Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Create your own personalized hotspot on the go with the T-Mobile's 4G Mobile Hotspot. Browse Internet at high speed on up to five Wi-Fi devices, using a single mobile broadband connection. It acts as your personal mobile broadband hotspot and goes where you go, all while enjoying blazing 4G speeds on T-Mobile's 4G network. Your mobile hotspot will allow you and your friends to surf the internet, stream media, or update your social networks. This personal mobile hotspot is compatible with Windows and Mac, letting you to surf on your desktop or notebook. Send text messages to your friends with this sleek 4G hotspot. You can also download games, watch movies online, chat and surf at sky rocketing speeds. Let the information flow on your fingertips with this 4G capable hotspot.
Average Customer Rating:
3.773 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation73%16 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

WOW!! This thing is great.

09/10/2011
By ,
Englewood, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a computer store. I purchased this for a customer who is planning a long term trip and no internet is available enroute or at the destination. He did not want to be involved in a contract that would have no use or value to him upon return. The pay only for usage aspect was what he desired.
This MiFi device loaded into his computer and was activted in a simple step by step fashion. The whole process took about three minutes. The speed and performance is equal to the wireless N I have in my shop. I was expecting a bit better speed than 3G, which is nothing to brag about, but this 4G is amazingly fast.
This is one of those rare computer gizmos that does exactly what it is supposed to do in a simple, straightforward manner. The price is right for the hotspot device and the T-mobile usage options are reasonable in price as well. If I could I would give this thing 10 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+102points
Review 2 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Finally Found Hotspot That Works

08/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first ordered one of these devices from the T-Mobile website and it didn't work properly (wouldn't connect to the cell network). I went to Walmart to get a Virgin Mobile device. I was able to get on to activate it and put money on it, but it wouldn't connect to the internet. I had now spend at least 8 hours of frustration with these two devices. I noticed that Walmart had the Tmobile ones at the store and decided to try it again. I FINALLY got one that worked. I spent a day driving about 300 miles throughout the state. I was using the hotspot with my Android Tablet for the GPS. Through all the driving there was only a couple of minutes where there wasn't a signal. The battery life seemed to be very good. I put it on a car charger after about 4 hours of use although it could have gone longer. I tried this with my laptop also and it connects quickly and the speed seems to be very good for casual use.
It does not get burning hot like the Virgin Mobile MiFi does. My only complaint is that the front screen turns off very quickly so you can't even tell if it is on or what the status is. You can read the screen by pressing the power switch quickly but it is annoying to have to do that. Maybe it is just bad luck on my part, but 2 out of 3 devices being defective out of the box is pretty bad. I guess if your setup doesn't seem to be working you could very well have a bad one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+79points
Review 3 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Avoid 2 yr contracts

06/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my iPad when I leave home. I didn't believe the extra 200 dollars for the wifi iPad + a 2 yr contract was worth the money. I considered several options: purchasing a USB stick and a mobile broadband router, such as from Cradlepoint, however, both would cost more than just the wifi unit alone and the USB stick runs the risk of being damaged because it would potrude from the router during transport. Then I researched pre paid mobile MIFI hotspots and the most popular one was from Virgin mobile, however, it received bad reviews no matter what website I went on. People complained about the poor reception and the non existent customer service. This t-mobile mobile MIFI is fairly new on the market, having come out this past April/May. There were not many reviews on it, but most stated people were exceptionally pleased with it as well as the great reception. Many said they're using it for their home internet service exclusively, and I can see why. The unit is very small (about the length of a normal sized pointer finger, and really slim). Set up was easy and will automatically take you to t-mobile's website where you can purchase your plan online or by phone. With use, the uit does heat up a bit, but this won't be an issue because I plan to keep it in my purse and not on my person. It comes with and charges with a micro USB charger and seems to hold the charge for a couple of hours, at least 4 hrs. The speed is phenomenal. Now that t-mobile has merged with Sprint, the reception in all major cities will be excellent, and t-mobile has three levels of reception in other areas, from good to very good (see their website for coverage). The unit was slightly more at the T-mobile store, so I decided to purchase on Walmart's site and opted for site to store for free shipping. I recently upgraded my Belkin broadband unit for my home; the service on T-mobile's 4G/3G NEtwork was, indeed, faster than my new Belkin unit. The great thing about the unit is that you are not locked into a contract and can choose to refill month to month, or for only 7 days, or you can skip months and not have to worry about the added expsense of contracts: taxes, FCC fees, network fees, etc. Very happy with this device especially because 5 devices can share the connection via WIFI, and you won't have to worry about finding free WIFI when you leave home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+369points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Fact Check.
Posted 07/31/2011
When did T-Mobil merge with Sprint?. I am aware of a proposed merger between T-Mobil and AT&T, but not with Sprint.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Miami Beach, Florida
Correction: TMobile to merge with AT&T(Not Sprint)
Posted 07/04/2011
Correction: TMobile in the process of merging with AT&T (Not Sprint), and it is not a done deal yet. (as of July 2011).
> Now that t-mobile has merged with Sprint, the reception in all major cities will be excellent, and t-mobile has three levels of reception in other areas, from good to very good (see their website for coverage).
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Great Idea, BUT...

