Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Steel Platform Bed Frame

Generic Steel Platform Bed Frame

Update your bedroom with the Steel Platform Bed Frame, which conveniently eliminates the need for a box spring. A sinuous spring base provides even weight distribution, so you can sleep in supported comfort. Three-piece steel construction gives you added strength and durability, even while tossing and turning at night. Plus, the platform bed frame is 14 inches high, allowing over a foot of convenient under-bed storage. The steel bed frame assembles and disassembles easily, so you can move it from room to room. This steel platform bed frame is available in a variety of mattress sizes. Mattress not included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.551 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%118 out of 127reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 116 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

The good and the not so good

08/23/2014
By ,
canada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has been my experience that packages received through the site to store delivery process seems to be very roughly handled. The bed frame arrived in a very bashed up looking box. I asked to inspect the frame before taking it and it looked ok. But after getting it home and starting the assembly process I realized that there was some slight damage causing twisting of the frame. So no matter what I did I was not able to complete the assemble as the bolt holes did not line up properly. I am not totally sure if this happened due to rough handling during delivery or if it is a manufacturing flaw. I live a long way from the store and it is going to be a very big inconvenience to return this item. I purchase it because of it's positive reviews and indeed if the frame did not have this alignment flaw I'm sure I would be very happy with the purchase as in all other respects it appears to be a very solid and robust item. I will phone the manufacture to see what they suggest hopefully they are problem solvers.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

HEAVY DUTY GREAT BED FRAME!

01/27/2012
By ,
North Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one heavy duty /sturdy bed frame. It gives you the added height under the bed to have extra storage . You can buy baskets or plastic containers to SLIDE under the bed, plus you can use it without having to have a box springs OR as I purchased it for it gives you that old antique high bed if you add a box springs to it. Very easy to assemble, just put it together upside down and flip it when fully assembled. This is not your average flimzy bed frame. Heavy duty steel frame with protectors on leg supports so it won't scar your wood floors. Heavy and won't push around on your floors either. No wheels on the bottom legs like a lot of cheap bed frames/ It will stay where put. I would suggest you use a bed shirt/dust ruffle to conceal the heavy black legs. It's not a pretty bed frame but bed frames aren't supposed to be pretty. Durable is what I want and this one is. It even came with the tools necessary for assembly! All you need to add is your head board.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Just what I was looking for in a bed frame

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent! I wanted a sturdy bed frame and this is what I got! It does weigh a ton though. It took my husband and myself to push it into the bedroom. Instructions were easy to follow. My only concern after I put it together and put my Spa Memory Foam mattress on is that the mattress slides around. I will have to find something to keep it in one place. However, the frame is all that I was looking for and am very pleased, Delivery was earlier than they said it would be! It is just the right height to be used as an under bed storage and it is high enough (with a 10" mattress) that my mother can get out of it easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Storage for guest/playroom

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The two twin frames I purchased were easy to assemble, and seem very sturdy. Several storage bins of toys fit underneath, so big plus. The only reason I did not give them five stars was due to the fact the mattresses slide easily on both frames, and seem very bouncy. I will have to figure out how to prevent the sliding, and have some ideas. I purchased full size bedspreads with undefined seams, and they work great to cover the frames and storage bins. The spreads were just a little, tiny bit too long, but the extra length is on the wall side, so they are perfect. The full spreads come with two shams, as an extra plus.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Tall but sturdy platform!

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed frame was easy to assemble (although having the right size wrench at home will make it even easier - the tool included is hard on the fingers). It is sturdy and works well with box springs and a mattress, although I suppose a mattress would work alone, too. I wasn't quite prepared for how tall it makes the bed (removing the box springs would shorten it) but my daughter likes it like that - feels like a queen!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

sturdy and comfortable

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took only a few minutes to assemble and is very sturdy-i love that you can use just a mattress and not have to worry about a box spring. It also has plenty of room underneath for storage. AND a big bonus ... no jagged edges to hack your shins on like some old frames! Yay!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Make room for your room.

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed frame is perfect for those small bedrooms in older homes and apartments. You still get a full size twin bed, and don't have to have the box spring, and with 14 inches to spare under the bed , you can store items in totes under it! A definite win, win !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Solid

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this bed. Very easy to put together. I had a friend help me and I think it took about 20 minutes! It does not squeak and it feels solid.
Before ordering, I read the reviews and it is true the mattress slides around but I just put something underneath and now the mattress stays put.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Just what I needed

10/06/2011
By ,
Stafford TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the intitial confusion with the directions, which are minimal, the bed went together quickly. It is sturdy, and easy to move around. The under bed space is generous and ample. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Great guest room bed frame

10/11/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for an inexpensive yet reliable guest room bed frame for our full size bed and it works great. It is tall enough to store things under the bed and we did not need to get a box spring. It is sturdy and looks pretty good, a bed skirt helps to hide the frame if you don't want people to see it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Solid and attractive

