Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hamilton Beach Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Great for all types of cooking, the Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer will add more mixing efficiency to your kitchen — no need to beat bread dough or egg whites by hand. Boasting 275 watts of power, this powerful mixer will easily handle all cooking chores, including the stiffest cookie or pizza dough. It features a glass mixing bowl, which can be shifted from side to side with a lever, ensuring thorough mixing with plenty of space to add ingredients. The Hamilton Beach Power Stand Mixer also includes convenient dough hooks, giving you everything you're looking for in a quality kitchen appliance. Plus, a detachable power head lets this stand mixer double as a hand mixer for ultimate versatility.
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation74%31 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Not worth buying.

09/22/2011
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband helped my girls buy this for Mother's Day. It is a great disappointment. The plastic is cheap and brittle, the mixer does not raise on the hinge so it is difficult to pull the bowl out; the bowl does not rotate independently, and even in the outermost position, still leaves about 2 inches between beaters and the edge of the bowl. The worst part is the mixing blades only come to about 1 inch from bottom of bowl, so it mixes extremely little. I tried to beat eggwhites, but even taking the mixer off the stand, it does not have enough speed to ever make stiff peaks. It does not have power to mix something thick, like cookie dough, and the "dough hooks" are a joke--thin metal sort of corkscrew things that do absolutely nothing. I did not even try kneading bread dough, because I didn't want the extra work of cleaning up the mess. I am really in a quandary, because my little girls think they gave mommy a great present, and I hate to have the thing even taking up counter-space! Am not sure how to politely send it to the dump!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+75points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 11/29/2011
I read your review and just wanted to inform you the mixer does raise to pull out of the bowl. There is a button on the side of the blender that allows it to unlock and rise easily. Hopefully you were not sent or brought a no good one. Sometimes 1 out of 10 end up with the malfunctioned ones. Sorry it did not work out for you. I have no complaints so far about it so far.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

didn't even last a year

09/20/2011
By ,
Des Moines, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do a lot of baking and really needed a bigger mixer. I saw this and the price was right. Now I realize that you get what you pay for but I sure didn't expect to be left high and dry less than 6 months of purchasing this. Right in the middle of mixing up a batch of cookies this thing quit on me.
I saved the bowl, it's a good, heavy duty mixing bowl. The mixer went to the garbage. I bought a microwave from Hamilton Beach and it burned up last night after barely the same amount of time. I am done with Hamilton Beach products!!
Walmart, quit selling this merchandise, my money is hard enough to come by these days without wasting time buying shoddy products, having to return them, or just losing money, might as well have just thrown the $40 in the garbage.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 11/29/2011
Depending on the expected use, some products may not fit your expectations. As you mention you do a lot of baking, this mixer was defiantly not the right product for you. A heavy duty mixer is required in which you will pay more for. Also the watts on the mixer is not made for certain uses. This mixer is for average people who bake here and there. Ranging from light to medium work. Hopefully you have found a better mixer that works great for you. Just figure I'll give you a tip to avoid wasting money on an product that may disappoint you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Great Item!

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to use. Doesn't take up a lot of counter space. I love the color. Great item all the way around for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 4 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

not what I had hoped for...

05/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I realize the mixer is under $30, but I expected a lot more for my money. My turntable does not rotate by itself - only if the mixers hit in exactly the right spot. I cannot flip the mixer up to access the bowl, but have to remove the mixer entirely. I saw another review that said the turntable does move, so I may have a defective machine, but wanted to put this out there for other shoppers to see.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bolivar, TN
Posted 01/10/2012
I was reading your review and wondering if you tried the button that you push in on the side of the mixer stand that allows you to tilt the mixer up and access the bowl. Just wondering if yours may have been broken? I have the same one and so far, I have no problems with it. The mixer tilts up with the push of the button on the side of it and I do have to turn my bowl myself but it is still a time saver for me. I mix cookie dough with it and it does a good job.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Wonderful for the price

11/06/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been searching for a decent priced and quality stand mixer I found one with this model. I really like it alot this is a very user friendly mixer and not very heavy to move around like other brands are. I like that I can see thru the mixing bowl to make sure the product I am mixing at the bottom mixes in completely. I can get the bowl out from under the beaters easily by raising the head if I need to have access and I can move the bowl around on the stand so the beaters can scrap the sides . Nobody can go wrong with this brand/model stand mixer I would recommend it to all my friends. I have always liked the Hamilton Beach products.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 6 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Love it, fits my average baking purposes

11/29/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this mixer. It works fine and very simple to use. If you are an average baker that bakes here and there, this is good. I will not recommend for those that bake all the time and do heavy baking. I usually bake a few times a month and this blender has been great. Price is great and quality. But if you looking for something with more, such as the bowl rotating on its own, this is not the one for you. There is a button on the side the unlocks and helps raise the mixer from the bowl simply. As well as at the bottom where the bowl sits on top, there is a slider that allows you to move the bowl between the left and right. I think that add-on feature was great to avoid having to batter the mix so much. So if you don't want to spend so much and prefer something simple, this is the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 7 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Great Dual Duty Mixer!

