Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

The Frigidaire 70 Pint Dehumidifier is capable of continuous operation when the unit is located near a suitable drain. This white FAD704DUD dehumidifier features an easily accessible collection container with level indicator, a washable filter, and full-function electronic controls to remove both moisture and airborne particles. The dehumidifier features a full-bucket indicator and the system automatically shuts off when the bucket is full. Easy to maintain, just use the slide-out available at the bottom to remove the anti-microbial filter for cleaning. This Frigidaire white FAD704DUD 70-pint dehumidifier also has integrated casters that allow you to move the unit easily to wherever it is needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(1596 Reviews) 1487
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,109
4 stars
312
3 stars
43
2 stars
42
1 star
90
Customer Recommendation92%1,460 out of 1,593reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,109
4 stars
312
3 stars
43
2 stars
42
1 star
90
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Not the best

07/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the looks of the Frigidaire unit because the design appeared to be much like my old GE unit. The GE was recalled as a fire hazard after at least four years of flawless operation.
The Frigidaire works just fine from the standpoint of dehumidification. It's also a reasonably quiet unit. NONE of them are inaudible. The main flaw that I have is with the bucket. It doesn't clip into the machine properly and after a few hours it vibrates forward just enough to turn the unit off. I may have just been unlucky and just gotten the last unit built on Friday.
However, the machine makes additional noises my old unit didn't. It emits a clunking sound when it's cycling on or off. And, while it's dehumidifying you also hear every last drip of water drop into the bucket as well...Chinese water torture.
I tried to contact the Frigidaire customer service regarding the bucket issue and got one of the telephone merry-go-rounds that eventually ended with no human contact. I will return the unit tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.
07/20/2013
By ,
Hastings, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At this point within the first week it has brought the basement (About 1300 square feet total) humidity down from 67 to 42. (This is the main reason I rated it "4".) I am using a different humidity meter which is on the opposite side of the basement in a different room to keep track of the humidity. I have the dehumidifier set at 55. Just saying that I don't think the meter works well on the dehumidifier. I emptied it about 4 X a day the first 4 days. The last 2 days I only needed to empty it morning and evening. I haven't tried to attach a hose yet so I don't know if I will run into any problems in that area. It is quiet compared to my old model (a different brand). The fan runs continuously which I think is a disadvantage, using electricity when it isn't needed. I am using the low setting and that seems fine. It does warm up the space around it some. I wasn't happy with my old unit leaking freon and am hoping this one will be sealed better. Time will tell. I would rate it lower if the seal doesn't hold.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Exactly as advertised!!

09/12/2011
By ,
Brooklyn NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Earlier this year I moved into a bsmt. apt. By the time I realized what was happening I needed to get rid of a few items that were covered in mildew. This caused me to do some research so I’m currently something of a moldologist lol... This unit was said to be the most quiet, it sounds comparable to an ac unit, after a while you wouldn't notice it. It is very efficient at it's primary function the humidity lvl in my bedroom was above 85% before, within hours it was at 45%. I didn't attach the hose although I might. The container needs to be emptied twice daily. No more smell from the closet, so the air filter seems to be working as well. I didn't really notice the dampness before but now the room actually feels dryer. Although it does put out a bit of heat, If it continues to function at the current level than, I’m quite satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 24 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

My basement doesn't stink any more

07/13/2014
By ,
greater Portland area, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since we have living space - including bedrooms - in the basement, I had to finally cave in and spend money on a dehumidifier. I checked out several review sites, and the Frigidaire series came out high on several of them. More checking to see capacity in terms of the area that we were working with, and I knew I could not go lower than a 70-pint size one.
Walmart got it shipped to the store in fewer days than expected, and I brought it home to set it up immediately. It was three days before I could take it off continuous run. It's almost two weeks later, and now - as long as I empty the water three or four times between morning and bed time - we can keep the humidity in the ~900 sq ft basement down to 45-55%.
A larger unit probably would have been a better buy for the intensity of the humidity and the size of the basement, but this one was the best we could do with our budget. I can't complain. The smell is gone, the air feels much more comfortable, and I think we've got a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Not what I expected from Frigidaire

04/02/2012
By ,
Winston Salem,N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did a lot of research & have had Frigidaire products before.Ordered this & it wouldn't work at all. Called Frigidaire & they even said they would call us back & take care of replacing it after 2 times we finally just returned it to Wal-Mart.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+18points
Review 26 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

just what I needed!

08/08/2011
By ,
Antioch, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit works well in my 1000 sq/ft lake front cottage...maintains humidity level at about 40%; large reservoir needs to be emptied twice a day..before work in the morning and at bedtime. Easily moves with wheels, doesn't scratch the floor, quiet operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 27 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Great Machine

08/29/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dehumidifier was purchased as a replacement unit. The basement of our home has been very warm and humid this summer. Since installation, we have dropped humidity levels in basement from in excess of 60% to area of 50%. We have been removing approximately 6.5 gallons of water a day. The unit also runs much cooler then the previous unit, so it quite comfortable walking into the basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 28 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

compact, sturdy, quiet, easy to use & empty

08/15/2011
By ,
Bridgton
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first unit had lost refrteigerant along the way here. WALMART was proactive & very hepful in replacing the unit and paid all shipping charges even before I shipped the faulty one back . Kudos to WALMART.
Second unit works well, the fan runs much longer than the compressor, but apparently that is normal for this unit. Works as well as the unit we bought about 6 years ago and was our only prior knowledge. Quiet, easy to empty, it pulls a lot of water out of the air & keeps the cellar dry and comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 29 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Really quiet dehumidifier!

