Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Steel Platform Bed Frame

Generic Steel Platform Bed Frame

Update your bedroom with the Steel Platform Bed Frame, which conveniently eliminates the need for a box spring. A sinuous spring base provides even weight distribution, so you can sleep in supported comfort. Three-piece steel construction gives you added strength and durability, even while tossing and turning at night. Plus, the platform bed frame is 14 inches high, allowing over a foot of convenient under-bed storage. The steel bed frame assembles and disassembles easily, so you can move it from room to room. This steel platform bed frame is available in a variety of mattress sizes. Mattress not included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.528 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%98 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 107 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

The good and the not so good

08/23/2014
By ,
canada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has been my experience that packages received through the site to store delivery process seems to be very roughly handled. The bed frame arrived in a very bashed up looking box. I asked to inspect the frame before taking it and it looked ok. But after getting it home and starting the assembly process I realized that there was some slight damage causing twisting of the frame. So no matter what I did I was not able to complete the assemble as the bolt holes did not line up properly. I am not totally sure if this happened due to rough handling during delivery or if it is a manufacturing flaw. I live a long way from the store and it is going to be a very big inconvenience to return this item. I purchase it because of it's positive reviews and indeed if the frame did not have this alignment flaw I'm sure I would be very happy with the purchase as in all other respects it appears to be a very solid and robust item. I will phone the manufacture to see what they suggest hopefully they are problem solvers.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

HEAVY DUTY GREAT BED FRAME!

01/27/2012
By ,
North Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one heavy duty /sturdy bed frame. It gives you the added height under the bed to have extra storage . You can buy baskets or plastic containers to SLIDE under the bed, plus you can use it without having to have a box springs OR as I purchased it for it gives you that old antique high bed if you add a box springs to it. Very easy to assemble, just put it together upside down and flip it when fully assembled. This is not your average flimzy bed frame. Heavy duty steel frame with protectors on leg supports so it won't scar your wood floors. Heavy and won't push around on your floors either. No wheels on the bottom legs like a lot of cheap bed frames/ It will stay where put. I would suggest you use a bed shirt/dust ruffle to conceal the heavy black legs. It's not a pretty bed frame but bed frames aren't supposed to be pretty. Durable is what I want and this one is. It even came with the tools necessary for assembly! All you need to add is your head board.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Just what I was looking for in a bed frame

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent! I wanted a sturdy bed frame and this is what I got! It does weigh a ton though. It took my husband and myself to push it into the bedroom. Instructions were easy to follow. My only concern after I put it together and put my Spa Memory Foam mattress on is that the mattress slides around. I will have to find something to keep it in one place. However, the frame is all that I was looking for and am very pleased, Delivery was earlier than they said it would be! It is just the right height to be used as an under bed storage and it is high enough (with a 10" mattress) that my mother can get out of it easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

sturdy and comfortable

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took only a few minutes to assemble and is very sturdy-i love that you can use just a mattress and not have to worry about a box spring. It also has plenty of room underneath for storage. AND a big bonus ... no jagged edges to hack your shins on like some old frames! Yay!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

great, I thinking of buying 2 more

09/08/2014
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality. I bought for my six foot son who weighs 220 pounds. Very durable. Bed frame does not shake. Package delivered in good condition. All tools needed came with package. Bed frame took 30 minutes to put up; no help needed. I put a firm memory foam mattress on it which i also bought from Walmart. I sometimes suffer from lower back pain and i was able to sleep on it without a problem. I especially like the increase amount of under the bed store i now have. I just need to use a bed skirt to hide containers. I am waiting my other two kids box spring to brake so i can buy 2 more. I'm thinking of all the additional storage space i will have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Better than expected

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, this bed frame was so much better than expected. I put it in a home office for use as a daybed. The extra storage underneath the bed is great for blankets and pillows. The legs are very sturdy and heavy. Very well made. I also like that it has springs and not just metal. It makes the mattress so much more comfortable. My guests love it and have a great night sleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Solid and attractive

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast, all parts were present. It's as heavy as some other reviewers have noted, weighing somewhere around 70# in the box, so I took it upstairs to the bedroom piece by piece.
It is attractive without a bed skirt; the round black legs that are visible look strong and no-nonsense.
I didn't know how the king frame fits together, so I bought two twins and two twin mattresses at Costco because I wanted to be able to turn a king into two twins at times. I strapped the frames together and it seems to be working fine. There is a little dip in the middle where the two mattresses meet but no biggee.
About mattresses sliding - that did seem like it could be a problem so.....I bought some of those rolls of rubberized shelving which can also be used to keep old throw rugs from sliding. I unrolled and threw 4 or 5 - remember I had a king now - over the springs/frame, laid down the mattresses and no sliding at all.
I gave only 4 stars on the expectations because: it came with "tools" which even a child wouldn't want in his/her tinker toys tool kit....an allen wrench and a approx. 14m wrench - both about 3 inches long and totally useless. Be prepared to use an allen wrench of a decent length and 2 14m open end wrenches -one to back up and one to tighten. I also put some small felt pads in between metal parts that were bolted together as I foresaw there might be squeaks in future there. Watch what you're doing when you attach the interior legs as they can end up lopsided if you just happily tighten away not paying attention.
Other than these last items, it's a good item and I'd buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Very Happy with this frame

