Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

The Philips HTS3251B F7 Home Theater provides unbeatable home entertainment with its high definition pictures and powerful surround sound. With the full HD 1080p conversion, you get the best possible image quality with sharp pictures. This Blu-ray home theater system brings you exceptional video viewing experience with 24 frames per second video. With 3" full-range woofer, this Philips home theatre delivers sound that will match the picture quality. With the EasyLink technology, you can control all your HDMI CEC enabled devices with a single remote. Connect the Blu-ray to the Internet and get exclusive downloadable content, gaming, and exciting new things. This Philips home theater with 1080p upconversion also makes streaming TV episodes and movies from Netflix simply effortless. You can catch all this on your Philips TV with just an Internet connection and a Netflix membership package. This Philips home theater meets the Energy Star guidelines and uses less power consumption.
Average Customer Rating:
3.906 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation77%41 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Great home theatre system

06/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just ordered this product on Thursday of last week and received it on Tuesday, using standard shipping. We immediately opened the box and was eager to get our new system connected. ok speaker set up easy.. trying to get the surround sound to work with my cable.. not so easy. After 3 hours of google searching, reading manuals, unplugging and replugging everything back in my tv seemed broke! It would come on (I knew this because the power light was green) but nothing was on the screen. We called it a night. Turned the television on the next morning it was still black, i decided to turn back on the BD box and there it was - my cable! With surround sound.. however I still heard the tv's sound so I turned it down all the was and now it works. I am sure there is something still not hooked up right but for now I am very satisfied with the sound and the quality of the product.. I would do it all over again to pay this price for such a high quality product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+6points
Review 2 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Not Wi-FI

06/02/2011
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound from this is great but if you are buying it for the wi-fi netflix you need model #HTS3306. This model is not wi-fi capable & can only use the netflix with an ethernet cable contrary to what Walmart says in this listing. I contacted Phillips & they said this model can never be wi-fi & the model I listed above is the only model Walmart carries that is. The sound quality is great but with blu-ray disk only the front speakers play while with tv (which you need to buy the red & white audio cables to hook up) & regular dvds the full surround was available. 5.1 sound was not even an option when a blu ray disk was playing for some reason. If you just want some speakers its good for the price. Taking this back tomorrow & paying the extra $78 for the Wi-fi one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 3 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Terrific for the money

06/02/2011
By ,
Portland, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How much to buy a new hi def blu-ray player? $200? How much for a 5.1 surround sound system? Several hundred at least for a boxed system. And how much for a new FM receiver with enough watts to make you happy? A few hundred more? Okay, now how picky are you? If you are a video freak or audiophile, this probably isn't the system for you. But if you want FAR better sound then what comes out of your TV speakers (with some nice movie theater bass) , a blu-ray player that also plays regular DVDs as well as music and photo CDs, an FM tuner, and a way to watch Netflix on your TV instead of on your PC monitor, this is the best $200 you'll ever spend.
Three things to note: 1) you'll need at least two HDMI cables: one to connect the blu-ray player to the TV and one from the cable box to the blu-ray player; 2) there is no bluetooth (wireless) connection so in order to connect the system to the internet for Netflix you have to use an ethernet cord that attaches to your cable broadband modem (so if your modem and PC are in a different room than your TV you have to think about what to do); 3) set up isn't very straightforward and the instruction booklet isn't terribly clear. Plus, once you have it all set up, getting it to use the whole 5.1 system instead of just the front speakers takes several steps, so be sure to read up or go to the Phillips website for help.
Overall, I'm pleased with the sound, the cost and the extra's (like the FM tuner...what a plus!).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+69points
Review 4 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

great product

05/09/2011
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered this online free site-to-store and picked it up within the week. When we hooked it up, there was a problem internally with the blu-ray player, so we ordered a new one and it was here within the week again, and it works perfectly. we returned the other with no problem. We've only had the product for about a week now, but it puts out great sound and the picture has amazing clarity!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 5 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Somewhat disappointed..

10/06/2011
By ,
New Castle, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the HTS3565D system (which is basically the same as this one except the 3565D does not have a Blu-Ray player) about 3 years ago and am STILL amazed by the sound. Based on that, I assumed I would get the same quality system for my cave/theater room by upgrading to the HTS3251B Blu-Ray system...but I didn't. With the DVD system, I have never NEEDED to turn the volume past 12 or 13 on the 40 max scale. (I actually had it at level 15 playing a song earlier this year and it set off one of the shatter sensors on my windows.) With the Blu-Ray system, however, I can barely even hear anything out of the speakers, except for the center speaker, until the volume is near 30 on a 60 max scale. I will say, though, that voices do come out very crisp and clear from the center speaker. This could be a pretty decent system, I guess, depending on your needs and given $198 price tag it is being sold for now, but I am probably going to return mine and upgrade to something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7
11/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had it long enough -- about 3 weeks -- to give it an accurate review. So far, though, it meets our needs & expectations. This is DH's newest toy. 1. It was intuitive to set up -- they saw me coming, thank goodness -- LOL! 2. DH loves the volume range & the modes/settings & has played with all of them. I'm sure our neighbors appreciate that he has not taken the volume beyond 25. I think some sound-proofing is on the do-it-soon list! 3. I have not fooled with it too much. Except for the volume -- generally too loud for me -- I usually leave settings as they are. The packaging was well-done; price was right; everything that was supposed to be in the box was in the box; speakers are generously supplied with speaker wire -- for us, anyway -- system is set up in a 14' x 14' room. Easy on-line product registration. In 5 or 6 months, I may not be so happy with this product after it has gone thru the winter & suffered thru the humidity -- extremely high around here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Lock the doors

