Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LG LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

If you want high definition for your HD content, games and Blu-ray Disc entertainment, there's nothing better than 1080p full HD. If you want sports and fast action to be as a crisp as they are exciting, TruMotion 120Hz virtually loses the blur and keeps the sizzle. The LG 42" 1080p TV brings you both along with the other top features that make LG TVs something better. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 42" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.677 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%93 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520
08/18/2011
By ,
Selmer, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this tv yesterday and hooked it up today. We were very pleased for about 3 hrs. then the picture went to the darkest setting and stayed that way. We went into "settings" and none of the brightness settings would change the brightness of the picture. After about 30 min. the picture got brighter again. It just does it of it own accord. This tv will be returned tomorrow and I will look at a different brand.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Hagerstown, MD
I 2nd the Energy Saver
Posted 02/18/2012
I agree with the other comment, it most likely was the Energy Saver that darkened the screen. I bought this TV yesterday, hooked it up on a sunny afternoon in a room with a lot of windows, and the screen right away looked darker than I'd like it to be. The first thing I adjusted was the Energy Saver and turned it completely off and the screen became really bright. Then I went and tweaked the "Picture" settings just to get everything calibrated, but the Energy Saver feature was most likely the issue. I don't remember the default setting, but was probably on "Auto", so that's why it would seem to do it on it's own, just changed with the room lighting.
0points
Customer Avatar
TX
Energy Saver
Posted 09/22/2011
It does that because of the lighting... if you have a well light room... the screen darkens, dark room, the screen lightens, its also a energy saver... I know this because I just purchased this model an month and a half ago...
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520
03/09/2012
By ,
derby, ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The lg tv is a good investment, good picture, Iam really impressed with the sound. This is our first flat panel tv in the house. But there is one thing that Iam not happy about the stand for the tv is a real piece of junk. Cannot walk by and touch the tv, without the whole thing flopping around. very bad stand on the bottom of the tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

sound

12/13/2011
By ,
Palmetto, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very dissapointed in the sound quality in this TV
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 4 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

Very impressed

10/28/2011
By ,
brooklyn, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520
is a very good lcd tv. Before I had a Samsung 4069.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

Overall a very nice TV

02/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV has great sound, and a very good picture, especially, of course, when watching high definition broadcasts. My one complaint is that the TV has some sort of sensor that makes the brightness of the picture correspond to the brightness of the room. I feel that this sensor works backwards. No matter what setting I choose for the picture quality and brightness, when we watch TV at night with just some dim lights on, the picture becomes darker. I feel the picture should remain the same or even get a bit brighter. To have a really good quality picture, we have to watch TV at night with a bright light on in the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Uxbirdge MA
Posted 03/01/2012
The sensor is working correctly. A brighter picture is required in bright light conditions so it does not wash out. In low light, a brighter picture strains the eyes.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

Great tv

10/10/2011
By ,
ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tv overall! As long as you buy hdmi cable and select hdmi input in menu of your tv and watch hd programming. Sounds like a no brainer but the tv in standard def w/out hdmi connection is just so so. Surprised but a lot of people I have talked to did not know they needed hdmi cables. And do not waste money on name brand cables in store, for just 3ft of cable in store wanted $20. I purchased through online site for 2 6ft and a 10ft w/shipping for $18 and change. Also, may get through cable or satellite provider for free. Used site to store for tv and received in a week about 1 1/2 weeks was not available in the store closest to me but found in another store after I ordered otherwise great experience. Excellent return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

great value

11/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used this LG TV for 3 months in a bedroom(wall mount). I found the stand that comes with it is very flimsy compared to Sony or Samsung TV's that I own. The picture quality is ok in SD, but I expect a much better picture when I switch to HD. The setup was a breeze & all you have to do is follow the manuel. The biggest drawback to this TV is the sound system, which I found to be at best ok....would suggest using a sound bar or buying a 5.1 or 7.1 sound sytem to hook-up to this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

Nice TV

08/30/2011
By ,
Sarasota, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went with LG because it is a reputable brand that gets high reviews. However, I can't see a whole lot different with this TV than other ones. I have a Vizio and the picture quality is about the same. I will say that the sound (contrary to what others may say) is very good on this LG and is far superior to my Vizio. Picture is nice, but sports still get a tad blury when there is fast motion. Video games look nice, as well as DVDs. TV in High Def looks so good. I gave features a "3" because I don't use any of them, so I don't know if they're good or not. Something else to note is that I have this TV in my bedroom, which is very small, and the tempeture of my room has gone up significantly. This TV gives off so much heat. Overall, this is a nice TV and I'm happy with it, but I bought mine for $539 (tax-free!) from East Coast TVs. I'm not sure this is a good value buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520
09/29/2011
By ,
colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased a sound bar for this television. Was not impressed with the TV speakers. Overall I am satisified with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520
10/16/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this television on September 2011. I read terrible reviews on walmart shipping so i decided to pick up at a local walmart store. Walmart had my item ready the next day by 10am as promised. I brought it home and tested all features, nothing was wrong with my brand new tv. The picture quality is amazing but i must say it tends to blur more then i expected a 120hz tv to. The sound quality is good but when i do watch a movie i would like the volume to be a bit higher. The only thing about this television that is completely horrible is the base, it wobbles at the slightest tounch. Would recommend to hang it up immediately.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 11 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

the only problem is that the picture is too dark

03/12/2012
By ,
live oak, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pictyure is too dark when the room is dark.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

