a few sparkling pixels in one corner. And I was told that it would cost much more to fix it than to buy a new one. I think I'll try a Sony or Vizio next.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+150points
Review 7 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Great TV and a good deal

08/22/2011
By ,
Mason, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this TV in my bedroom for over two years. It is a great TV. I use it as a monitor to watch Hulu and stream netflix via my Wii. Good picture, good sound. People tend to laugh when I say I have a 50-inch TV in my room, but my room also serves as a place to watch movies with friends. So far the TV does not disappoint in the slightest. It's a few hundred cheaper now than when I bought it, so definitely a great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+45points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
missouri
OK, BUT
Posted 02/21/2012
We have only owned this TV for a couple of weeks. It seems ok, but the coaxial digital audio out is only PCM48. It does not hacker Dolby surround. If therefore does not work well with my 5.1 receiver.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

You wont get much use out of this!

10/19/2011
By ,
Mayfield, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this tv when it was $1500 and it hasnt lasted 3 years. It started taking a long time to come on, about 10-15 minutes, woke up one day and it never came back on. Yes, it worked fine the first 2 years but a tv should last longer than 3 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 9 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741
09/07/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV back in the beginning of 2009 and it has been wonderful. It still shows perfectly, sounds perfect, and I love it. I paid a good price for it and I honestly am surprised that it has lasted me this long. But it is going strong even after we watch it everyday and sometimes all day for 2 1/2 yrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 10 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741
11/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned the TV for a year now. Great value, good TV. Haven't had not one problem with the set. Its only 720p but the picture is absolutely great! Plasma is a great way to watch any of your fast action programs. Comes with a built in digital tuner and plenty of HDMI connections. Speakers work well on the TV, surround sound is always a good addition. A thing to be careful with however is screen burn. Leave an image on too long without movement will burn it into the screen. Comes with a built in repair feature to reverse the effects if it does happen. But for severely burned screens it can be a time consuming process. Other than that minor issue its a great TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 11 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Would not buy again

11/04/2011
By ,
Puyallup, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My other 50" went out and needed to get another spur of the moment before hubby went nuts. Ran to the local Wal-mart and it looked ok in the store, sounded ok. Got it home hooked it all up and was I ever disappointed. The lights in the store make it look much better than what it is. Never could get the picture brighter and the speakers vibrate all the time. I am taking it back and will go another store to find a tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

EXCELLENT VALUE & EXCEPTIONAL PRODUCT FOR $$$$

02/21/2012
By ,
Renton, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this television as a replacement of my large screen projection tv that died. Due to the economy and holiday season, I looked around for a new television set that was a good value and affordable for my budget. I was a little apprehensive about this tv because the price was so reasonable but decided after a few weeks to purchase it.
I have NO regrets and I'm enjoying my new television. I wish it had better sound but I plan to buy a surround sound package to hook up to it later this year.
I'd recommend this set to anyone needing a big screen tv and have limited finances and are in need of a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Horrible, steer clear of this lemon!

12/31/2011
By ,
Park Hills, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First bought the previous version of the Sanyo 50" Plasma on 2/20/2011. On 5/1/2011 the HDMI inputs just quit working. Called Sanyo, and was told to exchange it at Wal-Mart because it was still within the first 90 days. Exchanged the television for the Sanyo 50" Plasma DP0741. Everything worked great with this one until about 11/15/2011 when for no apparent reason, the sound quit working! Called Sanyo, and was instructed to take it to a local repair shop where the warranty work would be performed. It was fixed within one week, and picked it up a day after Thanksgiving. Everything seemed to be fine, until intermittently the sound would fluctuate from loud to soft and make weird, garbling noises, but then leveled out to normal. Then last night, 12/30/2011, I come home from work, turn on the TV and guess what? Yep, the sound went completely out again, never to come back! The picture is nice and clear, but no sound! So, I'll have to wait until probably Tuesday, 1/02/2012, due to a long holiday weekend, to call Sanyo back and tell them this thing is a lemon! I have read that Sanyo televisions have caused house fires, so I've completely unplugged it, and will push for a complete refund, no one should have this much problems with a television. But like the old cliche goes, "you get what you pay for"! Do yourself a favor and spend a little extra money on a better, reputable brand! I'll never, ever purchase another Sanyo product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Best Buy for The Money

