Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Element Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Element Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

The Element 40 Class LED 1080p 120HZ HDTV amazes you with its advanced features ensuring brilliant picture quality with breathtaking full HD 1080p resolution. It is equipped with built-in digital tuner that receives digital signals. This built-in digital tuner HDTV features three HDMI inputs, which easily connect with HD sources to deliver high-definition video. With a sleek and compact design, this Element HDTV can be easily mounted on wall. Featuring high brightness of 250cd/m2 with 6 ms response time, this built-in digital tuner HDTV offers vivid pictures even when placed near windows or other light sources. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Element 40" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation45%15 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

So So TV

12/10/2011
By ,
Liberty, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just set up the TV today. The first thing I noticed, as other reviewers have noticed, is that the sound quality isn't very good. The TV sounds like you are listening to the TV over a telephone. Other reviewers have recommended Sound Bars to fix this problem. I haven't purchased a sound bar yet but I may try one if they aren't too expensive. I also noticed that the picture quality isn't great. I've tried changing the picture settings but I haven't found a combination of settings that makes the picture look good yet. People on the forums have been asking questions about the exact dimensions of the TV because the dimensions listed on the web site don't look accurate. The shipping box dimensions are: L 44 1/4" x H 29 3/4" x W 6 1/2". The panel dimensions are: L 38 1/2" x H 24 1/4" x W 1 1/2". When the panel is attached to the base the height of the panel is 26 1/2". The dimensions of the base are: L 20" x W 10". At this point I'm not sure I would recommend this TV. If my opinion changes then I will modify my review.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Great buy for the price

08/19/2011
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was reluctant and expecting sub-standard product, but to my surprise, this TV has a great picture and moving between channels is faster than my Sony. For some shows, it appears brighter but I like brighter pictures. Overall, I am quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+114points
Review 3 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Better than more expensive tv's

09/08/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv sight unseen mainly because it was cheeper than well know brands costing much more with a smaller screen and a slower refresh rate. The tv has a very nice picture. Watching hd movies are clear and crisp. The sound is not the greatest but not the worst I've heard. A soundbar will take care of that. I'm very happy with this tv and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 4 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Decent

08/26/2011
By ,
Lititz, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had the TV for a week now. It had one dead pixel in top left corner but this is not noticeable unless you are really looking for it. This is an edge lit LED TV so on dark screens you can see the back light emitting from all four corners of the screen pointing toward the center (forming an "X" of light that fades in the middle). This is really only noticeable with dark screens. Since I use this TV for a home theater system it works well. Color saturation on digital photographs sometimes feels overly saturated but some other images it appears under saturated or just right, this may just be the lighting when the photograph was taken, but I did not notice it on my regular monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 5 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402
12/01/2011
By ,
New York City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just brought this TV the one thing I really like is the sleek shiny design it is cool. It was delivered in 2 days..Thank you WalMart! -
I say this is a TV for someone who is starting out with LED technology I have a 42inch LG in my living room but that is LCD - I put this TV in the bedroom and at 40" it looks great...I have to mess with the settings a little bit you see a bit of a blur on the people especially if your watching a football replay in slow motion, but I'm sure that can be fixed with some adjusting of the settings. I did however watch Pirates of the Caribbean 4 last night in HD and Penelope Cruz looked awesome!!! its a great TV when it comes the HD Quality movies. So for the price you cannot beat this deal and 120hz always helps. Like i said its a starter TV to see if you like LED technology and then you can upgrade to another model if you choose too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402
12/02/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...just a quick recommendation for this Element if you're unfamiliar with this brand. I own 3 Element TV's of different sizes. I have been very pleased with their performance. My oldest & smallest Element is my kitchen TV, and it has been turned on nearly all day every day of the year for about 5 years. It's a real workhorse & never lets me down. All 3 models I own have excellent picture, even without HDTV service; very good sound quality; very easy to use (I'm a senior). If you're in the market and you get a good sale price on an Element, I would not hesitate to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

great tv for the money

09/29/2011
By ,
holbrook ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking around for an led lcd tv. this was was in reason without breaking the bank. picture quality real good sound so so, For the money for a 40" led i think well worth buying
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 8 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Great TV for the money