Good TV for the Price

08/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Pros:
TV has lots of inputs: 3 HDMI, 2 Component, 2 Composite, 1 RBG (computer), 1 USB, and 1 RF (coax) connector. Very easy and useful picture and sound controls. As good or better view angles as my old "tube" TV. Finally, there is very little glare from lights and windows.
The Cons:
The remote needs to be aimed at the right lower corner (I'm guessing that's the remote receiver location) fairly precisely and even then pushing a button on the remote may not get a response on the first try. Also the base that comes with the TV (some assembly required) seems a bit flimsy but it does come with a hole in the base and a wood screw that can be attached to the top of your entertainment center (I highly recommend).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

Love this TV!

12/06/2011
By ,
Ventress, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this TV about a month ago. All I can say is that the picture is great and I don't even have it hooked to an HD box. That will be coming soon. Plan on purchasing another one for my Mother-in-law for Christmas. Think she'll love it, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520
01/26/2012
By ,
Central IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture quality of this tv is excellent.Reasonably priced.Sound quality is right on.Love every aspect of this tv.Would recommend this tv to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

Great TV

12/27/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tv to upgrade from a 42 inch LG that we got a few years ago, it was only a 720p and now that we have so many HD channels and a BluRay player, we figured it was time to upgrade.
Originally bought a similar LG from Best Buy online and they couldn't fullfil the order and deliver it to our local store (don't ask) and couldn't deliver it to home for 3 weeks, uhhh no thanks. Got our refund and went to walmart .com.
I am convinved now after several purchases, this is the only way to make large item purchases or anything you already know exactly what you want and don't want or need to have to deal with an associate with.
Not that its walmart fault but here's the usual scenario: Go into the store look around at some tv's (or other electronic devices) do some price comparing and then want to ask an associate a couple questions, wait for them to finally show up to help you and then their not sure let me ask someone else, decide to purchase, ok well let me go get one from the back and then go to the register to wait in line while they try to talk you into the extended warranty coverage. Wow, thats ok.
Here's the new way to do it: go to walmart .com, compare products, read reviews, google other products and reviews, go back to walmart.com, make purchase and choose store pick up, 2 hours or so later they send you a text on your phone, go to back of store and pick product up and leave and go home. Me likey!!!
What can i say, the tv, as most our now a days was super easy to set up, plug in the right cables to the right locations and your done. It takes longer to get it out of the box and get all the plastic removed thatn it does to actually set the tv up. Definately go for the 1080 and definately go with the 120hz refresh rate, makes a huge difference especially in action scenes. Mediocre sound but buy the vizio sound bar for a hundred bucks and its much better.
I hope this helps, and please be kind. I read reviews now before I make any major kind of purchases because I value what the average user has to say not just the experts, if you do to, please start taking the time to write reviews on the products you purchase, it helps us all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 16 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

LG I LOVE YOU

05/04/2011
By ,
south jersy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This picture is unsurpassed to anything I have seen. I own a RCA and a Sony HD TV. This LG TV certainly looks as close to 3D as I have ever seen without being an actual 3D picture. I am not only pleased but in awe of the TV and it's technology. Thank You LG. You certainly created a loyal fan and cheerleader in me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Review 17 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

GREAT TV - nice price

08/27/2011
By ,
Danville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with our 42" LG LCD HGTV. The picture quality is great - vivid colors, crisp and sharp. Finding it on sale with free shipping directly to our door was definitely an added bonus. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a 42" flat screen TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520

LG Excellent Picture !!!!

10/13/2011
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Picture Quality. Picture looks like 3D. I had to recheck twice to see if they sold me a 3D TV buy a mistake. Words does not do this TV justice. See pictures I've took of TV screen pictures. I am extremely pleased with LG TV's. This is my second TV from LG.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 19 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520
01/12/2012
By ,
Roseburg, Or.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After some time learning the menus and controls, was able to get a very good picture. Was disipointed in the sound, but because of having a home theater system, that realy did not distract from the overall performance of the television.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520
02/18/2012
By ,
Spokane
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome tv! My first hdtv and it was so easy! We did have a problem at first with the sound. One speaker sounded like it was blown. After we finally figured out the wall mount, I was checking the speakers to see if there was something in it. Sure enough a small staple was loose inside. Now the sound is awesome!
Only thing against it is I thought it had an hd antenna installed and it doesn't. That's what I get for letting my husband pick it. But it seems like a really nice tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next