Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Sauder Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

This Sauder Harbor View Computer Desk is the perfect addition to your home office, guest bedroom, or basement. Pick an unused corner, add this Corner Computer Table and, voila, instant work station. The whole family can use this Corner Computer Desk: The kids can do their homework, mom can manage the household and dad can take care of taxes and other paperwork. Everyone will want to use the family computer at this comfortable desktop table. The desk is great looking with gently curved lines and Antiqued Paint finish, and the Melamine surface is heat, stain and scratch resistant. To make all your office tasks easier, the desk features a storage area to house a vertical CPU tower and a drawer that fits either European or standard file sizes. This desk has the typical Sauder construction that makes it comfortable and convenient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%26 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Very Nice Desk

09/11/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great desk. Very sturdy and constructed very well. I purchased the hutch with this and it looks fantastic in my room. I love the antiqued look about it too. Takes some time to put together but well worth it. It can be assembled to fit in any corner of the room you like and the drawers can go on either side. The keyboard tray can also be mounted on either side or in the middle. If your looking for something with a lot of work space this is the desk for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Great Desk

03/05/2013
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, the wood on top is darker than in the photo, which I think is good, it looks a lot better than the photo. It took my husband about 4 hours to put together by himself, with a good drill, apparently this is the new record. It looks great, the wood seems really nice. So far it is sturdy, although I have only had it for a week. I do wish the cabinet had a shelf in it, since I have a Mac and don't need the space for a PCU. But we'll probably just end up building one in there. Overall, it's just what I wanted, not too huge, but big enough for me to spread out my work. It looks great in my house and I love "going" to work everyday!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Damaged in transit, poor packaging

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This items was damaged on several pieces due to poor packaging. I know shipping handlers are not great, but packaging should have better protected....I will need to contact Sauder to see if they will ship replacement pieces. Assembly was a little long, but precision fit....no issues. Really good features on this unit, good price, looks great, my son is really enjoying. A bit of a pain now to replace some of the damaged panels....my only big issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Nice desk for the price

09/22/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This desk is very nice and seems to be made well. Time will tell on how long it holds up with normal, gentle use. I will say that the instructions are horrible. It took my husband and me at least 4 hours to put it together and he is always very good at this sort of thing. Not all of the parts are labeled so you have to do a lot of searching and matching up to the pictures in the book. Have patience if you're going to purchase this desk. All in all though we're very happy we purchased it and the site to store was much quicker than what they said it would be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Nice looking desk.

08/27/2014
By ,
Morgantown, WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The desk is nice but it did come with a few scratches on the desktop.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Fantastic Product for the $, with only two "buts"

11/09/2013
By ,
Sunny Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Harbor View Corner desk appears to be a quality product for the relatively low cost. The engineering of their products is amazing. Everything fit precisely and every hole was drilled exact, making assembly very easy. When looking at the measurements, this desk seems gigantic,,, in reality I wish it were a bit larger. (that was not one of my two "buts"). If you are looking for an attractive functional corner desk at a very reasonable price, and you have the ability to use such complicated tools as a screw-driver, I recommend this product. Though using a power driver will make it much less painful.
Now for the "BUTS".
But # 1 - I am rather amazed that Sauder would have a product of such high quality and engineering and would supply such low quality instructions. The illustrations and wording leave a lot to be desired. This is the reason for 4 stars on "ease of set up". It seems Sauder went to great lengths in the engineering of their products and really skimped on the instruction booklet.
But # 2 - If purchasing the optional hutch, be ware of this. The way Sauder wants you to attach the hutch (after building it and the desk) is rather insane. After completing the desk, they want you to remove the top surface (s) an attach the hutch to the desk tops and then re-install. You may need two men and a boy to do this! With all the fantastic engineering they put into this product, they certainly fall short on this one. Sauder,,, a simple bracket system that attaches to the desk during the build process should be supplied. Sauder's current way seems to be nothing but an after-thought.
Keep in mind that if this desk is going in a carpeted room, once it is built and in place, it is very difficult to move. My initial thought was to put some brackets on the back of the desk and attach (with screws) the desk to the hutch. Problem being that once it is in place (on carpet) you can't move it without the risk of damaging it.
I painted two "L" brackets flat black and used them to attach desk top to hutch. Seems to work for me.
So, all in all, this is a really nice product. I am not upset (as some are) that the back panels of these products are made cardboard. That is common in all break-down products in this price range. I am not disappointed that the product is engineered particle board,, agian,, you can not get solid furniture grade wood for this price.
Over all, I do recommend this product, so long as your expectations are realistic.
PS... For your average person,, don't think you are going to get this box out of your car and carry it into your house by yoursel! Consider opening the box in the car (or truck) and taking it in - a piece at at time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Fantastic looking Desk

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this desk, although I didn't have a hard time puttingit together I would say that a first timer might. The directions were a little hard to follow, but if you use your common sense it will be fine. Well made and heavy. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Great Desk

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great. Very well made. Best deal all the way around for the money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Very nice computer desk.

03/20/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for an affordable corner computer desk, compact enough for an apartment, this is great. It is constructed of particle board and veneer (as you would expect at this price), but is very sturdy and looks good. The drawers are on metal rollers, so they operate smoothly, and the cabinet is spacious. The support in the corner doesn't protrude into the space under the desk, so we were able to add more storage. Construction was pretty straightforward. If you are attaching the hutch, you will want to read both sets of directions before getting started. We didn't, and had to undo some of the work on the desk to attach the hutch.
The backing for the cabinet and drawers is thick paperboard that has wood grain print on one side and is matte black on the back. Both pieces are perforated, allowing you to remove a large center rectangle for ventilation for the computer cabinet (even though you would never remove the center for the drawers). This is only visible if you choose not to put the desk into a corner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Quality product for a manufactured wood piece.

