Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes

For more counter and storage space, the Mainstays Kitchen Island is the perfect solution. Whether you want to chop vegetables or keep all your kitchen accessories at your reach, this kitchen island comes handy. You can conveniently slice bread or cut vegetables on the butcher-block top of this white kitchen island. The butcher-block top has a drop leaf panel that lets you maximize or reduce the work surface as per your convenience. You can even hang your hand towels in the included hanger. This portable island features several concealed storage compartments to help you store the things you need in your kitchen. Casters in this island allow you to easily move the cart all around your home. Easy to assemble, this butcher block top kitchen island in white adds style to any kitchen decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.807 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(383 Reviews) 343
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
117
3 stars
49
2 stars
22
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation80%308 out of 383reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
117
3 stars
49
2 stars
22
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Surprisingly Easy Assembly

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the White one 9/12/14 in the store. I selected this one after looking at several other rolling kitchen carts on-line & in-stores. This cart was sturdy, not some flimsy particle board. It has a wooden butcher block top. It was priced much lower than others I looked at that were cheaply made. Checking the weight on the boxes helped me see which ones were particle board as well as in the detail info on websites.
Pros: Instructions were understandable, all parts included except Phillips Screwdriver, hardware was in a blister package clearly labeled on front side of package, no scratches on paint or on butcher block top, all screws/dowels/supports fit properly & it took me about 3.5 hours to assemble (for me that's great!). It is sturdy, good quality & a good price in comparison to others.
Cons: One of the casters was mislabeled but using the diagram in the instructions you could figure it out & one of the side panels was missing 2 pre-drilled holes. These were easily correctable issues. One suggestion to manufacturer: print the hardware #'s on the back of the package as well since you open from the back & remove items as needed from the back.
Glad I went with this product, perfect for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Love my new Kitchen Island

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new kitchen island is just what I needed. I gave away my kitchen table and having the island cart works out perfectly since I don't eat in the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

very nice in your kitchen

09/10/2014
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this to replace the one i had.My old one was white and when my dog was a pup she chewed on it.I found this one on the web site and i really liked the looks of it.Only took 2 days to come to the house instead of having to pick it up.It was free delivery to my house also. Setting it up took about 30 minutes my husband and son had it together very easily with no problems. Everything matched and it looks great in my kitchen. Its made very well and very sturdy. It holds a lot more than i thought it would. I am very pleased with it. I would defiantly by this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Good storage and ease of use; "solid wood top" not

09/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Attractive cart :) All parts in one blister pack, good! Opening the back to get one and turning it over to see the next, bad! Everything falls out! Hint, label all on the back with the numbers first. Get your tools ready first. It does not seem to me that the "solid wood top" is solid wood. I'm now using a butcherblock cutting board to save the surface. Oh, and that 4"x5" sticky label on the top - HORRENDOUS! I can't get the goo off! And, finally, they did not include the white plugs to cover all the cam-lock and screw holes. I'm going to have to buy them myself. The smell from the parts or paint is a bit overwhelming.
That being said, an overall good value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

A part was missing for assembly.

09/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Great for little or no space.

09/07/2014
By ,
Portland, ME.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice addition for a very small kitchen. Well made and easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes

I like this cart but I dont love it

07/22/2014
By ,
Scranton PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this cart for a couple of months. One of the doors on the bottom is uneven. Also the drawer is pretty flimsy. The bottom falls out from the track and then there is a gap. Not a huge issue since all the items say put but it is annoying. We finally stuck a plastic knife udnerneath it so it stays in place. Other then that I really like this unit. I use the bottom for storage and the top I placed my microwave. My microwave is huge and it fits perfectly on this. It is super sturdy because my microwave is HUGE. I also like the pull out part on the right because I use it for extra storage. I dont love this unit but I do like it a lot. I think if they had made the drawer better then this would have been an awesome unit!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 8 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Very nice for my aunt's kitchen.

08/29/2014
By ,
Bolingbrook,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
She is using it for her microwave and it is perfect and matches her cabinets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Great cart for the price!

