Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ameristep Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ameristep Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

The Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho is a perfect option for your jungle camouflage needs. The leafy camouflage poncho is suitable for all types of forest terrain and provides complete coverage for the sniper. If you are into water fowl hunting or other such sports, then the Ameristep poncho is your safe bet. The poncho has several textures and helps you blend into any type of terrain or background. You will be undetectable as long as you dont make any substantial movements. The poncho comes in three separate patterns. This sporting equipment is ideal for turkey blinds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%11 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

12/12/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality, comfortable, and quiet. Long enough to cover you and the ground when sitting.
Fits small to medium frame people with more coverage.
Make sure this matches the surroundings you will be in!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 2 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

ho ho ho ..good stuff

05/02/2011
By ,
Mid-Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this for the 2011 turkey season.
Was very easy to blend in unseen.
Yes, I got my turkey.
Also had squirrels come within 3-4 ft of me and not see me... A water proof option would be nice. this is a mesh product to wear over your normal gear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Review 3 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

Leady Poncho - OK value, good price.

07/28/2011
By ,
Southern Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's OK. It's not as leafy as the picture looks, and it's only leafy material, no ghillie looking rags on it at all. It was hard to tell from the picture, so I took a chance on it thinking it couldn't be too bad.
Well it's not too bad. It's OK. Ameristep isn't one of my favorite brands anyway, but with a few mods, it will hide me from the coyotes pretty good I think.
there is a lot of good mesh material to work with, so you can add your own rags, or twine string, or burlap or whatever you want to add to it, which is what I am going to do.
The biggest drawback for me is the hood. Inside the hood is a plastic type rain coat material that is really noisy (especially in your ear). I plan to carefully remove all of it. I believe it is supposed to keep your head dry when it rains, but since it's only in the head area, it seems pretty useless, as the rest of you would be wet anyway.
at first it was all pretty stiff and smelled, so I ran it through the washer a couple times with my trusty scent away laundry soap, on cold water, and hung it up to dry. Then it softened up pretty good, and got a lot more quiet (everything except the plastic lined hood).
I do like the bungee cords for your arms, those work good.
All in all, I think it's an OK purchase, decent value. It's much better than $150 or more for a real Ghillie suite. It's customizable, comfortable, quiet (except the hood area), and seems to be made well enough to last several years.
I would recommend this product to my friends with the understanding that it will need to be modified somewhat (take out that loud plastic liner in the head cover area).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Review 4 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho
05/29/2011
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is going to be Great for Hunting Deer during Crossbow season and hunting Coyote this year. I'm going to buy another for my Son. Best Price any where and Super Fast Shipping. Thanks WalMart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 5 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho
11/08/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this has been great it has broken up my outline , and all ready I have killed 1=453 lb hog , 2= 135lb hogs and have shot 2-deer it is great, you need too get one . one of the deer I walked up
on. have fun hunting . sparky
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 6 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

Great product for the price

11/20/2012
By ,
Dudley, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for blending in with the woods. Perfect for turkey hunting. It's made of very heavy duty mesh, much better than I expected. It doesn't have as much leafy camo as I thought it was going to, but if you wear something dark or camo underneath it's perfect. Lightweight enough to be comfortable.
A previous review mentioned that the hood was a raingear type material, but they must have undated the product since because mine was mesh throughout. I would definately buy this again. Well worth the money and you can customize it with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 7 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho
10/20/2013
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for bowhunting. It's light and compact- I carry it in my pack and put it on when I get to my ground blind. It's more effective if you are sitting because the 3-d leaves, which are sewn in horizontal strips about 6 inches apart and somehwhat thin (as others have noted) get more broken up and appear fuller in a sitting position compared with standing. As others have said, wear it with at least a camo shirt. The arm loops can be tightened to keep the fabric away from your bow arm and release. The mesh backing is sturdy. If you wanted to beef it up the camo density you could tie on strips cut from one of those inexpensive leaf pattern ground blinds, but for now I plan on using mine as-as.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

Great Ghillie Poncho!!!

07/27/2012
By ,
Brownsburg, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For not being Military grade this is actually a good Ghillie ponho. Very light weight mesh construction. Great air movement through. No heavy duty smothering under plastic!!! For the materials & contruction the price could have been lower but still a great buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 9 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho
03/05/2012
By ,
Coventry RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being part of a search and rescue team I use this to hide in the woods. So that the team can't see me as they train to try to find me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 10 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

good

10/24/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
surprised it is lightweight better than picture
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho

Good camo

03/28/2012
By ,
Central Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is good quick camo. I plan to use it for wildlife photography and maybe hunting. It appears to be made very well made and looks durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point