Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

The VIZIO 42" 1080p LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps combines full-HD technology and the best of the Web together in VIZIO's sleek signature style. Enjoy the convenience of on-demand movies, TV shows, social networking, music, photos and more at the push of a button. The built-in Wi-Fi (802.11n) receiver easily connects you to the Internet while full-HD resolution provides superior picture quality. SRS TruVolume eliminates volume inconsistencies while SRS TruSurroundHD provides virtual high definition surround sound. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the VIZIO 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation88%15 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Hey, it's a TV!

11/19/2011
By ,
North Ridgeville, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first new TV in 17 years! I was so excited about getting this new Vizio that my son in law picked out. We picked it up at the store, hooked it up and it didn't work. Called customer service and still couldn't get it to work. It was also missing the screws to the base. I had to wait several weeks for them to ship me out another TV. This TV is working nicely. The picture is nice. People have been complaining about the remote. I didn't like it either. The buttons are too small. I use the cable remote. I don't use the WIFI, but my kids do and they love it! It's like having a huge monitor. So things didn't go so well at first but the company did replace the TV and were very professional and helpful. It's a good TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 2 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

First flat screen tv

05/15/2011
By ,
Rutherfordton, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not know alot about flat screens, so I did some online research before shopping. I found the price of the Vizio to be average, and spoke with some Vizio owners who all said it was a good tv. I went ahead and purchased the Vizio with the internet capability, not really knowing the benefits, but wanting the latest tech. I'm not sure about the picture quality. In the store it seemed just as clear as the other brands, however, it could be the settings I'm not quite sure about how to optimize. Movement on screen seems to be blurred, not as detailed as I would like. The internet aps are not all what they seem. The tv seems slow to respond. I was a little disappointed that the 42" did not come with the slide out keyboard remote, so it's a chore to enter info in on screen with the remote. Overall, it is an attractive tv, and tied in with my Sony surround sound (also from Wally World), is enjoyable to watch. Sure is a benefit to have it hanging on the wall and less clutter in the room compared to our last 250lb tv. For the price, I am satisfied so far, and would recommend it for any budget minded buyers.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 3 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Great for the price!!!

06/04/2011
By ,
NYC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this TV, me and my wife are very happy with the APPs and all the features the picture and sound are great! but not Excellent!!!! The Remote could be better.
Overall I think is a great TV easy to set up and for less than 600 usd, you cant go wrong.
Vizio has great products and great customer service. Would strongly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 4 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Best TV in this price range, hands down!

02/15/2012
By ,
WA State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a substantial upgrade to my previous TV, but didn't want to spend too much. My budget was around $500-$600 and I knew what features I was looking for. I consider myself pretty up-to-date and knowledgeable on flat screen TV's, so when I came across this Vizio, I was very impressed. Here's what I love about the TV:
-Full 1080 HD picture that looks amazing with some fine tuning.
-GREAT sound (Considering most LCD TV's at this price have very poor sound)
-120 Hz refresh rate (Almost every other LCD at this price is only 60 Hz)
-Wifi enabled with apps (Again, most LCD's at this price WILL NOT have wifi)
-Easy to install and use
Here's what could be better:
-Remote (small buttons and hard to see in dim lighting)
-The TV's overall shape and size is a little bulky and thick for my tatse
The pros certainly outweigh the cons, and I highly recommend this LCD for someone who's looking for a excellent TV at an affordable price. I gave this 5 stars because you just won't find another TV at this price with all the features this one comes with. Vizio has established itself as a strong competitor in the TV world, and in my book, offers high-quality, outstanding products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 02/25/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

it works

06/10/2011
By ,
Manassas va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son broke my big screen tv floor model so i had to get a replacement. I have been looking online at walmart and they had a few good deals but i needed it that day so I went to the store and looked at all the tvs and they didnt have the one I wanted so i was going to leave but I saw this. Reasonable price so i bought it. It took just a couple of minutes to set it up and the picture was nice. In a matter of a couple of minute the screen froze up and became hard to see. I dont know if it was the tv or cable. it happened again a little later but it is something i will keep an eye on. I hope its not the tv. Overall Easy to use and set up with great picture, good sound, what else do you need from the tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Terrific TV for the Price!

06/16/2011
By ,
Lebanon, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this HDTV! The picture is beautiful. My 9-yr-old grandson said so too. Easy setup. Operates like a breeze. Still getting acquainted with the Internet Apps. There are a multitude available which was one of the pluses that made me want this VIZIO TV. Before buying, I saw several reviews saying they had a problem with the remote. I personally have had no problems with it. I used site to store shipping for the 1st time. It was fast & the store associates working at my local store & the shift around 9pm when I picked it up were super helpful & extremely friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Great T.V. at a Great Price!

11/29/2011
By ,
Concord, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research and comparison shopping, we decided on this Vizio E422VA. It was very easy to set up (and we are not tech savvy!). We are first time flat-screen and HDTV owners and the picture on this t.v. is beautiful. Looks amazing in our family room. Even the sound quality is good (speakers are on the front which makes a difference, I think). Lots of great features and functionality. Can't say much about the internet apps - that was just an added bonus - really just bought it to watch t.v. Suits our purposes fine - good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Returning this TV

05/17/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I should have done more research. This TV does NOT have ANY audio out except for digital optical (SPDIF). This is ridiculous, seeing as a lot of very high end stereo receivers have no such connectivity, so I don't understand why so many TV manufacturers are getting rid of analog audio out (lots of people I know still like really high quality 2.1 audio and have zero need for surround sound).
Aside from this, one of my cable channels makes this TV freeze up and reboot. I hooked up two other TVs in my house to the same cable and neither had trouble broadcasting the channel. I called Vizio, and while they were perfectly nice about it, they did say I should just take the unit back to Walmart as defective.
One final note: The remote is laughably cheap. It feels like I could tear it apart with my bare hands. Cheap, cheap, cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 9 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Awesome, best pic ever.

02/10/2012
By ,
Wilmer, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been researching TV's for a long time before making this purchase. This by far has been the best decision ever. Wonderful picture, sound, quality! I highly recommed the TV, this has made our family so very happy. Best Christmas present ever. Hope this has been helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 02/25/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Love this TV

03/05/2012
By ,
Youngstown, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing missing from this package is a QWERTY Keyboard remote
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 03/07/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Over the top great

04/24/2012
By ,
summerville sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the TV for only 2 weeks and so far I LOVE IT! I have downloaded many apps
and it is very easy to use...You will not regret the purchase and price was the best I could find.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 05/15/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA

Excellent first large screen HDTV

04/08/2012
By ,
ny, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture quality is great. The sound is adequate nothing mindblowing but you wont be disappointed. The apps are good but they do load a bit slowly but not agonizingly slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 04/11/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA
04/02/2012
By ,
Guthrie, Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In the set up process the wifi receiver didn't work. It took several hours with tech support
to fix the problem. Other than that the picture quality is as good as I'd expect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 04/07/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E422VA
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Picture Quality
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Sound Quality
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Features
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5