Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A nicely affordable, easy-to-use PC for basic productivity at home or in the office, this Toshiba black 15.6" laptop PCgives families, students or small and home-based businesses the essential power and workspace to study, tackle budgets with a handy 10-key pad, keep up on Facebook and Twitter or simply do more at their desk. The bright 15.6" LCD offers a true 16:9 aspect ratio and 720p native high-definition resolution. And thanks to the built-in webcam and Toshiba Face Recognition software on this Satellite notebook computer, you'll enjoy a more convenient way to communicate, log on or share your laptop among the family. Plus, you get plenty of ports and storage to give you the freedom to expand, or hold more files and media. This Toshiba black 15.6" laptop PC comes pre-installed with the Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium operating system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation87%139 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

great computer

07/09/2011
By ,
cincinnati
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was going to buy the Compaq refurbished but was afraid because of the warranty, this one has a years warranty. I bought an Acer a year ago had nothing but problems and I paid over $500 plus all the money to send it back 3 times a little over hundred i spent to ship it, it's sitting in my closest used it maybe 30 times. I paid $310 for this one and it is so much better. I love Compaq but this computer is awesome. I am so pleased with this laptop, this laptop takes all my old software with no problems, which I was worried about that, for the price and being Intel dvd burner cd burner and players can not beat it!! I would give it 5 stars but i don't know about their customer service, and hope i do not have to :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 2 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
07/02/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a good computer for the price. It was the cheapest one I could find for what it offered and, since it was a replacement for a 15-year-old who dropped her last one, I wasn't about to put out a lot of money.
The only thing I don't like about it is that there is a glitch involving when the machine powers itself down. It happened the very first time she had it on. The battery wasn't fully charged when she first turned it on and she didn't notice when it got low. It shut itself down and when she plugged it in and turned it back on the speakers didn't work. Headphones would work but no sound would come out of the speakers. I tried everything. Restarting, reinstalling the driver, Windows system restore. Nothing worked.
I did some research and discovered that this is a problem with not only this model but some of the other Toshibas as well. Once I learned what the problem was and followed the directions given by those who had the problem before me it was a super-easy fix. All you do is turn off the computer, unplug it, remove the battery for 10 minutes, put it all back together and turn it on. When it turns back on it will have reset itself and the speakers will work properly.
I don't understand why this happens but now that I know how to fix it (and how to avoid it) I would still recommend this computer. It is a good computer in all other regards.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+173points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hendersonville, TN
Toshiba.
Posted 08/04/2011
I saw your Post, and i want to ask, did you completely charge your computer BEFORE using it?. it suppose to be fully charged before you use it.. so possibly 6- 8 hrs of charging.. and this is suppose to help with your Toshiba not shutting down, and etc..
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Computer for small business and college work

06/07/2011
By ,
Missouri City, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop is great for small business and college work usage. I'm employed full time but also have a part time small business which I use my laptop for both. I'm also a senior in college who needed a simple laptop to write papers and do other class work on. This Toshiba works just fine for all that I need. The only problem I've had is that I'm having issues with my Wireless adapter. I use a Cricket internet stick most times but when I want to use the laptop wireless adapter it doesn't work. It actually disappears out of my system device list. I'll be calling Toshiba tech support today regarding this matter. Otherwise, I find it to be a pretty decent laptop. I've recommended it to several others who has also purchased one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 4 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good computer for the price; no problems

04/19/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about the price on this computer when I bought it, but I thought what the heck, if I don't like it I can take it back. My previous Dell had died due to age and use more than anything. I have found this computer to be very fast, very dependable and I am quite happy with the computer. The mouse took a little getting used to, however all in all I think I made a good purchase. I've had it for a month now and have had no problems whatsoever. The battery lasts a long time 4 hours or more and so far its done everything I needed it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 5 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Satellite C655

05/01/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a low cost notebook that I could use for my personal (non-work related) use. I do not need something high end for that purpose that has processing power for graphics etc. My uses are around email, browsing, Word Procesing and Spreadsheet manipulating. With occasional DVD burning.
For these purposes this computer meets my needs quite nicely. The purchase also included Windows 7 Premium Home version, which I have gotten used to quickly and find the move to it from XP refreshing.
For the price, which WalMart had the best I could find, this notebook fits me perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Review 6 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
05/04/2011
By ,
Canton,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with Toshiba laptop, does everything
I need a home computer to do and was very
affordable, would highly recommend to anyone
looking for a good,dependable,affordable laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+112points
Review 7 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
06/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this laptop for about 3 weeks now. It was sold on walmart's site for $310 back then and I saw a week later its price went up to 358. I feel that I got a good deal. Before I purchased, I had the impression that it's a burden to run Windows 7 with the laptop's processor type. My husband was skeptical about Celeron processors. But we did a check of processor performance rating on a cpu benchmark website and found that this particular processor is actually rated better than the AMD C series with no dual core. Because of the good price and my simple daily needs, I went ahead and ordered on this site. It arrived the store for pickup a few days after I placed the order. I was surprised to see that Windows starts so quickly. The whole start-up from turning the power button on was about 30-45 seconds. Although I have not installed and run any demanding software in this machine (like photoshop or illustrator). It's got 2 USB ports. Phone jack and mic jack (which was also called line-in jack in the manual). No line-out jack though. The battery lasts for about 3.5 hours on full charge. I tried installing Windows XP at one point to see if this machine will perform better. It does not - most drivers of the machine (where you can download from Toshiba) are NOT made for windows xp. So stick with Windows 7. I have also run 2 tests on bad sectors of the hard driver. So far the reports found NO bad sectors. This machine also works good with the Linux system. I have a dual system on my machine running windows 7 and Ubuntu 10.4. Ubuntu recognised most drivers without the need for me to look for drivers for linux online. My husband said he had to admit that this little machine is a very good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 8 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Very Useful.

