Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

TomTom TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

In addition to its updated, intuitive features, the VIA 1500TM has a 5" screen for a better view of the road ahead. Once you drive with a TomTom device, you'll never want to drive without one. TomTom created the first digital maps for drivers; we are a world leader in navigation. At TomTom, we realize that the best in-car navigation should be easy to use and have the best quality maps. We're here to ensure your journey is smooth, from start to finish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.679 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation68%36 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

TomTom Disaster

07/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The TomTom update site for the VIA series is called "My TomTom". As of July 2011, the site does not work and there have been hundreds of complaints sent to TomTom to no avail.
Mine came with supposedly "lifetime maps" however the site is not functional so I can't activate the promotional code. You can't update "mapshare" or "points of interest" or download the most current map - as TomTom advertises. Check out their own forum for this item on tomtom.com and you'll see the number of people who are upset with their purchase. The last email I received said
"We have received many inputs from our valuable customers like you and our product development team is working on them. They may introduce it any time soon. However, we do not have the information on the exact or estimated time frame."
They have the worst customer service in the business, and I can assure you that I will never purchase one of their products again. From now on, it's Garmin for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Long Island NY
tom tom via map updates
Posted 07/23/2011
I just bought this GPS and on 7/22/11 opened my account with Tom Tom. I registered the GPS and updated the maps with NO problems. There is a phone number to call on their website and on the box if you have problems rather than using email...
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Buy a Garmin instead.

10/03/2011
By ,
Lomax, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Tom Tom lacks the features of my three year old Garmin NUVI. My wife thought she was getting a better deal and came home with this VIA instead of another Garmin. VIA lacks accuracy and tells you there's gas stations where they've never existed. Garmin has tripmeter/speedometer/compass functions, where Tom Tom doesn't and it doesn't name rural streets nearly as well as the Garmin. It also forgets how to get back to a poi placed into memory. I don't think it's very user friendly either, since my wife absconded with my ol' Garmin and left me with the Via. They could've made a better product, 'cuz for sure, this Via is nothing to brag about. I was generous when I gave it two stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

A pretty bad miss from TomTom

08/12/2011
By ,
All over, USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well, let's say first off that I like the GPS itself pretty well. The interface is laggy sometimes and the touchscreen is not as responsive as I'd like but the interface is straightforward and the lane guidance is a nice feature. The "traffic light camera" feature surprised me when it first sounded but though I don't run reds, it was nice to have. The traffic delays and calculations are an excellent feature and I'm sure they would have saved me 30 minutes if I'd had the GPS several weeks ago.
The problem comes with the support TomTom provides for this device. I don't mean calling them up for help, I mean providing the features listed in big print on the front of the box. This device is supposed to come with lifetime maps but the TomTom website will not accept the code that is provided in the box. This is a well known issue and has been for well over a year. There are many postings on the web complaining about the issue and reports of TomTom closing many trouble tickets without having resolved the problem. I'd like to suggest to Walmart that they apply some of their muscle to get TomTom to fix the issue as it is leading to dissatisfied customers.
Next issue is that I bought this GPS partially in anticipation of a trip to the UK and I planned to purchase maps on-line. TomTom does not support purchasing additional maps for this unit. This unit was supposed to be an upgrade from a base level Garmin unit but it looks like I'll be dusting that off for this trip.
I'll be keeping this unit because it serves my purpose but I'm definitely not happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

I like it

11/13/2012
By ,
Central Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three GPS's at this point. One Mio, and two older TomToms. I bought this because it had lifetime traffic and maps. I was worried about the price being rather low. It is working flawlessly. Gets satellites fast and the map updates worked without a hitch. Yes, the transfer of the maps is slow but they are accurate. The traffic updates are fun--sometimes I know the detour they suggest and pass on it (but it beats XM radio on identifying where the gridlock is, neat!). I am very happy with it and am buying a second one to give as a gift. Walmart has had the best price on this unit for a while now. Thanks to Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Good graphics and voice system

07/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The GPS unit has a great graphics and voice system with a variety of options to choose from. It also has an excellent lane guidance system. Overall, I am satisfied with the product and will certainly recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

I loved it so much I bought a second one.

