Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

The Ozark 9X7 Backpacking Tent offers optimum shelter during hiking and camping. Its lightweight design makes it easy to set up this tent. Two self-standing poles are included to aid in the erecting of this Ozark Trail Tent. It is easy to carry, and comfortably fits three to four people in sleeping bags. However, this Ozark Trail Tent can accommodate two twin air mattresses. The tent has a single room with a door and three windows that provide plenty of light and ventilation. These backpacking tents can make your trip more enjoyable by lightening your load, and creating a tension-free set up and take down experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.165 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
27
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%69 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
27
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

awsome tent for under 40.00

12/20/2012
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this tent to camp on a 900 mile motor cycle ride, had a sleeping bag, pots and pans, propane cook stove, 2 cylinders, top box full of food and drink,
Rode 250 miles first day, We all decided (20 other riders) it was time to get off the road getting dark, Several had Coleman Tents 3-4 man, It cam up a huge thunder storm, I had mine set up in 8 mins by my self, A am a lone rider wife wont ride, Any was had to get in tent it was raining hard, I did not have a drop of water in the tent during the 4 hr down pour, The other tents were drenched water every where, not my baby, Lite wt easy to set up and take down would buy another in a flash if need be, I did put water proofing on all the seams just for the sake of doing it as reccomended, for 40.00 you will have a home away from home, BTW we had one great time, Camped in the hill of Tenn, Snakes, Bears, And who knows what else, We rode the Tail of the Dragon, Wahooooooo will dod it again this spring,,,,,,, nothing like a cycle road trip, ps no one drinks thats why it was fun,,,,,,,:-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Easy To Put Together!

06/06/2011
By ,
Phenix City, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and my 2 year old went with my mom and her husband camping for Memorial Day weekend, and we got this tent for our trip. First off, it is VERY easy to put up and take down. It could be put up by just one person, but two would make it easier. Also, I'm 8 months pregnant and took it down by myself. The description says it sleeps 4, but it would be a very tight fit for 4 people in there. It is big enough inside for a queen sized blow up mattress with a little room leftover. I would say 3 people could sleep comfortably, but 4 would be pushing it. It was sturdy and didn't try to blow over or anything. I'm not sure if the other review didn't hammer the stakes in the ground correctly, but the tent seemed very sturdy on our trip. All in all, I would recommend it and the price was alot cheaper than everything else!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

decent tent for fair weather

05/19/2012
By ,
Ridgeway
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
used it to camp for about a week in the woods on my family land had no problems with it til some rain started the 3rd day
*rainfly for this tent leaves the side window flaps exposed and if it rains water gathers between the mesh and the inner flap in a pool then it starts to leak badly ( solved the problem by stringing up some tarps over the tent after that no more window issues )
**the floor holds up well to the normal ground moisture with a piece of tarp under it however when rain gets under the tent it seeps threw the bottom ( i solved this problem by digging a ditch around the tent to let the rain wash away downhill in that ditch )
other that that i have no complaints
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Great Beginner Tent

10/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tent in the fall for a 2 day 1 night hiking trip in Shenandoah National Park. The weight of this tent for the size it is, is very good. It can be built in a matter of minutes. This is a great tent for up to 3 people in my opinion. You could fit 4 people but you would be shoulder to shoulder. I bought this 4 person tent for just 2 people to use because I wanted the extra room to get changed in and store some of my gear. Whenever you are choosing a tent for more than 1 person to stay in make sure you get 1 size up because ALL manufacturer tent's occupant description is very optimistic. If it says 4 people then it means 3 people.
Be sure to get a sheet of 4mil or greater plastic to go under the tent to help protect the tent from sharp twigs or things on the ground that might puncture the bottom of your tent. You can get 4mil or thicker plastic from any hardware store. The thicker the more protection you will get. Make sure you cut the plastic to be smaller than the base size of your tent so it doesn't channel water from rain under you tent.
But for the price this was a good deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

GREAT TENT FOR THE PRICE!!!

08/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent and it pass all the tests. It was easy to set up , not bulky , it was big enough to have a queen size air bed and a little space for the bags . We slept two adults and two kids no problem.(although it was pushinging it) It has very nice set up of the windows that you can see the stars when you are laying down and very nice ventilation since it was hot one of the days. I have used three times already staying for three days at the time and it seems very sturdy and in one ocation it rained all night and we didn't get wet at all!!!!!!not like my cousins that had a 100 dollar tent and they got wet so bad they pickup and left. It was a little unconfortoble to change the kids and move around but to sleep and for the is good for the price.
I think is perfect for first timers. we liked so much we are going to buy another one for the kids since its so cheap. I Love it and will definitately recomend this to a friend. And hope this review helps to make the a purchase desition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

stood up in major rain storm!

