Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

For safe, flameless heating indoors or out, Coleman's ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater requires a simple flick of the switch. Its built-in 2D fan quickly circulates up to 3,000 BTUs of heat for up to 8 hours on a 16.4-oz. propane cylinder. Great for warming up tents and other smaller spaces.
Average Customer Rating:
3.971 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation82%28 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

helps to take chill out!!!

04/08/2008
By ,
Corona,California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Catalytic heater proved to be a pretty good investment as we tested it in 30 degree weather during night time chill up in the Utah parks. It helped to take the edge off in our 12 x 15 tent. It did not heat up the tent but allowed for a comfortable sleep and it came in handy for my family of 6. The fule canister lasts about 6 hours so we kept an extra one ready to use. The electronic ignition was easy to use and the fan helped to circulate the heat. We used one set of batteries which lasted us about 6 days. Only draw back I see is once the fule is gone the fan continues working so you run the risk of running out of battery not to mention it circulates the air which has now cooled. But if your are willing to set your alarm to the approx. time the fule should run out, you can either turn off the fan or just replace the fule canister. Hey, camping does not mean 100% comfort. But this heater helped us to enjoy our week long vacation.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Review 2 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

A Major Disappointment

12/09/2007
By ,
Battle Creek, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The heater takes batteries but does not specify what kind in the description (this was bought on the walmart website for someone else to pick up) so he didn't know which to get until he actually opened up the box.
Second, it was very dinged up. My cousin got the impression that it was a recycled heater, that perhaps someone returned it to the manufacturer, they fixed it, repackaged it and sold it out again -- and he got it this time around.
Third, there was a considerable amount of rust on the joints and connections. Way too much for a 'new' product.
Fourth, it's advertised as providing 6 - 8 hours of heat with a 16oz cylinder. It actually provides about 4 hours. And there are no adjustment dials so you're stuck what whatever it kicks out.
Long story short, it's the most inexpensive propane heater advertised. There is a reason for it. With this little item, you get what you pay for, in that you don't pay alot so you get even less.
Save your money. Get a different heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

A great buy!

09/17/2007
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater a about 7 years ago. We camp in a large dome tent. This heater does the job. It won't make the tent too hot, but it sure keeps the bite of the 35-40 degree nightime temperature out of the tent. We love it! The fan on the heater definately helps move the heat around. I recommend it!! Drawbacks are: The box says it'll run 8 hrs on a full tank... Actually only about 6 hrs is what it runs. And, it's a larger sized unit. But worth taking with you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+39points
Review 4 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Heat a Chilly Shed

02/21/2009
By ,
Meadowlands, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this heater to warm a 9 x 13 x 6' high wooden shed that houses my motorcycle. It does a good job in heating the area. It has a little battery fan that circulates the heat around effectively. In a 15 degree atmosphere, it took about 2 hours to warm it enough that I only needed a sweatshirt to be comfortable. In the four hour period that I used it, it burned approx. a half a tank of propane. I would definitely recommend this heater to take the chill out of an outdoor shed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 5 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Worked Great

09/23/2007
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked just as the material said that it would. It helped keep us warm in a cold tent at Yellowstone National Park. Give it a try.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 6 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Awesome Product, Coleman!

03/21/2009
By ,
Rocky Mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned this product for four years now and it has proven its value to us during this time. It's quite a remarkable design to be safe to use within a tent. It lights easily and puts out a steady heat for about 5-6 hours, in often below freezing temps--we camp at 9000' plus in the CO mountains. The battery operated fan helps circulate the warm air. This product does work more efficiently in smaller areas/tents. If using a larger sized tent with "rooms", we recommend using the interior partitions to concentrate the heat, increasing its effectiveness.
This Coleman product is a must have for those who seek warmth, while camping in colder environments. It can even be used in truck shells and garages. We rely on our Pro Cat and are extremely happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 7 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition
09/03/2009
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Coleman Procat Heater five years ago. We've used in while camping in our tent, and now we use in to heat the cabin of our 20' sailboat, but not while sleeping! Sailboat has good ventilation, so using heater inside is safe! We store propane outside cabin. The heater has a large "footprint" meaning it will not tip over very eaisly. Best small boat heater on the market! It works great! Well worth the cost! Would buy one again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 8 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

What I Expected

12/03/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched small propane heaters. Everything I read about this one suggested it was appropriate for my needs. No complaints.
I read the directions, screwed in a propane bottle, turned it on and had heat just as I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 9 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Very useful for outdoors

12/26/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater was perfect for outdoor use as well as inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 10 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Warms the van up cheap

