Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Dyson Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

The Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum is a powerful canister vacuum which provides all-around performance. The bagless vacuum cleaner from Dyson features Level 3 Root Cyclone technology, an amazingly effective technology that captures microscopic dust. The term Turbinehead refers to an air-driven brush bar, which spins up to 90 times per second and does an excellent job cleaning medium and short pile carpeting. The Turbinehead can be turned off on hard floors as well as delicate surfaces. The Dyson DC23 animal canister vacuum sits easily on stairs, allowing you to clean the often problematic nooks and corners on a staircase with ease. The Dyson canister vacuum comes with an adjustable, lightweight wand, smooth cable rewind system and a dirt container that is both hygienic and easy to empty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.492 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%114 out of 129reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Awesome!

12/22/2011
By ,
connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many vacuums I have owned which don't seem to last these days I finally broke down and bought a Dyson Vacuum.
I love my Dyson Vacuum! It cleans excellent! It was easy to put together. It has great suction! The only problem I have with it, is that on some of my area rugs it skips over the top...as soon as I change directions though, it stops. I think what I like about it the most is that it is one of the most quiet vacuums I have ever owned! I like the fact that the power for the floor nozzle comes from the suction rather than electricity...less to break down, and no wiring all the way down the vacuum....I can go from floor to ceiling in no time!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

If I could I would return this.

03/20/2012
By ,
Aurora, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After reading all the great reviews I was excited about buying a Dyson. Ive always been the person to buy the cheap $100 vacuums, but always seemed to go through them really fast. So I decided that maybe putting more money into it I would get a great vacuum that would last a lot longer. I decided to get this because we recently installed wood floor on the main floor, so I wanted a vacuum that I could go from the carpet to the wood floors with ease. So I first tried it on the carpet and felt like I could get more picked up with my cheaper vacuum. Then it was time to vacuum the wood floors, first of all I had to hold on the lever to to keep thr brush from rolling, I had to vacuum almost 1000 square feet, my finger was hurting after the fact. Then after I finished vacuuming I pulled out the broom and swept up what the dyson left behind. So overall not what I expected from a Dyson and for the price I spent. If I could I would return this and get something that worked a lot better.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Albany, or
Had to respond, this may help you
Posted 03/30/2012
In the directions for the Dyson, on the head you can turn the brush off for hard wood floors, which stops the brush and vacuums hard wood floors beautifully, works great for us, then turn the brush on for carpets, by the way it is a red edged filter looking that you pull in or out
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

easy to handle powerful canister vac

10/10/2011
By ,
Finger Lakes, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I selected the Dyson turbinehead vacuum. I have a new Berber carpet and wood floors so I needed a vacuum that can switch between the two. This one is light weight, maneuvers easily around a room and has a powerful suction. It comes with three standard attachments for upholstery, corners, etc and is bagless, so no more searching out the exact right size/shape bag.
Pros: Suction, Cord Length, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23
01/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small, convenient and powerful, this vacuum will suck everything from your floors. We waited a while before putting that much money in a vacuum but it is defintely worth it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Awesome!

03/31/2012
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this specific style because it fits my needs perfectly! It does everything I wanted it to and hoped it would. I have two flights of stairs in my town house and lots of tables and low furniture, so the fact that I can adjust the length of the handle to reach further under things, and completely lay it flat to slide under tables and chairs. I can clean up high with the long plastic handle, or remove it and use just the hose with an attachment for easier movement. It's actually quite fun to clean now!. It's extremely light, and the only "problem" that I've come across is that because I live in an apartment that has older carpet that is pretty worn and pressed flat, sometimes the vacuum will bounce across the top if I pull back too fast. It can be annoying, but taking my time to really make sure I get into the carpet is fine by me. The retractable cord is pretty sweet too, no more sitting and winding the cord! The power button is nice and big right ontop of the canister, so I can just tap it with my toe to start/stop! It really is a great vacuum, and I am very glad that I chose this exact style over any other brands or styles!! Viva La Dyson!! haha
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

powerful but not meeting my expectations.

04/08/2012
By ,
L.A., CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the box was delivered in a very bad shape, all soaked in rain, torn apart, and open. Luckly, major parts inside box were covered in plastic bags, so seemed intact. assembly was easy. tested right away. very powerful, cleaned good on hardwood, tile and short piled carpet. but couldn't clean soft rug and play mat because the vacuum wouldn't move, just stuck on one spot. had to use my old upright vacuum for thoese area. it also took a lot of strength to use it. overall not meeting my expectations, but i'm still keeping it because mainly i wanted something that really cleans hardwood floors. and this does the job. just inconvinient that i have to keep and use all my upright vacuum, sweeper, swift mop, steam mop, etc.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Love my Dyson!