02/04/2012
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great idea. I bought this from TMobile directly, because I didn't want to wait for shipping and they didn't have it in stock at the store. It sounded like a great idea at the time and it is if you ONLY use it to periodically check your e:mail or shop online or something like that. We got the 30 day pass for $50.00 when we purchased it at TMobile. What they FAILED to tell me is that the 30 day pass is only good for 3GB of data transfer. My daughter watched ONE Netflix movie and it used up the ENTIRE data allotment. So, for $50.00, I got about 2 hours worth of internet access before it shut down and would only access the TMobile.com website so I could purchase more airtime. Contrary to what other reviewers are saying, this is NOT an adequate substitute for DSL or other high speed internet you might have at home. This would be fine if you used it while you traveled to periodically check your e:mail for a few minutes, but if you are a heavy internet user (I go to school online, work from home and I am a Netflix junkie) this is NOT good option. There are a LOT of Starbucks and McDonalds' out there with free Wi-Fi, so if I need it on the road I can find it. I would NOT recommend this unless you are a very minimal internet user.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 5 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

It works well, but

07/19/2011
By ,
Monument, Colo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product works well, and is a viable option to a 2 year contract with Tmobile, however it is frustrating that the pay-as-you-go plans expire within 30 days of when they are activated, regardless of use. In particular, the $10. card for 100 MB expires in a week. If they would even change that to a month, I would highly recommend the product.
Joe
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+65points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Riverdale, New York
T-Mobile Pay As You Go
Posted 12/01/2011
I do NOT have this T-Mobile pre-paid phone but I've had another model for about five years. I always purchase a $100.00 card for 1000 minutes that lasts one year. I'm not a big talker so the minutes last me about six months and unused minutes always rollover as long as you add at least a $10.00 card before they expire. Also, as soon as you purchase your first $100.00 on your prepaid phone you become a Gold Member and earn a few extra bonus minutes for a lifetime. I do not know of any other prepaid plan that gives you 1000 minutes for $100.00 My husband, mother & myself all have and LOVE T-Mobile prepaid.
-8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

EXCELLENT PRODUCT/DOES AS DESCRIBED

04/25/2012
By ,
ALEXANDRIA, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had/used this item for about a month, but so far so good. Reception is excellent in my area and speed is quite adequate. Only minor issue is a "web guard" is automatically enabled which restricts some websites, you have to call customer service to have this lifted (if you want it lifted). It only took a 5 minute phone call but I wanted to mention this so you didn't fiddle around in the settings to try to take the web guard off yourself.
A few of my co-workers watched me use this device and were impressed. Apparently they tried other mobile broadbands and had worse results. I have the lowest plan and as I only use it for email and surfing (no downloading) I stay under my limit. Naturally, if you are a download junkie, you will definately need a bigger or unlimited plan.
So, if you are looking for a portable (mobile) broadband device, seriously consider this one. It works great and being a no contract item, you can stop and restart service anytime without additional fees. I have also used it with several devices connected to it simultaneously without any problem or loss in speed. Hope this review helps in your decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Good item for Walmart's return policy!