10/01/2011
By ,
athens, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i used this tent for multiple camping trips over the summer (11) and it held up great through all of them. We were able to fit a queen size air mattress in it plus the coleman blow up nightstand/checkerboard. I have comfortable slept 2 people and a larger dog in it with the air mattress. I couldnt however see sleeping more than two adults in it. during one week long camping trip it came a flood and the tent just happen to be set up in the mini river that occurred. However it stood up great. there was a bit of condensation on the inside but no real water, none of our bedding our electronics ended up wet. The only negative thing i have to say about it, is the rain fly doesnt cove all the windows. so if its raining you can only use the door window and the back window for ventilation, which proved to be super hot in july in alabama. also i have used it to camp a total of about 15 days this summer and the seems look like they are about to start ripping at the corners, but for 30 bucks its GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Defective, Leaky

06/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tent on the strength of its good reviews and economical price.
As others have reported, it is possible for one person to set this up, despite the box saying that two adults are required. It would be easier with two people.
The first thing I noticed on setting up the tent was a 3/4 inch gap in the stitching of the door zipper. The fabric wall was not attached to the zipper at this section. But I was hours from a store.
The first night out, there was a steady rain. I awoke to a few droplets of water on my sleeping bag. Soon after, water started dripping in at both side windows. I had set up the tent correctly. The rain fly is not big enough to shield the side windows. Water goes through the mesh and collects in the windows, and eventually leaks into the tent. Five hours later, there was so much water in the tent that a bath towel was not enough to mop it up. I had to wring out the towel and go into the tent a second time to soak up the water.
It is a spacious tent. It seems to have good ventilation. The windows can be zippered shut. But a tent that cannot keep out bugs or rain is of little use. What good is that?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'
06/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tent for friends that do not normally go camping so that they could come on a trip with us, and it worked out perfectly. The ground was damp, but the tarp-like floor worked out fine (not sure how it would hold up to actual rain without a footprint though). They were able to fit a queen size airbed in it (but with no other room). Other review says material is thin and it is, but for 30 bucks you can't expect much more.
Definitively a good value for occasional use and tons of ventilation for a hot summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Almost Perfect

05/16/2011
By ,
Anderson, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only concern with this tent is the bottom seems thin, so I am a bit worried that it may rip easily. One person can set up this tent, though it is much easier and quicker with two people. While the tent is rated for 4 people, I would not recommend it, unless you don't mind having no room to move.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Easily worth 5 times more!

08/23/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been camping a long time and this tent really amazed me. I did buy and use a complete bottle of waterproofing spray on the seams. On our 2nd trip we had two nights of rain, and not a DROP leaked in.
But the tent was simple to put together, is very well made, and as described. Photo doesn't show, but without the rain cover it is a completely open mesh top, which we love. Open skies and as cool as a tent can be.
Tip: Ignore the carry bag they give you, it's a weak link. Instead, fold the tent in half "once more" over itself before rolling it, then roll it into HALF the original length. That smaller size will fit into any mid-sized float bag, just the poles need to be carried separately (easily carried in the side of any backpack). Literally HALF the size of the box in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

great tent for 2 people

06/14/2011
By ,
indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice light weight tent easy to set up and take down.....shorter then expected and one of the seams leaked but that is to be expected (a can or sealer should be in your camping gear anyway) when it rains 4 days in a row. We also put a colman queen size air bed in it and it fit well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Awesome tent!

07/21/2011
By ,
Rutland County, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tent to have two in case friends joined me for camping, otherwise to keep supplies in. This tent is far better than the one I already owned, also by Ozark. This tent didn't leak while the other did. This one never caved in on me, the other did. The tent is FAR more spacious than you'd typically expect even though the dimension are 1 ft shorter on one side than my other. The setup is easier and more stable. The four windows are very nice and off greater comfort for the camper. And the zipper doesn't get caught as often due to the shape of the flaps that protect from rain. Amazing tent. Super happy with the buy. AND the carrying bag is larger so its much easier to repack after using... unlike most other tents and air mattresses than never fit back into the packaging after use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Easy set up

03/06/2014
By ,
pinckard Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tent 3 years ago and a can of spray sealer treated the tent, and was caught in terrible rain storm tent did not leak one drop
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

I've looked a long time for this tent!

