Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tvilum-Scanbirk Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Tvilum-Scanbirk Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

The Laguna Nightstand offers stylish storage right where you need it. This simply designed nightstand features two drawers for nighttime and daytime necessities with warm maple interiors. The smooth, soft edge top is the perfect place to keep your glasses, books and beverages while you sleep. It's a great place for your phone and alarm clock, too. This rich espresso nightstand is made with PEFC certified sustainable wood, and the lovely lacquered finish is water, stain and scratch resistant. It cleans easily and will easily complement your bedroom or guest room decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
75
3 stars
28
2 stars
12
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation81%180 out of 222reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
75
3 stars
28
2 stars
12
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

My guestroom is complete!!

11/25/2012
By ,
Springfield Gardens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an affordable bedroom set for my guest room but didn't want to clutter it with too much furniture. This platform bedroom set came with the nightstand and two drawers under the bed. It was ok to assemble. The panels could be better labeled but I managed to figure it out. I bought a similar set from Ikea but it didn't come with the extra storage or the free shipping but it all looks like it was from the same collection. I absolutely love it. I ordered it on a Monday and it was delivered by Wednesday. Yeah me!!! Lol
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Great Bang for your Buck!

10/01/2009
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent Night Stand! My wife and I bought the Laguna bed, 6-Drawer dresser, and are waiting on our second Night Stand for my side of the bed! Instructions were a little complicated at first, but once I got going I had it all down. I like the modern shape of the furniture and the color too! My only problem is ANY furniture we ordered came with dings and nicks on nearly all of the edges. We needed the furniture badly so we didn't bother with sending it back and getting a replacement...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 3 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Ok Product But Arrived in Terrible Condition!

11/11/2007
By ,
Orlando, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, not a bad nightstand for the price. The two drawers offer a lot of storage space and the look and color of the laminate is really nice. It was fairly easy to put together, as well. My only real complaint is that I ordered two of these nightstands, and both of them arrived with cracked pieces. One of them was only cracked on a piece that faced inside, so I decided just to not worry about it and put it together. The other nightstand had a piece that was cracked nearly in half, so I returned it to the store and ordered a new one. (I also ordered the matching dressers and both of those items had cracked pieces, too.) So, if you don't mind buying brand new furniture and possibly having it arrive cracked, I would recommend this product. But if you can't stomach the idea of shelling out the money to buy brand new furniture and having it arrive less than perfect, I wouldn't recommend purchasing any of this furniture online.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 4 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Excellent

07/29/2007
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good product with an excellent price. I am just out of college starting a new job with a tight budget and this was a great option. It comes in pieces so you have to built it yourself, but nothing too complicated, you just need a screw driver and a hammer. The appearance is very nice, looks very modern, you would never think it's pressed wood. I am very happy with my purchase. In fact I first bought the nightstand to see what it looked like and then decided to buy the complete set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 5 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

You Get What You Pay For...

07/22/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered two of these nightstands. After receiving both of them, they both came with broken/chipped/scrached pieces. After swapping parts between the two of them, I managed to put one good one together. I sent the other one back for a replacement and the replacement arrived with damaged pieces as well. I called the manufacture to replace just the damaged parts, which I have to wait another week to get them. All together, its taken 2 weeks longer then when I first received these nightstands to have a set. While the price is excellent and the night stand looks good when assembled. I'm not so sure it was worth all this hassle. Plus, the quality of the nightstand is not that great. It's made from crushed wood that is pressed together and the wood is like painted with the espresso colored finish. If you put this in a kids room, they will destroy it less then a year. If you can find a better quality nightstand that costs a little more then this, then you should go with that one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Easy build

08/22/2007
By ,
Auburn, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I built this by myself in about an hour. It was not difficult at all and everything fit together with easy. It is sturdy and overall a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

very poor product

07/26/2010
By ,
Austell, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i am very disappointed with this product. I put this stand all together (i followed the pictures) and once it came time to place the drawers in, it was a very tight fit and there was no holes to secure the back of brackets so the drawers fall in the rear and it makes it hard to shut or open. The height of this stand is shorter than it should be. it barely makes it to my knee and i am only 5'3". I am hoping walmart reads my concern and i am able to exchange for a different brand . I also purchased the 5 drawer chest of the same brand and once again i followed the pictures and when it came time to stand up the chest it fell into pieces. This was the breaking point for me. i bought furniture from target and i have not had any problems at all with their stuff. I went to walmart to find a storage bed and they had what i wanted and chose to get all from the wedsite and this is what i got for doing so.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 8 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Great product--look

12/08/2009
By ,
Inidianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love this product--made in Denmark so has great modern styling--much like IKEA products. Of course, just like IkEA the price is great but you have to work at it, putting it together. Assembly is simple but-time consuming. The only critique I have is I expected the nightstands to be a little higher, like say 4-6 inches. They are quite short, low to the ground, they don't reach to the top of my mattress. But they still look good. I might add some little legs at some point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Damaged on Arrival (DOA)

