Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Generic Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

The Danby 3.6 cu. ft. Chest Freezer is perfect for placement in your garage, rec room or office, and fits neatly in smaller spaces for versatile freezer storage. Use it to freeze popsicles, TV dinners, meat, fish and more. The front-mount mechanical thermostat lets you customize the freezer's internal temperature, and the foam-insulated cabinet and lid keeps your food frozen. This versatile chest freezer also features a manual defrost function, and comes with a defrost drain and vinyl-coated basket.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
47
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation96%152 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 75 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
47
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Excellent Compact Chest Freezer

08/22/2009
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched freezers online for about two weeks. I needed a freezer that would fit the dimensions of the only spot we could fit it in our apartment kitchen. This was the largest capacity freezer we found for the size.
This freezer has more room inside than I thought it would, the interior is very efficient. The external back of the freezer is clean and flush, no exterior cooling coils. The front feet are height-adjustable and the rear feet are actually small wheels. Even when full, the freezer is pretty easy to move across a linoleum floor. It has a front drain to attach a hose when defrosting.
I bought a freezer thermometer for a few bucks to put inside. It has an adjustable thermostat but you won't know what the temperature is inside without using a thermometer. The freezer holds its temperature very well and is nearly silent when it runs.
If this freezer meets the size and price you are looking for, then buy it. It's an excellent freezer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Great for a fifth-wheel trailer

04/09/2014
By ,
Nashua, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before I chose this Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer. I only had a very limited space in my fifth-wheel trailer for a freezer. The other more serious consideration was the freezer's specifications. I had to get it thru the very narrow doorway of the trailer. I could have fit a 3-cu ft freezer but The Danby 3.6-cu ft had the best reviews, cost a bit more, but fit the specifications for space. It came very well packaged. It took no time to get cold and is very quiet. I read the instructions that came with the freezer. Made sure the vent was not up against the wall. I can't wait to get a bag of ice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Nice size especially for 1-2 people

01/14/2014
By ,
Southern Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great freezer especially for 1-2 people. I didn't want a large freezer and this fit the bill. Nice and compact with plenty of freezer space. Definitely a winner in my book. Runs very quiet. Overall looks very nice. I did a lot of research on this before I purchased it. Came within a few days to my house packed very well via FedEx.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Handy Appliance

09/09/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this small freezer to keep in our 5th wheel travel trailer. There is limited space in an RV freezer and a bag of ice takes up the entire top part of it leaving only minimal space for food. This puts you at the grocery store every 2-3 days! Having this freezer now lets me buy in bulk and store it there until needed. Its compact size is great, not taking much room away from our small living space in the RV. I am very happy with it and with it making no noise, we hardly even know it's there! I recommend this product to anyone needing extra freezer space with limited living space!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

12 years and going strong

07/07/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this freezer 12 years ago and it is still going strong. I have kept this freezer outside under a covered porch for the last 5 years, this has not in anyway affected the performance or exterior.
I would strongly recommend this product to anyone in need of a small freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Worth the Money

12/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited 6 months to offer my review and am very pleased with the freezer. Having a small family (3), it easily holds those extra items bought on sale which previously would not fit in my refrigerator freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Danby 3.6-cu ft Freezer

04/17/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perhaps a little more time need elapse in order to properly review this item however, here is my first impression. Only up and running for a week now, and so far, perfect! Owners manual states, keep temp control knob at maximum position for 3-4 hours, then back off to about 2:00 position. My experience thus far is that the 7:30, or just barely on position keeps this unit plenty cold (right about 0-2 degrees, or the recommended temperature for frozen foods). Recommended manual defrost frequency is only 1-2 times yearly. Quite a bit of room as well (Nine half gallons of ice cream and plenty of room left). Another reviewer has had hers for twelve years and still running properly! A good cost/value ratio for a small freezer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

The perfect one

12/21/2008
By ,
Terre Haute, In.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the perfect on for my needs. Just the right size and it runs very quiet. My home is very small and this is the only one I could find that would fit where it needed to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Just what we needed!!!

06/03/2008
By ,
Inver Grove Heights, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this freezer! It's just what we needed.
My husband and I have two little girls, and we love to shop the food deals and stock up while the family favorites are on sale. This freezer is the perfect size if you just need some extra room. It isnt too big, where it's a waste of space, and it's not too little where you can only fit a few things in it. It's a great middle size!
It is really quiet, it only makes a really quiet humming noise, nothing you can notice at all.
I loved the site to store option. It took about two weeks, but was worth saving the money for shipping.
The door holds itself open, no worring about it falling on you while your looking for something.
Over all, it was worth the money, and i would recommend this product to anyone looking for some extra freezer space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Great for Small Apartments

05/06/2008
By ,
Federal Way, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product looks bigger than it sounds, has a storage basket for bread and it fits great in a small kitchen about the size of a dishwasher for comparison. Will store at least two months worth of food for a single person or a single mom with one child, if you cook. So far so good. Best of Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Excellent Value, Excellent Product!