08/27/2014
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cart is solid and very nice looking. It has a nice heavy butcher block top. I would have given it five stars but like other reviews some of the drilled holes didn't match up well and some cogs wouldn't stay locked. It didn't seem to effect the sturdiness though. I didn't have any problems with the pins that hold the inside shelf up, it works fine. It took about an hour to put together. Love the packaging for all the screws. Wish they didn't put a sticker on the butcher block. It's hard to get the stickiness off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

A kitchen island worth getting!

08/25/2014
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together. All pieces identified. Works perfectly for what we need. In fact my son and daughter-in-law are going to get one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

nice product

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy assembly, all parts included and nice piece of furniture
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Good if you can put it together

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fedex delivered this item to the wrong door and there it was left outside in the rain for 2 days before I got it. The carton was a soggy mess but I decided to try to put the cart together anyway. It took 2 people a whole afternoon and we got it mostly together, except some of the screws wouldn't go all the way in. It looks OK, however, and I hope it won't collapse on me! The locking casters don't altogether do their job--the cart tends to move around even with the 2 casters locked. The price was good, compared to other carts, and I think it will serve my purposes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Less value for more money

08/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought one of these kitchen island carts in December, 2012 and a second one in August, 2014. The first was satisfactory; because of my kitchen layout there was room for a second one, and I liked the idea of having even more storage space and counter space. But in months between the first and second purchase, the price went up 30 per cent. I took the plunge anyway. The newer unit, however, is more cheaply made -- poorer paint job, for instance. And the first unit included caps to cover up exposed bolt holes. Not so with the second one. I called the supplier, and caps are absolutely not available any more. The unit looks unfinished without them. I solved the problem with white pressure sensitive labels. But why did they stop furnishing the caps? They couldn't have cost them more than 50 cents. Like so many other things these days, the price goes up and the quality/value goes down. Oh, well. I still like having two carts. My "recommendation" is conditional.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Fantastic Kitchen Cart for a Very Reasonable Price

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very hesitant before buying this because I was thinking it would be particle board. I was shocked, it was real wood. None of the pieces in my box were damaged or missing. I noticed that in some of the reviews, people were stating that things were crooked or not shutting properly. Perhaps its not the cart, but you, the person that assembled it? I followed the clear and concise directions and mine looks amazing and is very durable!!! I only experienced one minor problem...when I was tightening one of the cam bolts, I tightened it too much and broke the bolt. I e-mailed the manufacturers e-mail address that came with the parts inventory list and they are sending a new set of hardware out to me. I would highly recommend this kitchen cart. I'm SO glad I purchased it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

White Kitchen Island Cart by Mainstays

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We like our new cart very much. It is attractive, and easy to move around. The drawer holds a normal amount of kitchen gadgets, and a normal size fork,knife,spoon holder tray. Our pots fit in the bottom that used to fit in our old metal 1948 cabinet...remember your Mother's and Grandmother"s...that one. All is working nicely, and we very much like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

A very good Item for the Kitchen

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very nice Kitchen Island that was simple to put together. I should have gotten the lager one !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Very nice.

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very substantial cart for the price. It is just what I needed to add a little extra work and storage space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Great storage

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a small kitchen with very little counter space and storage. This is perfect. It allows for extra storage and prep space and it's just the right size. Easy to put together and sturdy. Only complaint is the smell. It's a little strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Great

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for small kitchen Apartment like in New York City. My 21 year dll Daughter put this together all by herself :) I was so happy when I got home and seen it .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromMainstays Kitchen Island Cart, Multiple Finishes.

Exactly what I needed

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kitchen is woefully short on counter space and I needed a little extra for the coffee, wine etc. Some friends recommended this to me and they were right on- great size. I bought the natural finish and it is quite nice. Not particle board - wood. The instructions for assembly are okay, just don't get in a hurry and you will have no problem- quite a few pieces so plan to take an hour. Just lay everything out first and don't skip ahead!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 344 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next