Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Viore Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Viore Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

The Viore digital converter box converts analog signals to digital signals, enabling your analog TV to receive up to 1,000 channels. It comes with a learning universal remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(223 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
64
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation78%174 out of 222reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
64
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Excellent product for non cable subscribers.

10/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always had cable service on my analog Tv. However this year I had to reduce my expenses & canceled my service but I could not get any local channels. My girlfriend told me I needed a digital to analog to receive local channels due to the conversion some years ago... (oh where have I been?) At any rate, I surfed the web and Walmart turned out to be best website as far as the average pricing for converter boxes. I read the consumer feedback to help me make a smart decision & so I ended up buying the Viore digital to analog box. This was an excellent decision because now I can watch my favorite shows which are "The View and Law & Order.
I am so happy my girl told reminded me about the 'digital to analog movement' & more importantly that I purchased Viore from Walmat . This product has a no set up, ready start feature that scans & displays all local channels. It also provides a tv guide for upcoming shows! . The only con of it is that there are times when the broadcast has some delays or freezes occasionally but if you're patient the channel will convert after a minor adjustment to the wires in the back of the box... Overall this is a great product that I recommend to a friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Arrived DOA, but I revived it.

02/21/2012
By ,
State College, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I got home with this unit it would not power on. A voltmeter showed nothing coming from the external AC to DC transformer. Rather than go through the support trouble-shooting and RMA process, I went to my collection of old power supplies. I eventually found one that fit and had enough DC output (needs at least 900 mA).
I am using this tuner to receive over the air digital signals using an outdoor antenna. Output through A/V RCA jacks is to a flat panel display which we bought several years ago before ATC tuners were mandated. It comes with a standard A/V cable with RCA plugs on each end.
Once powered on it was able to find all the local stations using the automatic programming. The unit is a little slow reacting to the remote, but it does the job. There is a signal strength meter and short program description on each channel. Picture and sound are consistantly good. I would recommend this to someone who needs an OTA converter box.
Because of the dead power supply, I cannot give it five stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Replacement for cable/satellite TV

01/05/2012
By ,
Northern NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up. Figured out how to scan without instructions. Gets about 40 channels. More than I expected in my area. Half are in english, the rest are Spanish & Asian, with a few audio only stations, & NOAA weather. Number of channels will depend on if you have a good antenna. I am using a Lava HD-2805.
Picture quality is very good when signal is strong enough. Works better than an older DTV box that I have. Doesn't "stutter" as much. Has on screen signal strenth meter for adjusting my antenna angle.
This would be a great box if digital TV signals were more consistant. Sometimes signal levels will go up and down. If they drop below a certain level you get the "stuttering" effect. Not a fault of the box, just DTV signals, similar to losing a cell phone signal.
Only downside to this box is no channel up/down buttons on the box, only on the remote. Some of the buttons are small & close together. Not much different than many small cell phones. I would buy another one of these if I needed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Great box, good price

11/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my wife picked this up, the lady at the counter said we'd bring it back, they just don't work.
While it's true I had to find and start the channel search function before anything showed up, and had to attach at least a small, passive VHF/UHF antenna we had from the analog TV days before any channels would show up, after that, this little box works fine. It's got all the little features I thought it wouldn't too - onscreen signal strength meter, TV guide for a long ways into the future, etc.
Now, it's true the guide is only available on the channel you are currently tuning, but I also got a top-rated box from ebay, which is supposed to have the best guide out there, and it's the same.
For the price, and the features, I'd recommend this to anyone. My only concern is whether it will stand the test of time - so many electronics die after a year or two due to poor engineering and/or quality controls on manufacturing. But there aren't many choices for converter boxes these days, and this one is a good value for the money, from my experience so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 5 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

OK box, and the cheapest option I found

10/13/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit gets quite warm (I'm not sure I would quite call it hot, but it gets there) compared to others. It comes with the 3-cord audio/video cable, not a coaxial like most converter boxes do. I found that with the supplied cord, there was a good deal of static in the sound, while it wasn't very noticeable when using my own coax connection. This may not be a universal issue. There is a TV guide programmed in which is definitely better than the one on the RCA box which is the only one that my local Wal-Mart stocks, but it's not super. It will show you the next 3 programs, or 3 hours (not sure which) on your current channel but doesn't give you a view of 5 channels over the next 4 hours or so like another box I have does. There is also a startup delay that I haven't seen in other boxes but I don't feel it's much of an issue. That said, this was the cheapest box I found online and it does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control
08/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't realize there were so many FTA HD channels availabe. I no longer feel the need for cable or dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+105points
Review 7 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