05/28/2012
By ,
Sierra Nevada's
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 6'4"+ and have a very hard time finding a tent to fit me. They never seem to be what they advertise. I have many tents and I am a seasoned camper. I purchased this tent Just to use on summertime motorcycle campouts. It has everything I need. I wanted windows for lots of air flow and to be able to look out for critters. This tent is absolutely perfect! And... it fits! It is more than I could want for the price. My last cheapo Ozark tent has been through years of abuse and is still going strong! I also have expensive tents for backpacking. Please don't be fooled by this label that says "Backpacking Tent". I'm sure it would be fine for that but it is heavy and not a 3 season tent, and for me when my life is on the line I do not settle for less. The five stars are for correct size labeling, tarp style bottom, ease of set up, and lots of air flow! Perfect for my application!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

great tent

02/29/2012
By ,
CHESTER COUNTY ,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had this tent for years- i am an avid camper. from the mountains to the beach. took it quite a few times to assateague island. first time at assateague we stayed for a week. it rained heavily 3 of the 7 days we were there. also along with the cold rain was high winds. the tent was basically blown on its side for almost half the time we were there. we were tent bound and we stayed dry. no rain came in at all. and that was the first beach trip we had. and we had plenty more storms to contend with at the delaware beaches for years after. 1:seal seams b4 your trip. number 2: lay a protective barrier on the ground b4 you set up the tent 3:get rid of the roofing nail theygive u as stkes and get real tent stakes (if the package says tent PEGS put it back on the shelf) 4: tie out all of the corners as well as the guy lines they give you on the sides of the tent. 5: wipe off the tent n let it dry b4 u put it away. and last but not least.. be gentle with the zipper as it is not heavy duty.it will get stuck if u r rough or not paying attention to wat ur doing. the only reason i dont have mine anymore is bcz i let someone borrow it n they returned without all the parts. you do have to bend to get in the tent but if your shopping for a tent you really should pay attention to the dimensions in the description. bending was not an isuue for me but it might be for some people. as other people said you can sleep two very well. 3 people so so. 4 i wuolnt recommend it. it can b done but no room at all for anythng else
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Good for 2 people

06/13/2011
By ,
San Rafael,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to setup. Was able to spend a night in the tent in a snowy weather. Had to push off the snow couple of times in the night. Also has enough ventilation at the top, so that I could run a propane heater inside the tent for about 6 hrs. Don't expect to change clothes inside comfortably. Instructions could be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Good

12/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we first put up this tent it only had only one minor defect in the sewing of one of the pole guides. This has not been an issue and can easily be repaired later on. We have used this tent 3 times over the course of about 7 days. We've been waiting to write a review until we used it in a rain storm. We did treat the seams with a silicone spray and in a pretty heavy rain over the course of a day the tent did not leak. There was some condensation on the interior but nothing that left us soaked. The tent has otherwise been fairly easy to use and the tent has excellent instructions. It is a little bulky for backpacking, but I have been able to compress the tent itself down to 600-800 cc with out a compression sack. Has plenty of room for three campers and all gear inside or four campers with gear stored outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

great for the money

07/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this for my 10yr old son for cub scout camping. Takes 1-2 people to set up w/ease. Also very light for him when hiking in to campsite. Would recommend to others for this purpose. I haven't tried it in the rain, but heard if you purchase some spray sealant at seams inside tent, it should keep you dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Great Buy!!!

04/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a new tent because the one i got from k mart leaked A LOT. I saw this tent at walmart and went home to look up the reviews. they seemed good so i went ahead and bought it. And let me tell you, it is wonderful for the price! It can fit 3 people, but 4 might work. It has 4windows and a big mesh roof (unless you put on the rain cover obviously), so it has plenty of ventilation. The first time i took this camping, it rained really hard for 3days straight, and the tent dripped from the seam once in a while. but defiantly nothing major. i still stayed dry (the leak was in the corner). One negative thing would be that i wish it had a porch. But overall, I love this tent and i would recommend this. I hope this review helps you decide your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 3-4 Person Tent, 9'X7'

Very disappointed!!!

09/17/2012
By ,
Springdale, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On my camping trip it rained the majority of the time and my tent I've had for years leaked, so I went to Walmart and purchased this tent. I chose this tent because on the packaging it stated that it was coated in Everdry and that the seams were taped to provide rain protection and waterproof the tent. The tent was simple to set up alone and I was rather impressed by how simple it really was. However I was gone for about an hour to dry my clothing and it had rained about 15 minutes of that time. When I returned to the tent the inside was standing in water. I will be returning this item due to incorrect "facts" printed on the package. Don't call something water proof if it is going to fill with water faster than a 16 year old tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next