Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Smoke turkey, sausages, ribs and more in the Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker. This electric meatsmoker will let you enjoy deliciously prepared foods in your own backyard food festival. It has a transparent window that lets you monitor the items being cooked inside. The internal light of the Masterbuilt electric smoker with window illuminates the inner area while its electrical panel features the temperature and other controls. The Masterbuilt electric smokehouse smoker contains chrome plated smoking racks and side wood chip loader to give you the cooking effect you desire. It has a removable drip pan and a rear mounted grease pan for easy cleaning once the cooking of the meat is done. The Masterbuilt electric digital smoker is ideal for those who love to have a backyard parties and where fresh grilled meat and vegetables can be served.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%24 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Glass Leaked Grease and is a Poor Insulator

06/13/2013
By ,
South Bend
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would not recommend this smoker because the window is pointless it clouds up the first 5 min of smoking and after you smoke two times the smoke on the window is so heavy you can't wipe it clean. If you plan to smoke in the winter it will be harder to maintain the temperature because the glass releases a lot of heat. Also the window that I had just leaked grease even after smoking multiple times the grease puddle was about 2 feet big.
I bought this smoker on 6/2/13 when i unpacked the smoker it was missing the screws and two pans. I called up Masterbuilt and they said I was missing the hardware kit so they sent me the kit which I received on 6/7/13. When I assembled the smoker I noticed there was a bracket missing screws so I called up again and sent them photos. This time they waited till the 13th and said just exchange it where you bought it. I would of hoped they would just mail me a new smoker and pickup the bad smoker since I had to wait so long for their responses and I don't have a truck to hull back and forth.
If you look at the picture you can see how dark the window is and this is after I scrubbed it for 20 min you can also see all of the grease the window leaked out this did not leak from the bottom at all.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

OMG!!!

06/16/2012
By ,
Killeen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been smoking ribs in a traditional smoker for over 20 years. I thought I had a handle on the process until I did the first rack in this rig. It's the best rack of ribs I have ever done, period. After the seasoning process I went to work. As usual I marinated them in milk for about 30 minutes, then poured the milk off and rubbed them down with Texas Pete hot sauce followed by a dry rib rub. Let the sit for 30 minutes while the smoker was pre-heating (225 deg). Cut the rack in half and put half a rack on it's own shelf. Filled the water pan about half way, closed the door, added wood chips, and set the timer for 6 hours. Replenished the chips about every 45 minutes for the first 3 hours or so. When the 6 hours were up; let it cool down a bit, opened the door and took out the ribs. Moist and tender as could be. Perfect. Clean up was a piece of cake, almost all the grease dripped into the water pan. So it was clean the shelves and the water pan. About 5 minutes and done. Should of bought this thing years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Great product

04/18/2014
By ,
Jonesburg, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Does not heat, but looks nice.....

03/14/2014
By ,
Salem, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Received with no visible damage. Assembled and the unit will not heat up. Cannot reach the manufacturer after 5:00PM EST. No cooking with it this weekend..... $350 spent for nothing.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Salem, VA
MRB455 again, with an update.
Posted 03/22/2014
Parts received from Masterbuilt. Still will not heat as no power is reaching the heating element. I can hear a relay picking up, but it is sealed in the base somewhere. Do not know if I can get a new unit from Masterbuilt or via Walmart.com directly, as I did spend $36 for an extended warranty.
In short, second weekend in a row with no functional smoker......
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Birthday Gift for my husband

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband smoked ribs in this today and the meat fell off the bone. I'm happy we have it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

It's a smoker!!!

07/02/2013
By ,
Redondo Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to assemble (less than 15 minutes). I pre-seasoned as instructed and then smoked my first tri-tip. It was awesome. The smoker is calibrated to be between 5 degrees plus or minus (it does state that in the manual), so be aware of that. I used cherry chips and found that it burnt through in about 30 minutes. I switched to hickory pellets and that created the most smoke to give it a real smoky taste. Even though the manual doesn't say anything about using flavored pellets, I found that it gives the most flavor. You can alternate between both while you are smoking. Also, open the vent about 1/4 to 1/2 to increase smoking and to control the temperature. Lastly, it's easier to clean up while the smoke is warm NOT COLD.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Easy to use, my son loves it

06/02/2011
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son. He uses it all the time and especially loves the remote control. He loves trying new recipes and getting to know his smoker. This is his first one so he is learning about smoking techniques. He says that he really likes it. The wheels make it easy to move from his house to ours or front to back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Smokin' good product !