10/29/2012
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As with all large pieces of furniture I have assembled, this one takes more time than originally anticipated. But, the results are worth it!
All pieces fit together as intended -- it just took a bit of time to review the directions. Although you are able to swap the drawer end with the cabinet end, the directions were only given for one installation and it took some thought to flip things. Not all large pieces are labeled, but the pictures are relatively explanatory. There was almost no extra hardware provided so do not lose anything!
This piece is very nice looking when assembled and it is both roomy and solidly built. I do have a couple of thoughts on things that could be done better, however. The drawers are a bit small. The top two drawers are only about 12"x12" (inside) and the bottom file drawer is about 12"x14.5". None of the drawers fully extend so it makes it a bit tight getting things out of the back or accessing files. I do not use the cabinet for my computer CPU, so it would be nice to have the option to place shelves inside for additional storage.
After assembling my desk, we considered buying one for my husband. Unfortunately it is no longer available at Walmart.com. Apparently the manufacturer is now only selling it as a package, bundled with the hutch. Hopefully this will change in the future & Walmart will again carry this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Excellent value

12/16/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be more pleased with this desk after putting it together. The best part is the desk top. It is a melamine surface much like countertop material but not as durable but more stain, water, and cut resistant than real wood. The top grain is very good to for a laminate also. I would've liked to see more wood grain than black show through on the rest but I guess that is my taste. Desk seem sturdy enough to lean on but not stand on though but what do you expect for $250? I would've expected to pay $350 for a corner desk that is 66" long each side so I gave it a five star for value, expectations, and features. I gave it only 4 stars because there is more black than wood grain. I gave it 4 stars for durability cause it scratched easily while putting together but that was my fault but still scratched when joining the two sides. Ease of set-up is only 4 stars because of the heaviness of the items requiring 2 people optimally however I put together the two ends by myself with some ingenuity on my back with hands and feet guiding them together. A word of caution if you buy the hutch. It says put hutch together first and join desktop to hutch then assemble desk part. That required 2 people to lift without damaging so I just put on the desk and used 4 brass L brackets (2"x2") and brass screws to attach it to the desk. I feel safer that way also. Desk has so much more free space with the hutch also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish
10/02/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this desk from Walmart because it was the cheapest price among other stores. The site to store pick up was fine. My only complaint is some of the parts were missing. It wasn't Walmart's fault, but its a bummer to have a half finished desk while we wait for the parts to be sent from the manufacturer.
The keyboard drawer can only go on one side- I wish there was an option for both sides. It's a nice big desk and it feels really sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Great desk for price.

09/19/2012
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Desk is very sturdy and wasn't even too hard to build. Good desk if you want to hide all of your wires. Wish it had a couple of cord holes in the computer compartment leading under the desk top (had to drill those myself). Not a big deal for me. Also, the backs of the drawer area and computer area are made of cardboard. Would have been nice if they were wood.
Note:
1. keyboard shelf installs on either side as well as center and is 28" wide.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Not the best Sauder kit

06/24/2013
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unfortunately I have to give this product a bad rating. Walmart isn't at fault here, This is one of the worst Sauder kits that I have put together. The first major thing is the longer modesty panel was 1/4" too long. The holes did not match up. It was either cut thr panel or drill holes so it could be attached to the other components. The other thing is that the two tops don't come together for a tight fit. There is about 1/8" gap. Just enogth to collect dust and dirt. The problem here is that the longer top has a rounded edge. The shorter has a straight edge. You don't have to be an engineer to figure that one out. The drawers don't open very far. Hard to get stuff in & out. Finally, the instruction sheet could have been written better. drpavoni
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Great looking desk

03/19/2014
By ,
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Sauder Desk. My Son and daughter took my old ones when they left for University and are still being used after 10 years of heavy use. This desk was very simple to put together and is very sturdy. I put it together in a couple of hours, taking my time. The top is much nicer than the photo, darker and with more cherry tones. I ordered the matching book shelf and file cabinet, my home office looks very nice. No regrets about buying online. I am sure it will be as durable as my others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Horrible instructions but love the desk!

01/03/2014
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed 2 people to assemble. The Sauder instructions are very poorly written. I now have 3 pieces of Sauder office furniture and the directions for all 3 were awful. If you get stuck, do not waste time trying to figure it out just go to the Sauder.com website and watch some of the video tips for assembly. Will save you time and frustration! Other then that I love the desk!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Question
Posted 01/07/2014
I love the look of this desk but wondered if you could tell me how big is the top? Like from you to the wall. I cannot find that measurement anywhere and would love to buy this for me to use as a sewing desk but need to know the width of the top before I can decide. Thanks for your help!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Pretty good for the price.

01/20/2014
By ,
georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fairly easy to put together and pretty decent appearance. I wish the drawers pulled out farther, but overall a pretty nice desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

Nice desk but complicated instructions

01/02/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The desk is awesome. Love the color and very sturdy. One thing is you need patience to put it together. Took 6 hrs on and off to get it right. Huge desk too. Fit my office perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

LOVE THE DESK

12/19/2013
By ,
HOWARD CITY, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THANK YOU LOVE THE DESK IT WORKS GREAT IN MY OFFICE SPACE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Harbor View Corner Computer Desk, Antiqued Paint Finish

It is what it says

10/08/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price was very good for the product. It went together as the instructions said. When done the desk does not look cheap. They layout is very versatile during assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next