11/06/2011
By ,
Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this TV for little over 3 yrs no complaints! Use it everyday had it wall mounted now back to table top. Combined with Bose 123 and this system rocks!! For the money it has out performed my expectation!! I also have another TV and the picture on the plasma is just as clear if not better than LCD. That is my opinion and I would recommend this TV to anyone, I would say it is the best buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Terrible T.V.

12/14/2011
By ,
Fort Campbell, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this t.v. for $650 in May of 2011, and by November 2011 it was broken. After only ONE month of having it, the sound started to crackle and got 10x louder than it was (but it didn't say it was any louder.) This happened 3 times before November when the sound finally just went out completely which I know was the speakers, I hooked up headphones to the T.V. and the sound worked just fine. After about 5 months or so in October, the picture would suddenly appear very dark when you turned the T.V. on, and changing the settings didn't fix it. After turning the T.V. off and back on a couple of times it would fix it, but for $650 I expected this T.V. to last more than a few months without getting problems. I've read that SANYO's customer service isn't the greatest, but I guess it doesn't really matter because I lost the receipt to use the 1 year warranty anyways. It really shouldn't matter that I lost it, because the T.V. shouldn't have broken this soon in the first place. Word of advice- you get what you pay for, and sometimes you don't even get that. SO do NOT buy this T.V. unless you want to chance throwing $568 what it is priced now) down the drain!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Great T.V. but you have to add a soundbar.

12/04/2011
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this T.V. about 2 weeks ago, it was a great deal plus I really like plasma's over lcd. The only issue with this T.V. the sound quality is terrible, you can mess with the settings all you want and it won't change anything. What you can do is buy a soundbar. We bought the Vizio SoundBar w/ Wireless Subwoofer and It's made a world of difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Read My Review

02/09/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was kind of hesitant on buying a plasma tv. This one caught my eye mainly because of the price. I was looking at a 55" lcd but at the time it was $200 dollars more. It is a great television not as bright as I would like but, nonetheless awesome tv. If you have a lot of light coming into your house during the day time like I do, the reflections can be a bit annoying. This is a great tv to watch movies at night deep rich colors and the speakers on it are loud even when I have it on volume 5. I added a Vizio sound-bar and subwoofer and it's all you need. So, I guess I spent that 200 dollars adding to the tv for a great movie night with the family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

SANYO Rocks!!!!

11/11/2011
By ,
Tupelo, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased Sanyo televisons for as long as I have been purchasing televisions (I think I've bought 6 or more over the years) the latest one lasted for over 10 years and had to be put down by lightening to quit. This is my first ever really large television, flat screen & plasma and we are wonderfully excited. My husband spends hours sitting right in front of it staring and we keep it running nearly 24/7. Now he is rushing me to replace the one in the bedroom and nothing is wrong with it. Hook this lovely up to your surround sound and enjoy every minute.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Great TV - so far

09/04/2011
By ,
UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this TV for a great price on Black Friday, the day after last Thanksgiving. So far the picture has been great. We have HD TV and the picture is incredible. But what I have read about Sanyo service on this website as well as elsewhere, I don't believe I will buy a Sanyo again and I know I won't buy a plasma tv again. We have a 42" Visio in our bedroom and we have had that for about four years. It still works great. If our Sanyo lasts as long, maybe I will change my mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for SANYO 50" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50741

Nice TV

09/08/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My parents were in need of a modern television upgrade. So, I surprised them with a Sanyo 50' Flat Screen. The picture showed great and the sound actually gives you a movie-time feel. Regardless of the occassion, I recommend this product as a perfect gift for your family.. Or, for yourself!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next