Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Bring home theater-like experience with the RCA 42" LED-LCD HDTV. With 1920 x 1080 full-HD resolution this RCA 42" 1080p TV puts you right in the center of the action. The RCA 42" LED-LCD HDTV delivers prime picture quality and enhanced connectivity while reducing your power consumption. The ultra-slim RCA 42" LED-LCD HDTV offers vivid colors and a slim depth. The high contrast ratio of 6000:1 delivers deep blacks for thrilling visuals. With wide 176-degree vertical and horizontal angles, you can enjoy a brilliant picture from any part of the room. Stay tuned on to your favorite digital broadcasts with its built-in digital tuner. HDMI combines uncompressed digital audio and video signals into a single cable for high-definition sources. Various types of inputs on the RCA 42" LED-LCD HDTV allow easy connection to a PC or a video game console.
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation58%11 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Definately worth it!

11/05/2011
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound from all flat panel TV's are poor....basically they have what amounts to headphone speakers at best (this is all brands)...As most reviewers state and as I planned anyway, audio is directed to another receiver/amplifier and sound quality is now made excellent. This particular model only has RCA out for audio...no optical or HDMI audio out. There are 4 HDMI in's which is a plus for those not using an AV receiver with multiple HDMI's.
Picture quality is outstanding, setup is easy, the remote isn't overloaded with cumbersome buttons and the manual gives codes for most brands of media players so you can program 1 remote to operate other devices.
This is a great buy...unfortunately is available online only; so you can't actually demo it in person...I took the chance and it is superior to most makes & models with the comparable features.
I can't comment on longevity as I have had it now for only 2 weeks.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q
08/11/2011
By ,
Stouchsburg, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The TV picture is awesome, but the sound is TERRIBLE!!! I was so excited to get this setup and enjoy, but as soon as the cable came on, I was like oh no... It sounded like I was listening to a song through my alarm clock speakers. It is muffled and not crisp. Even after going into the sound options, I was not happy. I will be returning this today, after 2 days of having it. If you are using surround sound, I would recommend this TV because the picture is very nice. If not, do not waste your time or money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Antonio, TX
Sound problems
Posted 11/28/2011
I agree with you on the sound quality from the speakers on this TV, but that is simply because the TV is much thinner than plasma and plain LCD flat panels because it is backlit with LEDs. Because of this much thinner design, there just simply isn't enough room to put better quality (larger) speakers into the case. Most people who buy flat panel televisions as big as this or bigger generally use it along with some sort of home theater system. I have an LG wireless bluetooth soundbar sitting in front of mine and use that almost exclusively when I'm watching TV.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

DO NOT BUY!!

07/24/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please take note to this review and the few other low ratings. I read the reviews about the power issues but chose to not listen because there were other positive reviews... Well that was a big mistake. I plugged in my tv and went through the initial set-up, left my TV on, and walked away for all of 5 mins. When I returned, my tv had shut itself off, never to power up again. I kid you not... we tried everything and got nothing. Such a beautiful tv and such a big disappointment. The good news is, it can be returned in-store, which was pretty hassle-free. Thank goodness for Wal-marts return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+23points
Review 4 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Best value for 42" 1080P

10/12/2011
By ,
Moosup, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The worst built-in sound ever from any TV. Light years beyond your deepest fears of horrid sound quality. Just use a 2.1 computer speaker set and plug into the headphones jack and it's mega-primo. The supplied remote now controls volume and mute fully (except the digital output, of course). Not enough SD AV inputs (only 1). Optical audio output AND coax would have been nice, but I have an external converter for that. Arrived with 4 HDMI ports not the advertised 3 (nice!). Very, very good picture in a dark or a bright room (jack up the sharpness away from the default 50% and its stunning). The price for what you get beats every other deal from anywhere by $hundreds.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Great Bargain

11/01/2011
By ,
MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Bought this tv from a competitor at a discounted closeout price of $349. With all the new LED tvs with 3D and internet connectivity hitting the market, it's great time to get these types of sets at a steal. Set up was easy and picture quality is stunning for the money. Great features and plenty of connectivity options. The sound is horrible however if you add a sound bar, pc speakers or home theatre system your good to go. I placed this tv in my bedroom with pc speakers and just wow. Not sure of the quality because I only had it for a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q
06/04/2011
By ,
CHI, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FOR THE MONEY, IT WAS WELL WORTH IT. SET UP, VERY EASY. JUST PLUG IT IN AND TURN IT ON. PICTURE WAS FANTASTIC. SOUND OK BUT NOT QUITE WHAT I EXPECTED. IT REALLY NEEDED SOME HELP, SO I ADDED A SOUND BAR WITH A SUBWOFFER. EVEN HAD NO PROBLEMS PICKING IT UP AT THE STORE, THREE DAYS EARLIER THAN I WAS TOLD UPON ORDERING.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 7 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

My second flat screen, better than the first.

