Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Black & Decker Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Clean up quickly and easily with the Black & Decker Cordless Hand Vac. This dustbuster hand vac represents the latest in vacuum-cleaner technology, and it's compact and lightweight enough to carry anywhere. Best of all, there's no bag to replace. Instead, dirt collects in a translucent bowl that you can easily remove and wash. The cyclonic suction power is 50 percent more powerful than conventional dustbusters. It includes an on-board brush and crevice tool to help you clean up where dirt hides. This bagless vacuum cleaner has an energy-star approved charging system. It's efficient, powerful, and easy to store 3 different ways. Find the Black & Decker Cordless Hand Vac at an everyday low price from Walmart.com.
Average Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%93 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

perfect

11/29/2011
By ,
17701
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weight to suction ratio is perfect. I was afraid it would weigh too much for one hand handling. It is very powerful and does the job well around the house,garage,car,patio
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Does the job well!

07/02/2014
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to clean out my car since the crevices are too small to handle the commercial car vacs they have at gas stations. Let me tell you this beast gets into almost every nook and cranny and gets the job done. Yes the nozzle is small and makes for more time spent on large areas such as the floor and seats but the power lasts a good 20 minutes. Just be sure to charge the unit 24+ hours before using and let it totally die out after first use, as per the manual so you can get this long run time. It is very loud but thats due to the power. Have used it around the house for small messes as well. The brush is nice to clean HVAC grilles and keyboards. I also ran it over the curtains and couches until it dies. It picked up alot of fine dust. Totally recommended. I just wish it had a wide mouth attachment.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Good suction, but......

12/10/2011
By ,
Southern New Hampshire
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The new Dustbusters have more suction than the older ones, but they also have some serious flaws. The nozzle is much narrower, which probably accounts for the greater suction, but it makes for more passes when vacuuming up a mess. The angle at which you must hold the nozzle is much closer to straight up and down than with the older ones and seems very awkward. The flip down brush on the end of the nozzle is next to useless. You cannot push the unit forward with the brush down - there's simply too much resistance. It only works well if you pull the vacuum towards you. The biggest issue is that Black and Decker has done away with the on-the-wall charging rack. You must now plug the charger into the handle of the Dustbuster each time you hang it up. The ugly cord is right there dangling over the unit for the world to look at. And, of course, each time you go to use it you have to remember to unplug the cord before you remove the vacuum. Over all, it's a big step backwards from the older models.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYC
Nozzle has multiple sizes and uses
Posted 12/11/2013
The nozzle has an extension which is more narrow to fit into tight spaces. You can push that narrow extension back in to make the nozzle large enough to match older varieties only with far more suction than before. Either way it can get into corners as well as underneath places you can't reach without the built-in extensions which can be pulled in or out in a moment. If you have a large mess covering a big area a full-size vacuum would do the job faster if multiple passes are too difficult for you. The built-in brush can easily swing into place to dust wood furniture without scratching as well as on cloth areas to thoroughly clean with brushing motions. It is a valuable tool, but you don't have to use it if you aren't dusting things that you wish to keep scratch-free. The brush feature also swings away with ease in seconds. Great product with many uses. Well built, easy to clean. Very versatile too!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Has good suction

03/15/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I've used this hand vac only a few times, it seems to have very good suction. I like several of the "extras"--the fact that both "attachments" are permanently "attached to the vac--so easy to use them. Like that a light is on when the battery is charging but wish there was a way to know when the battery is fully charged. I've wanted to order several fabric filters to have on hand before they are actually needed. But finding out what the correct part number has been almost impossible. Why can't the filter part numbers be printed in the instruction booklet. Most everyone needs to order them so why not just make a note of the numbers. It's nice to have the phone number for customer service but if the filter part numbers were printed in the booklet--or easier to find on the website, customers could buy the filters through the website without a call to customer service. So I will have to call CS. But overall, I think this was a smart purchase. Thank you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Very nice unit from Black and Decker !

02/04/2014
By ,
Barnegat NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well to start with I read the owners manual ! You don't just start using it right out of the box. It has to charge 24 hrs MINIMUM before first usage! I went 48 hrs. On first use my Wife went thru the whole house and I cleaned my laptop, was more than 20 mins run time! Then left it running till dead, AS PER THE OWNERS MANUAL!, The intake is larger than it looks in the pictures, The pull out extension is very handy and it does not collapse back in if you pull it out till it locks! again AS PER THE OWNERS MANUAL!. The flip down brush does a great job of cleaning dust from computer vent grills. OH yes when you take a break and sit the unit on a table it just sits there on its legs, dosnt roll off and crash to the floor. This unit replaced Our old B-D that had the large wall mount. I find the small wall mount is a space saver , and the charger coard attaches nicely into it. I have yet to tire my fingers out by putting the charger plug into the charging port! All in all a very good value for the money, as expected from BLACK AND DECKER. Also the angle which you hold it at is aprox 45 degrees not flat down!Jon H.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Perfect for cleaning up after toddlers

03/07/2012
By ,
Eliot, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cordless hand vacuum primarily to clean up my car and daughter's car seat. The first time I used this vacuum after charging for the recommended 24 hours, the battery lasted about 25 minutes. The instructions suggested to run down the battery completely during the first use. I vacuumed my daughter's car seat, and my entire car and the battery was still going strong.
I like this lightweight model, and that it can be opened up and easily cleaned. There are no replacement bags or filters that you have to purchase. It has an extending tool that works great for getting into tight spots. The vacuum power is as powerful as my full size vacuum.
It is loud, but it does a great job. I'm hopeful that this product will continue to perform well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Everything I thought it would be!