05/12/2012
By ,
Hawaii
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed although I did a lot of research before purchasing this product. Even though I am computer savy, it was very time consuming to set up. It was supposed to work well in my area but it was very slow. I could only get a download speed of .46 Mbps when I checked it on Speedtest.
To make matters worse the T-mobile website was unclear about their services. The site leads you to believe that once you have used you data allotment your speeds could slow down to 2G but you would still be able to access the internet only at slower speeds. In actuality that only applies if you sign up for a two year contract. With the no contract plans once you reach your data limit your service stops. I did not get the opportunity to test the device at any other locations.
This product makes me glad that Walmart has such a good return policy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Review 8 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Excluded from best GB/$ deals.

12/07/2011
By ,
Broward county, fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So far I've used this tmobile-4g hotspot with a 7 day/100MB and a 30 day/1GB pass.
First thing I would note, T-mobile's website short changes you on the time these passes are active for by almost a whole day.. (1 week pass was cut short by over 16.5 hours).
Their is no way to actually confirm how much data usage the device has transferred.
(no user data stat's pages to confirm data flows). And it does seam to have some major accounting issues (t-mobile web based data usage counter appears to be incrementing wayy too fast for my liking). The only way to confirm this problem is with a controlled test, so I'll pass for now.
I had to call up and remove their Web guard filtering which also blocks all non-standard port number access.
This Hotspot also has a local text messaging HTML page, which will allow you to receive messages from t-mobile, but can't send or receive messages to/from anybody but t-mobile. (another advertised feature that really doesn't work).
I would have liked to use this device to replace my failing home DSL connection, but the deals offered are just too expensive.
I would love to take advantage of the Walmart's 30$ 5GB/4G+2G(over5GB), 100 minute voice(NA), unlimited messaging plan, but sadly, Hotspots have been excluded from that deal.
Lastly, No way would I sign up for any of T-mobiles contract deals, they're just to risky, IMHO. T-Mobile/AT&T could cripple the hotspot functionality/throughput and you're stuck in their two year expensive to break contract, No thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
T-mobile fine print
Posted 12/20/2011
I find it interesting that not a single person has commented on T-mobile's fine print regarding pay-as-you-go plans. There are 2 stipulations: 1. customers must re-up/refresh their accounts at least once in a 90 day period to avoid deactivation, and 2. the only option for avoiding 1. and thereby allowing idle periods greater than 90 days is to prepay for an entire year. These were confirmed by a T-mobile sales associate in a T-mobile store. Obviously this is not true "pay as you go". Has Walmart negotiated plans for its customers that do not have these stipulations/conditions?
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Great mobile hotspot

12/04/2011
By ,
Hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This T-Mobile ZTE mobile hotspot performs better than I expected. Wanted pay-as-you-go device for holiday trips, vacations, etc. Bought $30 broadband pass which is more than enough data for occasional use (I'm talking daily use throughout the thirty day period). I like that you can monitor data usage on T-Mobile account page. Used with ASUS Transformer while traveling, at shopping malls, at work, etc. This past weekend I had constant connection for GPS function on tablet while driving from south central PA to southern MD. I love this thing and highly recommend it. While I've read that these devices get warm I personally have not experienced that. Incidentally, this works great with one of my co-worker's Kindle Fire. Thanks T-Mobile & Walmart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 10 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Good for periodic use

05/06/2012
By ,
Marlton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this so as to not be tied into a monthly fee. We use it on long trips for the kids ipods. They love it - and in turn my wife and I love it since it keeps everyone occupied. Be warned though, you willchew up logs of data if the kids watch streaming videos on their ipods. Otherwise, it is perfectly fine for normal web browsing, email, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 11 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

tis good

02/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you occasionally require internet when away from home or office then this is the way to go. T Mobile's hsdpa is fast enough basic usage. (light browsing, email & remote support)
Average speed is roughly 6mbps down, 3mbps up. That's assumming you are on the hsdpa network "4G" and have decent signal strength. T Mobile 4G is well covered in the areas I travel so it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 12 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

I do not recommend buying works too slow.