04/29/2011
By ,
Oceanside,Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a perfect laptop for Me & My Wife,I also bought a router for wifi and now We can surf or ck mail whenever, wherever We want,also great for My Grandson who can play games or do other School activities right in our living room. Very user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 9 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Deal!!!!

06/14/2011
By ,
Howell,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is a great deal!!!! It processes files very fast. Easy to operate and the price can't be beat. Walmart delivered it super fast. My daughter loves it!!!! Thanks-Walmart!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 10 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Laptop works great

05/24/2011
By ,
Sikeston MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our third Toshiba laptop and I bought it to use only on Skype and it works great. It has the built in camera and the card reader is an extra added bonus. The price is great and using it is easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+72points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
in love with this computer!!
Posted 07/28/2011
i've had this laptop for about 2 weeks now. i honestly could not ask for a better computer. the price tag was perfect, especially considering the size. i will definitely buy toshiba products again!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Nice Laptop

05/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this computer for my son. He is a senior in high school and is taking some online college classes. This laptop is a good deal for one used mainly for classes and home entertainment. I put Office 07 on it with a wireless mouse and it's a pretty sweet machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 12 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

great value

04/20/2011
By ,
St Helens, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has everything an old man needs +. Good speed, calc pad, soft touch keypad, lots of easy use features. Has more for the buck than anything I looked at, even at $200. more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 13 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

awesomeness

04/07/2011
By ,
wheeling,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier with this laptop! very sleek and fast, plenty of options and overall just a great starter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 14 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop for the price....

07/03/2011
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this laptop....it was on sale on this website at the time and for the price I have no complaints. It's a bit above a basic laptop and has everything I need. If I had wanted more, I would have paid more....but this is perfect for my needs. .....very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 15 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

1,000% Worth It!

08/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love the price I paid for this computer and what I got for my money was in no way disappointing, thus far. I used to have a Toshiba laptop before and I had it for about five years. It may have lasted even longer if it hadn't been for my unfortunate clumsiness on several occassions (Don't tell my hubby that part. He thinks it died of natural causes =0]).
Anyhu, this computer is great! The only thing that would have made it better was some sort of a trial or extended versions of Microsoft office (it comes with nothing); a volume dial on the exterior of the device, which is one of the few things that didn't meet my expectations; some sort of backup disk; and a strwaberry milkshake coupon. That last thing would just be a bonus.
If you and the fam are short on cash, but like my family is in serious need of a laptop, this is what you want to get. I searched all over the New York Metro Tri-State area and I could not beat the deal I got on this computer with a stick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Bundle Laptop Purchase

05/08/2011
By ,
Miami,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this laptop for Mother's Day along with a printer an usb and a carry case and I'm very satisfied.
Great value for the money. Meets my needs of email, web surf and little bit of puzzle games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 17 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Toshiba Lap Top

06/30/2011
By ,
Cleveland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at this laptop especially for the very low price that I paid for it. It is sleek, light weight, and battery does really last as long as they stated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 18 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A bittersweet disappointment

04/20/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The computer is good for people who need a basic computer, no special gadgets really, the only thing I would warn potential buyers for is the webcam is TERRIBLE. the quality is low and fuzzy. But besides that it's a good comptuer if you want to keep it simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 19 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

It's an okay laptop, a few issues...

06/01/2011
By ,
Fernley, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It tends to overheat a lot. It hasn't acutally shut down from overheating, but the bottom gets really hot and is then uncomfortable to hold on lap. Also, I'm not sure what to call it but it makes this noise every so often, like something in the cd slot is jammed (but I have nothing in it at all) and the computer then freezes for a second or so. Like I said It's an okay laptop for the price. If I knew beforehand the way it would act, I would have spent the extra money for a better laptop.
I can't say much on the space, I don't use a lot anyway.
The battery life is fairly good. I usually have it plugged in all the time though.
The screen and graphics for games are good. Oh, one thing, I can't figure out how to turn the volume up and down. I can only mute it.
The webcam is decent. Don't know what to expect from one. It's a little blurry and color is off.
I would recommend just getting a better one for your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5123 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 925 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great product!!

06/12/2011
By ,
Lisbon, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this as a gift for my mother. She loves it. She mostly uses it for Internet use and says it is perfect for what she needs. I found it online at Walmart.com for about $70 cheaper than what I had just bought it for and Walmart refunded the difference immediately. Love dealing with Walmart!!!
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+10points
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next