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Just the thing for cleaning the car and small jobs in the kitchen.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Ehhh, dies so quickly

07/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I charged this thing for like 5 hours, and when I went to use it, it died a minute later! I was to peeved!!! It had good suction, but it NEVER not once lasted over a minute
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Works good - Fast and Loud

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It chews up the paper really fast but it's a bit noisy - the sound could scare someone - or wake them up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Very powerful handvac

11/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old Dustbuster finally gave out after 10 years. After reading reviews, I decided to get this model as a replacement. I was pleasantly surprised at how much more powerful it is compared to my old one. Plus the charge holds for a very long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Handy Little Vac

11/21/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this for Christmas from my brother last year and use it almost daily. My kitchen tends to get messed up more than any other room in the house, so I often sweep up the debris and use my little vac to suck it all up daily for a quick clean up. Very powerful and easy to clean out.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

good value

07/09/2014
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good suction, a little big but not a problem. great tool for those small clean up jobs.
I will try it on the car this weekend
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Works Great!

06/30/2014
By ,
Lebanon, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my kids to clean up around their birdcage and any other small places. It's easy for them to use and I use it a lot too!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Excellent Product

12/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an agent for Penske Truck Rental and use this Hand-Vac many times on a daily basis in cleaning truck cabs. The suction power is great, charge holds very well, easy to empty and clean filter. The long slender nozzle and extension makes it easy to get into tight areas and under the seats. I liked this Hand-Vac so well... I purchased another for home use and family auto's.
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410
03/23/2012
By ,
Ventura, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good
Nice looking, handles well, picks up crumbs etc from hardwood/ carpeted floors, not too noisy.
Bad
Run-time after full 24 hr charge, about 6 minutes, dead after about 8 minutes.
Built-in extension tube, won't stay out, keeps retracting. Mustache-like attached brush on vaccum a joke. Cleaning the vac is dirty and messy. Need a second vac to clean this vac.
No charge cradle. Want to use this vac for DUSTING. Suction too weak, brush useless, you would be scratching up your furniture.
Recommend: No way. Returned 2 days later
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

B&D improving on their Hand Vac, but...

05/16/2012
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews of all similar hand vacs, and wonder if the engineers at B&D and competing companies are ignorant of these. This unit, due to design flaws, doesn't make use of all that power it packs, performing equal to the 12 volt one I first bought and returned, and little better than lower watt ones. Why? This gets kinda technical, but these units need to "breath", they need to use the same design technology of larger vacs, which is, have notches around the suck tube to create air flow. And, with the addition of the extension, this reduces the aperture of the opening, making this model incomparable, in a sense, to other nearly identical B&D models without the built-in extension.
Before offering my engineering tips, let me sing its praises now. It is powerful and has a great filter for such a small unit. It is two-stage and fully washable. The option to just quickly empty it or more fully open it up for cleaning is like a larger pricier vac. The charge lasts quite long also. The extension gets wherever one typically needs to reach, though the angle I find overly steep, meaning you must vacuum with the unit nearly horizontal to get a seal, thus reducing suction going into deep crevices in my car interior where I must keep the unit vertical.
I actually made some modifications to mine that has improved it functionality. I filed some grooves into the plastic and I found an other brush end I saved from a long dead unit that I can insert into the tube, creating a far more functional brush than the nearly useless one that B&D (seemingly) cleverly attached externally to this unit. Looks cool, but when engaged, is too far from "the action" to be very useful.
In conclusion, given the competition, this is about as good as it gets. I'd probably give a try for the cheaper no frills unit if I did it over again, and go about making adaptations. The lower power ones won't make you deaf with their operating noise (this one is intense) and won't break the budget as this one does. For a few bucks more you can get (sold by two competing brands) those light weight vacs that are essentially hand vacs with long handle extensions, which allow detaching the hand vac part. The trick is finding one with useful attachments...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Power!

11/11/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finally a cordless that will suck up my huge roaches! In between cleanings I get these guys, usually dead thankfully, but I hate seeing them just the same. I've been looking for something with an extra long wand too, to save my back and reach into tight places. This vac is longer than all others I've found, plus has loads of power, so I really like that part. Maybe I will duct-tape some type of extension just to complete my dream machine. Also at the end is a larger mouth opening too for the bigger size of roaches.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410
09/05/2011
By ,
West Linn, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little hand vac with lots of power.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Strong Power

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a little thing, it has strong suction power. Love all the accessories; the brush is nice, the longer extended rod is awesome and the fact I can turn it different ways comes in handy. Would highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Will do the job perfectly!

03/12/2014
By ,
Lake Monticello, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this unit has far exceeded my expectations. Also like the added features included with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next