Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sally Hansen Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Sally Hansen Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Average Customer Rating:
4.218 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(587 Reviews) 586
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
307
4 stars
186
3 stars
41
2 stars
21
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation90%511 out of 570reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
307
4 stars
186
3 stars
41
2 stars
21
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

It takes a little practice.

12/07/2012
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hear many people complain that they don't stick, don't last long, or are too expensive. I have been using these since they hit the market and thought I would share a few things.
They have completely eliminated my need to pay for my gel nails at the salon. That alone makes the cost more than worth it. They even helped keep my nails from breaking all over the place when I was growing out those gel nails.
After they are applied a top coat of some sort should be used. This will help them last longer. How long exactly depends on type of top coat, how often touched up, etc. I have heard of some getting up to a month out of them.
Here's the part they don't tell you: to get them to adhere in the best possible way your nails must be completely clean and free of oils. That means don't wash your hands and then run them through your hair or touch your face. The absolute best way to go about this is to dampen a cotton ball with nail polish remover and swipe over nails immediately before application. This one step alone will make a world of difference.
Also, depending on the design you can sort of stretch them over your nail which sometimes helps; however, this doesn't work with glitter or metallic designs, and you must be careful not to tear.
Ever heard of capping the nail tips? Throw aside that stupid file, wrap the end of the strip around the tip of the nail and use your thumbnail to basically slice the strip under the nail, effectively removing the extra. This is the same as when capping your tips with polish and does wonders for the length of time they can last. This won't be helpful, though, if you are one of those who likes to take the other half and use it on your toes, as it tends to bunch up and ruin the leftover pieces.
Yes, this does sound like a lot, but with practice can be done in under 20 minutes; and if you can get these to last even two weeks is well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Easy application and excellent appearance!

11/25/2011
By ,
Murphysboro, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these nail strips for my eleven year old daughter. She can apply them unassisted, so that tells you how easy they are. They look great, are less expensive than a salon manicure, and come in really trendy patterns which she loves. I would recommend them to anyone. If you can see the attached photo, these are her nails (which she did herself). They look great!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

well worth it

08/07/2011
By ,
yulee, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is said to last up to 10 days. In my experiences of use, it has always last me 21 days or longer. After applying product I also apply a clear top coat over the nails. Super cute, easy to use and I love the choices. Plus, if you get a patterned texture, you can always do touch ups with pieces left over and no one can tell the difference. I have recommended this product to others.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Love it!

08/08/2011
By ,
Detroit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A couple things i would have wanted to know before buying this product would have been, they are for one use. There wasn't enough strips for me to do all 10 of my nails, i wound up using scrap pieces for my other hand (2 of my nails to be exact, nothing major). The file didn't work for me, so i used scissors, which in return worked for 2nd usage on my other fingers. i would recommend setting it back a lil on your nail tip, because if its not it wont stick down it will be flappy. also i used a hair dryer to make the nails warm so it would get sticky and stick to the nail, for the parts that werent sticking on my nails. They only last for 10 days as well. The price is a little pricey and i've found them for cheaper elsewhere, other then that i LOVE these, and will be buying them every 10 days!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

I love these things!!!!

08/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first set ( lace ) I put on took about 45 minutes. The second set took about 20 (houndstooth). They are cheaper than a manicure. I have got so many compliments. I just put a clear coat on about every other day and they come right off with regular nail polish remover. Just follow the instructions and they will last for at least 10 days or longer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

LOVE THE COLOR...HATE THE PRICE!!!

12/22/2011
By ,
Mesquite, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using them for a while now and I love the variety of colors they come in, however I only buy them when I have a coupon or can catch them on sale, bc I think the price is a bit much. Where I live they are $8.50 each, but I have found them at other places like Kroger for $2-3 less and recently got them at CVS for $2.62 each (I bought 9 of them at this price), which will be stocking stuffers for my girls and a couple for me!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Love these!

11/26/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these in the pattern "cut it out". It was a little tricky at first, but by the time I got to the second hand I had the hang of it. I followed the directions and tried to stretch them to fit, but that just caused them to tear. But I just pushed the edges back together and you can't tell. After that I did not attempt to stretch them, just smoothed very gently to fit my nail. I think if you use a patterned design it hides any mistakes. I am not sure if I will attempt a solid color. The only "complaint" I have is that my nails look so perfect that they look like fake nails! I am proud of my natural nails. I think the price is very reasonable when you consider that just a basic manicure in a salon will cost you $12-$20, but for less than $10 you get salon perfect attention getting nails with these strips.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Love Them!

12/29/2011
By ,
Harlan, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I buy these every chance I get.! They are so much cheaper than going to the nail salon and getting a manicure, and look so professional. They're very easy to apply and last for at least 2 weeks. I always put on a clear top coat to make them last longer. So far I've tried Wild Child, Kitty Kitty, Check It Out, and most recently Love Letter. I get so many compliments that it's unbelievable. The only downside is that once the strips are opened from the foil pack they start to dry out, so if you plan on using the left overs then cover them in the foil with some saran wrap or foil. Try these!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
07/25/2011
By ,
Phila, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved this product....makes doing my nails a breeze!~
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

LONG LASTING, AND GETTING MANY COMPLIMENTS!