08/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am quite satisfied with my decision to purchase this model & size dehumidifier. It is so quiet while it removes the water from my basement. The bucket is easy to remove when full. The only downfall is that it releases hot air that makes the basement quite warm. Not good during the summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 30 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Working only for 1 summer

06/30/2013
By ,
Vernon Hills, Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit worked well for the entire summer right after purchased from walmart.com. The next summer it did not work well. It kept running but hardly collected any water in the bucket. Now it does not work at all! Though the unit can be turned on but it would not collect any water in the bucket.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

To much heat

05/10/2011
By ,
Saint Cloud, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit does a great job drying the air, but put's out too much heat. In Florida that not good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalispell, MT
I Had the same problem...
Posted 05/25/2012
The Fix is to set the humidity level to no less than 50% Comfort Level, so it doesn't run 24/7!
BTW- this is the same for every dehumidifier I've owned. The others took Much longer to lower level than this one. Hope it lasts (I bought 3yr extended warranty!?).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

great product!

07/03/2011
By ,
MARIETTA, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this for my parents and they are so pleased with this product. it does everything that they wanted it to do, and the price was well worth the money! Thanks, Happy Customer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 33 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Did it's job

05/17/2014
By ,
Centeral PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of those recalled dehumidifies and went without for the winter. The return of increased humidity caught me off guard and it went up to 70%. I got this within a week under standard shipping. I unpacked and set up in the basement the next day. In a matter of 24 hours it had the humidity down to 55% (per machine readout) but 48%(per other humidity reading device). The biggest and most surprising thing was how quite it was. It's on high fan and you can barely hear it standing right next to it. I would recommend this to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

they work great for about 2 years, then die

03/11/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a replacement so I can't say yet. The Frigidaire is probably the best out there but that isn't saying much. I have owned at least 5 units. They all die in 2-3 years, usually the sealed system so the 5 year warranty covers it, but it is really frustrating to go through this every couple years and Frigidaire/ Electrolux customer service is horrible. To be safe, buy the extended warranty for this baby.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Great Product

04/12/2012
By ,
Galveston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did A LOT of research before buying this dehumidifier because I have never needed one before. We live in humid Galveston, and are across the street from the ocean, so to say that we have a lot of moisture in the air is an understatement. We bought this dehumidifier to help us fight of the Spring mold that is so abundant here. And in the month or so that we've had this, our mold has disappeared. What's even more amazing about this product is that it worked so well, that our round Morton Salt container (which had gotten moist and caused all of our salt to form into one big ball inside) has completely dried out and the salt turned back into pourable granules. We live in a huge, two-story concrete home, and one of these dehumidifiers handles the entire downstairs. Even on low, this unit will easily pull 70 pints of moisture per day. We used the convenient drain hose, so we never have to empty a bucket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 36 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Does NOT shut off when humidity level reached!

05/28/2013
By ,
Herndon, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The manual on this unit states that "Dehumidifier automatically shuts off when selected amount of miosture has been removed from the air" (Use and Care manual, pg.9). THAT IS NOT CORRECT. Only the compressor shuts off; the fan continues to run constantly. Since I purchased the unit for its ability to completely shut off when desired humidity level is attained, it fails to meet my expectations, and fails to deliver on what the manual promises. I intend to return the unit, and continue to search for one that actually DOES shut off completely. If you don't mind the fan issue, this model works fine. The continuous drain works as long as the hose maintains a declining slope and is free of kinks. It is effective at removing humidity, but be aware of the fan issue BEFORE you buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SW Florida
Why the fan runs.
Posted 03/29/2014
I suspect the fan continues run so that air is circulated over the humidity sensor so that the system will know when to turn the compressor back on. I suspect most other units are the same if they are to operate with any degree of accuracy. The fan watts are not negligible, but the compressor is the watt hog.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
06/12/2012
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quit working after only 4 days. Tried to contact Frigidaire. The only phone number we could find was was for an automated message. Our only option is to return to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Review 38 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Didn't live up to my hopes.

11/12/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was looking for a dehumidifier to remove the moisture and improve the air quality in a basement apartment. The moisture level is down, but the musty smell still remains. The clean filter light is on but after cleaning the filter it still remains on. It also is much louder than I thought it would be. It's just average in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 39 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

The unit leaked water all over the floor

04/21/2012
By ,
MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Within 24 hours, the water stopped collecting in the tank and instead started leaking all over the floor. It looked like, after about an inch of water collected in the tank, it then started collecting within the cabinet of the unit. The water then started leaking out of any crevice in the cabinet it could find. This was the replacement unit for my original order, which did the same exact thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 40 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Stopped Working After 1 Year and 1 Month

09/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was my 3rd Frigidaire Dehumidifier. The first two lasted one season (1 year). Guess what? This one stopped working 1 year and 1 month after I purchased it. Frigidaire dehumidifiers are not built to last. I had high hopes for this model since it appeared to be a new design. Unfortunately not. It stopped removing water and actually froze ice on the inside which indicates low coolant.
Luckily, I went into this purchase with my eyes wide open. I purchased a 3 year extended warranty for $29. I'm getting a new one for free.
I'm really hoping that the warranty folks give me a different brand this time.
I highly recommend any of you that just purchased this item to purchase an extended warranty if you can get it. Based on my experience with Frigidaire products, there is no way this will last anyone over 2 years. I am not sure any of the other brands will work any better.
I usually would never buy an extended warranty on anything, but my experience with dehumidifiers tells me they will simply never last over a year or 2 at best.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 1,441 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  73 Next