Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

The Frigidaire 70 Pint Dehumidifier is capable of continuous operation when the unit is located near a suitable drain. This white FAD704DUD dehumidifier features an easily accessible collection container with level indicator, a washable filter, and full-function electronic controls to remove both moisture and airborne particles. The dehumidifier features a full-bucket indicator and the system automatically shuts off when the bucket is full. Easy to maintain, just use the slide-out available at the bottom to remove the anti-microbial filter for cleaning. This Frigidaire white FAD704DUD 70-pint dehumidifier also has integrated casters that allow you to move the unit easily to wherever it is needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(607 Reviews) 498
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
430
4 stars
115
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation92%556 out of 604reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
430
4 stars
115
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Great as Advertised!

07/21/2013
By ,
Central MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier was picked by my husband & I, primarily for use in our basement of our colonial in Massachusetts. This summer (2013) has proven to be one of the most humid on record, since we have moved in. So far, after approximately 3 weeks of continous 24/7 use, we are extremely pleased. It has been proven to us to be a true "work-horse", constantly removing the moisture quietly & efficiently. We are also pleased with the value for the price we paid. The tank size has proven to be enough to last 8 hours (on setting goal of 50%), until reaching capacity and needing emptying. We've "squeezed" a lot of moisture out of our basement, and love the product. We used Wal-Mart "Site-to-Store" for this dehumidifier and another model that we purchased for the 1st floor. We were happily surprised how easy it was. We ordered our items on a Monday, & promised a pick-up date at our local Wal-Mart for Friday. We were pleasantly surprised by an arrival date of Wednesday!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

great product!

07/03/2011
By ,
MARIETTA, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this for my parents and they are so pleased with this product. it does everything that they wanted it to do, and the price was well worth the money! Thanks, Happy Customer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 23 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Really quiet dehumidifier!

08/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am quite satisfied with my decision to purchase this model & size dehumidifier. It is so quiet while it removes the water from my basement. The bucket is easy to remove when full. The only downfall is that it releases hot air that makes the basement quite warm. Not good during the summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 24 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.
07/20/2013
By ,
Hastings, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At this point within the first week it has brought the basement (About 1300 square feet total) humidity down from 67 to 42. (This is the main reason I rated it "4".) I am using a different humidity meter which is on the opposite side of the basement in a different room to keep track of the humidity. I have the dehumidifier set at 55. Just saying that I don't think the meter works well on the dehumidifier. I emptied it about 4 X a day the first 4 days. The last 2 days I only needed to empty it morning and evening. I haven't tried to attach a hose yet so I don't know if I will run into any problems in that area. It is quiet compared to my old model (a different brand). The fan runs continuously which I think is a disadvantage, using electricity when it isn't needed. I am using the low setting and that seems fine. It does warm up the space around it some. I wasn't happy with my old unit leaking freon and am hoping this one will be sealed better. Time will tell. I would rate it lower if the seal doesn't hold.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Great Product

04/12/2012
By ,
Galveston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did A LOT of research before buying this dehumidifier because I have never needed one before. We live in humid Galveston, and are across the street from the ocean, so to say that we have a lot of moisture in the air is an understatement. We bought this dehumidifier to help us fight of the Spring mold that is so abundant here. And in the month or so that we've had this, our mold has disappeared. What's even more amazing about this product is that it worked so well, that our round Morton Salt container (which had gotten moist and caused all of our salt to form into one big ball inside) has completely dried out and the salt turned back into pourable granules. We live in a huge, two-story concrete home, and one of these dehumidifiers handles the entire downstairs. Even on low, this unit will easily pull 70 pints of moisture per day. We used the convenient drain hose, so we never have to empty a bucket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 26 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Didn't live up to my hopes.

11/12/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was looking for a dehumidifier to remove the moisture and improve the air quality in a basement apartment. The moisture level is down, but the musty smell still remains. The clean filter light is on but after cleaning the filter it still remains on. It also is much louder than I thought it would be. It's just average in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 27 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Bad bucket design

05/18/2012
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This dehumidifier does pull the water out of the air but my problem is....when the bucket fills, it fills ALL THE WAY TO THE TOP so when you go to pull it out to empty it you spill a good amount of water all over the floor trying to get to a place to empty it. BAD design! The machine should shut off BEFORE the water gets to the very top of the bucket. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 28 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Love It!!

02/07/2012
By ,
Livingston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we moved to southeast TX 2 yrs ago it was obvious we needed a dehumidifier. I bought another brand because it was less expensive. Thank goodness that one died recently. I purchased this Frigidaire about 3 weeks ago and couldn't be happier with it. It is SOOO much quieter... we hardly even realize it's running (with the other one TV, phone, etc had to be turned up loud in order to hear them, not so with this unit). Also, the tank is easier to get in and out to empty. I have no complaints at all. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 29 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Fan never shuts off.

