Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Plasma TV is the true cinema lover's TV. This Samsung 43" plasma HDTV delivers all the bold contrast and color of plasma, along with the advanced features and design that Samsung is known for. Samsung's Plasma Plus One Design sets this 720p HDTV apart, with an extra inch of screen compared to similarly sized competitors' models. For TV shows and movies, the innovative 600Hz subfield motion technology renders even fastest-moving scenes with the utmost precision, so that each detail is crystal-clear. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Samsung 43" plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.703 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(239 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%218 out of 228reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

love it

12/23/2011
By ,
maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first flat screen! I have been living with an old school tv forever and finally broke down and bought a tv. I bought this tv last month for $400 on black Thursday/Friday and I'm glad I did. The audio took some getting use to and it took about 2 hours to get the tv perfect "the way I like it". I'm a big sports fan and from the old tv to this one I don't see much of a difference its just bigger but it never skips a beat! There isn't any blurriness when watching high action movies, shows, or sports. The only thing I don't like about it is the glare from lights. I have to pull she shade down during the day when the sun is on that side of the house and I had to do the same thing with the old tv so it's no big deal.
A friend offered me their audio system so I could see what it sounded like and the tv REALLY doesn't need an audio system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 22 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Best TV purchase I've ever made!

03/07/2012
By ,
Greenville, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV because I was tired of using my 32" TV as my monitor and having to switch back and forth between it and my computer. I am SO glad I did! I wasn't able to tell from the pictures online but once I opened it it is a VERY thin TV which is very appealing because I don't have it on a wall mount. When I first turned it on the brightness scared me because it seemed very dark but that's just because the settings were set to the energy star ones. I have all 3 of my consoles hooked up to it (My PS3, Wii and 360) and they all look amazing on it! ^_^ I was skeptical because I am a videophile and I was worried that the 720v1080 would be an issue and it's not. I literally can not tell the difference. If you are in the market for a new TV wether on a budget or not THIS is one that I highly recommend.
Sidenote: It's a Samsung. I love Samsung TV's. I've never owned anything other than a Samsung because they make a great TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Best TV this size you can get for the price

02/18/2012
By ,
St Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My TV is the PN43D430(last years model) and have owned it since February 2nd, 2012. I got this TV on clearance at my local Walmart for $359 and couldn't be happier with it. The picture quality on this TV is amazing. You would never know it was only a 720p, because it honestly looks better than the 1080p LCDs some of my friends own. Coming from a Sony 34" 1080i HD CRT, there isn't many LCDs that could match the picture quality of that TV, but this Samsung Plasma blows that Sony straight out of the water. Only adjustment I had to make to this TV out of the box, was turn the color down a little, and put the color temperature on cool. The factory settings made everyone's skin have a orangish hue. Now the picture looks natural, and as clear as day. If you happen to be at Walmart and see the older PN43D430 on clearance, but it right away. It is basically the same TV, with a few slight differences. One more cool feature I discovered, is if you alos have a Samsung Blu-ray player, the TV will link itself to it, and the TV's remote will also control the Blu-ray player. Do not hesitate to buy this TV, it has a great picture, and is built to last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 24 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Best Plasma HDTV Ever at those with a Budget!

12/05/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally don’t write reviews on products, but I was compelled to tell others about this awesome HDTV. Great low price got it during black Friday sales. Having two LED 1080P HDTV I was worried if this 720P HDTV could match the high contrast ratio and awesome picture quality. I was so impressed this PDP TV surpassed the high intensity contrast and picture quality.
Samsung provides great looking picture quality right out the of the BOX, but it also provides plenty of advanced features to tweak the picture to your custom settings. You get very fast response rate from the plasma (600Hz), which produces the best crisp edges, and no motion blurs. You have full control to adjust colors and flesh tones.
Some other features that you don’t see on other low cost HDTV are the following: 1) HDMI Black Level (Adjust Screen Depth); 2) Film Mode (Automatically process film signals and adjust picture for optimum quality); 3) Screen Burn Protection (Reduces the possibility of screen burning by pixel shifting); 4) Audio settings provides Equalizer for custom settings or 5 standard modes; 5) V-Chip (Parental Controls); 6) Game Mode (Optimize PS3/Xbox settings).
You will not be disappointed with this HDTV. Samsung PDP TV rocks… Just buy it and you will be just as impressed as I was...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 25 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Like looking into a mirror