04/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with my Dyson! We have a dog that sheds alot, and this vacuum has impressed us with the amount of dog hair it collects from our tile floors, carpeting, and wood floors! It has been easy to use, and it does a beautiful job of collecting the dog hair all over the house. I finally feel the floors are clean, and vacuuming is so simple now - not the chore it use to be.
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Great cannister vacuum

04/05/2012
By ,
Auxvasse, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we love this dyson cannister vacuum . It is so awesome! we have pets to clean up after, when I say pets , I mean 2 Siberian Huskies, full grown who shed all year around.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23
05/09/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered on a Wednesday and it was delivered on Thursday! It works great and emptying the dirt was quite easy. It's also very easy to maneuver through the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Dyson Turbinehead DC23

04/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new Dyson came yesterday. Immediately in awe about the pet hair it took off throw rugs and couch cushions. Vacuuming took about 1/4 the time. I LOVE IT.
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

great vacum for little old ladys like me and great

05/17/2012
By ,
utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when my dyson arrived the box was beat up but when i opened it the vacuum was fine it seemed a little cheese and i thought what did i do but i walked away for about an hour came back determined to put it together and try it before my husband got home and i did i was so happy then i plugged it in. you see i have 3 cats shedding there winter coats and after dumping the vacuum 3 times i was very pleased and i still love it so we will see how long it last i vacuum every other day and i go threw vacuums like crazy
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Best on on hard flooring.

04/03/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this product and it is seemingly a good vacuum. The issue that I had was that it was too difficult to pull around on carpet (I have a relatively high pile carpet). It was fine on our wood floors. It was also a little heavier than what I anticipated, which made it that much more cumbersome on carpet. I returned this model for the DC25 upright and am pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Very good vacuum overall

05/28/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good vacuum overall. I gave a good vs great rating because I should have gone with the upright. For me, the canister is a little difficult to pull around my house. Would be great for a smaller house or apartment, but harder for me with stairs. Very easy to remove the canister and clean it out. Really picks up the dog hair!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Should have bought another SHARK

06/08/2012
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Finally I could afford a DYSON. Thank GOD its pretty because that is all if anything nice I have to say about it. It moves awkwardly. It bumps walls and the CORD is WAY too short. The head is motorized and light but the wand that supports it is much heavier. Wish I had test drove this first. Won't return it because I don't want my husband to say "told you so". Should have bought another Shark and hoping this thing blows up so I can.
*Cord too small
*not enough sucking power and area that dirt goes through too small
*moves awkwardly because of how the accordion like tube wraps under the canister
*head needs more weight and width
*only fits under sleigh beds higher up not low lying couches
Please go see this thing before you buy it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Great

05/20/2012
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After spending months researching friends and online I purchased the dyson canister vacuum. I was expecting it not to meet my high standards. But was holding onto a slim hope that it would. I'm happy to say it has exceeded them. I really did not want to spend over $500.00 for the dyson animal vacuum but would have. I'm so glad it won't be necessary. This vacccum has incredible suction. It's very light and moves about smoothly. I love the ease of switching from wood floors to rugs. I will say I have mainly wood floors. So if you do have wall to wall this may not be the vacccum for you. I was also delighted with the quick shipping from Walmart. I love their internet shopping not so much the actual store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23
12/17/2011
By ,
Epping, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of the DC23 is very high as is the thought that went into the design elements. There are so many convenient and well placed functions on this machine that I didn't expect such as the pull out tab on to activate.deactivate the air operated beater brush. Great idea! The vac works so well and is so fun to use (if that's possible with a vacuum) that people fight over using it in our house.
the only thing that I'm a little unimpressed with is the cool little clip on the canister unit that holds the handle upright for storage. It's awfully cheap looking and feeling and I expect it to break soon.
Other than that one very minor observation I'm thrilled with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

not happy

09/03/2013
By ,
southern US
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the dyson animal for 8 years, loved it. I bought this DC23 and 1 year 2 months later it is DEAD. Just stopped working, no warning. Yes there is a 5 year warranty BUT what I am I supposed to do while I wait to get this repaired ? :(
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Mixed feelings

06/24/2012
By ,
Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There are both positive and negative aspects to this vacuum.
What I like: Great suction. Does a great job on hard surfaces. Looks nice.
What I don't like: Drags behind you awkwardly. Doesn't "steer" well at all. One reviewer mentioned the hose coils under the front making it hard to control, which is true, but you can pop that piece out so that it doesn't do that. Still kind of hard to steer though. Hose doesn't stretch too far, so it's not easy to try and clean cobwebs on the walls close to the ceiling.
Overall, it's just ok.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Luv this machine

04/07/2012
By ,
Lanesville, IN 47136
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is light weight and easy to maneuver. It has great power and moves easily about. My floors look great and feel so clean in my bare feet. It can get into tight spaces and is fast -it cut my cleaning time almost in half.
The only problem I had was lack of direction in how to change wand positions and how to put it together. It looked right but the pieces fit in tight, I thought I was wrong, but I was not. If it was not for lack of instructions-I got on line which helped some-I would give this a five star.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dyson Turbinehead Bagless Canister Vacuum, DC23

Excellent vacuum for all floor surfaces.

03/18/2012
By ,
Monett, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very versatile vacuum that we have found to be well worth the price. Flexible head which reaches nicely under furniture and cleans both wood floors and rugs equally well. Intuitive design which makes it easy to release and re-attach dust canister and easily switch attacments. Big plus - don't have to worry with buying and changing out bags. Highly recommend this product to friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next