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast, all parts were present. It's as heavy as some other reviewers have noted, weighing somewhere around 70# in the box, so I took it upstairs to the bedroom piece by piece.
It is attractive without a bed skirt; the round black legs that are visible look strong and no-nonsense.
I didn't know how the king frame fits together, so I bought two twins and two twin mattresses at Costco because I wanted to be able to turn a king into two twins at times. I strapped the frames together and it seems to be working fine. There is a little dip in the middle where the two mattresses meet but no biggee.
About mattresses sliding - that did seem like it could be a problem so.....I bought some of those rolls of rubberized shelving which can also be used to keep old throw rugs from sliding. I unrolled and threw 4 or 5 - remember I had a king now - over the springs/frame, laid down the mattresses and no sliding at all.
I gave only 4 stars on the expectations because: it came with "tools" which even a child wouldn't want in his/her tinker toys tool kit....an allen wrench and a approx. 14m wrench - both about 3 inches long and totally useless. Be prepared to use an allen wrench of a decent length and 2 14m open end wrenches -one to back up and one to tighten. I also put some small felt pads in between metal parts that were bolted together as I foresaw there might be squeaks in future there. Watch what you're doing when you attach the interior legs as they can end up lopsided if you just happily tighten away not paying attention.
Other than these last items, it's a good item and I'd buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

My princess loves her new bed

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put the box spring on the bed too! To give it more height, my daughter loves it and I don't have to worry about our 4 month old puppy jumping on her bed waking her up at all hours of the night which is awesome
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

ZZZZZZzzzzzzz

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these frames and put them side-by-side to replace our king-size bed. It has worked out very well and we love it. I expected the frames to be kind of flimsy, like many beds are these days, but they're actually made of good-quality, thick steel.
The storage space beneath them is great. We used a 14-in. length bed skirt so that things underneath are hidden.
The frames were easy to put together, but having 2 people working together is helpful.
There are 2 thin, tiny wrenches included, but plan on using your own wrenches to properly tighten the nuts & bolts together.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Buit Like A BATTLESHIP !

11/13/2013
By ,
New York , NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How anyone can give this less than a 5 star rating is beyond me . This is built to last for a thousand years , maybe longer.
Take my work for it , you can not go wrong with this frame , it's SOLID , SOLID , SOLID ! Made from a very heavy gauge steel , with solid plastic end caps .
The mattress stays put and does not slide around .
The springs are SOLID , and cross tied with a wrapped WIRE , not cord !
The finish is a baked on "crinkle" finish that looks fantastic , why someone would cover this up with fabric is nuts.
I love this product and so will you !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Very Happy with this frame

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tip; you will not be able to tighten the bolts on the legs with the flimsy wrenches they give you. Use your own or the legs are loose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Easy to assemble, sturdy, stable, Underbed storage

11/05/2011
By ,
Barnegat, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was VERY impressed with the quality of this bed frame. It was easy to assemble. I put it together myself in less than 45 minutes -- from unpacking to completion. It comes in three pieces. It is stable, sturdy and priced right! The best feature is the under bed space that is available for storage. This is an excellent choice for small rooms that are in need of additional storage. I also used my box spring with my mattress, which gives nice height to my bed, if you like that look, this is perfect! If not, you do not need to use a box spring with this frame. A nice bed skirt hides your storage area. Very fast shipping to my home. No disappointments here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Amazing construction!

07/10/2012
By ,
boston ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very amazing frame to purchase. I have a queen sized mattress and this steel frame has supported the weight of it perfectly. The eight legs are very good quality. The bottoms of each leg are lined with scuff pads to protect wood/laminate floors. You do NOT NEED a box spring. (unless you like a really, really high bed). There have been no squeeks yet at all either. I've had it for about a month now. I would recommend this bed to anybody who lacks storage or needs more storage. You can fit a ton u this bed. Even my 85lb Bernese Mt dog sleeps under it at night. If you are going to purchase containers make sure you check out the placement of the legs so you purchase the correct size containers that will fit under the bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Best bed frame I have ever owned.

01/21/2012
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This frame is very strong and sturdy. No need for a boxspring so there is lots of storage space underneath. I was worried about the assemby but it is dead easy to assemble. (And I am real girl when it comes to these things) The only thing was that the parts were a little heavy but no biggie. It is definatly worth the price. Bottom line: Get it before it is out of stock!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Great value

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son had outgrown his bunk bed and wanted something more grown up. This is a very sturdy frame and easy to put together. My 12 year old son and I did it in about a half hour. I also bought a nice comforter and a couple extra pillows to make it look nice since it doesn't have a headboard. He loves it which makes me a happy mommy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Steel Platform Bed Frame

Perfect Day Bed

10/14/2014
By ,
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to set up in my daughter's home office for when she travels and I babysit my grandson. It is compact, has great storage space underneath for my suitcase/blankets, etc. It can be used as a day bed when I am not there. My solid foam mattress fits on it perfectly and, initially, I slipped the mattress grasp handles on the springs to keep the mattress from sliding which worked. But now, with a bed skirt, it tends to slip around a bit so I may get creative with some foam pieces on some of the springs to keep the skirt and mattress in place better. It is high enough that it is easy for me, with poor knees, to get on/off. I am just very happy with the whole set up, such a great idea, the price was very reasonable and free shipping made me even happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next