03/05/2012
By ,
Martinsville,IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I want to say that I bought this smoker off Walmarts web site and had it shipped to my local store. Everything went great with that and it arrived in a matter of a few days. Quicker than what I was told, so that was great !!
Now for the smoker. This was my first smoker purchase. After reading lots of reviews on several smokers,I went with this Masterbuilt. It's a good qaulity product.Seems to be a good solid piece of equipment. Assembly was very, very simple. Will take you longer to unpack everything than it will to assemble it. Plugged it in and went thru the breakin/seasoning cycle...very simple procedure. Couple days later we tried it out and WOW !! We smoked a pork lion for our first test. Smoker heated up and kept the inside temp. really well. It was about 40 outside or so. Really like the digital settings on top the thing. Makes it very easy to set the time and temp and as you smoke, it will flash back and forth between the smoker temp., and the time left on your timer. Also REALLY liked the meat probe temp. device. Makes it easy to keep up with what the temp of your meat is.You also can get that from the digital settings on the top of the smoker. Makes it real nice that you don't have to open it up to check it. Very simple to add the wood chips also with the side loader. The window in the door is nice and the light inside. Yeah, the window does get a little messed up as your smoking, but I was still able to see thru it ok the whole time I smoked. Cleanup was pretty easy considering your cleaning up a product that does get greasy and smoked filled. Takes a little elbow grease, but I imagine any smoker does if you want to take care of them.
Overall, we are very satisfied with our smoker and glad we went with this model ! I think you'll be pleased !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Great Little Smoker

04/24/2012
By ,
Texas Hill Country
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearence is very good. Fire Box and Tray are quite flimsy and poorly construced and is going to be real fun when I have to replace the heating element. Wood chip feeder is a great advantage. Temp. controller is quite accurate and the Remote Control is a great feature. The Smoker is quite secure with no smoke loss, however the moisture that accumulates on the glass door does run down and out the front so a towel is necessary when using the water pan. In the short time I've had it, I've smoked everything except whole Turkey. As I write this, I have Deer Jerky going.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Great smoker for the weekend BBQ'er!

07/17/2012
By ,
Southern, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the remote control. It makes it easy to maintain temps for both meat and smoker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window
04/22/2012
By ,
South Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have cooked baby back ribs in the smoker which turned out very good. next I smoked pork chops and they were very good also. no problem setting the smoker up. now if it will last a few years. then it will be worth 5 STARS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Smoking for Dummies

08/01/2012
By ,
Holiday,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes smoking a simple operation. Anyone can make fantastic smoked foods. Temperature probe removes guessing of time to finish.
Fit and finish of unit was fine. Free ship to store a simple operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Easy to use

02/07/2013
By ,
Grayson, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received the smoker and it was just as described. Cured it according to the instructions that afternoon. It was a cold and windy day but, the smoker made it up to the 275 degree curing temp with no problems and held the temp --- the swing temp was about 7 - 8 degrees which was very acceptable considering the conditions. Cooked my first ribs the next day along with a beef brisket --- performed excellent as expected. Came up to temp and 8 hours later had a wonderful meal -- still working on the left overs. Would recommend this to anyone looking for an electric smoker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Easy to use and ribs were delicious and fell off t

09/29/2012
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and ribs were delicious and fell off the bone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Let the smoking begin!

12/07/2012
By ,
Ellicott City, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. It has replaced my first smoker that I just wore out. The meat probe is a great upgrade. Much better than running one down through the smoke holes and into the meat as I did on my first one. The results are exceptional. I get rave reviews on smoked chicken thighs which I debone before smoking then cut after smoking for sliders. At Thanksgiving I smoked a 2.5 lb salmon fillet. It survived one morning and there were calls for more. This smoker is easy to use and a perfect product for all experience levels.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Great product!!!

12/11/2012
By ,
Laurel, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoker is great. I Smoked 3 racks of ribs and a pork butt and i still had has room for something else. I had so many compliments on the meat i smoked. The probe is awesome because you can see the internal temp of the meat from anywhere in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Christmas early for my husband he loves it!

11/30/2012
By ,
Worms Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas and when it came he was so excited. He started with smoking his deer jerky, sausage, and then a pork loin. He really does enjoy the window and remote control. The food tasted great. I would recommend this Masterbuilt 30" with the remote to all our friends. Glad I bought the one with the window instead of the one without.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Can't wait to use it.

06/04/2013
By ,
Cameron Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently visited some friends in Georgia and they had one of these smokers. My host prepared a fabulous meal in his Masterbuilt smoker.
The remote for mine was broken upon arrival and with just one phone call, they are mailing me a new one.
I will report back after my 1st use.
I neglected to order the cover but will be ordering that soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window
11/25/2012
By ,
mccomb, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product .....it exceeded my expectations!!!!easy to use and great got beginners!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker with Window

Smoking made easy

10/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just starting to BBQ and wanted a smoker that would make it easy. I like having the remote, but my only complaint so far is that if you want to use the remote you must set the temp and time with the remote from the beginning. If you start from the base and go to use the remote it will turn off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next