Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

If you want quality resolution for your HD content, games and Blu-ray disc entertainment, it's hard to beat a full-HD 120Hz picture. And if you want sports and fast action to be as a crisp as they are exciting, TruMotion 120Hz virtually loses the blur and keeps the sizzle. The LG 55" 1080p LCD HDTV brings you both along with the other top features that make LG TVs something better. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 55" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.648 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation94%67 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Savy Elegance

04/13/2011
By ,
Ewa Beach, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After weeks of research, I settled on this T.V. particularly based on side by side comparisons at a local Walmart store with the other brands they had on display. The one that I was actually looking at was a comparable Samsung 55" with nearly the same features as this TV.
I settled on this TV because the picture quality was that much more better then the Samsung that was on display. It had a much more clearer picture, better trumotion imaging, and more aesthetically more appealing. The price was also a big factor because it was at least 500 dollars cheaper then the Samsung.
Pros:
- Great picture quality
- Ability to custom set the the TruMotion setting
- Aesthetically appealing
- LCD Screen rotates
- 120Mhz TruMotion
Cons:
- Stock sound from TV
- Remote control layout
- 3 HDMI ports (Wish it had 4 or more)
Overall:
I would recommend this product to anybody looking for an aggressively priced TV in the 55" market. It has a lot of features to make up for some that it lacks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+134points
Review 2 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Incredible Picture

08/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a review before I bought mine where the owner said the picture almost looks 3D. After watching it for a week what I've found is that on good HD channels there does seem to be depth to many of the programs and movies. I think it's because of the very true, crisp, sharp, high contrast picture. It's sometimes like looking out the window at the real world and I felt like hanging on to the chair when watching a documentary and there were aerial shots of flying over mountains and through the Grand Canyon. Incredibly realistic. The viewing angle is excellent and watching sports on it is an absolute blast.
You can judge a TV by comparing features and come up with a hundred reasons why one is better than another, but if a great picture is most important then I haven't seen any better. My friends used to compare everything to their Samsungs but now that they've watched my LG they've changed their minds and have a new standard. One is even going to sell his Samsung and get an LG before football season starts. Glad I bought it and have recommended it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 3 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

The TV was great until it broke

02/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered this TV on Black Friday and it worked great for 3 months until it wouldn't turn on anymore. One day we went to turn on the TV and it just wouldn't turn on. We tried everything to fix it. We called LG and they were terrible to work with. They are sending us a check for the price we paid for the TV. We are now going to buy the 55" Vizio. We have another Vizio and it works great and if something happens to your Vizio they are good to work with and they make sure you get a new TV. LG said they can't send us a new TV because we got ours before the new year so all of their TV's are the newer model and they don't upgrade you. I loved this TV at first but your brand new TV should last more than 3 months. I also wish that LG would have help us better than they did. We have been dealing with them for over 3 weeks now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520
08/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is great! compared to other TV this is a great value. I've had other brands of TV but LG has always been one of the best. TV has great resolution, i love the sound and if think its not enough, the buy a home theater. The TV looks nice and elegant. I would recommend anyone to buy this TV!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 5 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

POOR PICTURE QUALITY

12/25/2011
By ,
KENTUCKY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this TV after doing extensive research. It was highly recommended on several sites and scored well from customers. The chief complaint I gathered was in reference to volume and some issues with brightness. This was not the case for me.
PICTURE QUALITY was horrible after testing it on regular channels, HD, and Blue Ray Movies. Background is typically grainy, pixels show up often, motion blur is frequent and very noticeable. Very displeased with this product, and I am a huge LG fan. Had to return to the store, was not worth the money that they have advertised on Walmart website, nor worth the sales price I got it at before Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Review 6 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

LG 55 LCD

05/02/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased 10 months ago. Everything wonderful until today when TV would not turn on. When you attempt to power on, red light comes on then turns to blue. Trademark LG screen comes on for 2 seconds then TV shuts off. Google the problem and it turns out there are numerous posts about this issue. Good news is 1 yr parts and labor warranty so plan on taking the TV back to Walmart. Bad news is it weighs 85 pounds and now need to take of my wall and lug it back. Buyer beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+64points
Review 7 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520
01/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased a LG TV on 11/28/11 and on 01/20/12 it stopped working, now the problem begins. The manufacture is giving me the run around, I was called on the phone and the Tech. says I need a part that he has to order and the reason he knows this is because this happens to LG models. So shouldn't they already have the part? And I purchased a 3 year warranty from Walmart which doesn't take affect until the 1 year warranty is over, what good is a 3 year warranty if my TV doesn't work for a year. I bought a 1000 dollar paper weight.......
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 8 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Awesome Bigscreen TV! Would buy it again.

