Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tvilum-Scanbirk Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Tvilum-Scanbirk Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

The Laguna Nightstand offers stylish storage right where you need it. This simply designed nightstand features two drawers for nighttime and daytime necessities with warm maple interiors. The smooth, soft edge top is the perfect place to keep your glasses, books and beverages while you sleep. It's a great place for your phone and alarm clock, too. This black nightstand is made with PEFC certified sustainable wood, and the lovely lacquered finish is water, stain and scratch resistant. It cleans easily and will easily complement your bedroom or guest room decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.026 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
38
3 stars
14
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation89%101 out of 114reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
38
3 stars
14
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

You Get What You Pay For!!!

04/24/2011
By ,
NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although the appearance of the furniture is very nice (I really like the black wood grain finish), I knew when I bought this furniture that it was made out of particle board. What I didn't realize is how easily it would fall apart. The wooden pegs on the ends of the sides of the table didn't fit into the pre-drilled holes. So I had to hammer one side into the other to fit the two pieces together without a gap. While lightly hammering one side so it would fit into the holes, the particle board started splitting. I had to widen the holes with a screwdriver to fit the pieces together. The black surface can chip easily too. I had to use black permanent marker to touch up some spots. Some parts were not labeled, so I had to guess which part went where. Also, the directions are only illustrations, which can be confusing. They should include written instructions. I guess you get what you pay for!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 2 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Love these nightstands!!!

01/06/2011
By ,
Killeen, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these for my master bedroom and they match almost PERFECTLY to my bedframe (from ikea) and dresser (from Target). They not very tall as you can see from the measurements, but it works perfectly for our bedroom set as our ded is lower to the ground than the average bed. The instructions are only pictures so that made things a little more complicated than usual, but I put two of them together in maybe two hours because I made a mistake lol! The first one was the learning curve, but the second one came together in about 30 minutes - super easy assembly! The nightstands themselves are pretty sturdy, not like I dance on them or anything but they hold my socks pretty well! And once I assembled them, they aren't light, but light enough to move around and such. The finish is nice, it doesn't look cheap or anything. And they threw in all SORTS of extra nails and screws and what not in case you lose any hahaha!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Very beautiful product

03/12/2011
By ,
Santa Fe, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the nightstand, I don't understand why it had any bad reviews. It came out great and I think it depends on if you put it together right. I think that is why it was unsuccessful for other buyers, they may have not put it together correctly. Like this time I bought a dresser, and I put it together wrong; it doesn't work that great but I want to get a laguna dresser now! This product was great and it looks and works like it shows and says.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 4 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Love this little nightstand!!

08/14/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the very first night stand or piece of furniture that I had to assemble. It was a lot of fun because I was watching a TV show while I assembled this little box.
First of all, I had never assembled a piece of furniture before. So paying close attention to the instructions is what made this experience so wonderful. It also came helpful when I assembled the rest of the bedroom set, which was by far much harder. This one, only needs one person. Organize your self by placing the screws on top of the white Styrofoam blocks that come with the box. After that follow step by step of the directions. They're not written just pictures, but the pictures are detailed. If you place the pieces exactly how they look in the picture, then you'll do everything the right way.
The black wood finish looks amazing; however, be careful, the thin layer can peal off very easily. If you have anything sharp you'll scratch off the paint. its like a vehicle's paint, easy to scratch. But I live alone and I don't have any pets or kids, so I doubt anyone will be scratching my nightstand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Good for the price

01/18/2010
By ,
ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did not use the glue to assemble it. and i was surprised they cheaped out on the number of screws that hold the drawer to the rails. they have 2 holes but only one was spaced correctly for the bolt but all in all it is a nice piece and i would buy more
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Nice end result, but too much work

01/23/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered the complete bedroom set and decided I would start by putting the night stand together because it was the smallest. The instructions have no words...only pictures. The screws are labeled in the book, but obviously not on the screws. There were a lot of pieces in the box and maybe 3 pieces were actually labeled. After turning the paper in different directions to figure out how to build the product...2 hours passed by the time it was completed. The end result is ok, but I would not have been against paying extra to have it already assembled and delivered that way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain
02/10/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased for my daughter's bedroom. Luckily i didn't have to put it together. It took my husband about an hour to put it together. It's actually pretty nice. Doesn't take up much space, enough storage and it's pretty sturdy and solid. Great product for the price. I definitely would buy another one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Exactly what I expected

