Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ameristep Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ameristep Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

The Ameristep Doghouse Blind continues to dominate and lead the way in ground blind performance. This Ameristep blind is ideal for firearm and bow hunting and a great hide for photographers. The hunting blind has a Realtree AP HD camouflage design. Window tie-downs and shoot-through mesh also highlight this Ameristep blind. The hunting blind includes a backpack carrying case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%29 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

Great Hunting Blind

02/26/2013
By ,
Homestead, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for turkey hunting and is the perfect size. It sets up easy as well too. Two people can hunt from this blind with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 2 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

Duck blind

12/21/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my Husband, he put it on the deck and shots birds out of it, He loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
12/20/2012
By ,
new Braunfels, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to erect. Two people can comfortly fit. Great to use with a hunter/guide situation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 4 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.
01/23/2013
By ,
Ireland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good produc at a good price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.

For the price its fair.

01/11/2013
By ,
greenville, tx 75402
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was hoping for a little better structure but when I think about how much it cost, well its fair.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 6 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
11/23/2012
By ,
HORTONVILLE,WI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This blind is excellent, set up is a breeze and folding can be confusing at first. Had 2 deer come within 15yds.of me without detection. Sitting inside is confined but just right you are out of the elements which this product was intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 7 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.

Nice Blind & Great Value

12/28/2012
By ,
N. Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for deer hunting on public land where you can't have permanent stands or blinds and need something to put up and break-down each time I hunt. I've used it 4 times now with a rifle. When packed up, it's small enough and light enough to carry along with my normal backpack (the straps on the blind backpack are long enough to put on over top of my hunting backpack). It sets up really quickly and is easy enough to do in the dark with just a headlamp (you need some light for the tent rods which arch across the inside of the roof). It's plenty big enough for an adult with a fold-up chair, and would also accomodate an adult with a child. Break-down is easy and quick (watch the Youtube video on how to coil it up). For what I needed, it is the perfect product and is a really good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.
12/28/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this a few times now and so far I am impressed. For the price you can't beat it. Once it is set up and staked down it is very stable. One day the wind was gusting 15 to 20mph and the Doghouse stood firm. Plus it kept the wind off me and I stayed warmer. I am thinking about buying another one. More than enough room for one person. Two people could use it but might be a little snug.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

Too small

10/25/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for. Took back to Walmart for refund. I purchased a Barronett big mike blind online for a great price. And I haven't looked back. This is not for any hunting. Can't draw your bow without haviing door open. If you only view wildlife, then buy a doghouse blind.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 10 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.

Better than I expect

12/06/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, it was worth it. Son and Husband thought it was perfect and exceeded their expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.

It does a good job.

11/20/2012
By ,
Anderson, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does a good job blinding you. Although no deer came out on me yet, other animals play all around it and don't suspect anything. Birds even perch on top of it. I was however disappointed with the workmanship of it, and the shooting windows are a little low for someone my height. I have to lean over to see far out.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.

My favorite blind.

10/14/2012
By ,
Southeast Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roomy for one. Holds all my gear. It's warm and it's wind and water resistant. Have taken deer with gun, crossbow and compound bow from it. I own two.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 13 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.

Better than I thought

10/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being one of many blinds I have, I enjoy this blind for the the ease of setup, take down, and portability. If you follow the diagram (youtube) in the carry bag it shows you how to take it down and fold it up for storage. I would recommend this to anyone. I have enough room to shoot my bow from a stool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 14 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.

Great value ground blind!!!!

09/27/2012
By ,
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
you get what you pay for...if you want some where to hide while you are rifle hunting, this blind is for you. if you hunt in the rain every day, spend more and buy another. bow hunting is tight in this blind, hard to make a full draw in it, but possible. packs easy and set up is a breeze
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
updated review
Posted 10/15/2012
don't buy this blind. I've had it out a couple of weeks and the poles have already broke. Replacements are 30 bucks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
This review is fromAmeristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP Camo.

Cheaply made.. Will leak.

08/29/2012
By ,
Pismo Beach, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Given the cheap price of this blind, I expected it to be of lower quality. Unfortunately I was correct. The inside of the fabric appears to be coated with a black substance that I figure is supposed to make it water "resistant", more or less. Unfortunately, when I got inside & looked up towards the sky i could see hundreds of tiny pinholes in this coating. It would definitely have to be treated with something to make it waterproof. I've had it pitched for about two weeks, and now I'm seeing a bit of unraveling on some seams. The "backpack" it comes in is better than nothing, but is simply a nylon bag with a drawcord at the top, and some thin straps sewn on the side. With no floor, it better be securely tied down, as the wind can get under it and blow it away in loose sandy soil. I guess one gets what one pays for, but next time I'll spend considerably more and get something better. I hope...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 16 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

Dog House Blind

06/25/2012
By ,
Painter, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This blind is well made and sturdy. I have used waterproof spray on it to make it more water repellent. Plenty of room inside. I wish the shoot through windows were a little larger.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 17 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

Great Starter Blind.

03/27/2012
By ,
West Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i like this blind because i like to hunt deer and turkey. the camo is so great i had game come up close . and it keeps rain and snow off of me. i'm 5' 6" so i can stand in it to stretch my back and legs. it holds up good to wind gust. i had a little trouble at first trying to fold it to store it in the storage bag. til i learn the trick of folding it. i use a coleman propane small portable heater to help keep me warm where i can stay out longer. i can lay in it for a little nap without the heater. it don't recommend using a heater. in case it may melt the blind. but i keep my heater in the center where if it tilts over it won't melt the blind. you can set the blind up in small areas, but you need to buy a blaze orange top so you can be seen by other hunters. they may not see you. i seen other hunters in the woods. the only thing i wish it had a floor built in the bottom. i would buy another one in a heart beat. comes with a nice backpack bag. you just need a comfortable stool or chair. excellent for hunting and observe game. i never had a problem using this blind. it's like being in a portable mini hut. try one for yourself and see what i mean. if for some reason you don't like it take it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 18 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage
12/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Blind works very well. I had several deer walk right up to the blind. And never even noticed it. Its very easy to put up,but can be very difficult to understand the directions for putting it away. The directions should be in color my opinion. It took me several times of practicing to put away. I recommend practicing before you go to the field. Can be very frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 19 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

fiberglass rods

12/04/2011
By ,
BATH, N.Y.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i do like the blind, it sets up relativily quick and is great for keeping the weather off of you, however after only two days of being set up i found one of the fiberglass rods had splintered on one of the sections for no apparent reason.luckily it didn't punch a hole through the roof. if any of the rods break again i will trash the blind and never buy another one from AMERISTEP.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Ameristep Doghouse Blind, Realtree AP, Camouflage

Great Blind

10/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this blind last week and I hunted out of it this morning and it is easy to setup and break down I had a young buck come in within 20yrds. and didn't even look at the blind great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next