12/02/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am impressed woth the quality of this off brand product. Doing resreach before purhasing I found that Element is the #1 name brand in China. They really make a great product and I had it mounted on the wall and watching tv in about 15 minutes. The tv works great with the Dishnetwork remote. Overall great product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

good HD tv for first timers

09/06/2011
By ,
Wilson, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound quality is a little tinny, needs speakers to get good sound. A little confusing where to plug the in, never would of thought in the earphone jack. They do have a great technical assistance line.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
la punte
Element LED TV
Posted 11/22/2011
Have not bought the TV yet. The reviews don't help in deciding to buy this tv or not.
I want to know if the swivel stand can rotate from side to side like my samsung LED TV.
and what type of connections are on the tv like component input , composite input , s video input available or not. Those are the important features. Are there any dead pixels on the TV screen or not???
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Sub-par quality at a reasonable price

12/11/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was very excited to test out this new TV, as it appeared to have everything on paper (e.g., LED display, 1080p resolution, 120 Hz refresh rate, nice size) that I was aiming for, at a price that wasn't at all outrageous. I must say that, contrary to most reviews, I found the picture quality to be mediocre at best, even below what I was expecting. Sure, this TV seems to cost about 1/2-2/3 that of other comparable "brand" name competitors. But I felt there was too much ghosting, and the sharpness (which I would expect to be much better and crisper in an LED) just wasn't there. Further, I honestly could not tell any difference whatsoever in the different levels of refresh rate (what the listed as off, low, normal, and strong). Not at all. As others have voiced, the sound seemed tinny and hollow, not much depth there. Overall, very disappointing to say the least. Must say that Wal-Mart was very helpful with store return and full refund, even though I purchased it online. I have since gone to a local competitor and bought a refurbished Vizio LED for the same price, and the Vizio simply blows the Element away. Much crisper, cleaner, brighter, and with (somewhat) better sound....now I'm just hoping I don't get burned by purchasing a refurb. :P Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402
12/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying this tv and unforunately my worst fears came true. I originally ordered this tv back in July & four weeks after having it the picture on the screen would begin to pulsate from the normal picture to an extrememely bright picture. I called customer service & was able to ship my tb back to Walmart & they shipped me a 2nd tv. After 4 weeks with the second tv the exact same thing began happening with the 2nd tv. I would NOT recommend this tv to anyone. I've purchased many wal-mart electronic devices and this has been far and away the worst purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 12 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Horrible Sound

12/04/2011
By ,
Buffalo, Ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this TV due to the horrible sound quality. It sounded far away on a radio. I currently have an I symphony tv which is another "no name" brand and that TV is great. I was very dissapointed and ended up returning for a Vizio. Unfortunatley, I had to sacrifice the size to get the same price TV but I am glad I made the exchange. I will never buy an Element or recommend one to another person. There are way too many good deals out there these days to get a low quality TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Sound is major downfall!

12/01/2011
By ,
RI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had such high hopes for this TV. Physically it’s nice looking, and very thin. The base is cheap and cheesy...literally just a square piece of glass. If your going to hang it on the wall like I was then it's not a problem, but if you use the base and have kids or dogs, watch out. The picture overall is very nice, sharp and clear. The major downfall of this TV that I just couldn't get over is the sound. There was nothing that I could do to make it sound better. It sounded like early mono TVs… No bass at all! I tried to hook it up to our stereo, (like our current TV is) and have surround sound, but it caused an annoying echo, there was a 2 second delay in all speech. Our current set up does not do this. So back to the store with the TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Caruthersville, MO
Aweful Sound
Posted 12/10/2011
The sound is terrible!!!! Purchased TV from WalMart.com during CyberMonday. Just got it in last night. Picture is fine..can not live with the sound. Sounds like it is in a cave. Taking it back to store. Very disappointed!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Poor Sound