08/23/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered two nightstands, and had them delivered to my house (free shipping). They arrived within a week and a half. And the freight handling was very tolerable. These had no dents/scratches/messed up sections, though the boxes are pretty small and easy to not bang up.
Putting it together was pretty easy to me; however I do not mind picture instructions. (Yes, it is Ikealike directions, pictures with no words.) But if you sit down for 5 minutes before starting, organize your parts, and go slow enough that you make sure you're right, it doesn't take long at all. I put one together in 45 minutes by myself, and two of my friends put the other one together in 20 minutes.
Very sturdy construction (I've stood on it... don't reccommend that, I just didn't want to get a stepstool at the time... it held fine.). The black finish is very pretty, a true black. Fits a very contemporary/modern theme. Kind of a short (height) nightstand, but sitting next to the bed it is a perfect bedside table. Also, the metal drawer glides are nice (compared to wood glide) and the drawers are pretty darn spacious too.
Very good for the price, don't expect high-end quality, but as a starter piece, it is a very worthwhile investment. I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Alright for the price

12/26/2012
By ,
Glen Burnie, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter room. It was pretty easy to put together, even with the directions only showing pictures and no words. Once together I realized how short it was...I'm sure if you had the platform bed that goes with the collection then it would look fine, but we don't and it looks a little weird. The drawers slide easily and overall, the night stand is okay. Also I must have over tightened two of the locks on one side because I broke through and the particle wood is busted through, but that was my fault and thankfully its the side that I up against her bed. I'm sure later on if I find a good deal on a different night stand, I will purchase a new one for my daughters room. But for the price,it was decent.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Laguna Nightstand, Black Woodgrain

11/29/2009
By ,
Simi Valley
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its beatiful but it breaks very easy since it is pack wood ships.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 11 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

ok for theprice

01/06/2013
By ,
FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this dresser, night stand.,chest dresser as a sets....I like the finished look.
I ordered them as a sets but Fedex delivered me each items everyday..(which is I hate,wished it delivered everything on the same day) It was pretty easy to putting it together night stand but dresser and chest dresser was a hard to put them together just myself,because it is a heavy..
but if you follow the directions,no problem to put it together. I use these items with futon bed so it is not a short and right size but it might too short for a regular bed.(not for sure,depends on size of your bed)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Excellent!

12/01/2012
By ,
Central Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased this 3 piece set, and given reviews on the others as well. I am very satisfied with all 3 pieces. Delivered to my home, packaging was excellent, nothing damaged. Delivery guy needed help to unload so it worked out husband was home. We started with nightstand and the other dressers were a piece of cake. Directions not the best but if you have ever assembled before its not hard. Husband and I had all 3 pieces assembled in an afternoons time, very pleased, very satisfied, and highly recommend! My daughter loves her room and all pieces, and it looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain
04/06/2010
By ,
Clalifornia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased the Laguna Black Woodgrain queen size bed, nightstands (2) and the double dresser.
The shipment is packaged well to prevent damages and the box will fit in a smal car easily.
The assembly took me (I am female and did it alone) about 1.75 hours to compltete. As with all the furniture in this line nothing is labeled and the instructions are similar to Ikea's (pictures no words). The drawers were the easiest to assemble and the track system the most difficult to understand but once you do one it smooth sailing from there.
The end result came out nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain
09/09/2012
By ,
WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these nightstands. The wood glue included in the box was completely dried up so I used some I already had. Assembly on the first was a bit time consuming because the instructions were just pictures so I took my time to make sure I didn't mess it up... Took about an hour. The second only took me 20 minutes. After they were assembled they were much sturdier than I had expected. Smaller than most night stands (but that's what I wanted) so be aware of the dimensions. Definitely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Good purchase

09/23/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the entire set for my daughter. It Took some time putting this set together and the directions left a lot to be desired with just pictures but once we figured them out it went pretty quick. The set is sturdy and looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Exceptionally Beautiful

10/13/2010
By ,
Shreveport, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely satisfied with my purchase. The appearance is exceptional and the quality is beyond what I expected. I am not the most assembly inclined person and while it took me a little time to get it just right; it came out exactly as it should.
The railing system tripped me up a bit until I realized that the drawers weren't closing correctly because I screwed in the bolts from the outside instead of the inside.
I would recommend this product 100% simply on the style alone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

These are beautiful!

09/15/2013
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price I paid I did not have huge expectations but these are really nice! They are nice & sturdy, well made, and look great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain
09/07/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems sturdy so far, I purchased it about 2 weeks ago now and put it together, that was the confusing part at times because there's no words just pictures!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain
09/04/2013
By ,
chester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is very hsppy with this nightstand. It is easy to put together and easy to open. I like it also, because it dosen't have the handels on the outside.
J'anna
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Laguna Nightstand, Black Wood Grain

Cute little nightstand for a bedroom

06/26/2013
By ,
Williamsport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my nightstand beside my bed and it works great for me. I like the look of it and it is perfect for right beside my bed. It matches the larger dresser and it has an Ikea look to it. It was easy enough to assemble and I definitely recommend it if you want something that looks stylish yet is a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next