Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Attwood Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

Attwood Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

The Lift and Lock Attwood Anchor Control makes your life on board much easier. This easy-to-use anchor lift and pulley system supports anchors up to 20 lbs with a 1/2" diameter line, which is sold separately. The economical, zinc-plated, steel Anchor Lift features a nylon pulley system, and it is built for strength and durability. The steel sheave controls the Lock Anchor from any position, making it possible for you to lower and raise the anchor quickly and easily from anywhere on the boat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%16 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

Does just what I needed done.

02/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This anchor control and lock pulley does a fantastic job for an item costing less than six bucks. I still have to pick up the anchor and put it over the side, but this unit allows me to lower and raise the anchor while sitting in my deck pedestal seat. I pull the anchor line towards myself to raise the anchor, no longer having to lean over and pull the anchor straight up. It greatly reduces the strain on my back muscles.
By hanging the anchors out just above the water before putting the boat in the water, the anchors are ready to drop simply by pulling on the line to unlock the mechanism and lower the anchor when ready to fish in one location. Another good feature is that I don’t have to put the anchor in the boat to move to another location and then put the anchor back over the side. I just pull the line in until the anchor reaches the pulley and lock it in place, still hanging over the water, then I move the boat to a new spot. Then, after I stop again, I unlock the line by pulling on it and lower the anchor again. This makes lowering and raising the anchor so much easier than before. (I bring the anchors inboard if I move the boat at speed with my outboard motor, but leave it out if moving the boat slowly with the outboard or with my electric trolling motor.) I handle the bow anchor and my fishing buddy handles the stern anchor, all without getting out of our fishing seats.
I mounted my pulleys on pieces of plywood, then attached the plywood at the bow and stern of my bass boat with single screws so that the pulleys swing out so that the pulley wheel is just over the water to use the anchor and then swing inboard for covering the boat.
The unit instructions states that it uses anchor line up to 1/2”. I am using a 5/16” braided, floating line and it just does lock in place. Any smaller and it would not lock. I recommend using at least a 5/16” floating line, or a 3/8” standard braided line if you want the locking mechanism to work properly. If the line is not thick enough, it will slip and not lock firmly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

Good for a small boat.

07/30/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works pretty good but a little on the small side. A small rope falls off the the roller if it is not straight on the roller. Otherwise it does what advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

Very happy with it.

07/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does it's job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

works great

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good thing to have for good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

Does the job

10/30/2013
By ,
Arlington, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very inexpensive anchor pulley that does the job. It doesn't look like much when you first see it but once installed and used on your boat, you will be pleased with the results. I have a small boat with a 15 lb anchor so I don't know how it would do with much heavier anchors. Either way, it doesn't cost you much to try it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

Great product

09/02/2012
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed this o a small inflatable poontoon boat I have and it works perfectly. Highly recommend for those in need
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

Great product...only one small issue

05/07/2013
By ,
Xenia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would have given this 'meets expectations' a 5th bar but the mount holes are small. I mounted this on a metal 'john boat' that required me to drill holes but the holes in the device were so small, I spent all day digging for bolts or large screws that would fit. I mounted two units, bow and stern and when I did the second (stern) I drilled the mount holes in the unit a tad larger to accomodate what I had to mount it with. Once mounted though - they stay put! Good product! Makes dropping and pulling ancors up much easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

i am very happy

09/19/2012
By ,
brooklyn,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quick response and very good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control
08/14/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought two of these to use on my canoe and couldn't be happier. to release my anchors now i don't have to move from my seat at all. i simply pull the anchor line and it releases. when i pull it up and let go of the line it closes back on the line to secure it. whether you use a device or by hand, once your anchor is in place these work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

great

06/23/2013
By ,
Jay, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had two on my old boat for years, they finaly rusted away. they work great when using the right size rope and anchor. works great for small boats on ponds, gentle rivers, bays, etc. I would not reccomend it for anchors of 15 lbs or larger, rough currents, larger boats over
16 ft.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control

great product for what it is.simple to use.

07/15/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product. but they care this same thing in store made by shoreline. same price. so if you need it now just go to the store, i found this out the next day after i bought one on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control
05/11/2013
By ,
Cadillac, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like this product it makes it easier to pull up the anchor because the line stays in one place and it locks in place when you are done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Attwood Lift and Lock Anchor Control
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5