Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnalite Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Magnalite Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Decorate your countertop with the Magnalite Cookware Set, 1040816. This durable and attractive, cast aluminum 13-piece cookware set was made to endure the rigors of everyday use. The pieces in this kitchen cookware set come with heavy-cast lids that capture the moisture inside, enabling faster cooking. They also feature phenolic knobs and handles that are oven safe up to 350 F. This 13-piece cast aluminum cookware set has thick energy saving bottoms that transfer heat quickly and evenly to side walls, allowing you to cook with lower heat. This classic cookware set has pretty much everything you would require in your kitchen, right from saucepans and skillets to roaster and casserole. It will come in very handy, especially when you have guests at home. This neatly finished Magnalite Cookware Set, 1040816, not only adds a stylish look to your kitchen, but is easy to clean as well.
Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%52 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816
10/14/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I grew up watching my mother cook with Magnalite and finally got this set as a gift. After a year, the larger stockpot has so many pits in it that it's almost unusable. I was using it about once a week, which is not heavy use for cookware. I didn't expect them to keep their shine. In fact, I was surprised they were shiny because Mom's never were. I've heard that Magnalite changed the type of metal they use and they're not as durable. Mom beat hers to death on a regular basis. I put one in the fridge overnight with leftover spaghetti ONE time, and now it has rusty pits in it. If you plan on getting these, you MUST follow the care instructions WITHOUT FAIL, or these pots will fail on you. The instructions tell you that the only time you can put seasoning in their pots is for salting pasta water, AFTER it's already boiling! I stand by the old Magnalite, not this cheap stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Can't live without it

11/02/2007
By ,
Osseo, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was first introduced to Magnalite cookware when I lived in La. back in 1985 and I fell in love. I brought some pieces home when I moved back to Mn. and begged my friends to send me more. During a visit, I was wandering through Wal-Mart in Abbeville and saw the set on the shelf! I was so excited I bought a complete set and carried it home on the plane. A few moves and divorces later, I needed another set and ordered it online. I put that set in my cabin and ordered another one for my new home. I am an avid cook and these are the most durable, easy to clean and enjoyable pots and pans I have ever found. I cherish each and every one of my pieces and I give them as gifts any chance I get because mine seem to get legs if I don't!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

FOREVER COOKWARE

01/22/2008
By ,
lAFAYETTE, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i HAVE BEEN WAITING MANY YEARS TO PURCHASE THIS SET OF COOKWARE. I DIDN'T REALIZE THE NUMBER OF HELPFUL TIPS THAT WERE GIVEN IN THE MANUAL WOULD BE USEFUL TO PROLONG THE USE AND BEAUTY OF THE PRODUCT. I WOULD SUGGEST TO ANYONE TO BE SURE AND READ THESE. EX. NEVER COOK ON HIG HEAT-MEDIUM IS SUGGESTED. ANOTHER-NEVER USE METAL UTENSILS. I WILL FOLLOW THESE TIPS AND I EXPECT LONG TERM USE OF MY COOKWARE. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THE LOOKS AND FEEL WHEN I AM COOKING. I WOULD RECOMMEND THE COMPLETE SET TO ANYONE. IT WOULDN'T DO YOURSELF JUSTICE TO BUY JUST ONE OR TWO PIECES. I HAVE BOUGHT OTHERS AND WASTED MY MONEY. I EXPECT MY MAGNALITE TO OUTLIVE ME. WELL WORTH THE WAIT !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

A very good product

08/25/2007
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these pans. If you evjoy cooking with heavy pots that do not stick, you will love these pans. They retain the heat and clean up is very easy. Just be careful, pans are very hot after cooking make sure you use hot holders.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Lovely to Look At & Sturdy

05/10/2009
By ,
Excelsior Springs, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my set of Magnalite cookware as a wedding gift way back in 1968, so I am a true testiment to it's quality. Other pots have come and gone but my Magnalite still looks almost new. There are NO sturdier pots on the market (they are almost as heavy as cast iron). The style has never changed over all these years. They heat quickly & evenly. I highly recommend this cookware after owning mine for 41 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Long time user