12/08/2011
By ,
York PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this as a present for ourselves. Figured it was time to go from tube to HDTV. Price for 1080p 120hz LED seemed great $399, delivered to our home. I hooked it up, which was pretty easy and then turned it on. Picture OK, but sound terrible. Like old day AM radio. Tinny with little base. Additionally, there was a problem with the sound syncing up with the video. The mouth of the newscaster did not match up with the sound. Very disturbing. We packed it back up, but need some duct tape to keep the box together and will return. I wish I would have seen all these December reviews before going to purchase. My old 32" tube TV sounds better and the picture is not that bad either. Pass on this HDTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

what did I expect, it was 400

12/01/2011
By ,
upper darby, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I was pleased when the TV came in the mail. It only took about 2 or 3 days to get shipped and I was super excited. Like a kid on christmas i opened the box and assembled my new toy. Next I hooked up the cables, connected the blu ray, ps3, cable, etc and then turn on the screen. What came next.....dead pixels, not one but 3. Already I was frustrated because it was not an instore exchange. Despite that I played around with it and while its not the best video quality, its pretty good for the money. The audio, is also not the best either but thats all for now. May be going with the phillips instead. who knows. smh
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 16 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402
12/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture failed 3rd day. Took back to Walmart with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Questionable Purchase - EXTREMELY POOR SOUND

12/02/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Just got this in tonight. Will be returning in the morning.
For the price of this LED I felt I was getting a great deal.
The main reason I'll be returning this is the sound quality. For such a large TV, its sound is very "small"; like an old radio. First I thought it was my cable, but no, it's the TV. There's a few pre-set audio settings, but none have the right amount of treble and bass. I would love to know why it sounds like that and why it's so low. Very annoying.
I literally unplugged my 32" Element TV(ELCHW321)with great audio, and placed this 40" in its place and found the audio cable inputs to be different. There's no "AUDIO OUTPUT" interface to connect my surround sound cable, WHICH IS THE BOOST THIS TV NEEDS for adequate listening. That may have been the ONLY way I'd keep this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Worth the investment!

12/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very very easy assembly, love the size, vivid pictures, bright colors and good sound. The sound could be a tad better, but I have surround sound speakers that I use when I watch movies and play on my Wii or watch Netflix. For the price and quality its a great investment. I did a lot of research on TVs and as I am sure you will find the "unknown name brand" TVs are just as good if not even better than more expensive "name brand" TVs. If your looking at spending 500max on a TV...settle for this! LED-1080p-120hz AND decent price. I also got a 3yr warranty {just in case} and it comes with a 1 year manufacture warranty. Ordered with site to store (Free) , arrived in 1 week, and was available for pick-up on a sunday evening!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Great Starter TV...

12/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first HD flat screen TV that I scored during cyber-week after the Thanksgiving holiday. The price I paid was an absolute STEAL. I just took it out the box today, and set it up myself. (I'm very proud of that!) The picture is beautiful, but I'm still learning my way around. What I've noticed so far is that the screen gets a wide black border during commercials, but when the regular program is on, it disappears. Because I had been researching TV's before I purchased it, I was prepared for the below standard audio. The poor ratings due to low sound is true. The previous reviews were spot on! All in all, I think I made a really smart choice in buy this TV. The price made it even easier!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Element 40" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV 1.6" ultra slim, ELEFW402

Good picture, but dead pixel

12/15/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I got this TV on Black Friday because our old TV had conveniently died 2 days before Thanksgiving. This one met all of our qualifications, and it was really affordable. It took about a week to ship to us, and when we hooked it up the picture looked great. Except for one tiny laser red dot off to the lower left hand side. It was a defect called a dead pixel. You can have it fixed, but generally the issue is recurring. Instead of going through the hassle of finding out where to have it repaired, we just returned it. I don't know how common of an occurence this is for this TV, but I would definitely think twice before purchasing this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next