Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

This Sanyo 47" LED-LCD HDTV offers the latest technology for the digital age.The digital TV tuner is Digital Clear QAM capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. In a high-gloss black finish, the Sanyo 47" 1080p TV blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs in your den or living room. Having a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, the Sanyo 47" LED-LCD HDTV provides plenty of options for DVD, Cable, Satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater like sound. Additional PC/Mac input allows alternative use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows Photo Viewer display of jpeg photos. With a thin space-saving design and small footprint, the Sanyo 47" LED-LCD HDTV can be positioned anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation23%3 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

Excellent Television

07/19/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Sanyo LCD television purchase(We have a 31" and 37") and I couldn't be happier with our purchase. The main reason we went with Sanyo was reliability and durability. The TV that we replaced with this unit was a 16 year old 31 inch standard definition Sanyo television. So we knew Sanyo's reputation for holding up over the years. We only have the 47" television for a week but I am amazed with the picture quality. We have a standard definition cable box but the picture quality is very good and the colors very bright, even on the economy picture setting, which is the setting we always use. The television is an energy star and uses hardly any electricity compared to other comparable models, which was another selling point for us. I was skeptical about the 60HZ but after purchasing it, I couldn't be happier. Baseball and Soccer look great on it and I would buy this television over and over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Review 2 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

BUYER BEWARE

09/13/2011
By ,
orlando, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On Dec 5th 2010 I purchased this unit for 746.00. I was so happy because this was my first LCD TV and I got it for a good deal. The picture is actually pretty good. The last week of Aug. 2011 the TV just shut off for no reason. 2 days later it shut off again. I called Sanyo and got the run around and was asked to try this and do this and see how it works. Last Sunday the TV shut off and never turned back on. FINALLY when I call someone in corporate arraigned to have my unit replaced with one of my choice because this model was out of stock (thank GOD). The sound on this TV when the volume is up loud is VERY BAD. Almost like the speakers are loose and vibrating inside the unit. Pandora app NEVER remembers your password even when you tell it to and more than 3/4 of the installed apps are obsolete so the features are garbage. Save your money and add a little more to it and get an LG(like i am), Sony or a Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 3 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

Why make a TV this dark?

08/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picked this TV because it was a huge screen size for a very low price from a familiar brand. Noticed it was EXTREMELY DARK even on the brightest settings. I Played with the settings for 2 months. I set this TV to it's brightest and most appealing settings and made a side by side comparison with my 26" Sanyo LCD (on its Darkest setting). The 47" was still much darker and the colors weren't good either.
So... I exchanged the TV for a brand new one of the same model, thinking the first was a lemon. The new TV was exactly the same; awful. Read the specs for this TV. NOTHING mentions brightness... (nits or cd/m2).
I am keeping this one in the box until I figure out what I want to exchange it for.
At first I thought the screen size alone would make up for the picture since I am really not that picky (or else I wouldn't own 2 Sanyos).
My advice: There are much better options on this site. It's not even worth the gas money to pick it up and return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 4 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

Great Deal!!!

07/25/2011
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best purchase I’ve ever made from walmart. Great price, Great product; picture quality is awesome and easy setup. There is only one draw back; there is about 10 second delay for the picture to appeal after you hit the on/power button, some people might find that irritating but to me is no big deal. I couldn’t be happier with my TV!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,
07/08/2011
By ,
Darby,pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this tv for about 2.5yrs.. About 3mos ago the screen started going black on one side..Once the tv has been on for a while is stops. Well now it's doing it more constantly and lasting longer. I won;t be surprise if the tv goes completely out in the next 3-6mos. So if you purchase this tv be sure to purchase an extended warranty..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 6 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,
07/23/2011
By ,
jacksonville fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with our TV, the picture is sharp and the sound is great we also bought a soundbar at the same time that we bought our TV but really didnt need one the sound on the TV is fine, my husband just wanted one. The size is just right not to big, not to small. We love our new Sanyo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

DO NOT BUY!!!!!

10/12/2011
By ,
Princeton, La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate saying something bad about it, because it was a great tv for the time that I had used it (a whole 8 months.) I loved my tv, even when it went out I just wanted it fixed. Our tv had great picture quality, good sound, and all. One problem, it shut off a few times on its own, we just simply turned it back on. This past Sunday Oct. 8, 2011, it shut off for good. At first the company told us to take it to the repair shop, then called the next day to say we just need to get another one. I was in the mist of looking for one just like it, thinking that that tv was just a runt or something. Now after reading all the reviews it seems that people mainly have my issue, or their tv pops up with black blocks and half their screen goes out. It seems to happen from 6 months to 2 and a half year mark. I imagine, it all depends on how much this tv gets used. Either way, I am going to have to face reality and purchase a different tv now. Just save your money and get something else, there has got to be some issues with this model that they still have not figured out. Another thing I have noticed the price droping quickly on it as well. Seems like Sanyo knows this product themselves is no good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,
10/08/2011
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased a Sanyo 47" HD tv (DP47460) on January 19, 2011. Big mistake. Wish I had done
more research on this product. TV has to go to a shop after less than ten months. Picture/color
is awful. Problem is the nearest Sanyo authorized service center is about 50 miles from where
I live. To get the cost covered by 12 month warranty they will have to repair it. Also, I was
told I would probably have to leave it for two weeks and make another trip to pick it up. Never want another Sanyo product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

DO NOT BUY

07/22/2011
By ,
nassau ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want a TV that lasts longer than 1 yr, then do not buy this one. I started having 'blacked out' pix problems and it continued to get worse. It was OK for a while if you let the TV warm up for a half hour, but now, there is only pix on partial screen. If you Google this TV under 'complaints' you will find it is a wide spread problem, possibly on every single one. It should not even be sold. I now have to take my 2 yr old $800 TV and bring to the dump. I hope I can save others from having this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

**SAVE YOUR $$$****

09/03/2011
By ,
Camp Pendleton, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV for my husband before he got back from a deployment thinking it was a good deal. Well you get what you paid for! A year and a half later, the picture on the right side of the TV started going. We put a fan behind it and that helped for awhile. If you hit the TV the picture comes back for 10 minutes than goes out again.
Long story short, go for a better quality tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,
11/06/2011
By ,
westville nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this sanyo 47inch tv about 3 years ago .The color is going when you turn tv on ,half the tv lights up,Then you have to slap the back of the tv to get it to work.Its been around three weeks now since it started acting up and it is getting worse.I will never buy a sanyo tv again.
I just wanted to pass this on to everybody that is looking for a tv
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

2.5 years and picture going out

08/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Black square started showing up in the left half of the screen about 1 month ago and would clear up after about 5 mins. then took longer each time to clear up. Now the color on the screen is a lot of pink and green. Would look for a different TV. Google this problem and you will find that it is happening with a lot of Sanyo models and sizes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for SANYO 47" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV,DP47840,

DO NOT BUY

10/29/2011
By ,
East Elmhurst, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i've had this tv for about 2.5yrs.. Recently the screen started going black on one side.. We bring it to SANYO repair authorize dealer. They need $50 deposit to open out to check whether is the panel problem. Their estimate for repair is at least $300 and up.. I better get a new TV... Sigh...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points