04/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had high hopes for this but it had to be returned. I had it in my living room where there is a lot of sunlight that comes in. When the screen is displaying a dark scene, it's nearly impossible to watch because of the reflection from the room. It's very distracting.
There are no controls on the TV, everything has to be done using the remote, if you lose the remote or temporarily misplace it then you're left with no choice but leaving the TV as it sits, can't change inputs, volume or turn it off or on.
The stand does not swivel, not a huge deal, but some might like to know that.
If it wasn't for the screen and not being able to watch TV during the day I would have loved this TV. The picture quality is awesome, in a dark room, it turns on fast and watching sports or other quick moving movie scenes it's perfect for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
central il
there are buttons
Posted 01/05/2012
read your manual, the buttons for controlling the TV, are on lower left face. no, they are not easy to see, but not fair to just assume there are none ad give false reviews. also, its common knowledge to anyone who has done any research before making a major purchase like this, that Plasmas are not great with lots of light
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Excellent Buy

11/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for $399 Black Friday. After much research and determining that plasma technololgyhas taken a back seat to LED this year, it still holds its own in performance. In fact, LCD technology is just catching up with plasma, but at a premium.
It may not be "socially cool", as my son said, to purchase such an outdated technology as plasma, but hey, at 58, who do I need to impress with being cool? I'm not a gamer, nor a techno geek. It just has a great picture. In fact, the picture quality even on non HD cable chanels rivals our 46" Samsung LCD in HD. Probably because the 46" is not LED lit, necessary for LCD to compare with plasma clarity.
The reflective panel is a little annoying, but it is in my "Man Den" and it is mainly viewed in the evenings. It certainly is not a deal killer. The sound is typical of a flat screen. Those are the only reasons I would not give 5 stars all the way.
Overall, a proven quality brand, Samsung, a terrific picture, and a great price. If this tv fails to live up to my expectations in the future, I will certainly reflect it in future comments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

EXCELLENT PICTURE!

12/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a DLP and an LCD TV, and I can say without a doubt that the picture on this plasma is far better. Yes, in a bright room the glass will reflect, but the TV is in my bedroom and is usually only viewed at night. I was tempted to purchase a soundbar, but I am glad I did not because I was quite impressed with the sound quality of the TV. I cannot compare the picture to an LED TV, but I am extremely satisfied with my purchase, especially since it was on sale for $398!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 28 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450
02/24/2012
By ,
Villa Ridge Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our old LCD went out about 6 months ago and we wanted a 42 inch tv for around $500 or less,we bought the Samsung at Walmart for $478 and it would be a bargain at over $500,it has a great picture and quick and simple on screen setup and very good sound, as for complaints about screen glare when you buy a plasma tv you should know that you need dark blinds if you have a lot of windows letting in sunlight because of glare. This doesnt just happen with plasma Tvs my son has a 60 inch Sharp led lcd that cost over $1700 and it also has a reflective screen that has a mirror image so he bought dark blinds for daytime viewing, research before you buy and you won't run into that type of problem,great tv for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 29 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Excellent buy

01/19/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally worth the price (which is not high). Picture & sound quality is good. Only one comment: to use remote you have to point it at a very specific angle otherwise it will not work, but you can get use to it with enought practice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 30 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Great TV, mine has minor problem

02/26/2012
By ,
New Ipswich NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great TV, the picture is much better than my old TV (Element 32 inch HDTV from 3 or 4 years ago) The sound is also quite good (slightly better than my old TV) Everything looks great, standard definition video looks good, HD inputs (my computer and Xbox) look absolutely amazing. The one problem I encountered with this TV is that when I updated the firmware the Satellite TV stopped working (Co-ax cable) I could have gotten it replaced, but instead I just dug up an old VCR and ran it through there, plugging it in through a 3 color RCA cable, which fixed the problem and only took up an input I was not planning on using anyway. Overall I would say this is an amazing TV for the money, the only reasons I would say not to get this TV would be if you wanted a larger screen or 3D, otherwise I don't think you can do any better than this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450
01/30/2012
By ,
Oakville Ont.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As with the previous review, reflections can be a pain in a well lit room (natural or otherwise) Very satisfied, paid $298.00 for a display model (Would not have been disapointed at twice the price). One correction to the previous review.... the power, volume touch panel is on the lower LEFT of the unit when looking at the TV, you have to look close but they are there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Affordable TV with Great Plasma Picture.