03/21/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use and works well. The fan blows the heat around and this speeds up the process of getting your space warm. I fire this bad boy up during the winter to get our van warm before we take off. This way when i start the van i don't have to let it idle for so long, it's already warm inside and we don't waste all that gas getting the heater up to temp. This would do a great job in a fourman tent to take the chill out of the air... keep an extra tank of fuel handy though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

LOVE IT

03/23/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this product. It was perfect for turning on an warming the tent up a little prior to changing, both in the morning and in the afternoon. Also used it in the morning to play on the floor with my nephew while others were sleeping. It keep the area warm enough to sit there and be able to enjoy it, even though it was only about 40 degrees out. I wish I would have purchased this product years ago! LOVE IT! No tent camper should be without one. We didn't use it at night, though if it would have gotten any colder I was prepared to turn it on during the night.
Make sure to keep a few feet away when igniting as it does put out a small flame when igniting, then it goes away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 12 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition
10/29/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just went camping in Northeastern PA. Cold(upper thirties), rainy and windy all weekend. Nobody wanted to leave the bonfire even in the rain. I put on the Pro Cat in my tent and was extremely comfortable until the next morning. Everyone at the site was jealous of this heater. The blower eats up the batteries, however, but it was sufficient even without the blower. I would be careful not to get anything near the heater, especially in a small tent.
The funny thing after the camping trip was that my power went out in my house for 24 hrs. and it worked just as nice in the bedroom!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

ProCat

12/05/2007
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ProCat is a little bigger than expected (I always have trouble picturing even when dimensions are included). But, its functionality is very good for smaller spaces.
I used this extensively in my camper for multi-day winter camping trips to save battery power used to run my built-in furnace. I found the small propane bottles to last about 7 hrs and the fan might even go longer than the reported 8 hours.
Where this unit excells - high altitude. Most catalytics have an automatic shut off for low O2 level, so they don't work over 6000'ish. I had this running well above 12000'.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Exceeds Expectations

12/08/2007
By ,
NW WA State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for use in a medium-sized shed which houses a clothing bank. The shed has just enough power to run a couple lights, but not enough to run a space-heater. During the winter months, it's cold! Our volunteers say this makes a world of difference. We have also used another brand, which puts out more btus, but it doesn't have a fan to move the air, and it uses at least twice as much propane.
This is not a small unit, either. It's a good-sized unit with a stable base. The fact that the fan runs on D batteries which are readily available is a plus, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Life giving heat

11/06/2008
By ,
SF Bay
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used it in Yosemite on halloween during the rain. It warmed up my four person tent within five minutes. We didn't use it while sleeping due to the warning on the heater, plus there was a propane smell. Probably from the initial startup of the heater. For any reason I need more heat, I turn the knob towards the "light"(used for starting), which allows more propane to flow, and it gets hotter. The coolest thing about it is, it will keep you warm while you're trying to light the camp fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 16 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Great product

11/13/2007
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This thing works great! It really takes the edge off on those cold nights camping. We camped with several other people and we were the only ones warm during the night. It only lasts 6 hours though, not 8 hours like the box says. It was difficult to light the first time because you do not see a flame. (It also smelled a little the first time we used it.) But once we got the hang of it, it was quite easy to light. My only regret was not buying one sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 17 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Works Great!

11/16/2007
By ,
Friendswood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to use in my small deer camper. It works great! I usually turn it on a little before I go to bed to warm up the bed and then shut it off. Then in the morning, I reach over and turn it on for a few minutes before I get out of the sleeping bag. It warms the camper up very quickly.
The fan seems to be a great addition to the unit as it does circulate the heat very well. I would recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Life Saver

12/06/2007
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd time I purchase this product. After lossing everything to a house fire, replacing this particular product was a must for my family. We spend 2 or 3 nights a week during soccer season sitting in cold stadiums watching 4 of our 5 teens play ball. I am completly satisfied and do recomend it to everyone!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition
03/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this fan/heater for my sister in New York, in the event she experienced power outages in the winter.............she hasnt had to use it yet, but she is very happy that she has it and looks forward to using it when necessary
In my opinion, this is a product needful for emergencies
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-2points
Review 20 for Coleman ProCat Portable Catalytic Heater With Electronic Ignition

Love This Heater!!

06/13/2010
By ,
Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was amazed how good this heater worked! Totally took the chill out of the tent in low 40' weather. It heated up quickly and lasted they 7 hours promised. I was additionally impressed that 1 set of batteries kept the fan working for 4, 7 hr nights.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next