04/23/2011
By ,
Gainesville , Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You'll think someone 's coming in the back door . Sound is Great and dvd picture is awesome .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 8 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

a good product,worth the price

05/17/2011
By ,
Tampa,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this system has great sound and very easy hook up,well worth the sale price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7
07/17/2011
By ,
pemberville oh.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off the sound is great for the size of a living room,the blue ray player looks better that regular dvd's,on my hdtv,and having the ability to watch netflix and listen to net radio is a plus .
This is a well rounded system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

BluRay player, FM radio, 5.1 amp for under $200

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was originally looking for a way to boost the sound in my thin HDTV.
The sound was lousy on the tv and I had it installed in RV (the tv raises and lowers into a custom box) which directed the sound into the box.
I looked at remote speakers, sound bars and then came upon this unit.
It had 5.1 sound, a BluRay, FM and an input connection for digital sound (it looks like an RCA plug, but carries sound digitially from the tv to the Home Theater System or HTS). This digital input was required as that's the only sound output on the tv when it runs off antnena.
All this for only $50 more than a sound bar.
Shipping was very cheap, arrived in a few days and fit into the RV pretty well. Fitting anything into an RV is always tough.
The square speaker plugs were awkward to route through the RV walls so I marked them and then removed them from the plugs (they have pins that capture them in the plug) to be replaced after I routed the wires.
The bass is a bit weak but overall, for the money, this is a best buy. Just a few months ago standalone BluRays sold for this amount!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Does the Job

08/16/2011
By ,
VV, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a TV with so-so sound and this sytem kicked it up a few notches (alot of notches). The system is great for the price. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7
05/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far I love this product ! I am hearing impaired I use the stereo part of this daily & Its great crisp clear sound really happy with my purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 13 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Nice but not what I wanted

09/06/2011
By ,
Catonsville, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had many features I liked and price was nearly amazing, but I returned this to the store.
Things I liked:
> vtuner. This is cool. Found every radio station I have ever loved from everywhere I have ever lived and brought them to my current home. But take time to set up the web account and set up favorite folders there BEFORE you start adding favorites over the unit - I coldn't figure out how to reorganize folders once favorites were assigned.
> Netflix. This was what got me focused on this unit. Was intended for a weekend house that doesn't have antenna signals nor cable subscr. This worked well except it lacked ability to browse / add favs to instant queue without logging in to account on PC. (a feature we love with our LG at primary residence)
My issues were:
1) System didn't remember and restart with my last settings. I wanted to listen to radio or vtuner, and had to turn on TV and navigate back to my favorite station each time I started the unit.
2) Sound. The quality was 'ok' but the default settings went from 'too-loud-to-fall-asleep-to' to 'off' I probably could have adjusted the individual speaker settings to fix this - but at this point I had already made my decision to return based on item 1.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7
07/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just wanted to say that i searched online and found this product. Was very happy with the price, let alone setting it all up. Was very easy to set up!!! The sound... all i can say is whoaaaaa!!!! Awesome surround effects. Also having the feature to listen to FM radio, let alone see pics from your CD. Very happy with this product. I will tell my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 15 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Not what I wanted, I took it back.

07/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1st of all. could not hook it up to my sattelite box, then I discovered there was no way to dissconect the rear spezker wires from the big plug that plugs into the receiver, in order to attach them to my exsisting wires that are ran under my floor. Thank goodness there was no problem returning it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 16 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Very Good Value!

07/07/2011
By ,
Hertford, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect a unit that cost under $200 to be this good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

not happy

07/10/2011
By ,
Gardena
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product because I had also purchased a Phillips 40" flat screen LCD. the sound quality it not that great and for some reason the remote won't operate both TV and home theater. the reason I bought both together was so that I wouldnt have compatablity issues between the 2.. To be fair it could be an issue with the set up, but i paid to have it installed professionaly so I cant be 100% since I know nothing of these things.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 18 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Good sound qualiy

10/12/2011
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this at walmart online after reading the reviews it got. I have to admit this phillips Blu-ray system is not bad at all, for the price almost $160 off you cant beat that price. It most defenately does the job other systems do, to tell you the truth many people buy products because of the name brand like samsung, sony, LG and forget about other top products like phillips. Has loud good sound, great theatre type sound. deep bass, plus internet radio, netflix built in HD, although it's not wireless like it says, you can connect ethernet through wireless router or modem, which many people agree is better connection than wireless. This item deserves 4**** stars for its rich sound and easy connection- yes recommend it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Great little system

11/01/2011
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this system for my bedroom, and it certainly fills the bill. Big sound from a compact unit. Greatly enhances movies and sports. Only two small annoyances with this unit. 1. There is a considerable lag time when switching functions. You must hesitate a couple of seconds before you move from one function to another, if you want to change. 2. The difference in volume in the fm radio and everything else. If you have the volume set (for instance) at 25 on TV then change over to fm radio, you will get blasted out of the room. I have to reduce volume to about 5 or 6 before changing to radio to have a tolerable listening level once on radio.
Otherwise, I LOVE this unit. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7

Not wifi ready

05/08/2011
By ,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this blu-ray player under the impression that I could watch netflix and other online services using my current wifi as described but when I set everything up, a ethernet cord must be connected. I have to buy a seperate part that adds to the price of the blu-ray
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-21points
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next