Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

The Frigidaire 70 Pint Dehumidifier is capable of continuous operation when the unit is located near a suitable drain. This white FAD704DUD dehumidifier features an easily accessible collection container with level indicator, a washable filter, and full-function electronic controls to remove both moisture and airborne particles. The dehumidifier features a full-bucket indicator and the system automatically shuts off when the bucket is full. Easy to maintain, just use the slide-out available at the bottom to remove the anti-microbial filter for cleaning. This Frigidaire white FAD704DUD 70-pint dehumidifier also has integrated casters that allow you to move the unit easily to wherever it is needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.508 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(1021 Reviews) 912
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
721
4 stars
203
3 stars
32
2 stars
25
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation93%944 out of 1,018reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
721
4 stars
203
3 stars
32
2 stars
25
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

compact, sturdy, quiet, easy to use & empty

08/15/2011
By ,
Bridgton
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first unit had lost refrteigerant along the way here. WALMART was proactive & very hepful in replacing the unit and paid all shipping charges even before I shipped the faulty one back . Kudos to WALMART.
Second unit works well, the fan runs much longer than the compressor, but apparently that is normal for this unit. Works as well as the unit we bought about 6 years ago and was our only prior knowledge. Quiet, easy to empty, it pulls a lot of water out of the air & keeps the cellar dry and comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 22 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Not what I expected from Frigidaire

04/02/2012
By ,
Winston Salem,N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did a lot of research & have had Frigidaire products before.Ordered this & it wouldn't work at all. Called Frigidaire & they even said they would call us back & take care of replacing it after 2 times we finally just returned it to Wal-Mart.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 23 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

just what I needed!

08/08/2011
By ,
Antioch, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit works well in my 1000 sq/ft lake front cottage...maintains humidity level at about 40%; large reservoir needs to be emptied twice a day..before work in the morning and at bedtime. Easily moves with wheels, doesn't scratch the floor, quiet operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 24 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Great Machine

08/29/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dehumidifier was purchased as a replacement unit. The basement of our home has been very warm and humid this summer. Since installation, we have dropped humidity levels in basement from in excess of 60% to area of 50%. We have been removing approximately 6.5 gallons of water a day. The unit also runs much cooler then the previous unit, so it quite comfortable walking into the basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 25 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

To much heat

05/10/2011
By ,
Saint Cloud, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit does a great job drying the air, but put's out too much heat. In Florida that not good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalispell, MT
I Had the same problem...
Posted 05/25/2012
The Fix is to set the humidity level to no less than 50% Comfort Level, so it doesn't run 24/7!
BTW- this is the same for every dehumidifier I've owned. The others took Much longer to lower level than this one. Hope it lasts (I bought 3yr extended warranty!?).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Really quiet dehumidifier!

08/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am quite satisfied with my decision to purchase this model & size dehumidifier. It is so quiet while it removes the water from my basement. The bucket is easy to remove when full. The only downfall is that it releases hot air that makes the basement quite warm. Not good during the summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 27 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Not the best

07/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the looks of the Frigidaire unit because the design appeared to be much like my old GE unit. The GE was recalled as a fire hazard after at least four years of flawless operation.
The Frigidaire works just fine from the standpoint of dehumidification. It's also a reasonably quiet unit. NONE of them are inaudible. The main flaw that I have is with the bucket. It doesn't clip into the machine properly and after a few hours it vibrates forward just enough to turn the unit off. I may have just been unlucky and just gotten the last unit built on Friday.
However, the machine makes additional noises my old unit didn't. It emits a clunking sound when it's cycling on or off. And, while it's dehumidifying you also hear every last drip of water drop into the bucket as well...Chinese water torture.
I tried to contact the Frigidaire customer service regarding the bucket issue and got one of the telephone merry-go-rounds that eventually ended with no human contact. I will return the unit tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

great product!

07/03/2011
By ,
MARIETTA, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this for my parents and they are so pleased with this product. it does everything that they wanted it to do, and the price was well worth the money! Thanks, Happy Customer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 29 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

More effective than expected

07/07/2014
By ,
N E Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was advised to get a large capacity dehumidifier and 70 pints is almost big enough. This unit really works great. I have to empty the 2 gallon reservoir about every 8 hours. Removing the holding tank takes a bit of practice and patience. So far, have not spilled any condensate. As recommended in the instruction manual it ran continuously for 4 days then we set it to the target humidity level we wanted.
The unit produces a small amount of heat as it dehumidifies. The squirrel cage fan is relatively quite on high speed and did not impede sleeping after we got used to it. Controls are well marked with small type and the LED is large enough to read 10 - 20 feet away.
On top of the unit is a disappearing handle I didn't discover until I had removed the unit from the shipping container. The handle would have been a big help to get it out of the box. The wheels are minimal sized but roll OK on hard surfaces and thin carpet. Otherwise, when its empty, lift it and move it around as required.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

My basement doesn't stink any more

07/13/2014
By ,
greater Portland area, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since we have living space - including bedrooms - in the basement, I had to finally cave in and spend money on a dehumidifier. I checked out several review sites, and the Frigidaire series came out high on several of them. More checking to see capacity in terms of the area that we were working with, and I knew I could not go lower than a 70-pint size one.
Walmart got it shipped to the store in fewer days than expected, and I brought it home to set it up immediately. It was three days before I could take it off continuous run. It's almost two weeks later, and now - as long as I empty the water three or four times between morning and bed time - we can keep the humidity in the ~900 sq ft basement down to 45-55%.
A larger unit probably would have been a better buy for the intensity of the humidity and the size of the basement, but this one was the best we could do with our budget. I can't complain. The smell is gone, the air feels much more comfortable, and I think we've got a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Does NOT shut off when humidity level reached!

