Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Enjoy dual-screen DVD viewing with this RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System. It consists of a DVD player with a built-in LCD screen and an auxiliary LCD screen. The system's headrest attach straps allow your kids to watch movies in comfort. Integrated speakers and headphone jacks provide listening flexibility.
Average Customer Rating:
1.786 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation18%5 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Don't Waste Your Money

05/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first bought these Dvd players they worked great. Then 3 weeks later the main consolse just stopped working. This is a complete waste of your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 2 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731
05/26/2011
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these over 1 year ago and never have had any issues with them. I leave them in the car 24/7 and they play without fail. The only issue, as with many portable dual screens ,is they restart the movie every time you restart the car, but what better time to start everyone reading by using the remote! I am purchasing my 2nd set today for the back seat kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
Philips
Posted 07/20/2011
I have the Philips DVD player and it does not start the movies over it picks up where it left off.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Do not buy!

04/16/2011
By ,
Hampton,va
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was the worst $ ever spent.. Worked a month, and then just stopped working.. Wish I never bought.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+28points
Review 4 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

worked only once

04/26/2011
By ,
Wylie, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this dvd system and it worked the first time. The second time I got it out to use it it wouldn't come on. It was too late to return it since the 15 day return policy had passed. Now I'm out the money I spent on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+17points
Review 5 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Worked once. Don't Buy!

05/26/2011
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked fine on our trip down to Florida. On our trip home the player would not load or read the discs. Has never worked since.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
+17points
Review 6 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

My kids like it

05/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kids enjoy the movie from 2 screens. Great value.. and still working..
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 7 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Too Many Lines

03/29/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Upon intial installation, these players worked fine. Perfect solution for the two kids even though they have to watch the same movie. First trip in the car, post-installation, the "controlling" dvd exhibited a line straight across the screen. Within 10 minutes, another line showed up. Can't get rid of them. Will be returning these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Good Price

05/24/2011
By ,
Buffalo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is very low price to get 2 screens. Mine is working fine for 3 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fennimore
RCA Monitor
Posted 10/05/2011
I purchased these about 4 months ago and already with minimal use they have stopped working, and RCA Customer Service was no help at all.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Piece of JUNK!

08/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this on a whim as my 15 month old was fussy on a long trip. It worked great for that 2 day trip. After having a week of hot weather, we used the car again and the machine would skip and not play a dvd. We messed with the dvd portion and it would ONLY play if completely on its back. Otherwise it would skip and we could hear the dvd actualy rubbing the cover of the player (the back of the screen portion). We can no longer hang it on the back of the headrest as we originally had it. If you tighten the straps too tight it will skip whether it is brand new or not. This was a really disappointing purchase seeing how RCA is such a prominent video brand. I guess all good businesses get the cheap-o bug eventually.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 10 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

DOES NOT WORK - DO NOT BUY!

06/21/2011
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this as a gift for my 3 month old daughter for Xmas and we didn't try it until she was 6 months old for a long car ride. It worked for a few hours and then kept saying no disc. I exchanged it for the same product. I used it once for a short trip and tried it again and it again said no disc and wouldn't work. It is clearly, as I have witnessed and as seen in other reviews, a terrible product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 11 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Terrible Product

08/02/2011
By ,
Rapid City, SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought these for a four day car trip with my 2 toddlers. Worked fine the first day but screen would only read "no disc" on the second. Stopped by a Walmart on the road and exchanged the players, same story with second system - worked fine the first day and read "no disc" the second. Obviously there is a problem with these players. Reading the other reviews this product should be removed from the market. These players are priced well but they were a big splurge for us on our vacation. It was very disappointing to have to travel with out entertainment for our little ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

bought two; returned both

07/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this product because of the price and the product features. It worked the first few times as we were trying it out. Within a week, it wouldn't read the disk and it was as if the disk was not spinning evenly. We tried several DVDs and even new ones. We exchanged it for the same product because of the price and hoping we just bought a bad one. The second one would read the DVDs most of the time, but would freeze. We returned this one as well. Fortunately, ours messed up within two weeks of purchase, and we were able to return to the store for a complete refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Worst product, don't waste your money

08/01/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought it ONLY because the store did not carry what I was looking for and I needed one for our 11 hour trip the next day. Big mistake! Couldn't play a single movie all the way through without freezing and no way of unfreezing the movie short of turning it off and trying it again or just watching another movie all together. Tried 4 different movies, no luck. Save yourself the headache and buy a Sylvania.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 14 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Lasted 6 hours

07/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We received this product as a gift for a long family trip. The DVD player worked fine for the initial trip down, but on the way back it couldn't find the disc (we tried multiple DVD's) and refused to play. I realize what a low price it was, but a product life of 6 hours is ridiculous, even by today's standards. As far as I'm concerned the RCA brand will not get a second chance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 15 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

piece of junk expect about a month out of it

08/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had our for a month, used it on and off for short trips around town running errands, then when it finally came time for a family trip it didnt even make it through the first movie. The disk started making noises like it was wobbling then quit playing hasnt worked since. I know $99 is cheap but a life of 6 weeks is a rip.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 16 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Don't waste your money!

07/26/2011
By ,
Gillette, WY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The idea here is great but this product is a piece of junk! The second screen quit working right after we bought it on it's first trip and the main screen quit working about 3 months later. Don't waste your money on this product go for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Horrible! Save your money.

07/21/2011
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this on a 4 hour beach trip with my daughter. It worked on the way to the beach and not on the way back. It said no disc and never worked again. I can't believe RCA would keep these on the market with all the problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 18 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Works for a year

11/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just returned my second set of dvd players to the store. The first set I received for a gift for my little boy at Christmas 2009. It worked for a year and then stopped working. The next year, we received a replacement one, with a 1-year extended warranty. I am so happy for the warranty. It was very easy to get them replaced. I am opting this time for the Sylvania product with two separate dvd players, so that if one breaks, I will have a back-up. I think that for $100 and every day use, one year is not such a bad deal...but I haven't purchased them, either. I've received them as gifts. I suppose if I had to buy them, it might hurt a little more. I do recommend the warranty! $6 is not a bad price for peace of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731
07/19/2011
By ,
VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this about two years ago and worked good till the second screen stopped working. then 4 hours in to are trip this last month the main one stopped working. i was driving 20 hours with two kids i need it bad lol. found a walmart and bought a new one, here not even a month later it turns on but dont play, i saved the box and im taking it back. its nice and i like them just not going to put but with some thing that stops working a month or two years later. going to try some thing new and see were that takes me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for RCA Dual 7" Mobile DVD System, DRC99731

Don't buy

11/11/2011
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this in July 2011 for a road trip, it lasted the 4 hour car trip there and back -- then stopped working. It would have the blue "start up" screen come on, then never go any further. We returned it and bought another of the same model, hoping it was a fluke. Nope. Second one would only play laying flat, if we put it on the headrest in the car, wouldn't work. Returned it also and are still looking for another brand. Wasted time, but thankfully Walmart did fully refund it both times.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next