Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Black & Decker Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

The Black & Decker Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410 is designed to help you clean up a variety of messes quickly and easily. Using the latest in Dustbuster and vacuum technology, it has a compact and lightweight design that allows it to reach into tight and difficult spaces. The Black & Decker hand vac has a translucent dirt bowl that can be easily removed and washed. Its cyclonic suction power is 50 percent stronger than comparable models. Its Energy Star-approved charging system includes a charging light indicator for extra convenience. This sleek Dustbuster hand vac also has a 3-stage filtration system to help ensure it effectively removes dirt and allergens from your home. It can be stored in three different ways. The Black & Decker Cordless Hand Vac has a rotating, slim nozzle with a wide-mouth design. An on-board brush and crevice tool is also included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
36
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%145 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 120 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
36
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

perfect

11/29/2011
By ,
17701
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weight to suction ratio is perfect. I was afraid it would weigh too much for one hand handling. It is very powerful and does the job well around the house,garage,car,patio
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Good suction, but......

12/10/2011
By ,
Southern New Hampshire
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The new Dustbusters have more suction than the older ones, but they also have some serious flaws. The nozzle is much narrower, which probably accounts for the greater suction, but it makes for more passes when vacuuming up a mess. The angle at which you must hold the nozzle is much closer to straight up and down than with the older ones and seems very awkward. The flip down brush on the end of the nozzle is next to useless. You cannot push the unit forward with the brush down - there's simply too much resistance. It only works well if you pull the vacuum towards you. The biggest issue is that Black and Decker has done away with the on-the-wall charging rack. You must now plug the charger into the handle of the Dustbuster each time you hang it up. The ugly cord is right there dangling over the unit for the world to look at. And, of course, each time you go to use it you have to remember to unplug the cord before you remove the vacuum. Over all, it's a big step backwards from the older models.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYC
Nozzle has multiple sizes and uses
Posted 12/11/2013
The nozzle has an extension which is more narrow to fit into tight spaces. You can push that narrow extension back in to make the nozzle large enough to match older varieties only with far more suction than before. Either way it can get into corners as well as underneath places you can't reach without the built-in extensions which can be pulled in or out in a moment. If you have a large mess covering a big area a full-size vacuum would do the job faster if multiple passes are too difficult for you. The built-in brush can easily swing into place to dust wood furniture without scratching as well as on cloth areas to thoroughly clean with brushing motions. It is a valuable tool, but you don't have to use it if you aren't dusting things that you wish to keep scratch-free. The brush feature also swings away with ease in seconds. Great product with many uses. Well built, easy to clean. Very versatile too!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Has good suction

03/15/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I've used this hand vac only a few times, it seems to have very good suction. I like several of the "extras"--the fact that both "attachments" are permanently "attached to the vac--so easy to use them. Like that a light is on when the battery is charging but wish there was a way to know when the battery is fully charged. I've wanted to order several fabric filters to have on hand before they are actually needed. But finding out what the correct part number has been almost impossible. Why can't the filter part numbers be printed in the instruction booklet. Most everyone needs to order them so why not just make a note of the numbers. It's nice to have the phone number for customer service but if the filter part numbers were printed in the booklet--or easier to find on the website, customers could buy the filters through the website without a call to customer service. So I will have to call CS. But overall, I think this was a smart purchase. Thank you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Strong suction

09/08/2014
By ,
Sweet Home Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like many people, this is about the fourth cordless vac that I have had. Usually they are Black and Decker. So this replaces the one I had. I like the extension on the end. It "locks" in place. The little brush is fine, and I actually like the way it is handy to flip up and down. You don't expect the brush to be expensively made at this price.
I followed the directions!!! I let it charge for 24 hours and then let it run all the way down (more than 15 minutes use and then left it on) before recharging. So the battery seems to be quite good.
The only thing I don't understand is why the wall bracket is now made so that you have to manually plug the charging end into the unit. The previous ones were built so all you had to do was slide them back onto the wall mount and they charged. This one has to be plugged in. It is not a hugely difficult thing to do. I just don't understand why the design was changed to require this extra step.
Overall, I like it. Just wish I didn't have to manually plug it in to charge.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Does the job well!