05/28/2013
By ,
Herndon, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The manual on this unit states that "Dehumidifier automatically shuts off when selected amount of miosture has been removed from the air" (Use and Care manual, pg.9). THAT IS NOT CORRECT. Only the compressor shuts off; the fan continues to run constantly. Since I purchased the unit for its ability to completely shut off when desired humidity level is attained, it fails to meet my expectations, and fails to deliver on what the manual promises. I intend to return the unit, and continue to search for one that actually DOES shut off completely. If you don't mind the fan issue, this model works fine. The continuous drain works as long as the hose maintains a declining slope and is free of kinks. It is effective at removing humidity, but be aware of the fan issue BEFORE you buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SW Florida
Why the fan runs.
Posted 03/29/2014
I suspect the fan continues run so that air is circulated over the humidity sensor so that the system will know when to turn the compressor back on. I suspect most other units are the same if they are to operate with any degree of accuracy. The fan watts are not negligible, but the compressor is the watt hog.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Great Product

04/12/2012
By ,
Galveston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did A LOT of research before buying this dehumidifier because I have never needed one before. We live in humid Galveston, and are across the street from the ocean, so to say that we have a lot of moisture in the air is an understatement. We bought this dehumidifier to help us fight of the Spring mold that is so abundant here. And in the month or so that we've had this, our mold has disappeared. What's even more amazing about this product is that it worked so well, that our round Morton Salt container (which had gotten moist and caused all of our salt to form into one big ball inside) has completely dried out and the salt turned back into pourable granules. We live in a huge, two-story concrete home, and one of these dehumidifiers handles the entire downstairs. Even on low, this unit will easily pull 70 pints of moisture per day. We used the convenient drain hose, so we never have to empty a bucket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 33 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Did it's job

05/17/2014
By ,
Centeral PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of those recalled dehumidifies and went without for the winter. The return of increased humidity caught me off guard and it went up to 70%. I got this within a week under standard shipping. I unpacked and set up in the basement the next day. In a matter of 24 hours it had the humidity down to 55% (per machine readout) but 48%(per other humidity reading device). The biggest and most surprising thing was how quite it was. It's on high fan and you can barely hear it standing right next to it. I would recommend this to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Does the job, all the time

01/16/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has been used at our home for two week so far. We purchased because our home was having terrible humidity issues and after going for two weeks, humidity is down to normal levels. It is very easy to dump and clean filter. Our home is just over 1911 sq ft and we move it around between the far ends of the house. Only issue is that the built in hygrometer appears to be pretty off and the unit does not turn off when you expect it to. We have a few hygrometers that are accurately calibrated and move them around the house, and the while the unit is doing a great job of taking moisture out of the air, it is not shutting off when set humidity is reached. I turned the set point up ten percentage points and it still doesn't really ever turn off. I'm sure its going to raise our utility bill but this is better than mold issues. Recommended but I think you should monitor humidity with something other than the readings on the dehumidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Didn't live up to my hopes.

11/12/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was looking for a dehumidifier to remove the moisture and improve the air quality in a basement apartment. The moisture level is down, but the musty smell still remains. The clean filter light is on but after cleaning the filter it still remains on. It also is much louder than I thought it would be. It's just average in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 36 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Bad bucket design

05/18/2012
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This dehumidifier does pull the water out of the air but my problem is....when the bucket fills, it fills ALL THE WAY TO THE TOP so when you go to pull it out to empty it you spill a good amount of water all over the floor trying to get to a place to empty it. BAD design! The machine should shut off BEFORE the water gets to the very top of the bucket. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 37 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

they work great for about 2 years, then die

03/11/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a replacement so I can't say yet. The Frigidaire is probably the best out there but that isn't saying much. I have owned at least 5 units. They all die in 2-3 years, usually the sealed system so the 5 year warranty covers it, but it is really frustrating to go through this every couple years and Frigidaire/ Electrolux customer service is horrible. To be safe, buy the extended warranty for this baby.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Love It!!

02/07/2012
By ,
Livingston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we moved to southeast TX 2 yrs ago it was obvious we needed a dehumidifier. I bought another brand because it was less expensive. Thank goodness that one died recently. I purchased this Frigidaire about 3 weeks ago and couldn't be happier with it. It is SOOO much quieter... we hardly even realize it's running (with the other one TV, phone, etc had to be turned up loud in order to hear them, not so with this unit). Also, the tank is easier to get in and out to empty. I have no complaints at all. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 39 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD

Fan never shuts off.

11/12/2012
By ,
Canandaigua, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier because I wanted one that would automatically turn back on after a power failure. Some other units, like my old one have to be manually reset after a power outage. The unit appears to work well in the basement location but after reaching the humidity setting the compressor stops but the fan continues to run indefinitly. This is good for circulating the air but I'm concerned about the energy usage/cost. There was no information to indicate this feature. I may have to use a timer or return it for another manufacturer's unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 40 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD704DUD
This review is fromFrigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD.

Working only for 1 summer

06/30/2013
By ,
Vernon Hills, Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit worked well for the entire summer right after purchased from walmart.com. The next summer it did not work well. It kept running but hardly collected any water in the bucket. Now it does not work at all! Though the unit can be turned on but it would not collect any water in the bucket.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 913 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  46 Next