11/12/2012
By ,
Canandaigua, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier because I wanted one that would automatically turn back on after a power failure. Some other units, like my old one have to be manually reset after a power outage. The unit appears to work well in the basement location but after reaching the humidity setting the compressor stops but the fan continues to run indefinitly. This is good for circulating the air but I'm concerned about the energy usage/cost. There was no information to indicate this feature. I may have to use a timer or return it for another manufacturer's unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 30 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Does NOT shut off when humidity level reached!

05/28/2013
By ,
Herndon, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The manual on this unit states that "Dehumidifier automatically shuts off when selected amount of miosture has been removed from the air" (Use and Care manual, pg.9). THAT IS NOT CORRECT. Only the compressor shuts off; the fan continues to run constantly. Since I purchased the unit for its ability to completely shut off when desired humidity level is attained, it fails to meet my expectations, and fails to deliver on what the manual promises. I intend to return the unit, and continue to search for one that actually DOES shut off completely. If you don't mind the fan issue, this model works fine. The continuous drain works as long as the hose maintains a declining slope and is free of kinks. It is effective at removing humidity, but be aware of the fan issue BEFORE you buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SW Florida
Why the fan runs.
Posted 03/29/2014
I suspect the fan continues run so that air is circulated over the humidity sensor so that the system will know when to turn the compressor back on. I suspect most other units are the same if they are to operate with any degree of accuracy. The fan watts are not negligible, but the compressor is the watt hog.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 31 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Great feature

08/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the fact this has a built in handle that lets you transport it to empty it easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 32 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Great humidifier

08/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier is so much better than the goldstar one I bought. It has an indicator to show the water level in the front and it is so much easier to set up and use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 33 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Really great

10/01/2011
By ,
Salem, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every night when I turn it on--always have 3/4 to full container of water--Really does its job
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 34 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

GREAT PRODUCT!

04/25/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Fridgidaire FAD704DUD was bought to replace a ten year old, 45-pint Gold Star. This Fridgidaire dehumidifier does its job! It's located in a finished basement, and I am emptying twice a day. (Both times unit has shut off because it is full.) I have yet to hook to a water hose, but I did order the free drain unit. It is quieter than my previous unit, and the heat factor just goes with a dehumdifier. I love the handle and the wheels. It is very easy to move. Also, I had it up and running in twenty minutes, this included taking it out of the box. The only minor drawback is that the bucket fills to the very top resulting in spillage when you empty. This is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 35 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
05/04/2012
By ,
Oconomowoc, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We like the size and seems to be running smoothly and quietly in the basement. It's also pretty easy to empty when full. It arrived more quickly than expected and was at a good price.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+5points
Review 36 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Does the job, all the time

01/16/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has been used at our home for two week so far. We purchased because our home was having terrible humidity issues and after going for two weeks, humidity is down to normal levels. It is very easy to dump and clean filter. Our home is just over 1911 sq ft and we move it around between the far ends of the house. Only issue is that the built in hygrometer appears to be pretty off and the unit does not turn off when you expect it to. We have a few hygrometers that are accurately calibrated and move them around the house, and the while the unit is doing a great job of taking moisture out of the air, it is not shutting off when set humidity is reached. I turned the set point up ten percentage points and it still doesn't really ever turn off. I'm sure its going to raise our utility bill but this is better than mold issues. Recommended but I think you should monitor humidity with something other than the readings on the dehumidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Best for the price!

01/18/2012
By ,
KC, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Frigidaire Dehumidifier to help reduce the humidity in an old basement. I absolutely love it! It is easy to program and is so quiet! Previously I had purchased the Sunpentown 65 pint dehumidifier which was very noisy even on the normal setting. The Frigidaire is so quiet I can not even hear it running upstairs. I wanted the unit to drain using a garden hose however the threads did not line-up. I called Frigidaire/Electrolux to discuss the problem and they sent a free drain kit. I would recommend this unit to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 38 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Great product.

07/03/2012
By ,
NE PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for our old farmhouse basement since it is so damp in the summer months. It is hard to believe how much moisture was down there. I empty it 2-3 times a day. The musty smell is gone, wish I had purchased a dehumidifier yrs. ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 39 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

they work great for about 2 years, then die

03/11/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a replacement so I can't say yet. The Frigidaire is probably the best out there but that isn't saying much. I have owned at least 5 units. They all die in 2-3 years, usually the sealed system so the 5 year warranty covers it, but it is really frustrating to go through this every couple years and Frigidaire/ Electrolux customer service is horrible. To be safe, buy the extended warranty for this baby.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

was recalled before I purchased

07/20/2013
By ,
central Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This dehumidifier was recalled by the manufacturer before I even purchased it from Walmart online. Water immediately leaked out from the bottom. When I called the 800# to troubleshoot (thought it was set up wrong) they knew the problem as soon as I gave the model number. I was told to return it to Walmart and they would know what to do. What a waste of my time and $$. Now I am waiting for a credit to be applied to my credit card. In the meantime we purchased a Frigidaire from a local appliance store. It is working great. If you are looking for a good dehumidifier google Frigidaire FAD704DWD. Same price as Walmart's defective Whirlpool model.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 499 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next