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tip; you will not be able to tighten the bolts on the legs with the flimsy wrenches they give you. Use your own or the legs are loose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Easy to assemble, sturdy, stable, Underbed storage

11/05/2011
By ,
Barnegat, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was VERY impressed with the quality of this bed frame. It was easy to assemble. I put it together myself in less than 45 minutes -- from unpacking to completion. It comes in three pieces. It is stable, sturdy and priced right! The best feature is the under bed space that is available for storage. This is an excellent choice for small rooms that are in need of additional storage. I also used my box spring with my mattress, which gives nice height to my bed, if you like that look, this is perfect! If not, you do not need to use a box spring with this frame. A nice bed skirt hides your storage area. Very fast shipping to my home. No disappointments here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Sturdy, Affordable with 14" Under Storage Space

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is sturdy and you do want sturdy, cheaper frames I looked at lacked this...the problem with this frame is not the frame, per se. I suggest your mattress be a good one, if not; you will be feeling that sturdy frame; even with this factor, it is the only frame I would buy with confidence.
The storage space is the real deal maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Buit Like A BATTLESHIP !

11/13/2013
By ,
New York , NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How anyone can give this less than a 5 star rating is beyond me . This is built to last for a thousand years , maybe longer.
Take my work for it , you can not go wrong with this frame , it's SOLID , SOLID , SOLID ! Made from a very heavy gauge steel , with solid plastic end caps .
The mattress stays put and does not slide around .
The springs are SOLID , and cross tied with a wrapped WIRE , not cord !
The finish is a baked on "crinkle" finish that looks fantastic , why someone would cover this up with fabric is nuts.
I love this product and so will you !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Great guest room bed frame

10/11/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for an inexpensive yet reliable guest room bed frame for our full size bed and it works great. It is tall enough to store things under the bed and we did not need to get a box spring. It is sturdy and looks pretty good, a bed skirt helps to hide the frame if you don't want people to see it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Just what I needed

10/06/2011
By ,
Stafford TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the intitial confusion with the directions, which are minimal, the bed went together quickly. It is sturdy, and easy to move around. The under bed space is generous and ample. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Best bed frame I have ever owned.

01/21/2012
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This frame is very strong and sturdy. No need for a boxspring so there is lots of storage space underneath. I was worried about the assemby but it is dead easy to assemble. (And I am real girl when it comes to these things) The only thing was that the parts were a little heavy but no biggie. It is definatly worth the price. Bottom line: Get it before it is out of stock!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Amazing construction!

07/10/2012
By ,
boston ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very amazing frame to purchase. I have a queen sized mattress and this steel frame has supported the weight of it perfectly. The eight legs are very good quality. The bottoms of each leg are lined with scuff pads to protect wood/laminate floors. You do NOT NEED a box spring. (unless you like a really, really high bed). There have been no squeeks yet at all either. I've had it for about a month now. I would recommend this bed to anybody who lacks storage or needs more storage. You can fit a ton u this bed. Even my 85lb Bernese Mt dog sleeps under it at night. If you are going to purchase containers make sure you check out the placement of the legs so you purchase the correct size containers that will fit under the bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Solid construction, but not a platform bed

03/16/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very solid construction - heavy and well built. However, it is not really a platform bed in the sense that it will give quite a bit in the areas with the springs - even more than most box spring. I had to put plywood over the top to prevent the mattress from sagging.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Does not replace box spring

12/30/2011
By ,
Elizabethtown, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The metal S support that runs in between each bar sags with nothing but a mattress on top. In order to use this with out a box spring I have to but ply wood on top of it.
So should not be label "PLATFORM" bed frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Everything I Expected

11/13/2012
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product because I moved into a new place with a few roomates and took the smallest room so I could also have my own bathroom. There was no way my queen size bed would fit so I decided I would buy a twin size frame and searched for something that would look nice as well as give me tons of storage space unerneath. Wow did I get it. Just as the picture shows, I fit 3 large storage bins under my bed and a bunch of other things as well! (One of them holds 50 lbs of dog food for my large dog :) ) The frame is sturdy and was simple enough for a woman like me who never builds anything to put together on my own. Simple instructions with pictures and all parts were included. I will suggest that you purchase one of those boards that belong between a platform frame and your mattrace to protect the frame and keep you from sinking while on the bed. Great buy for anyone struggeling with space!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Everything we wanted, nothing we don't.

12/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed frame is perfect! As much under bed storage as you could possibly have. A standard bed skirt hides it all. Sturdy and strong yet light enough to assemble and move easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Excellent bed frame

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't want to buy a box springs but I wanted the bed to be comfy. This bed frame met two concerns, it is comfy and I didn't have to buy the additional box springs. It is also high enough I can use a bed shirt and also put boxes under the bed for storage. It looks like a regular bed. Also, when I move, it will be an easy move. It was very easy to assembly and came with all the tools.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next