12/18/2011
By ,
Maricopa, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The clarity of picture on this television is amazing. The HD, LCD makes the picture pop right off the screen as though you are actually in the scenes you are watching.
It is so flat against the wall it is great. The only complaint would be that the manufacturer put the connector for the plugin on the tv so that it pushes the tv out from the wall instead of putting the connection in an indent on the tv so it could be flush on the wall. The sound is clear and there is no vibration from anywhere in or on the television.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Great TV

12/22/2011
By ,
Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this TV about a month ago and I have to say it is a really nice step up from my 40" Samsung. I researched many different TV's before purchasing this one. I love the picture and it has good sound quality. We have watched movies, hooked up the playstation and enjoyed HD TV, without any problems. The menu is easy to navigate and tweak your settings. Overall great value for the price. I would definately recommend this TV to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Great picture

08/21/2011
By ,
Delano, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great TV just needs more HDMI ports and an audio out put other than optical
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 11 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

The best 55 inch TV on the market

02/08/2012
By ,
Covington, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my first LG 42 inch TV last year and because of the picture quality, I decided to replace my old Panasonic 50 inch with this great LG 55 in TV. WOW, what an upgrade!
After months of research; I've found that LG TV's are outstanding in quality & sound and I was impressed with their customer service when I had questions for my 42 inch. The tru motion is awesome and does take some getting use to but overall, you cannot go wrong with this TV or any LG model. I purchased a LG Blue Ray theater system and after hooking it up; the picture quality & sound blew me away. I also learned that LG makes Etech which I bought a 32 in for my son and it too has a great picture quality and sound. I will only buy LG & Etech TV's in the future!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520
12/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV a few years ago and I am blown away everytime I turn it on! Great TV!
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 13 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Awesome

01/23/2012
By ,
Hunterdon County,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is a great buy, the picture is incredible has lots of nice features. I bought and returned another brand from Walmart before I purchased this LG. Wow what a difference, it's true you get what you pay for. My advice spend a few more bucks for the LG you won't regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Second LG LCD and loving it so far

10/23/2011
By ,
Cary, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The image quality and motion on this set is truly amazing. I am not saying this lightly as I have watched High Definition media since it first became available and have seen many sets, in action. The viewing angles are outstanding and rival plasma TVs. The sound is average to weak but this is to be expected in most LCDs so a sound bar is necessary. Trumotion is cool but it takes some getting used to and sometimes it's a bit over the top and makes scenes look odd. I haven't had a chance to see the 24P yet.
The television doesn’t have too many bells and whistles except for the trumotion and 24P compatibility but for most people, image quality and smooth motion with unnoticeable pixelization is all that matters. Internet capable is for noobs anyway. I just wish it had analgog left and right outputs for sound; I ended up using the earphone out for my soundbar however it disables the audio enhancements when you plug in. I will be trying a Digital to analog converter very soon. For the $1100 or less price tag, you cannot go wrong with this set. It big, the video is breathtaking and it’s relatively cheap for a large LCD. I have this mounted on a wall with a wireless sub/soundbar and it's fantastic. I would buy another one just because it's so nicebut but my LG-47” is more than spectacular in the master bedroom. I hope this one keeps going for years. GO LG!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520
02/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this tv because it was all that was left i looked at 5 other tvs they were all sold out i went for th 55 hisense 3d led tv but it was tax time and like i sid everything was gone i did pay 200 more for this tv but in all it was well worth it the graphics on my playstation are incredible tv thats not in hd is kinda not real clear but not bad at all for this size lcd sound goes high but speaker quality leaves a little to be desired will probably add sound bar i wanted size over quality and with this tv i ended up with both very happy it was all that was left
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Nice TV

12/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than the Sony it replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

LG brand is more than LOOKING GOOD

11/26/2011
By ,
El Dorado, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have four HDTVs in my home, two are LGs from Walmart and the other two are well known brand names...The LG 50 HDLCD meets all expectations...a great set at a reasonable price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520

Great Buy!

09/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this TV on sale, and for the money it was the best! Overall, we are satisfied with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520
03/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Picture ever. Plenty of options for connecting other devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 20 for LG 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LK520
03/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tv and the price was good for the value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next