Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

Generic Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

Get the Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent to shelter your whole group while camping, trekking or touring. It comfortably accommodates up to six people. This family cabin tent can be divided into two rooms with the help of the removable divider. The two twin-track doors in the family cabin dome tent's center provide easy access to either room. Five windows combined with the six roof vents help to keep the tent moisture-free. The dome and pole design increases interior space, while also adding maximum strength to the tent. Further, a bathtub floor means no ground level seams leak. This 6 person dome tent is also flame-retardant for added safety. It is made from durable polyester to offer long-lasting usage. The Zippered duffle-style storage bag comes with this tent makes for easy transport. The chain-corded steel and fiberglass poles makes for easy set up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation89%8 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

Great family tent...lots of space!

06/21/2011
By ,
jersey city, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Giga Tent Katahdin tent for a family camping trip.
As a family I needed a tent that was comfortable and spacious. There is
plenty of room for 2 mattresses...so we slept comfortably with our two children
and a dog. Even with the sleeping gear we had plenty of space for our other supplies.
I fully recommend this tent to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

Roomy, Durable, Dry

04/10/2012
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this tent out of the box for the first time this past weekend for three nights by the lake. The first night it rained hard all night long, and the only water in the tent was what was brought in by opening the doors while it was raining. The next day and night the winds were upwards of 25 mph off the lake & the tent stood up to that beating like a champ as well!
It has a high roof, a wide floor plan (put a queen sized airbed on each side with room for luggage & room to change), was easy enough for two people to put up in minutes, and seems easy enough to put it up & take it down on my own. The legs are sturdy and thicker than any tent I've had in the past & was confident that the winds wouldn't have an effect on it. The roof doesn't cave in or hold water when it rains for hours on end. The floor is made of durable, waterproof material- I did spray some rain guard on the tent and the rain fly, which is always recommended when expecting rain. The only bad thing I can think of are the doors' zippers; it's not really convenient having to unzip separate vertical AND horizontal zippers, but that's my only complaint!
3 people & two dogs in this tent & we all loved it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Room Divider
Posted 05/05/2012
Were you able to figure out how to install the room divider? Thanks! My instructions did not mention how to do this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

Camping in a Windstorm

03/19/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our first weekend out with this tent put it through a tough test. First, there was a 10 mph wind at the campsite during setup. Then came the thunderstorms. The next morning started out beautifully clear- with a 20 mph wind.
Tent went up quickly despite the wind. I would have preferred a couple more tie-down tabs on the ends below the windows, though.
If you're caught in a high wind thunderstorm, move your stuff to the center of the tent. We had small leaks in the windward end corners where water dripped off the rain fly onto the tent body. Can't complain to loudly though, since these were pretty extreme conditions.
The tent came through the higher winds the next day very well. There were a couple gusts where I fully expected it to be in a tree somewhere, but it held on.
High wind takedown was a chore, but that's not the tent's fault. We just wadded it up and tossed it in the trunk.
When we left the campground, there was a mound of broken gear in the dumpster. I was quite happy none of it was mine!
Post trip cleanout at home didn't reveal any issues. Thankfully they sized the packing duffel a little large since tents never seem to fold up as tightly as they do when new.
Aside from the missing tie-downs and the slight high-wind leak, I was very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

Good Value For The Money

05/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Good -
-Ease of setup. I was able to set this tent up by myself in 15 minutes.
-Appears to be sturdy (survived 25mph wind gusts)
-Rainfly design - Did not leak from roof during thunderstorm.
-Lots of ventilation (5 windows) and 6 roof vents
- Great value for the money
Things That Could Be Better
- Room divider included but instructions on how to setup are not in the manual. I have not been able to figure out how to put up the room divider yet (no hooks, or loops in the tent?)
- Door zippers - 2 zippers to open and close per door
Overall - I am happy with my purchase. One thing to remember the secret to prevent leaking is to apply seam sealer to any seams not covered by the rainfly!
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

great tent

05/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this tent in the rain and it did awesome! There is so much room in here. You can stand up in it too! Great for bringing kids or playpen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6
05/06/2013
By ,
WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This would be a nice tent if the right parts were included. It says it comes with 2 side poles and 4 eave poles, I had three of each so was short an eave pole. Also, one of the steel poles were broken. It was able to be fixed but firmly believe you shouldn't have to fix and rig up a brand new item.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

Nice Tent

05/29/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a Hit at the Camping trip that we took over the weekend
I did break a pole the side one I put a little too much tension on it when setting it up
It held up thew the weekend and we had some rain
Glad I have the replacement plan
I got the Brown one Nice i like the color
Later
Anthony
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

Good tent.

04/12/2012
By ,
Murrieta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this tent and don't get me wrong it is a good tent for the money. I am just a little upset that the tent I received was brown instead of gray. Color not that big of a deal but don't picture something that I will not be getting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Room Divider
Posted 05/05/2012
Did you figure out how to install the room divider?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6

liked tent, was made well, was to big, took back.

04/08/2013
By ,
vancouver wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tent is very big and tall!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Giga Tent Katahdin 9' x 13' Family Dome Tent, Sleeps 6
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5