07/02/2014
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to clean out my car since the crevices are too small to handle the commercial car vacs they have at gas stations. Let me tell you this beast gets into almost every nook and cranny and gets the job done. Yes the nozzle is small and makes for more time spent on large areas such as the floor and seats but the power lasts a good 20 minutes. Just be sure to charge the unit 24+ hours before using and let it totally die out after first use, as per the manual so you can get this long run time. It is very loud but thats due to the power. Have used it around the house for small messes as well. The brush is nice to clean HVAC grilles and keyboards. I also ran it over the curtains and couches until it dies. It picked up alot of fine dust. Totally recommended. I just wish it had a wide mouth attachment.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

The best home helper

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be sure it has the filter as first one did not and it destroyed the motor.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Very nice unit from Black and Decker !

02/04/2014
By ,
Barnegat NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well to start with I read the owners manual ! You don't just start using it right out of the box. It has to charge 24 hrs MINIMUM before first usage! I went 48 hrs. On first use my Wife went thru the whole house and I cleaned my laptop, was more than 20 mins run time! Then left it running till dead, AS PER THE OWNERS MANUAL!, The intake is larger than it looks in the pictures, The pull out extension is very handy and it does not collapse back in if you pull it out till it locks! again AS PER THE OWNERS MANUAL!. The flip down brush does a great job of cleaning dust from computer vent grills. OH yes when you take a break and sit the unit on a table it just sits there on its legs, dosnt roll off and crash to the floor. This unit replaced Our old B-D that had the large wall mount. I find the small wall mount is a space saver , and the charger coard attaches nicely into it. I have yet to tire my fingers out by putting the charger plug into the charging port! All in all a very good value for the money, as expected from BLACK AND DECKER. Also the angle which you hold it at is aprox 45 degrees not flat down!Jon H.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Perfect for cleaning up after toddlers

03/07/2012
By ,
Eliot, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cordless hand vacuum primarily to clean up my car and daughter's car seat. The first time I used this vacuum after charging for the recommended 24 hours, the battery lasted about 25 minutes. The instructions suggested to run down the battery completely during the first use. I vacuumed my daughter's car seat, and my entire car and the battery was still going strong.
I like this lightweight model, and that it can be opened up and easily cleaned. There are no replacement bags or filters that you have to purchase. It has an extending tool that works great for getting into tight spots. The vacuum power is as powerful as my full size vacuum.
It is loud, but it does a great job. I'm hopeful that this product will continue to perform well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+108points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Love the Black & Decker cordless hand vac

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these several years ago and I used it until it died. I love the more powerful new one. The only thing I am not fond of is that it is VERY loud. I have to warn our grandchildren before I turn it on. However, a small thing to deal with as it is such a good product on the whole.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Love!! Love!!!!

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great! I use it everywhere, the car, and all over the house. The only negative thing about it is I wish the battery lasted longer between each charge.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Love this item

05/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this item, I use it around my litter boxes and it saves from having to take out the big house vacuum. It is strong enough to handle the litter. Love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Black & Decker 14.4 V Cordless hand vacuum

05/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum works great for small cleanups around the house. You can easily empty the contents (dirt, etc.) It's compact, powerful ,and generates a good vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Powerful Vacuum

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Effectively removes dirt, dust and trash.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Good suction

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy accessibility, stays charged longer
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Does its job

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does its job
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Can't Recommend

05/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this for less than 2 months. It will no longer hold a charge. Very Disappointed with this product.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Handy Little Vac

11/21/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this for Christmas from my brother last year and use it almost daily. My kitchen tends to get messed up more than any other room in the house, so I often sweep up the debris and use my little vac to suck it all up daily for a quick clean up. Very powerful and easy to clean out.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Very powerful handvac

11/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old Dustbuster finally gave out after 10 years. After reading reviews, I decided to get this model as a replacement. I was pleasantly surprised at how much more powerful it is compared to my old one. Plus the charge holds for a very long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Powerful handheld vacuum

08/04/2014
By ,
College Station, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always liked Black & Decker Dustbusters. The ones I have used in the past were with a wider mouth allowing more room to suction messes with one or two swipes. This one is only two inches across at the mouth so I was concerned when I first purchased it, but the powerful suction it has compensates for this in my opinion. Takes a bit more time to clean up a pile of dirt, but it is the only con I have found. It is a great product for light housekeeping and is easy to open and empty dirt into the trash as well as clean. It does not disappoint.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 14.4V Cordless Hand Vac, CHV1410

Great wireless vaccum.

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for picking up in the kitchen, office, car. Have never come close to running down the battery.
Get one, you'll love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next