11/28/2011
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought "Kitty, Kitty" just for some extra vacation fun. WOW, I put them on 11-07 and they're still there with no chips on 11-28!!! I was in the tropics, which included high humidity, sun, sand and beach. This is a truly amazing product and well worth it! BTW, during the past week, I've been coating with SH Diamond coat in clear. I truly believe these strips also add a degree of protection that you don't get with brush on's. LOYAL CUSTOMER
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
 
My Product Recommendations
Sally Hansen Diamond Strength No Chip Nail Color, Diamonds
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Absolutely Worth it!

10/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these Sally Hansen Nail Polish Strips from my local Walmart store and have currently had them on for exactly 2 weeks. The only sign of any wear to the strips is minute wear to the tips (probably from using my nails as "tools") and even at that, you can't even see it unless you look extremely closely. My nails have grown out quite a bit, but the strip is still going strong. I'm amazed. I did a lot of research on how to apply them so they last the longest, which proved extremely helpful. Using a hair dryer to warm up strips and nail prior to application is key. Use a good top coat and these strips will last you at least 10 days as the packaging claims. Like I said, I'm on day 14 and not looking to remove them yet. I will say that picking a pattern over a solid color will help disguise any mistakes you make in application or any wear that may occur as they are on your nails. In addition, if your nails are on the shorter side (not super short by any means), you can cut the strips in half and get two applications out of one box. Be sure to store the leftover strips in an airtight container (ziplock bag, etc). I'd definitely buy these again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

My new favorite nail trend!

08/23/2011
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE these nail decals. I got the flower ones and used them only on my thumbs with a coordinating color on the rest of my fingers. I also used the same set on my 10 year old daughter (on all her fingers) the week she went to overnight camp. When she got home they had not chipped at all! Nail polish alway chips in a day or two with her. These are totally worth the money and much cheaper than going to a salon.
I had no difficulty putting them on my daughter or myself. I cut the strips in half crosswise for my daughter's. So we get 2 manicures out of a package. They came of easily with nail polish remover.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
11/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'd like to think these were really good, seeing all of the good reviews; but unfortunately, these did not work out for me. :/ They wouldn't stay on, kept peeling off. To me, they weren't worth the $8.50 that I spent. Yeah, sure, they were only $8.50, but when you're low on cash, it's a lot. And the worse part is, I cannot take them back. :(
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Very Nice Product

08/13/2011
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the fact that these are easy to use and you do not have to smell nail polish. Make sure to put them on quickly and that they don't overlap on the edges, that can cause problems. If an edge/tip does peel up you can use regular nail polish like glue. They are a decent alternative to regular nail polish, no touch ups everyday.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

LOVE IT

12/06/2011
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw my sister wearing these (the pink stripeds ones to be exact) and I absolutely loved them, I asked her when she got a manicure and she told me they were strips. I purchased them for myself and have recommended to many others. Nails look beautiful and it lasts a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
01/02/2012
By ,
Columbia,sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product because it is easy to use! The one thing that I hate is that they are to high!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!!

07/08/2012
By ,
Columbus, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i honestly dont think i can ever use liquid polish again! i love these polish strips they are very easy to use and last for a long time. they have many different sized strips in the box and its very easy to find the right size for each nail and apply.i have very narrow nails so i was worried i wouldnt be able to find some that were narrow but they had them! i only wish they were a little cheaper, but i think its soooooo worth it! they are very beautiful and easy to use. if you have trouble you can look at some videos on youtube like i did. :) i think any woman or girl should go for it because they are very beautiful and easier and quicker to use than liquid polish of any kind.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Great for Parties!

01/04/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used Bling On for New Years! I loved the color! It's has more specs of sparkles and its a bit pinker than the image. There are sixteen nail stick on, so if you mess up you have a few extra chances. I used scissors to cut the stick on as close as I can to my nail size, then once I sticked them onto my nails, I used the file that came with the kit to file it down. Great for parties!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
01/10/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i went to the store to buy the Leopard print but they was out so i bought the Snake skin one. i cut it up to make "tips" strip. it worked great, took a little more time than usual. i had to use clear polish to make it even on my nail plus it makes it last longer.. i would recommend it but not for "regular" uses
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Wonderful Product

09/19/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. I recently found this over the weekend and tried it that night. They were really easy to use and can't believe how good they look. I got the "girl flower" and they honestly look like I had them done professionally. The price is higher than what you pay for your average nail polish but it is worth it! I've been getting compliments all day. I will take the tip from the other ladies and apply a clear coat over mine to make them last a bit longer. I'm already looking forward to the next design I get.
Treat yourself on these..you won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next