Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A nicely affordable, easy-to-use PC for basic productivity at home or in the office, this Toshiba black 15.6" laptop PCgives families, students or small and home-based businesses the essential power and workspace to study, tackle budgets with a handy 10-key pad, keep up on Facebook and Twitter or simply do more at their desk. The bright 15.6" LCD offers a true 16:9 aspect ratio and 720p native high-definition resolution. And thanks to the built-in webcam and Toshiba Face Recognition software on this Satellite notebook computer, you'll enjoy a more convenient way to communicate, log on or share your laptop among the family. Plus, you get plenty of ports and storage to give you the freedom to expand, or hold more files and media. This Toshiba black 15.6" laptop PC comes pre-installed with the Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium operating system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation87%139 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 105 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

very poor product

04/18/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very bad experince processor died after 15 days.
over all rating zero
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!

05/12/2011
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this computer for less then 2 weeks and it's not charging. To buy a new charger it costs $80.00! Warrenty doesn't cover anything and I don't even know if it's the charger. So no I have a $400.00 laptop I can't even use. I will never buy Toshiba again. My last computer lasted 10+ years. I should have known better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Pass on Toshiba

06/20/2011
By ,
Covington, La.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this laptop in december. Two months later some keys fell off. Now after six months it doesn't work at all (no screen). Called Toshiba for repairs three weeks ago and still waiting for mailer and label they promised to send. Will never buy another Toshiba!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Disappointing!!

07/12/2011
By ,
Brunswick, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was replacing a Compaq laptop that was physically damaged by human error, but never gave me ANY problems. I saw that this Toshiba laptop was only $14 more than the Compaq, but with better features across the board, so I was sure this was going to be a good purchase.
I’ve had problems with this laptop literally every day since I’ve had it. It will be running fine one minute, then become obnoxiously slow or freezes completely the next. I feel like I’m in a race to use it for what I need before I'm forced to restart it. I even removed several of the programs that came installed on it, hoping it would improve the speed. NOPE!
I was sure I must have made the mistake of purchasing a refurbished laptop, but that's not the case.
I’m VERY disappointed & expected more from Toshiba.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

VERY POOR LAPTOP!!

07/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My old toshiba was great. Long lasting, but after 4 years the screen went out. I wanted another toshiba so I bought this one. I tried 2 different machines and neither would install my HP deskjet 4580 wireless printer. HP spent over an hour with an engineer on the phone with me and said to try a new one. After trying the 2nd one, I upgraded to an HP. Guess what, the printer went in just fine. Go figure. Something with this laptop does not like HP. DO NOT BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Not Happy

08/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not Happy with 2GB Laptop!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

It doesn't deserve one star ...

04/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this and received it quickly - and that's where the service ended. It is advertised as pre-loaded with Microsoft Starter 2010, and the enclosed information verified this. It was not. I spoke with two techs at Toshiba who tried several ways to "find" the Starter to no avail. The second tech suggested taking it back to the factory default - a two hours process. It did not work. I placed one more call and an extremely rude man told me that I had to purchase a product key and then, talking over me, started explaining Microsoft Office. (I OWN this on my old computer and know what it is!) He said they would do nothing to make this right. I'm returning this tomorrow and will never purchase another Toshiba.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Interesring

04/25/2011
By ,
Norfolk VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One week after I got it the hard drive went. Took it to the Walmart store here and got a gift card and purchased a new one about an additional 70.00 with 3g and AMD
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Keeps freezing

07/02/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The computer kept freezing on me. I had to call Toshiba 3 times in 4 days and on the 5th day, I went to return it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

toshiba laptop

07/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It did not las 5 days it ran very slow from day 1 and by the fifth day it ould not even load in so I am rying another one if it is this bad I will get a refund and go to Office Depot
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Try to look at this at a store before you buy it.