02/07/2012
By ,
Ormond Beach,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great buy for 24 bucks! Being able to use as a hand or stand mixer is super! The included glass bowl is large, heavy and seats well on the turntable. I've used it practically every day for two weeks now and have been very happy with the results! So far just cake, cookie, mayonnaise and whip cream uses. This weekend I plan on doing bread.Maybe if I get in to heavy whole grain breads - I may need a more powerful machine - but for regular home baking needs this machine rocks! For the reviewers complaining about not being able to raise the machine head - you have to PUSH THE BUTTON on the side of the neck! Also for previous reviewers: the turntable is free wheeling - NOT powered! That way you can slow the bowl and change directions. I love the turntable lever that allows shifting of the bowl - saves scraping! I picked up the black model in store- but if I'd known about the red one - I'd have ordered that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Great for a smaller kitchen

05/31/2011
By ,
Bloomington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Love It Love it!!!!! I always wanted a stand mixer but could never afford a standard one, but this one was perfect. Price size and perfect price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 9 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Do yourself a favor and buy a KitchenAid

11/27/2011
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are going to be using a stand mixer on a regular basis (like every few days or even weekly)- Do not buy this product. It will not last. Save yourself the hassle, save up some cash, find a sale, and buy yourself a KitchenAid. When I started doing cakes out of my home, I had this and it did not cut it. I burned it out in a few months of regular use. Now I have a KitchenAid Artisan 5qt and it was the BEST purchase I could have made! I have had problems with other Hamilton Beach products, and I will not be buying them again. Don't waste your hard earned money even if it looks like a great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Not worth it

12/01/2011
By ,
Ambler, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered online with the bundle bake set for 39.00 including the 12 piece set, came quickly used it for the first time today, and it really is not that great, it doesn't mix well so you have to keep stopping to try to scoop everything in the middle, I will be taking this back in the next few days, Not worth it, Your better off just using a hand mixer than this. ugh now it's back to looking for a stand mixer that is not so expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 11 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

awesome for the price

02/03/2012
By ,
reno,nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wife bought this for me for Christmas and this thing is amazing it has the dough hooks for my homemade chocolate chip cookies it raises the bowl spins easy and freely i use it on a daily basis for $25 bucks you aint going to find a better product if you bake i would recommend this to anybody that is looking at this i love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

My favorite appliance next to my coffee machine.

01/01/2012
By ,
nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great! it not only does the standing mixer and the bowl moves to make sure the sides get mixed, but you can detach it and use it by hand. It is also VERY easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Do not buy this!

12/27/2011
By ,
Athens, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not get this mixer to replace a regular hand mixer, it is nothing more than that. It is a sad excuse for a stand mixer. The beaters do not reach the bottom of the bowl, so you are left with about an inch of unmixed ingredients on the bottom. You also have to spin the bowl around manually because the beaters don't move. This mixer is cheap for a reason. If you want a good stand mixer, spend a little extra and get something better than this. I returned it after trying to use it because my regular hand mixer that I had works better than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Made a nice gift

01/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my cousin. I didn't read the reviews until after I'd already ordered & shipped it to her. I must say the reviews really had me worried. She opened it & began using it Christmas morning to make a red velvet cake. According to her it works perfectly & she is very happy with it. If she has a issue w/ it I asked her to be honest w/ me & tell me. I told her about the bad reviews. But once again she is thrilled w/ her mixer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 15 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer
12/22/2011
By ,
Detroit, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm on the fence right now. I did notice when I used it the first time, that it didn't spin well. One minute it would spin real fast then it would stop. Of course, I over mixed my batter. The second time I used it, it didn't spin at all. I had to spin it manually. To give it the benefit of the doubt, I moved the lever at the bottom to make sure that wasn't the problem, but to no avail.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

More than what I expected

12/18/2011
By ,
Northern Mariana Isl;
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is good for everyday use.Though the stand is made up of plastic it just depend on how you handle the product.
*It can be used as hand mixer
*It comes with three different beaters. I got one for dough,one flat and one single
This does not only help me make some cakes but also a fun way for me and my family to bond with.Thanks a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer
12/26/2011
By ,
Cincinnati
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this set. The mixer works fine and I still use the bowl but the beater themselves oxidized after washing 3 times and I cannot get replacement ones anywhere. Now here I sit with a worthless mixer since I only use the traditional beaters and not the others and it was bought last year so I am not even able to return it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Great item for the value

12/22/2011
By ,
LaGrrange, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The mixer is sufficient for most task. I have not used it in a situation where the dough is very thick. It does not turn by itself very well, you have to help the bowl turn sometimes. However, for the price I cannot complain
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer
12/11/2011
By ,
Jersey City, New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't used all the features yet (whip/kneader), but the mixing function works great! Suites my purpose. Just wish the bowl wasn't so heavy and that it had no grooves on the handle which makes it harder to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Hamilton-Beach 6-Speed Hand/Stand Mixer

Great Value

12/18/2011
By ,
Derry, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though the stand was a bit light and the bowl doesn't always spin (depending on what is being mixed). The value is great. Makes baking much easier - can add ingredients easily and scrape sides of bowl, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next