This Box Is Best

10/06/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've gone through the government-supplied "free" boxes (Apex was just horrendous), then to RCA (kept dropping signal). I have a very good antennae in my attic (Wineguard) with a pre-amp. I found this brand online and thought for this price, okay, why not. Setup was incredibly easy. I am so pleased with the signal transmission with this little unit; I have no pixilation, no dropped signals, no probs! The remote has very nice features, including PIP, and I programmed my TV for use with the remote. I highly recommend this converter box - if you can find it! I got Site-to-Store, and even though they estimated shipment on 10/17, I picked it up today (10/6). Hooray
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 8 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Very nice product

08/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product for those of us unable to obtain Cable TV. Works well, nice features and overall qaulity is great. Would buy again from this company.
Recommends this product? Yes
+141points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Convewrter Box
Posted 02/21/2012
I purchased a viore converter box because of all the great reviews however I am not having a good experience at all... i have no clue how to get it to work and to make matters worse the company does not answer their phone and never calls back... is there anyone who can help make my experience a good one... I am thinking to never purchase from this company again...thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Box Died In Less Than A Month

10/17/2011
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't give this product a good rating because it became inoperable in less than a month of ownership. The on/off button no longer shuts off the device, and it no longer displays any channels. Its display now consists of a line of lit dashes. It does not accept any input from the remote control device, and other than the on/off switch, there are no other control buttons on the box itself.
When it was working, it was a nice converter box. It is small, so it doesn't take up much space. The remote control that comes with it is a universal remote which also gives you TV/DVD/AUX controls. The instruction booklet that comes with the device gives you the codes for various manufacturers. The electronic program guide allows you to see a channel's listing of shows; there is a simple guide and a more detailed one. I found that you had to point the remote directly in front of the device for it to work; it didn't really work well if you were at a right angle to the device. A complaint about converter boxes that I've read is that they run hot, but I didn't find that to be true about the Viore, though the electrical plug was always a bit warm.
Initial channel reception was good, and the auto-scan process worked well and quickly. You need an external antenna capable of receiving the digital broadcasts for the device to work properly. I used a Mohu Leaf antenna, and depending on the time of day, I would pull in from 19 to 25 channels in the NY metro area with that antenna; when I tried it with a rabbit-ears antenna, I received much fewer stations. On channels where the signal was strong enough, I'd receive a clear image. On the weaker signal channels, there would be pixelation, which is the annoying thing about digital broadcasts.
I think that this is one of those devices that if you get one that works, you're going to be satisfied with your purchase. From what I've since been reading about converter boxes, it doesn't seem as though many of them, no matter what the brand, last for more than a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 10 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control
08/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tiny box not only fixed my reception problems, it als came with a smart universal remote which can adapt to my tv and dvd player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 11 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

This product is ok

09/30/2011
By ,
Long Beach CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product because of other ratings I read here. What I expected was that I would get all of my local channels and then maybe some extra. channels, I would expect to havel limited reception if I was in a rural area, but I am In Los Angeles CA! I have 2 TVs. On the first one I get 3 local channels, and 30 or so of spanish and vietnamese language programming. On the second, I get 1 local channel and maybe 10 of the other foreign language channels. The unit doesn't work with a regular set of rabbit ears and requires a very high powered anntena. I have had a different brand of digital converter box before that worked great. I would select a channel then adjust the anntena to tune it in. This unit requires you to scan the available signals then sets only what it receives with the anntnena in a specific direction. I had to go through the scan proceedure multiple times until I found the largest range of channels. This unit didnt really meet my expectations when compared to the other ones I had used in the past. If I had a little more cash, I would return this one and select a different, product
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

As a Video maker, I love this product.