12/05/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased two of these units online with ship to store as they were PERFECT for our new decor.
Unfortunately when we got the units home and opened them we found that the side of one unit was cracked nearly in half and not salvageable at all.
Normally I would have tried to glue/clamp/fix the pieces, but this unit was too expensive to try and salvage right out of the box. That plus the laminate was also damaged and there was no way of fixing that...
Also, the unit is a little smaller than we had expected, but that is based on the side panel dimensions only since we never got the chance to assemble it.
Would have liked to have given this more starts but values, features, and expectation are all 1 as it met none of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 10 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso
09/10/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent looking and working nightstand for the price. After having assembled the matching chest, the assembly of this piece was a sinch in comparison. Trust the word "espresso" more than the lighter color shown in the photo when considering the color of this furniture. This is not a large nightstand, and is designed for use with a platform bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 11 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Small and Cumbersome

04/16/2009
By ,
Cambridge, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought two similar products in this style, one dresser, and this night stand. I have never seen anything harder to put together in my life. The directions were alright, but just all the parts and glue and etc etc etc. I know I should have checked the dimensions but this furniture was made for kids. Very small. Other than that, it looks nice and fairly expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Pleasantly Surprised!

02/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will say that after reading a lot of the reviews I was not too sure that I wanted to bother with it, but I gave it a chance anyway and I am VERY glad I did.
The nightstand arrived packaged very well. I think out of everything only one piece had a couple nicks on the back, but honestly, I can't even remember what piece that is now. Everything else felt very strong and was in excellent condition.
The drawer glide install was a little confusing at first, but all the pieces have letters on them and if you follow the diagrams closely, it is fairly simple.
The total time to put assemble was about an hour and a half with a few distractions and doing it mostly by myself (there really isn't enough space for multiple hands). It looks wonderful, feels great, and was not difficult at all to assemble.
I hope I have such a great experience with everything else!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Great Product

08/27/2007
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this product so much, I bought another one. I also bought the Platform bed to match. All instructions were included and easy to put together! Very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Good starter apartment furniture.

05/14/2013
By ,
San Angelo, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this nightstand with a dresser and a bed. Ordered with site to store from the town we lived in and had it sent to the town my daughter goes to college. She's moving from a dorm to a apartment and something sturdy, wasn't to pricey, and would still look reasonably nice. This furniture was a good match for her. My wife and my daughter put this piece together themselves, and it took them about an hour. They've never done this before. I put the bed and the dresser together. The instructions were a little difficult to decipher at first, since there are no words to go by, just pictures, and arrows. At first, I thought I might have to be telepathic, but once you realize what they're wanting, you start to pick up speed with the assembly. If you're buying a bedroom set like I did, you better give yourself an afternoon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Great nightstand

06/17/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice nightstand. Takes a bit to put together because the directions are not great but with patience and common sense you will get it. Good quality for the price. Be aware that this is a nightstand for a platform bed -- shorter than standard nightstands which is what we wanted but some reviewers were shocked (THEY MUST NOT HAVE READ THE MEASURMENTS). Very smooth gliding drawers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso
03/26/2013
By ,
Milan, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The drawers on this nightstand do not work well. I purchased the matching dresser and have the same problem. I decided to return the nightstands, as the use of the drawers is very important. I kept the dresser as I purchased it mostly for looks. I use it for linen storage and don't need to open/close the drawers very often. The nightstands are also very small. Make sure you take a look at the finished size before ordering.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Beautiful Piece of Furniture

09/17/2011
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product arrived packaged extremely well. Assembly took about an hour and I used Gorilla glue instead of the supplied white wood glue. It was not difficult to assemble if you take your time and go step-by-step. You will be awarded by a piece of furniture that would cost twice as much and be made in China or Vietnam if purchased in a furniture store. This item is made in Denmark. The finish is simply beautiful, it's smooth and an extremely dark brown--almost black.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Arrived damaged...twice.

02/17/2008
By ,
Auburn, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this along with the 5-drawer dresser. Both items arrived damaged the first time they were shipped. The dresser had a crack down the middle of one of the sides and the corners of the front of the drawers had been damaged. The nightstand had a crack in the side as well. We returned both and the second time we received them, the nightstand was fine but the dresser had a piece broken completely in half. We were really reluctant to send it back again fearing the next one we received would be even worse, so we contacted Wal-Mart and they were able to contact the manufacturer and only the piece that was broken was sent to us. After getting it all put together, it is fine for the price paid, but dust easily accumulates on the surface and as someone else mentioned, it shows fingerprints very easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Stop complaining

03/11/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure to order the nightstand because of all the reviewers saying how impossibly hard the assembly is, but I am glad I ordered it anyway. I assembled this nightstand all by myself for 40 minutes. The wood looks beautiful, mine had no cracks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Laguna Nightstand, Lacquered Espresso

Great for the money

02/01/2012
By ,
IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this night stand to go along with my daughter's nursery furniture. It feels really sturdy. Directions were easy to put it together. I order it in expresso to match the rest of the furniture and it is darker (almost a black) in color. But it wasn't a big enough problem to mess with returning/exchanging.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next