04/21/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly I bought and "tried" about 10 new gps systems with lifetime traffic and lifetime maps, varying brands but mostly Garmin's and Tom Tom's. Far and away this particular Tom Tom VIA 1500 TM won my vote. Why?
-reasonable amount of clicks to click around where you want to go or settings you want to change.
-LOVE that you can set audible alerts to notify you when speeding, near red light cameras, near schools, etc.
-LOVE that you can tell your GPS where new cameras are installed and it instantly remembers when you return back to that intersection.
-love the choices of colors at night. The dark blue at night with twinkling stars is perfect for my eyes. There are many day and night colors to choose from. I wish the day color choices were a little brighter/deeper to see better during sunlight.
-Some gps units were not loud enough. This one is loud for sure but wish it was a little louder.
Honestly it has taken me to 1 place that ended up being 1/4 mile down the road on the other side. But hundreds of times it has taken me exactly where I need to go.
-It allows you to save locations based on gps current location so you can save exactly where you want to get back to.
-The traffic feature has saved me many a time in NJ traffic. It asked me if I wanted to be re routed to avoid the delay.
-it starts when you start your car most times. Other gps units did not.
-I love that it locates shopping, restaurants etc and puts up the appropriate icon. I wish you could click on that icon and be driven to that location.
-when you have a route progammed you can be notified along the way of tourist locations, colleges, doctors, etc.
It is not perfect because none are but for the most part I love this one and am buying a second one today.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Lacks Accuracy

06/05/2011
By ,
Waynesboro, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The TomTom Via 1500 was a disappointment. The most important feature of any GPS unit is good maps and accuracy of which the Via 1500 fails. I tested it over a two day period and that was all that was needed to render my fail verdict. Two POI's that have been in their current location for years were missed. The GPS put me a mile passed the one POI and about a half mile before the other one. Not acceptable when your in unfamiliar territory and need to be brought in front of your destination. With my old Garmin unit I NEVER encountered accuracy issues. And also not to mention my home street came up twice. Once with the correct name and the other with one wrong letter. Needless to say for some reason the GPS wanted to go towards the incorrect street name and wanted to take me a long way to home. So how many other errors are there like this???
The 5" display was nice but is no where near as nice as the lower priced Garmin 1300LM. The Via 1500 display was kinda drab and the map colors didn't seem to have any reasoning behind them. For example, a waterway was indicated by a black/white line whereas on a Garmin unit water is always blue! pretty logical right?? well not on the TomTom.
The interface is not very intuitive either. There are way too many screens one must click through to find the function you need.
All in all I do not recommend this GPS unit based on the lack of mapping accuracy and the maps being drab and dull. The 1500 uses Teleatlas maps whereas the Garmin units use Navteq and there is a huge difference.
I have owned a Garmin nuvi GPS unit for about five years and have always given it high marks. With several trips to NYC, Virginia, Baltimore, New Jersey, and a few other places which were all several hours away the Garmin always held a high degree for accuracy and instilled high level of confidence in me as well. No so with the TomTom Via 1500.
No GPS is perfect and all some some map errors but the Via 1500 was way above the threshold for accuracy. I would recommend steering clear of the TomTom Via 1500 and look at a Garmin.
PROS:
- Nice form factor.
- Voice and sounds are loud and really clear. Voice sounds natural.
- Lane assist feature is nice.
CONS:
- Lacks accuracy
- Display screen is drab and dull... feels clunky and menus are slow to change.
- Costs more than other more capable units.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Connecticut
Posted 06/04/2012
You mentioned how the TomTom shows waterways as a black/white line. I just recently purchased this unit and waterways are always blue on the unit, and the black/white line is representing railroad tracks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Great product, but lousy directions.