10/02/2011
By ,
All over the United States of America
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I make videos under the name of Microdac and as such I am always traveling all over the united States in my conversion van. Many times I do work in my van editing my videos and writing my script for the next shoot and I like to have the television in the background as I work. This Viore ATB 150V Digital-Analog Converter box works as advertised. It is excellent. I have used this unit in states from Virginia to Kentucky and I am always pleased at the reception and the clarity of the stations. Thanks to this unit, I can watch the news, Football games, the golf channel and any and all stations that are available. I would absolutely recommend this unit to anyone and everyone who wants to watch the channels available in your area, and, the best of all you may watch FREE TELEVISION analog or digital HD. -microdac-
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 13 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

great dtv

09/10/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had my moms dtv and she does not have cable anymore so she needed hers back and so i had to get my own i saw some at my local walmart store for $50 plus tax but i wanted to go online to shop for one and came across this one great for the price also this one is better then my moms on this dtv it lets you set your show for example: when cops come on at 7pm you just go to cannel 6 and set it then you go back to the show you were watching then when cops comes on at 7pm no matter what cahnnel your on the channel will change for you to fox 6 you can also see shows before they come on so you have a channel guide so now i have one for my room and now all i have to do is get another one for my kids room so they can watch cartoons all day this dtv is great now i will only have cable in my living room thats fine because now i dont have to keep taking my cable box back and forth from my living room to my room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Hot box

09/14/2011
By ,
Belleville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little box has some great features with the guide, the previous channel, and pip capabilities. But this box gets really hot. I have stood it up on its side so the bottom of the box can get some air through it to try to cool it down.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 15 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

bad product from the terrible company

02/03/2012
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received the converter box on timely basis; great job Walmart! Hooked up to the analog television and to cable. We're using Comcast that just went all digital.
The unit scanned all the channels as was outlined in the manual, but did not find any channels. I went through the manual again, and went through the connection with my electrician to verify that everything was hooked up correctly, and once again no channels found. There was a number on the package to call. I called the number and left four separate messages; one per day for the total of 4 days. We waited for one week for Viore company to return our calls, but they never did! We just returned this converter box back to Walmart. We will never, ever purchase another Viore product again! VIORE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NON-EXISTENT! Bad product, and the worst company ever! Save your money and most importantly the time, and purchase the product from the reputable company...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Cheap product = cheap results

10/02/2011
By ,
Vienna, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I made the big switch from cable to over the air broadcast TV. I have several TV's with digital tuners built in, but a few older ones that don't so I purchased 2 of these tuners. The build quality on the remote is horrible. The edges are so rough and sharp you feel like you should handle it with gloves on. The worse part though is the quality of the signal. I aligned my antenna and get great reception on my TV's with built-in digital tuners. However at least one main channel (ABC) will not come in on the Viore. The user manual is a mish-mash of poorly translated english sprinkled with typos.
I'm taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 17 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

will do the job w decent antenna

10/21/2011
By ,
Indy, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got 2 of the other base model boxes from WM (no longer offered) and they were ok but still froze on occasion w decent roof antenna. Got this box for my downstairs area, repositioned roof satellite and no more problems, so unsure if needed to get new box but problem solved. Decent "guide" info option, for some reason "auto" daylight savings time option is showing incorrect time (not compensating for change 1-2 yrs ago in length)-Ill wait 2 weeks and that problem will solve itself. Remote is kind of clunky w odd positioning, at any rate 2 weeks into it does the job for the price. I dont have time to sit all day and watch tv and am trying to give it to the cable monster as much as they gave it to me by dcing all their services one at a time...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 18 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control
08/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple, ease of use, and powerful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+38points
Review 19 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control
08/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and the reception is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+38points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago,IL
Learning Universal remote control no good
Posted 01/25/2012
could not program the box with the universal remote, that type of remote is unecssary. I purchased another coby converter box, I already had 2. I wanted to try a new brand, I was very disapointed and would not recommend this Viore converter box to anyone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box, w/Learning Universal Remote Control

Nice little box - does what I need it to do.

10/02/2011
By ,
Portsmouth, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted this for a couple of very serviceable (but analog) TVs that I would like to use in odd situations, such as power outages, etc. I found this unit to be easily configurable and it locked in a surprising number of stations with just a set of rabbit ears on a small Sony 13" color TV. As I recall (my memory is fuzzy on this), there were a couple of minor quirks during configuration, but overall, they were insignificant. I'm quite satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next