Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Great Value Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, in a 27.8 oz can, is a smooth roast with a rich and robust flavor that coffee drinkers will enjoy. Great Value Coffee is a ground coffee that can be used with any standard coffee maker. This dark roast coffee comes in a resealable can that helps maintain freshness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation86%43 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Bad taste

04/14/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This coffee taste like it was filtered through old dirty socks. It has the distinct taste of burnt hair and instant coffee. I am a coffee lover and I have no love for this coffee. I would recommend paying a little more and just drinking a little less coffee for the better taste.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

New but NOT Improved

12/15/2013
By ,
Duluth MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really liked this before the "New and Improved" came out. I wish they would go back to the original blend. I noticed it was bitter and wondered what happened, then saw the "New and Improved" on the can. It no longer provides any value to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Great Product at a Great Price

05/12/2012
By ,
Spencer, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I usually drink Yuban Dark Roast coffee, but it is hard to find.
Don't know if Kraft is discontinuing the product or not.
The Great Value Dark Roast is equal to the Yuban Dark Roast in quality and taste.
Smooth with no bitter taste.
Highly recommend the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Delicious Dark Roast Coffee

04/16/2012
By ,
Pueblo, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I love dark roast coffee but not the high price of the major brands.
The Great Value dark roast ground coffee is not only economical but is richer and more robust than many of the pricier, major brands.
Thanks, Walmart, for sourcing high quality, dark roast coffee, at a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Good Flavor

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have tried many brands and find this most economical an most flavorful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

VERY GOOD PRODUCT AT A REASONABLE PRICE

07/02/2011
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with the flavor as well as the price of this coffee, I was a Folger's coffee drinker for many years and find this is equal to if not better Foldger's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Boston, Ma
same as folgers gourmet supreme
Posted 05/27/2013
I have a strong feeling that folgers gourmet supreme and great value dark roast are the same roast and same roaster,i.e., the same coffee. ounces are exactly the same and both labels use the same descriptive wording. Walmart is private labeling a folgers product(in my opinion).
0points
Customer Avatar
Madsin
Never in stock
Posted 03/08/2012
Never in stock. But hey, you can buy the cruddy classic roast that no one wants. It does not seem to matter what city I am in they just don't ever have it on the shelf.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

agreed NOT improved!

12/18/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The coffee starts with a good flavor, but finishes bitter and tastes a bit like instant coffee and plastic. Nothing covers it up!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Rich, smooth taste

09/17/2012
By ,
Wallingford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trying to trim the grocery bill so I bought Great Value Dark Roast instead of my regular Maxwell House Dark Roast to test it out. I'm not disappointed! Taste is rich and smooth. Will definitely buy this again. Plus, the large can is way cheaper than the name brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Dark Coffee

06/10/2011
By ,
Tucson, Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really glad that someone has finally stocked dark coffee in the bigger can! Love this coffee!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Dark Great Value Coffee
Posted 08/08/2011
Excellent Coffee and a great price!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Great Coffee

01/27/2013
By ,
Milbridge Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like to buy whole beans from a specialty store online. But my new life style needed to be a new budget, This is wonderful rich coffee. I have tried every brand in the stores and this is my all time favorite. Rich robust coffee. A good thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz
07/29/2012
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good dark roast and good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

great coffee

01/22/2013
By ,
duluth mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love full, rich flavor. This coffee is amazing. better than any other brand I've tried for pure bold flavor, and the great price is just a bonus.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

As good as Maxwell House

03/14/2014
By ,
Aberdeen, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started buying this to replace the Maxwell house coffee when the price skyrocketed. I find this to be as good as the Maxwell house at a much more reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Walmart Dark Roast Coffee - Buy and Enjoy

06/15/2012
By ,
Mitchellville, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fine robust dark coffee, and this comes to you at a phenomenally low price. I have no reservations re recommending this coffee, if you like strong dark roast. You drinkers of medium roast weak coffee -- stay away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Strong coffee, tastes good

08/26/2012
By ,
Birmingham, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to LOVE strong coffee and this was really good for that, but now I use less and it tastes better to me than it did before. It's worth what you pay, it's worth the savings, in my book.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

makes a good, rich-flavored cup of coffee!

10/25/2012
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One can (27.8 to 32 oz.) lasts me an entire month if I make 1 to 1 1/2 12-cup pots a day. That's a lot of coffee! I always look for Great Value products. Nice coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

dark roast great value coffee 27.8

12/19/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow....cannot believe the fastest shipping ever with my order...2 days and its here...great price too...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz
11/21/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good coffee. well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

Not as dark, nor as good as it used to be...

03/30/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This used to be an incredible value, and a good alternative to Community (a Louisiana-based brand, popular in the South).
But in the past year or so, the quality's not as high, and I've noticed lately that the color of the grounds is lighter. In fact, I'd even go so far as to say that this is no longer a true dark roast, but more of a medium roast. I'll sometimes throw in a scoop or two of finely ground espresso roast, and the resulting blend is actually very good.
It's a shame, because this is a very well-priced coffee, and certainly drinkable. With a little tweaking, it could downright memorable, and indeed, a "Great Value."
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Great Value Dark Roast Ground Coffee, 27.8 oz

good coffee

09/05/2012
By ,
Sidney, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good taste, great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next