02/21/2012
By ,
Long Beach, California (in LB Towne Center)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all the glowing reviews and comparing prices for the product online (including shipping), this was by far the best deal. All you need is a friend with a truck and a dolley! The reviewers who mentioned how quiet it is - it's true! I'm picky about sound, I want QUIET in my little studio apt. I returned a frig/freezer purchased from Compact Appliances because it was so loud. This will make a slight noise every so often, but not enough to notice unless you're trying. I've had it for over a week and can't say enough good things about it! I kept the styrofoam piece that is the size of the freezer to use as a base so that it doesn't make indentations in the rug.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

As advertised

02/12/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little freezer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Danby 3.6 cf. chest freezer - good so far.

11/24/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first order got lost in transit so Walmart reordered the freezer for me and I received it 11-13, so I have had it only 11 days, since I haven't had it very long I gave four stars to everything, but it was delivered in good condition with no scratches or dents.
I let it sit for 24 hours as I had read another person had done because of the compressor needing to settle down. I love the wheels in back and had no trouble putting it where I needed it to be. I turned it on after 24 hours and let it cool down and then I adjusted it to read just past zero degrees on the thermomoter I had clipped inside of the freezer. I put things from my overcrowded refrig/freezer into it and bought a couple of storage baskets to organize it. Later I bought a bag of ice and my Thanksgiving turkey (I bought the turkey early since I could keep it frozen until I needed to defrost it. It was a 21 lb turkey and the ice and turkey fit perfectly.)
So far it has performed to my expectations and I expect it to be very helpful in being able to shop sales and having space to keep items frozen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Warranty awful, product unsatisfactory

02/06/2014
By ,
Grand Rapids MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have had service to repair broken seal 2x and indicator bulb 4x, service totaling 6 times, all within just a few months of purchase. Warranty only covers ONE service call but out of the goodness of the service company they continued to repair until finally they said they couldn't anymore. Danby was shocked service company continued to repair and I think the service company will have to bite that cost. Thus I am left with an inferior product that still needs the 5th indicator bulb. Folks, the average length of the bulb is 4-6 weeks. Danby said, Yes, they know the life of the bulb is not long. I bought the freezer because some freezers don't have the indicator light which is important to know if the freezer is ON. And the seal? Cracked and calked. Not good.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Great Product

10/20/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this freezer and it is compact and does not take up a lot of room in my rather small kitchen. The freezer has several different settings that my youngest child loves to turn and play with (it is very close to the floor). The product is nice and I have not had any problems. The freezer is durable and has withstood visitors sitting on it and kids running into it with toys with no dents or visible stratches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Functional, atrractive, freezes fast

01/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Froze in an hour. Freezes the food very fast. I am not a big fan of chest freezers but we don't have room for the stand up kind. I was pleasently suprised by the appearance because it doesn't have the sharp corners that many chest freezers have. It is smooth and doesnt look like a metal box in my kitchen. There is a temperature adjustment which is usually not the case with chest freezers.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

must buy

05/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product over a year a go, and it works great. My APT freezer couldn't keep some of my food frozen and bought this product. freezer chest is in a room that gets hot in the summer, and still has no problems keeping food frozen. Its very quite, and doesn't take up much room, which is ideal for my small apt. I was worry since i never heard of danby. I just bought a A/C from danby since my hair doesn't work as well. If you are looking for a freezer chest, look no futher.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

great product

05/20/2009
By ,
central ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i've had this compact freezer for about 2 months and there has only been a small up-tick in the electic bill. very quite. easy to load; i added two plastic bins to keep smaller items from shifting around when i want to remove an item. it does hold a lot of food. i would reccomend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Very Efficient

03/02/2012
By ,
Utah Desert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I filled this little Danby with frozen food. It took 6 days before the freezer had to come on again to drop the temperature. Even with the ambient air temperature in the high 60's low 70's. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Danby 3.6-cu ft Chest Freezer

Dandy chest freezer

05/27/2012
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well i've had this little freezer for 6 mon's now
Run's very quit it hold's a lot of food.
I live in mobilhome so i don't have a lot of room so i have it in my kichen.
The size is prefect..It has 2 wheels on the back ..2 leg's on the front.
Very easy to move even when it's full..You won't go wrong if you buy this freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next