11/05/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I inherited a set of Magnalite about 1970. The pots were already old and heavily crusted with burned on food. I ground that off with a bench grinder and I have been using these pots daily ever since. These pots will last longer than you will. They are light relative to steel pots, are heavier than the cheap aluminum pots, and have good even heating. I like the metal lids better than glass. The handles do not get hot on a stove top in my experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Excellent

10/28/2007
By ,
Texarkana, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will have this cookware set for ever. I orginally bought it 10 years ago, and wouldn't replace it for nothing. My only wish is that I could get the roasting pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Can't cook without them!!!

07/31/2010
By ,
Broussard, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got married and moved out of my mom's house. I grew up using Magnalite and had to get my own. These are the only pots I will cook with. I'm so excited to have my own set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Can't go wrong!

09/15/2007
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability, quality and performance are all what you would expect from a more expensive set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Best pots you can buy

12/07/2010
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife loves this 13 set of magnalite pots. It has every pot you need to cook with and these pots will last forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

BEST COOKWARE

07/26/2010
By ,
LITTLE ROCK,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'VE HAD A SET OF THIS COOKWARE SINCE 1979 AND HAVE ADDED A FEW PIECES OVER THE YEARS. I LOVE THE WAY IT COOKS AND WOULD NEVER CONSIDER USING ANYTHING ELSE.
I DULLED THE SHINY FINISH ON A COUPLE OF
PIECES BY RUNNING THEM THROUGH THE
DISHWASHER--I WOULD HAND WASH IF YOU WANT THE SHINY FINISH TO LAST. THIS WILL PROBABY BE THE ONLY SET OF COOKWARE I WILL EVER OWN. IT HAS A 50 YEAR WARRANTY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

used everyday

12/25/2007
By ,
Jacksboro, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife is proud of her cookware. She has used it everyday. At age 71 & 72 we think this will be our last cookware set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Kitchen workhorses

02/09/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This second purchase of the 13 piece set, went to my step-daughter after she purchased her first home. I wanted to get her started right. This Magnalite cookware will last forever as I'm still using mine from decades ago. The only complaint I have is that the set raised in price $100.00 - that is expected after all this time, but the 7 quart pot that is usually included in the package was replaced by a 3 quart...not as useful in the kitchen!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Magnalite set

10/20/2007
By ,
nashville TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive had this same set for many years..Love it, you won't have to ever replace again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Caution Hot

01/15/2009
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are wonderful pots. Sturdy and easy to clean. They get hot so much faster than my previous cookware. Even when cleaning them. The hot water can make the pots red hot in seconds. I love this set and will only buy these from now on... or until they come up with some space age cookware that uses holograms or lasers or something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Buy this product

12/30/2007
By ,
Otsego, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been searching for a cookware set for about 20 years that is reasonably priced and is made like the cookware set that my Mother had.
This is it!
Heavy duty, but easy to use. No non-stick coating that evenually peels off. Clean up is so easy.
Even cooking and heats up so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Lasts a lifetime

11/29/2008
By ,
Amarillo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own over 50 pieces of magnalite-every size. I am buying 2 starter sets this year for my 2 daughters. They have been asking for years for me to will mine to them. Walmart's price was so good that I couldn't resist giving them these pots that "last a lifetime".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

easy cookware

01/15/2011
By ,
ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These pots are the best. They are not hard to keep clean and you can cook anything I love my pots.My family used this cookware a long time. My parents had them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

Dont keep their initial beauty

01/06/2012
By ,
GBC TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got my new set for Christmas. Read the instruction and pan treatment information. Treated my pans and started to cook. All of my pans have discolored intererior walls. Even from just boiling water in them. And the lids get discolored from the stem from cooking. Really wish they could stay the original color. I purchased them partially for their looks.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnalite 13-Piece Cast-Aluminum Cookware Set, 1040816

great product

01/14/2008
By ,
Wellsville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
even cooking, easy cleanup, spouts on side of sauce pans
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next