07/12/2011
By ,
St. Louis
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I actually got this laptop at the store for $348, I had a Toshiba before, but juice had spilt on it, and my warranty was over. So I decided to buy this. It was cheap, and well within my budget, and since I had a good experience with Toshiba before, I bought this. But this was NOTHING like my other Toshiba, which was only 2 1/2 years old, and around the same price as this.
First off, it feels cheap. Just picking it up, it feels flimsy and I feel like it'll break.
It also shows fingerprints too easily (that part isn't a big deal, just something to point out.)
Second, the cursor drags kind of slow.
Third, and this might not be a big issue with some people, but it was a BIG deal to me...
IT DOES NOT HAVE A VOLUME DIAL!!
Or any place aside from manually having to click the speaker button to turn down the volume. I wish I would of noticed it before I bought it!
Fourth, the keys are too low and close together. On my other Toshiba the keys were raised and more apart.
What's great is:
-The price. It's a decent price. I feel like it should of been $310 at the store like it is online. But I guess I just paid $38 more dollars to not wait for it to arrive.
-The screen resolution isn't bad. Pictures look pretty good.
-It has a numeric keypad. <--Again, something most people probably don't care about, but it's an important feature for me
Basically this laptop would be good for beginners or someone with very little computer knowledge. It doesn't have fancy functions, the camera isn't that great, but it's not totally bad either.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

DO NOT BUY

06/17/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i got one of these computers and the first one had 2 dead pixles in the screen. and then i got a replacement and the letter A on the keyboard dident work!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

low price product

04/24/2011
By ,
southwest va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i tried to get alway cheap. to slow and the mouse pad never worked right
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Highly recomendable

04/29/2011
By ,
newark new jersey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I actually recomended this product to my coworker before I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Satellite C655

05/01/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a low cost notebook that I could use for my personal (non-work related) use. I do not need something high end for that purpose that has processing power for graphics etc. My uses are around email, browsing, Word Procesing and Spreadsheet manipulating. With occasional DVD burning.
For these purposes this computer meets my needs quite nicely. The purchase also included Windows 7 Premium Home version, which I have gotten used to quickly and find the move to it from XP refreshing.
For the price, which WalMart had the best I could find, this notebook fits me perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good laptop for the price

05/02/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good computer for the price. Sometimes it runs a little slow. Also, I am having a problem connecting to my wireless internet, not sure if it has to do with the wifi system in the computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

It's an okay laptop, a few issues...

06/01/2011
By ,
Fernley, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It tends to overheat a lot. It hasn't acutally shut down from overheating, but the bottom gets really hot and is then uncomfortable to hold on lap. Also, I'm not sure what to call it but it makes this noise every so often, like something in the cd slot is jammed (but I have nothing in it at all) and the computer then freezes for a second or so. Like I said It's an okay laptop for the price. If I knew beforehand the way it would act, I would have spent the extra money for a better laptop.
I can't say much on the space, I don't use a lot anyway.
The battery life is fairly good. I usually have it plugged in all the time though.
The screen and graphics for games are good. Oh, one thing, I can't figure out how to turn the volume up and down. I can only mute it.
The webcam is decent. Don't know what to expect from one. It's a little blurry and color is off.
I would recommend just getting a better one for your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Decent computer to get you through a couple years.

08/06/2011
By ,
Pellston, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I only spent just over $300 for this computer and it works decently for what I paid. It doesn't pick up internet like my other computer used to and connects and disconnects frequently. The back of the computer screen also picks up finger prints. I suggest getting a skin if that bothers you. The webcam works great. Overall, a decent choice for a computer needed for just a short period of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/09/2011
By ,
morristown, nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a good laptop for a beginner but I think it is too slow for an advanced user
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A bittersweet disappointment

04/20/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The computer is good for people who need a basic computer, no special gadgets really, the only thing I would warn potential buyers for is the webcam is TERRIBLE. the quality is low and fuzzy. But besides that it's a good comptuer if you want to keep it simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next