Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for American Plastic Toys American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

American Plastic Toys American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

The American Plastic Toys My Very Own Tool Bench is a 35-piece set that has everything that your toddler will need to create his very own piece of furniture. This toy set includes a hammer, screwdriver, wrench, nails, nuts and bolts, interlocking gears, brackets, a ruler, a cell phone, and utility hooks. The textured back can be utilized as a chalkboard. The tool bench can be used as a pretend play toy that your toddler will want to repair or rebuild over and over. However, the toy requires adult assembly. The hammer and screwdrivers have rounded soft plastic edges to prevent any damage. The kids tool bench is ideal for children who are two years of age and above. This tool bench is part of the family of Pretend Play toys produced by the American Plastic Toys. The packaging is very colorful and is sure to bring a smile on your toddlers face.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation90%101 out of 112reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Very cute

06/14/2013
By ,
Kissimmee,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased When we opened it it was very easy to out together and my son 2 yrs old loved it love also that the pieces are big so he can't stick them in his mouth.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

you get what you pay for

12/13/2013
By ,
Blaine wa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband and I got this for our twin boys for Christmas. We don't have a lot to spend but really wanted a tool bench for them. Once put together it wasn't bad. Very plastic but as long as my boys smile on Christmas I'm sold.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

I was disappointed but my 2 year old loves it

08/07/2013
By ,
Martinsburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had gotten this for my two year old son for his birthday. I had considered the more expensive sets but didn't know if he would like the tools or not so this was a cheaper way of testing it out, plus it had a lot of parts. When I picked it up from the store, I was curious as to why it was so light. And then when I went to put it together I was furious that all of the pieces (screws, nails, hammer, wrench, legs to the bench, pieces to the phone, everything!) were attached by this thin plastic rod. I had to snap everything apart before I could put it together! And then the cellphone is only 3 pieces of plastic that snap together with a sticker on the screen, it doesn't actually work. I was so mad and upset how cheap the set was (yes, I know it was only 20 bucks). My husband said why are you getting so upset, he might still like it. Well, my two year old son loves it! He plays with it everyday; he even plays with the cell phone and loves the chalk board. Definitely a good purchase if you are unsure if your child will like the work benches and don't want to spend a 100+
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Well constructed, soft corners, USA made!

09/05/2011
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased for my 2-1/2 yr old grandson who immediately liked it. Wakes up mornings, runs to it to "make something". Carries the hammer and screwdriver all over the house. The construction is solid but the plastic is soft, so it won't scratch him or other furniture (when he uses the hammer). The chalkboard is weak, seems like 600 grit sandpaper. Parts are large enough that he can't swallow them. Assembly was easy, but a sharp knife was handy to trim the edges from breaking the parts off of the mold trees. Overall an awesome toy, and I was amazed to see it was made in the USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Great Product for Toddlers

10/12/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tool bench for my 21 month old grandson. It was a great purchase. It has lots of parts, is colorful and comes with a chalkboard - all of which helps focus his attention, gets him thinking, motivates movement, and sharpens his learning skills. It is the right height for toddlers, the parts do not have sharp edges or points and are large enough to prevent choking. He loves it and because he does, so do I. As a bonus it is also priced very well and I'm happy to buy American made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Excellent price and product

10/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st off, this is made in the USA, which never happens. 2nd, the price is unbeatable. 3rd, my brother in law is not a handy guy and he put it together very easily. 4th and most important, my gorgeous, 2 year old nephew LOVES it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces
10/11/2011
By ,
missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality for the price was very suprising. I am pleased with the" My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces", the construction is sturdy and easy to assemble. Once the tool bench was assembled its size was perfect for my 2 year old grandson. I will recomend this to others to purchase, this was one very pleased grandparent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Good for 2 year old

10/27/2011
By ,
Western Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this little tool bench for our 2 year old great grandson for his birthday. His single mom said it was a bit difficult to put together, but her son loves it. He took the toy cell phone and hooked it on to his pants right away. He has learned how to use a screwdriver and can place the toy screws into the holes. I am so glad I bought it for him.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Great height and some cool toys

03/25/2014
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son is a little younger, but a couple of pieces are already lost and I feel like the plastic is somewhat thin but is holding up. :) I mean, we all know kids are pretty destructive and hard on their toys. It is a good height and so glad it's Made in the USA. Can't find that much anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces
03/24/2012
By ,
Bethlehm, Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cute for the $, but I wish I had gone in for the pricier models in same catagory with some sounds like real tools. My little guy was looking for more & so was I. The biggest issue here, in my opinion, is there is not enough hands on activity for them to do at the bench. That would work much better. I am sure it really depends on the child, of course, but mine got bored very quickly with this toy.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

plastic junk

04/05/2014
By ,
syracuse, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Its just not quality the plastic pieces don't fit well together etc...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Poor quality

12/24/2012
By ,
MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is made in the USA! But the plsatic is thin, very unstable, and will break easy. It was easy to put together with just pictures showing how. I don't see this product lasting long being of such poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Great toddler toy

11/02/2012
By ,
Elyria, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toolbench is a major favorite for my daughter. It is very easy to put together. The pieces are much more sturdy than I thought they would be. For the price, I am extremely pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces
10/19/2011
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this toy for my 18mos old grandson and he is just learning how to figure things out. He does enjoy playing with this toy but it will hold his interest longer when he is a little more older.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

awesome toy for a toddler boy

03/13/2014
By ,
titusville, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this toy for my 2 year old grandson and he hasn't stopped playing with it yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Love It!

05/06/2014
By ,
Burnt Cabins, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves tools. At Christmas I paid $60.00 for the Craftsman bench I have at my house. Easter rolled around and I bought this one for $20.00 to stay at his grandparent's house. My son loves it just as much! Can't beat it and he has stood on it (45lbs) and it didn't break. Only thing all the pieces are connected together by plastic so the edges once broke or cut can be sharp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

Great Toy tool bench set

10/30/2011
By ,
Princeton WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for one of my friends 2 year old son's and he loved it, he plays with it everyday, and even his older brother and sisters likes to play with it. Great gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces

My 2&1/2 year old loves it!

03/05/2012
By ,
Walnut Creek, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son plays with this tool bench every day! It's made well and fairly easy to put together! The corners are rounded so it is safe! Great product for the price! I would defiantly buy it again! We also have a kitchen toy made by the same company! =]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces
02/01/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my boyfriend's three year old son. Its was fairly easy to assemble but I did tear one piece in the process. It is a little cheap but he loves it so I'm pleased.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for American Plastic Toys - My Very Own Tool Bench with 35 pieces
11/02/2011
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 2 year old son and he LOVES it. As long as he loves it, I consider it money well spent! The tools and the workbench itself were very easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next