06/15/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV replaced my 5 year old 37" $1300.00 plasma. Nothing was wrong with my older plasma TV just the picture was smaller and tv was less energy efficient. The new Samsung beats my older Plasma in all these departments...Affordable, , Lighter weight, Thinner 2" Screen, Better Sound, more energy efficient, larger 43" screen, more features. Cool TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

great 43 inch plasma tv

01/23/2012
By ,
loma linda, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far my tv is running smooth and no problem whatsoever....
picture is great (obviously better than lcd) i've had 47 lcd w/ good brand but disappointing w/ the blurry picture esp. when watching sports like basketball, nfl. hurts my eyes... but w this tv nothing beats this... walmart is the best and so does this tv.... :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Great value for price

10/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Samsung TV and not disappointed at all. The only gripe I have with this TV as it is not compatible with my 5 year old Bose Cinemate system for home theatre as there is only a digital audio out jack and not regular (red and white) audio out. Despite that, it is a great TV and especially for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

A Awesome TV at a even More Awesome Price

02/14/2012
By ,
Dayton Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has a beautiful picture!
I bought a Sanyo 42" 1080 LCD and the the picture quality was awful!
I returned it a week later due to other issues with the TV and I'm so glade I did!
The Samsung Plasma was my first choice the day I went and my Walmart was out of stock so I settled for the Sanyo which was a huge mistake!
When I took the Sanyo back they had my Samsung in stock I actually got the last one!
The picture is 100x better the sound quality is 100x better this TV was cheaper has a better manufactures warranty and overall is just a Better TV.
I just can't say it enough the TV is Awesome for the price your getting an excellent value for you dollar!
This TV is Amazing don't cheat yourself Buy this TV!!!!It's better than any LCD or LED I've seen thus far!
I LOVE MY SAMSUNG :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450
08/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture! For the price you cannot beat this TV! Sound is not bad but could use a sound bar. Also, could have more inputs but at this price you can't expect a cadillac at a kia price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 37 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Do not buy, on my 2nd one.

02/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tv worked beautifully for 2 months, no problems at all. Then one day the tv decided to not want to turn on. No red LED light indicating its on, nothing. Just a buzzing sound emitting from the back of the tv. So we call Samsung for tech (bought the 2 year additional warranty just incase thank goodness) Hes supposed to be here this Thursday. But now the story gets good. Cant deal with not having a tv in the house, so we went and bought another one, figuring we could put one in the back room. So we disconnect the broken tv and put it in the back for now, and put our brand new, same exact tv in the front. Now 2 days later, the SAME EXACT THING! Extremely angry and disappointed with Samsung right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
@nick78932
Posted 03/01/2012
it sounds like maybe your outlet might be blowing the bulbs in your tvs... i would honestly suggest you get your outlets tested and everything because a tv lasting for 2 days just sounds way off especially in the same spot of another one tht only lasted for 2 months. ive had my samsung for a year now and it runs about 14 hours a day because as soon as i get home from work (during work girlfriend watches tv) i play video games a few hours a night. atleast 14 hours straight running and my tv still runs like a champ its the same model just the 32.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Great pictures, great value

11/01/2011
By ,
Bettendorf, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice picture - love the plasma tv's - so much sharper than the LCD's. This one is sleek, with a great picture. Has an easy to use sleep timer. Like it a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 39 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

5 stars

09/24/2011
By ,
NAPLES FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JUST GOT MINE UP AND RUNNING AWESOME PICTURE GLAD I READ REVIEWS SO WISH I COULD GOT THE BIGGER ONE TOO
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 40 for Samsung 43" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN43D450

Had to return the first one

12/22/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My decision to purchase this television was based on the ratings I read here. I do recommend this television, but I'd like to add, the first one I had delivered was defective. There was no picture and there was a continuous crackle sound. I have a feeling the television was dropped at some point. Anyway, after a few hours of trying to figure out whether I did something wrong in hooking up the television or it was a defective product, I called Samsung. They gave me the option of having a tech come out or returning the item to the store. I returned the item to the store and fortunately, my local store had another one. I purchased that one, hooked it up and I'm happy with the purchase. The picture is very good, and we don't even have HD yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 68 total reviews