12/29/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this with the intention for my college daughter to use while at home so that she can keep up with her friends and school computer work while at home. The Hot Stop works too slow. It works at the same speed as dial up. I have tried to correct any connection problem with T-Mobil’s service center, but they were not helpful. I do live in an area where 3G is available not 4G, but it only works at 1G speed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tulsa
Would be helpful to know your geographical area
Posted 01/05/2012
T-mobile is pushing its 4G now, and since I live in Tulsa, and saw one of their stores nearby me, I thought I would have strong 4G service. Not necessarily. Looking at their 4G coverage map, I have only 'good' coverage in my particular part of the zipcode. About a half mile away, even nearer to the store, and also in a nearby university area, there is 'excellent' coverage. So you have to be careful and really study their 4G-specific coverage map to know what kind of speeds you can expect. I would expect only 3G, altho T-mobile does have 4G in scattered small areas all over Tulsa.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Wonderful idea, but....

12/26/2011
By ,
Arizona
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this 4G Hotspot on the recommedation of a friend. Does it work? Beautifully, if you are in a spot with great reception. I was extremely impressed on the overall until I had to buy data to run it.. If you are a T-Mobile customer with an acct, you can purchase a monthly 5Gb plan that works fine and only 'possibly' slows down after you have exceeded your data... (There is also 10Gb plan for $79.99 called 'High use or unlimited')
BUT... And this is a huge BUT. If you are not a T-Mobile customer the best you can do is to buy far more expensive loads for your 4G Hotspot.. Which puts you in the position of having to become a contract T-Mobile user in order to get a plan for your 4G Hotspot that is actually feasible! Otherwise you are going to pay a lot of $$ to use it.
I could switch services, and get a 'free' T-Mobile phone, w/contract for 24 months, but they pretty much only offer 'smart' phones at this point, and now by the time you pay for your services and add a workable plan for your Hotspot, you are looking at $130+!!!!!
If you are already a T-Mobile customer and you get great service where you live, and you want this 4G Hotspot to work the way it should, period, then I would say, 'If you can afford it, go for it!'
Otherwise don't waste your your money on this until T-Mobile comes up with a better way to use the 4G Hotspot..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Review 14 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Nice but expensive

06/07/2012
By ,
Hope, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This hotspot is very nice but I with I could use pay by the day with T Mobile. Right now it is costing me around 60$ a month. Far more than the monthly 4g plan. If I were buying this for a friend I would get the plan to save some cash. Overall this product is very nice though. I get around 35Mbps inside my basement. My home Internet is only 25Mbps. Check me out on YouTube. I do reviews on these types of products. My channel is, MrTechnoHawk. Thanks!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Edmond, OK
What's $60/month?!
Posted 06/15/2012
The unit itself is only $99 and you pay it outright. You seem to review the PLAN rather than the device. Also, I wouldn't recommend ANY portable Wi-Fi device if you are going to be streaming music or video. That's a huge data consumer. You won't find any device that will help you with that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

good product

01/14/2012
By ,
Portland Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great travel a lot and alway's has coverage. $30.00 month so much better than contract and $50/month
I like it.
Dan
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

DONT WASTE UR Time

05/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! T Mobile told me that because I am not a tmobile customer I am not allowed to use this product unless I activate it as a phone! Meaning a $70 a month fee. I can get a contract device for free and pay less!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-3points
Review 17 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Okay for traveling or light useag.

06/24/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works good and has good speed but will eat up data in a hurry if streaming any Vedio or large downloads. bought 1.5 gb to start and used it all watching 2 - 30 minutes episodes off Netflex.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Awsomes Product

03/15/2012
By ,
Simpsonville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY USER FRIENDLY ...Ive Installed many of these cards for different carriers this was the easiest .For a prepaid hotspot your not going to find a better Deal
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot

Great product

02/22/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm enjoying the portable wifi using a couple times a week connecting to laptop . Also using for Ipad no issues. Ive had for a few weeks no issues so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for T-mobile Prepaid 4G Wifi Hotspot
01/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next