03/27/2012
By ,
Palm Bay, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The GPS has a built in mount that is not even mentioned in the directions.Mine was extremely stiff, to the point that I didn;t realize it was on a pivot. I spent days trying to find some type of mounting addaptor that the unit could mount to at an angle making it easy to see and read from the drivers seat. After a few days of carrying it on my lap and trying to figure out ways to mountr,(also buying and returning universal mounts to try to use) I got the cup stuck tightly to the dash and had to use lots of pressure to release it. To my amazement, the pivot point opened up and I realized how it worked!! It would have saved me a lot of stress, anger and time if tomtom had thought about describing the use of the mount in the directions. (both with the unit and online ops manual.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

A Good Solid GPS

10/18/2012
By ,
Cleveland OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took a gamble on this device despite the bland reviews and i'm glad I did. This is a solid gps. I had no issues downloading map updates ect... I also like some of the features this unit has that was not offered on my old Garmin. I'm happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Updates are tricky!

11/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Tomtom. I am happy with the operation of the GPS.
My only complaint is the mytomtom update. I spent 2 hours trying to update my map. I finally found that using google chrome would let me update and use map code with no problem. This problem really needs to be resolved. I would prefer to use tomtom home instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic
01/14/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the second GPS which is going back!! It doesn't recognace my way back home with street build 2 years ago??? And gave my a hard time dowloud maps with my MAC - top of the line!!! Not happy!!!?
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Love My TomTom

12/26/2011
By ,
Biloxi, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure about some of these reviews saying that the directions given are inaccurate, blah, blah, blah! I LOVE my TomTom! It has ALWAYS given me great directions! One time is did say that the location I was looking for was on the right and it was on the left, but that was only once and not a big deal! This comes with lifetime updates and it is IMPORTANT to update your unit! TomTom will send you an email telling you that there is an update. You hook it up to the computer, it takes a few minutes, and Voila you're up to date!! This was a birthday present, and one of my favorites so far!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Map update instructions don't work, it's going bac

08/04/2011
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VERY disappointing. Have just spent over an hour trying to see if there are map updates, without success.
The included instructions don't match up with what's on the web site.
Even the directions on the website, for this specific model, don't match up with the menus/options on the unit itself.
No wonder Garmin units are generally considered MUCH better.
This one's going back ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

great travel guide

10/08/2012
By ,
connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this gps. A friend had this model on a recent trip and I knew I had to get one! The red light camera feature is a big plus [if it saves one ticket, it pays for itself] but I really love the ease of use and hearing up coming turns so I can keep my eyes on the road and not keep pulling over to consult a map. I used it around my area and ignored a few directions [ to avoid busy traffic] and to see how it re-routes you if you can't get in the right lane to turn, and when I didn't turn around right away, it gave me other options to get to my destination that only local people would know. I will not be so nervous going on trips now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

did I get a lemon?

01/06/2012
By ,
Green Bay, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used a friend's TomTom recently and loved it, so I decided to purchase a TomTom. Don't know if I got a lemon, but this model is terrible. It turns off randomly, takes forever to restart, and now it won't even turn on at all. Definitely going back. Hopefully I can find the same model my friend had, because that one was great!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic
12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This device is not a good one. Never can locate a gps signal. Won't connect to the internet. Can't add voices. Never got a chance to see if it works well. i could never get a signal!!! TomTom home says device is not connected when it is. I thought it was just the system so i replaced it with the same kind. SAME PROBLEMS! STEER AWAY!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Not quite what the web site says it is

01/12/2012
By ,
Hamburg PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Web site says that this unit has bluetooth and it does not... BIG disappointment...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

Best GPS and I use it daily!

09/25/2011
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great directions...clear maps with large screen...clear voice with street names not garbled. Slow to initially load for 1st trip of the day, but could be because I live in the woods. I am a hospice nurse and I travel an average of 200 miles per day. Best GPS unit that I have ever had, and I have owned 3 others. Am now a loyal Tom-Tom customer!! Great product + worth the cost. No complaints!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic
11/26/2012
By ,
Austin,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best unit I own. Tom Tom has the most user friendly product out. I have the 4" 500 series and the 5" 1500 both work great. as I get older I like the larger 5" screen because my eyes don't work as well as they did. have tried Garmin it was not as good in a lot of whys and will stay with Tom Tom brand from here out .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TomTom Via 1500TM 5" Portable GPS w/ Free Lifetime Maps & Traffic

consistent

10/25/2012
By ,
Biloxi MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
same procedures as the first TomToms - something new here and there but the majority functions the wal all the others did well!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next