08/28/2011
By ,
Chicago IL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow, the colors are amazing,the picture crisp and clear,but the speakers are too tinny sounding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

NOT A BAD BUY

08/19/2011
By ,
Allegany County - New York State
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PICTURE QUALITY IS EXCELLENT. SOUND QUALITY OF THE TV BY ITSELF IS MARGINAL AT BEST.
FAIRLY EASY TO HOOKUP AND OPERATE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Overall great value... very little negative

11/27/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased an off brand 32" LED-LCD from another store prior to finding this bargain. The 32" off-brand tv had WiFi but required additional equipment to stream content. When I saw this RCA on the website for the same money I paid for the 32", I promptly placed an order an took the other tv back to the retailer. It took nearly 2 weeks to get it shipped to my local wal-mart store, so I would say boo to the site-to-store shipping deal.... Overall, I'm quite pleased with the new TV with the exception of the following:
The sound quality is poor (but then again there's not exactly a whole lot of room for quality speakers in the slim design)
The packaging and online listing for the item both boast 120Hz refresh rate which is one thing that is important to me, but even when watching a blue-ray movie on it, it always displays 60Hz on the info box on the screen when it acquires the video signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q
07/06/2011
By ,
Pittston, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered 3 TVs and I have to send one back. It keeps shutting off by itself. It also needs to be unplugged before it will turn on again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Review 11 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Bad Picture

08/30/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall...ok. However once setup I found that the pixels were out in one area which resulted in a red line down the screen of the tv. Not sure if this is from the manufactuer, shipper, or wal mart itself. Still trying to have tv replaced
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Great buy for the money!

11/26/2011
By ,
Salem, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV has a great picture for the money. My only disappointment is in the speaker system. I purchase a sound bar also and for the money I spent I'm very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Great TV!

08/29/2011
By ,
Mt. Pleasant, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research to buy a TV for my husband's birthday. After months or research, this was the best TV for the money. Great price! The picture is awesome. The sound quality is great for us (some may like it a little better for surround). You do have to buy a HDMI cable cord which I did not. He had to go to the store and get this, but when we hooked it up-the picture was incredible. Highly recommend. Site to Store shipping too so their was no shipping costs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

TERRIBLE!!! DO NOT BUY!!!

12/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS TV!!! Yes, we thought we were getting a good buy, but the sound quality was TERRIBLE. We were watching a 42'' tv with the sound quality of the smallest TV made. As soon as we heard the sound, we tried to fix it, but it still wouldn't do anything. We ended up having to take it all down, return it, and purchase another new tv, that we are now 100% happy with. We ended up buying a Sanyo and are extremely pleased. Will never buy, or recommened RCA.
Save yourself from waiting in line to return this tv and DO NOT BUY!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 15 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Only for use with home stereo system.

09/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sound quality is terrible. Unless you have your own stereo sound you will be amazed at the poor quality. The picture is ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

U get what u pay for.... not a good deal.

11/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound quality was horible, Picture quality was bad, and the shipping was the worst i have ever seen. It took 2 weeks to get the TV with two delays... Not sure if i will ever buy from online Walmart ever again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Do not buy this TV

12/19/2011
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ten minutes after setup, this TV decided to shut off by itself. After turning it back on and watching a DVD for a few minutes, an audible popping sound was heard. This was followed by an actual sizzling sound at which point the picture pixelated beyond measure. Back to Wal-Mart it went. I bought a Vizio for a few dollars more and couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 18 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q
11/27/2011
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I have used Walmart.com to purchase any item. The' bundle value' was excellent, a 42" RCA LED LCD TV and a home theater package included. The FREE SHIPPING was another bonus to sweeten the deal.
We have been shopping for an LED LCD, 120HZ TV and KNOW THIS A GOOD DEAL!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for RCA 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.9" ultra-slim LED42A55R120Q

Great TV

12/30/2011
By ,
Baltimore, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Television at a great price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points